Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 7, 2014, 06:31 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
wheeljack21
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 468
wheeljack21 is still being judged by the masses


Default can you x-fire two different 280x models

I currently have the sapphrie dual-x oc 280x. I wanted to pair it up and x-fire with another r9 280x oc sapphire but the clocks are slightly different. There should be no problem with doing this right?
__________________
Current system: gigabyte ga-fm2a78m-d3h mb, amd athlon x4 860k cpu, 4gb of ddr3 1600mhz ram,club 3d radeon r7 370 2gb, antec ea-750 750 watt 80 plus platinum psu, antec vsk-3000-u3 matx case,lg 16x bd-re drive, iocrest marvell 9230 raid pci-e 2.0 x2 raid controller,2x pny cs1311 120gb ssd's in raid 0, AOC 24' 144hz monitor,razer mamba te mouse, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard,pdp rock candy xb 360 gamepad, windows 10 home 64 bit N edition
wheeljack21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2014, 06:40 AM   #2
wheeljack21
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 468
wheeljack21 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I am even considering mixing brands for x-fire. can you mix 280x brands also?
__________________
Current system: gigabyte ga-fm2a78m-d3h mb, amd athlon x4 860k cpu, 4gb of ddr3 1600mhz ram,club 3d radeon r7 370 2gb, antec ea-750 750 watt 80 plus platinum psu, antec vsk-3000-u3 matx case,lg 16x bd-re drive, iocrest marvell 9230 raid pci-e 2.0 x2 raid controller,2x pny cs1311 120gb ssd's in raid 0, AOC 24' 144hz monitor,razer mamba te mouse, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard,pdp rock candy xb 360 gamepad, windows 10 home 64 bit N edition
wheeljack21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2014, 11:31 AM   #3
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

It should work. Drivers might set clocks to lowest common, but maybe not either.
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 7, 2014, 12:00 PM   #4
Treeckcold57
Good ol' ATI
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17,113
Treeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

It should works and the crossfire is very flexible. It can be work with higher clock and lower clock together too. The brands shouldn't be matter but only if the same model and series. (e.g. 280X/280X. Or 280X/7970. or 280X/7950)
__________________

AMD Phenom II X2 555 @ stock clock
Xigamtek Knight cooler
ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 (4x4GB)
Intel 530 240GB SSD
XFX ATI Radeon 4870 1GB
Antec Truepower 750W
NZXT Source 210
Windows 7 x64



AMD FX-8350 @ stock clock
Gigabyte GA-990FX-UD5 R5
G.Skill Sniper 16GB (8x2) DDR3 1866
Arctic Freezer 7 Pro 7 rev. 2
Gigabyte Windforce 7950 3GB Ghz Edition
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD
EVGA SuperNova 650W
NZXT Source 210 w/ two Noctua F-12 fans
Ubuntu MATE 64-bit
Intel i5 3570K @ stock clock | G.Skill 16GB (8GBx2) DDR3 1866 | Silicon Power 60GB SSD | Win 10 Pro x64 | NZXT Source 210
Treeckcold57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2014, 03:20 PM   #5
bill dennison
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States phoenix
Posts: 21,252
bill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

should be fine if I remember right they tried 7970 & 280x cfx in a review and it worked think it was [H]
bill dennison is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2014, 05:52 PM   #6
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,940
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Yes
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IGN.com videos and my r9 280x at 1080p wheeljack21 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 10 Nov 6, 2013 09:35 AM
what's the best AA and tesselation settings for r9 280x? wheeljack21 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 4 Nov 4, 2013 02:13 PM
r9 280x toxic vs GTX 580 SLI ? MontyQ Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 7 Oct 22, 2013 08:18 PM
Why do CS:S weapon models look so much better then SWAT 4 models? BroadbandGamer PC Gaming 2 Apr 27, 2005 11:44 PM
Condition Zero players models now CS player models.. HackerHellstorm PC Gaming 13 Aug 5, 2004 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink