Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 14, 2001, 10:13 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Scorpiuscat
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 19
Scorpiuscat is still being judged by the masses


Default Stuttering issue ever get resolved?

I am experiancing stuttering in both Star Trek:Armada II and Star Wars:Galactic Battlegrounds

I have searched thru the forums on this issue, but I never saw an absolute fix....only minor things to try....which I did with no results.

Are there any fixes for this?
Scorpiuscat is offline  
Old Dec 15, 2001, 05:13 AM   #2
Firebreather
The ultimate poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom In my bedroom- where?, well somewhere in the UK.
Posts: 1,586
Firebreather is still being judged by the masses


Default

Go to your bios, and disable the option to assign an irq for agp, then save the settings, and stuttering should be gone. (it worked for me )
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ (90nm WINCHESTER)
ATI RADEON 9700 PRO 128MB DDR
PHILIPS RYTHMIC EDGE SOUND CARD
ABIT AV8 MOBO (VIA K8T800 PRO)
WINDOWS XP PROFESSIONAL WITH SP2
512K ADSL
DVD + CD-REWRITER (52x16x52)
120GB MAXTOR HARD DRIVE
ANTEC TRUEPOWER 430W PSU
Crucial 1024MB DDR RAM PC3200
Firebreather is offline  
Old Dec 15, 2001, 06:08 AM   #3
ZC_2000
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8
ZC_2000 is still being judged by the masses


Question

Disabling IRQ ? NO !

In Armada2 you have got to open the RTS_CFG.h and search for this here:
// When should we flush buffers (degrading performance) to work around driver bugs?
// 0 = when we auto-detect bad drivers
// 1 = always
// 2 = never
int cfgST3D_ALWAYS_FLUSH_D3D_BUFFERS = 1;

You must change the 1 (always) to 2 (never) and should work.
ZC_2000 is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 15, 2001, 08:18 AM   #4
euan
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Scotland Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,003
euan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sreekar
Go to your bios, and disable the option to assign an irq for agp, then save the settings, and stuttering should be gone. (it worked for me )
It does work! My latest beta bios gave me this option, a very nice stoke of luck... Co-incidenly it doesn't actually disable the IRQ, it just lets Windows ACPI pick the IRQ rather than it being selected by the bios. As windows' drivers create additional IRQ reuirments other than the basic PCI IRQ's detected by the Bios, the Windows routing seems to be more efficient.
__________________
"Computer games don't affect kids, I mean if Pac Man affected us as kids, we'd all run around in a darkened room munching pills and listening to repetitive music...." -- - Kristian Wilson, CEO, Nintendo Gaming Corporation, Inc, 1989
euan is offline  
Old Dec 15, 2001, 09:46 AM   #5
digitalwanderer
Dangerously Mirthful
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Winfield, IN USA
Posts: 9,755
digitalwanderer is still being judged by the masses


Cool Then..?

If it's not actually disabling the 'assign IRQ to VGA' and is merely passing the chore along to windows which makes the system smoother, would it not be better to set "Plug and Play OS installed" to "yes" and let windows configure the rest of it too? I've always heard this was a big "no-no" from a lot of places, including microsoft, for 98se; but it seemed to help my performance on my XP box.

Any thoughts?

BTW-Newer motherboards don't have the option to disable irq/vga, it's automatically assumed. So if you don't have the option, you don't have the option.
digitalwanderer is offline  
Old Dec 15, 2001, 09:02 PM   #6
friskyolive
Looking down on you!
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 7,458
friskyolive is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: Then..?

Quote:
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
If it's not actually disabling the 'assign IRQ to VGA' and is merely passing the chore along to windows which makes the system smoother, would it not be better to set "Plug and Play OS installed" to "yes" and let windows configure the rest of it too? I've always heard this was a big "no-no" from a lot of places, including microsoft, for 98se; but it seemed to help my performance on my XP box.

Any thoughts?

BTW-Newer motherboards don't have the option to disable irq/vga, it's automatically assumed. So if you don't have the option, you don't have the option.
using assigned irq's creates no conflicts to pci slots as long as the cards are in thier respective places. If you want to disable pnp then you should know which irqs can be shared effectivly without corruption. I would definately allow windows to assign irq's if you have more than 3 pci cards..
__________________
See how his nose twitches? Something smells about this, and it's not stinking clouds from his furry backside! *Quote from Minsc.*
Overstep your boundaries, and look beyond your scope of vision.


[CPU]: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Quad Core Processor AM3 3.4GHZ 8MB Cache 125W 45NM [MOBO]: ASUS M4A78T-E ATX 790GX Socket AM3 DDR3 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 2PCI HDMI Video Sound GBLAN Motherboard[GPU]: Powercolor Radeon HD 5770 In Crossfire [SOUND]: Corsair Gaming Audio Series CA-HS1A Headset 50MM Drivers Circumaural Earcups and the Creative Sound Blaster X-FI TITANIUM Fatality PRO with Yamaha 5590 Receiver[MEMORY]: OCZ (OCZ3G1600LV4GK) DDR3 1600MHz Gold Edition Low Voltage 4GB (2x2048MB) Dual Channel and G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB [MONITOR]: DELL U2410, 24W, OPT/FPWS,CUS [HD]: Western Digital 320GB and 1 TB Black Edition [Optical Drives]: LG GSA-4167B Dual Layer DVD±R/RW Drive [PSU]: Corsair HX 1000 watt [OS]: Win7 64-bit Professional On a Antec 1200 Full Tower Case.
friskyolive is offline  
Old Dec 16, 2001, 06:14 AM   #7
2B-Maverick
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 404
2B-Maverick is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up

Wow- i consider(ed) myself quite knowledgeable - but this IRQ-to-VGA thing totally escaped my knowledge up to now.

Until 1 hour ago i had: stuttering in High-Poly-Count Benchmark (3DMark2001), Fillrate Bench, Nature, and so on...
Things got better when i disabled MBM 5.x and quitted TaskManager - which i had running in the background for the last few months without problems.
But nothing really solved the probs.

Until i disabled the assign IRQ-to-VGA.
Now everything is smooth as hell. No hickups in 3DMarks Benches anywhere - even with all the proggis in the Background running.
I expect this to carry on into my games as well.

THX FOLKS.

Put this on the FRONT PAGE!!!!

edit: i am using WinXP

CU
Mav
__________________
Core2 Duo @ 3GHz
X1900GT
2B-Maverick is offline  
Old Dec 16, 2001, 09:20 AM   #8
^b0rG^
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 215
^b0rG^ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hmm, can't seem to find this setting in my bios (Asus A7V133). Anyone know where it is?
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 1800+ in ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
512mb pc2700
100 gig (2 10gig UDMA 66, 80gb WD SE)
Phillips 24x12x40 cdrw
Toshiba 16x DVD
Retail Radeon 8500
Packard Bell 2160 15" (other monitor died)
Windows XP Pro with SP1
^b0rG^ is offline  
Old Dec 16, 2001, 09:40 AM   #9
2B-Maverick
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 404
2B-Maverick is still being judged by the masses


Default

On my MSI board i can find it under "PCI/PNP Configuration"
__________________
Core2 Duo @ 3GHz
X1900GT
2B-Maverick is offline  
Old Dec 16, 2001, 09:55 AM   #10
digitalwanderer
Dangerously Mirthful
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Winfield, IN USA
Posts: 9,755
digitalwanderer is still being judged by the masses


Default The downside is..

..the option isn't on most newer boards. It's assumed by default. You might want to see if you have ACPI enabled and enable "Plug and Play OS installed". I know that's a big no-no, but it might end up doing the same thing on newer boards.

This fix seems to be a hit-or-miss fix, it'll either work great for you or not. (I'm real sorry to say it won't work for everybody.)

Just on a sidenote, I disabled the 'Assign IRQ to USB' and got rid of the jagginess in my USB intellimouse that occured whenever my modem dialed-up the net.

Now if I could just get some new 98se drivers to play with...
digitalwanderer is offline  
Old Dec 16, 2001, 11:12 AM   #11
Rancho*
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Germany Germany
Posts: 195
Rancho* is still being judged by the masses


Unhappy And Did You Notice That Doing So Decreases Overall Performance?

Well I tried disabling IRQ to VGA and that made me loose 300 points in 3DMark 2001. I don't think that this is the final solution to the problem. Let's see and wait what comes from ATI/Novalogic regarding this issue. I read somewhere else in this forum that ATI sent some Information to Novalogic or the other way round.

I'll wait...
__________________
Intel Core Quad 9450 @ 3Ghz | Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5
Club3D Radeon 4870X2 | 4GB Kingston DDR2 1066
X-FI Fatal1ty 64MB X-RAM | NorthQ Giant Connector 850W
22" LG L227WT Monitor | Vista Home Premium x64 SP1
Rancho* is offline  
Old Dec 16, 2001, 11:52 AM   #12
2B-Maverick
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 404
2B-Maverick is still being judged by the masses


Default

well... jepp... i lost 100 points in 3DMark2001, but this was the FIRST TIME that benchmark did not stutter - alas display everything as it should. 6890 points - not too bad for a KT133A system with WinXP.
I would guess that stuttering could up your framerate somehow, because the grafix-cards does not display everything as it should.
Better no stuttering and smooth gameplay than the other way around (WHICH other way???)

CU
Mav
__________________
Core2 Duo @ 3GHz
X1900GT
2B-Maverick is offline  
Old Dec 18, 2001, 11:10 AM   #13
e3art
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 67
e3art is still being judged by the masses


Default

bump
e3art is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
diablo2, was this issue ever resolved? LairdThunder PC Gaming 15 Sep 13, 2004 06:49 PM
Is the AGP issue resolved in 3.10 drivers? FluxCap AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 9 Dec 2, 2003 10:35 AM
Will Counter-Strike Driver Issue Ever Be Resolved mr.Goodbar AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 8 Mar 24, 2003 07:43 AM
Serious Sam: SE Stuttering Resolved! Rancho* AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 5 Mar 7, 2002 06:42 PM
Q3 stuttering RESOLVED!!!Turn off music..... batfunk AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 3 Feb 19, 2001 09:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink