Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2008, 10:22 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,365
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


ATI Technologies CATALYST: Crew Feedback / Old Drivers / What to do with driver installation woes

If you are experiencing a problem with the latest AMD Catalyst™ driver release and you can consistently reproduce the issue, please complete this bug reporting form.

This form is intended to gather the problem description and system information so that reported issues can be addressed in future driver releases. This form is NOT to solicit support inquiries. If you have an issue that requires a technical response, please contact AMD Customer Care.

AMD Issue Reporting Form

[updated 3 July, 2015]

Last edited by Lupine : Jul 3, 2015 at 05:21 PM.
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2009, 12:00 PM   #2
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,234
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default Old Catalyst archive

Here is a very useful link that has all the old driver versions that you may need for one reason or another.

http://www.oldapps.com/old_version_ati.php
__________________
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde
Jokerzwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2009, 12:02 PM   #3
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,234
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

BTW credit goes to friskyolive for the link and idea .
__________________
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde
Jokerzwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 6, 2009, 12:25 PM   #4
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 43,824
acroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokerzwild View Post
BTW credit goes to friskyolive for the link and idea .
Way to go frisky!
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 04:55 AM   #5
Dyre Straits
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 4,107
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Default

Anytime I click on one of the links to the reporting/survey, it comes up at Survey Closed...

Maybe this one will work...

http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D25AD12B2E
__________________
~Windows 10 x64 Professional~Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H~Intel I7-3770K~8x2 GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistic 1600 RAM (Dual Channel)~RealTek Onboard~XFX R9 390 8GB GDDR5~3 Acer 27 inch LCDs~SCEPTRE 505 4K UHD TVand one Sanyo 32 inch HDTV connected via Intel onboard GPU~SATA BluRay RW~1000 W PSU~And a Whole Lot More!~AND....1 TB XBOX ONE~1 PS4 with Uncharted Bundle~

Quote:
If you have an issue with what you said, please resolve it in private ;)
Dyre Straits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 10:14 AM   #6
The Mac
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United States Boston
Posts: 1,648
The Mac once held a door open for a complete strangerThe Mac once held a door open for a complete strangerThe Mac once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

They open a new one for each CAT.

which one are you trying to report?
The Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2014, 03:30 AM   #7
Dyre Straits
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 4,107
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
They open a new one for each CAT.

which one are you trying to report?
Actually, the latest one. Do they not accept report on the BETA drivers? Seems since that's what we're getting they at least should.
__________________
~Windows 10 x64 Professional~Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H~Intel I7-3770K~8x2 GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistic 1600 RAM (Dual Channel)~RealTek Onboard~XFX R9 390 8GB GDDR5~3 Acer 27 inch LCDs~SCEPTRE 505 4K UHD TVand one Sanyo 32 inch HDTV connected via Intel onboard GPU~SATA BluRay RW~1000 W PSU~And a Whole Lot More!~AND....1 TB XBOX ONE~1 PS4 with Uncharted Bundle~

Quote:
If you have an issue with what you said, please resolve it in private ;)
Dyre Straits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2014, 09:58 AM   #8
The Mac
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United States Boston
Posts: 1,648
The Mac once held a door open for a complete strangerThe Mac once held a door open for a complete strangerThe Mac once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

The Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 12:37 PM   #9
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada North York
Posts: 17,184
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default Having problems with a driver installation? Why don't you try this first...

Just to add to the general conversation, since I think it has merit: it's funny how relevant all those "do a proper uninstall" threads we have since the dawn of time really are... i've had hard resets lately on one of my PCs whenever I played games. For no particular reason. Nothing in the Windows 7 event viewer, no sign of any error, nothing. I had 10.4 still on. So I upgrade to 10.6, same thing. Yesterday, I dig up DriverCleaner (excellent program, go here to get it, well worth the money: http://www.drivercleaner.net/), uninstalled everything via the Catalyst Installer, immediately followed by a DC pass cleaning up everything ATI-related, and then, after I rebooted, installed 10.7. Fixed it right up.

Do a proper uninstall once in a while. Does wonders
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 02:44 PM   #10
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

I'll jump on this dog pile, too:
  • If I'm having problems and I suspect it's because of driver install issues, what should I do?
    This is what the Caveman does for Driver freshness. You'll need two free tools - CCleaner and DriverSweeper. You'll also need to know how to reboot into safe mode, and to be able to use 'common sense'.

    • Disable Eyefinity groups, Crossfire, if enabled
    • Optional - Enter Device Manager: Uninstall Display Adapters and check box for 'Delete Device Driver'
    • Add/Remove Programs: Remove currently installed Application Profile updates (if installed)
    • Uninstall CCC and Display Driver, using Catalyst Install Manager Custom mode (Don't express uninstall if you have an AMD Chipset)
    • Reboot into safe mode
    • Run Driver Sweeper for ATI, don't reboot. [Do not remove entries pointing to WinSxs folders]
    • Run CCleaner for Registry - only select for removal ATI entries (click on Registry button on left, Analyze, then only remove Entries listed for ATI).
    • Delete the following folders (applies to Vista/7)
      • SystemDrive:\ProgramData\ATI
      • SystemDrive:\Users\username\AppData\Local\ATI
      • SystemDrive:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\ATI
    • Reboot to desktop, run Express install on desired Catalyst driver & reboot if prompted.
    • Install all Application Profiles newer than Driver release (i.e. 10.3whql/a/b would use both March & April profile updates).
    • Enjoy!

Last edited by caveman-jim : Feb 13, 2011 at 10:58 AM. Reason: added new directories to delete
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:20 PM   #11
Sobek
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia Queensland, Australia
Posts: 936
Sobek is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
I'll jump on this dog pile, too:
  • If I'm having problems and I suspect it's because of driver install issues, what should I do?
*snip*
Neat - that's pretty much exactly what I do, minus the CCleaner part. I do have it installed and I do use it, but I never thought to use it for cleaning out registry entries that DriverCleaner/Sweeper may have missed.

I'll add it to my process
__________________
No, I will not fix your computer.
C2Q6600 G0 @ 3.42ghz / 4gb Corsair 800mhz / Sapphire HD6870 Crossfire / Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6 / 850w Antec TruePower Quattro
Sobek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:04 PM   #12
anthonyl
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 447
anthonyl is still being judged by the masses


Default

Can you please tell me how to do the following:-

Run CCleaner for Registry - only select for removal ATI entries.

I have CCleaner and can not for the life of me see any option to remove ATI entries.

Thanks
__________________
i7-2600K / Asus P8P67 PRO / 8Gb G.Skill RipJaws Ram / Dual 6970's in x-fire / 30" Samsung 305T plus monitor / Coolermaster HAF 932 case / Logitech G-25... Z5500...G5...G15
anthonyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 09:35 PM   #13
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonyl View Post
Can you please tell me how to do the following:-

Run CCleaner for Registry - only select for removal ATI entries.

I have CCleaner and can not for the life of me see any option to remove ATI entries.

Thanks
Open CCleaner and on the left side select 'Registry'. Click the Analyse button. Deselect all entries using the top 'all' check box. Now read through the list and look for entries that are for ATI - they will have the ATI letters in them or the ATI install path. Select those and only those for removal, then select clean. Save a backup in case you want to revert the action later.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwarden View Post
he speaks about DriverCleaner nto CCleaner
No, I mean CCleaner. See above. After running DriverCleaner, try CCleaner and see if there's anything left over. Sometimes there is.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2010, 09:30 AM   #14
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m4trix View Post
Uhmm yea it's really great drivers since you have to do all this **** just to go from 10.x to 10.x - How easy is that for a new PC user?
I hate to use the Green word in here but it just not like that "over there" - I mean how hard can it ****ing be to make the ATi driver uninstall, reboot and then do a good install of the driver. But noooo ATi dont need that, we can just install on top of the other driver and WE DONT EVEN NEED TO REEBOOT!!! yea right.
RANT!
That's actually the recommended method of Windows NT 6.1 kernel updates to drives, AMD are following Microsoft recommendations. This procedure is only for if you have issues installing/after install.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2010, 08:21 AM   #15
anthonyl
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 447
anthonyl is still being judged by the masses


Default

This always gets me with uninstalling ATI drivers.....the uninstall drivers does not "uninstall everything" like it should.

When I uninstall using both the CCC uninstall and windows uninstall, it does not uninstall everything...if it did all of my old settings would not be there when I installed the new drivers.

Uninstall should uninstall all traces, so that when you install new drivers you should start with a clean slate.

And should not need to download seperate apps to do it!!
__________________
i7-2600K / Asus P8P67 PRO / 8Gb G.Skill RipJaws Ram / Dual 6970's in x-fire / 30" Samsung 305T plus monitor / Coolermaster HAF 932 case / Logitech G-25... Z5500...G5...G15
anthonyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 10:43 AM   #16
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Want to know which driver version relates to which Catalyst version? Use this handy look up table!

http://developer.amd.com/download/cc...s/default.aspx
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 01:51 PM   #17
antdude
An RadeANT!
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 978
antdude is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Want to know which driver version relates to which Catalyst version? Use this handy look up table!

http://developer.amd.com/download/cc...s/default.aspx
Awesome!
__________________
Ant @ Ant's Quality Foraged Links (http://aqfl.net) and The Ant Farm (http://antfarm.ma.cx).
antdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2012, 08:22 PM   #18
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupine View Post
Got Feedback? ATI Catalyst Crew Feedback

ATI strives to continually improve our drivers and software and we invite you to tell us how. If you are experiencing a problem with our latest driver release, or if you have suggestions on how to make our drivers better, please take the time to submit your feedback.

This program is intended to gather feedback for specific driver releases and not to solicit regular support inquiries. This is NOT the location for support for your product. Support requests will NOT be responded to.

Submissions to the Catalyst Crew Feedback will NOT be responded to.

If you have an issue that requires a technical response, please contact Customer Care.

For Catalyst Mobility Feedback, please click here.
updated link to form http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3EAC)
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Catalyst Crew Feedback Lupine Radeon Technical Support 0 Nov 10, 2008 10:22 AM
ATI Catalyst Crew Feedback Lupine AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 0 Nov 10, 2008 10:22 AM
ATI Catalyst Crew Feedback Lupine AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 0 Nov 10, 2008 10:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink