Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » PC Gaming
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

PC Gaming Discuss all PC games, past and present. Talk about your favorite games, share tips and strategies, and anything else relating to computer games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 23, 2012, 03:52 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Shark
Pain
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: N/A
Posts: 6,971
Shark is still being judged by the masses


Default Is it a good time to buy a new PC now?

my current PC was built in 2008,

Motherboard:
CPU Type: QuadCore Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550, 2833 MHz (8.5 x 333)
Motherboard Name : Asus Striker II Extreme (2 PCI, 2 PCI-E x1, 3 PCI-E x16, Audio, Dual Gigabit LAN, IEEE-1394)

Motherboard Chipset: nVIDIA nForce 790i Ultra SLI

System Memory 4096 MB (DDR3-1066 DDR3 SDRAM)
DIMM1: OCZ OCZ3X13332G 2 GB DDR3-1066 DDR3 SDRAM (6-6-6-16 @ 533 MHz) (5-5-5-14 @ 444 MHz)
DIMM2: OCZ OCZ3X13332G 2 GB DDR3-1066 DDR3 SDRAM (6-6-6-16 @ 533 MHz) (5-5-5-14 @ 444 MHz)

BIOS Type: Award (09/18/08)
Video Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280

----------------------
I noticed that current graphics card are very expensive (ATI 9700pro in 2003 cost was $300, now top card nVidia GTX 970 cost around $1000)

gaming wise, is it worth buying a new gaming PC?
www.digitalstormonline.com has nice built in gaming PCs but very expensive.
__________________
"Feel pain, contemplate pain, accept pain, know pain! Those who do not know pain will never understand true peace!" Nagato Sama
Shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 05:08 PM   #2
KAC
That postcount though...
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 55,723
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

I think it is worth it but I am biased. You can have a nice PC for about 1000 bucks that can run all latest games. I think you are referring to GTX 690 that is 1000 USD but that is essentially an SLI setup in disguise. For most cases you do not need it. A Dual 670 GTX setup can be faster than a GTX 690 and can cost as much as 740 USD.

Either way, you can have a sub-1000 USD PC and that is what is important.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 05:14 PM   #3
Nascar24
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 10,063
Nascar24 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nascar24 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nascar24 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nascar24 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nascar24 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nascar24 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Pickup a 7950 for under 300 and get 3 new games to go with it. More then enough horsepower for today's games or should I say console ports.
Nascar24 is online now   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 23, 2012, 07:30 PM   #4
Sobek
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia Queensland, Australia
Posts: 936
Sobek is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'd have to agree... I'm personally running a Q6600 (3.42ghz overclock) with two 6870's in crossfire and 4gb of ddr-something-o-rather. So far, there's really not being much I can't play maxed out on this system. Occasionally framerates aren't as high as I would like, but everything stays playable and pretty.

I was real close to just buying a whole new PC last month but after stopping and thinking about it, I realised there was just no need. The most I would do is replace my 6870's with a 7970 or something, and that's only because I would want a bit more VRAM.

Stick with what you've got, and chuck in a new videocard.
__________________
No, I will not fix your computer.
C2Q6600 G0 @ 3.42ghz / 4gb Corsair 800mhz / Sapphire HD6870 Crossfire / Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6 / 850w Antec TruePower Quattro
Sobek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 07:45 PM   #5
GanjaStar
Jalouise
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Croatia Strawberry Fields
Posts: 14,762
GanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badgesGanjaStar doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

OC the CPU and get a better GPU. Posibly more RAM if you are into battlefield 3. it will last you for another year at least until the CPU really starts being a bottleneck that you can notice.
GanjaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 08:29 PM   #6
nomore
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States USA
Posts: 14,197
nomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channel


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark View Post
Is it a good time to buy a new PC now?
no... I am saying that just in general. buying a PC should be around the time of new consoles or later.
I got my PC in 2007 and with few upgrades it is still going and is enough for most games.
I will probably get a new PC in 2014 (after PS4 release).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by John C Flett
I'd swear the PC is the Dracula of gaming. Old and powerful, somebody is always trying to kill it, but it always comes back from the dead, strong as ever.
Quote:
Originally Posted by H001iGAN View Post
no matter how you look at it, it's still better on PC
nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 09:28 PM   #7
aviphysics
Atari 800 FTW
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States Livermore Ca
Posts: 7,986
aviphysics knows why the caged bird singsaviphysics knows why the caged bird singsaviphysics knows why the caged bird singsaviphysics knows why the caged bird singsaviphysics knows why the caged bird singsaviphysics knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomore View Post
no... I am saying that just in general. buying a PC should be around the time of new consoles or later.
I got my PC in 2007 and with few upgrades it is still going and is enough for most games.
I will probably get a new PC in 2014 (after PS4 release).
This is basically what I would say. If you build a system this year, there is a decent chance it will struggle with next gen cross platform titles. Better to wait until a few next gen cross platform titles are released and we have a better idea of what kind of PC you will need for the next 7 years to keep the console kiddies from laughing at your rig.

For now you can put a little overclock and that CPU. The GTX 280 should still run most things pretty well.
__________________
THG is to computer hardware what MTV is to music.
aviphysics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 09:54 PM   #8
Chuck
How's the flow tonight?
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Canada Hong Kong
Posts: 8,125
Chuck once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Chuck once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Chuck once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Chuck once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Chuck once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Chuck once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

I wouldn't wait if I were you. Haswell is still more than half a year off. If your line of work does not require a lot of processing horsepower, you'd hardly notice a difference with Ivy Bridge anyway. Video cards are cheaper than ever; the Geforce 650Ti (sorry Rage) is an absolute steal at USD160. Should be able to handle most games maxed at 1080p with reasonable framerates.
Chuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 12:55 AM   #9
bob saget
Stage 5 ultra-athiest
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada Vancouver (Russian)
Posts: 18,781
bob saget has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationbob saget has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationbob saget has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationbob saget has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationbob saget has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationbob saget has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationbob saget has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationbob saget has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationbob saget has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationbob saget has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputationbob saget has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Default

just get a slightly better video card and enjoy
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAC View Post
Gays if I had boyfriends your mums wouldn’t have produced your sorry asses.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 01:03 AM   #10
Sundance Kid V2
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Manches F-cked SA
Posts: 27,561
Sundance Kid V2 is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSundance Kid V2 is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSundance Kid V2 is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSundance Kid V2 is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSundance Kid V2 is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSundance Kid V2 is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSundance Kid V2 is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSundance Kid V2 is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSundance Kid V2 is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSundance Kid V2 is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialSundance Kid V2 is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascar24 View Post
Pickup a 7950 for under 300 and get 3 new games to go with it. More then enough horsepower for today's games or should I say console ports.
yip.. most games are console ports. My 560ti plays games awesomely and you can pick that up cheap.
Sundance Kid V2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 01:35 AM   #11
Rayder
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United States Ohio
Posts: 2,375
Rayder is still being judged by the masses


Default

Until the DX11-capable CONsoles come out to give the current high-end PC's some PORTS that actually tax them by genuinely utilizing DX10/11 functions and features natively, you could probably get away with just buying a new GPU for your current rig. If you're running Vista or Win7 (you didn't specify an OS), doubling your RAM would help.

After that, you could probably wait until MS and Sony release their next CONsoles before you need to worry about a whole new rig to play the "more demanding" PORTS that will inevitably follow.

tl;dr

Just put a new GPU in your current rig and you should be good until the new CONsoles hit.
Rayder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 01:39 AM   #12
Mangler
PC
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,872
Mangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

If you ARE no longer SATISFIED with the fps you ARE getting in newish GAMES, then go ahead and buy a new GPU, otherwise wait for the new conSOLES before upgrading your PC.
Mangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:12 AM   #13
badboy
Merc with a mouth
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 16,315
badboy knows why the caged bird singsbadboy knows why the caged bird singsbadboy knows why the caged bird singsbadboy knows why the caged bird singsbadboy knows why the caged bird sings


Default

get an i5/7 ivy and a gtx670. And your set for a long time
__________________
”Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I’m not sure about the former.” - Albert Einstein

"I am against religion because it teaches us to be satisfied with not understanding the world." - Richard Dawkins

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." - Ben Franklin

"I'll happily keep risking it and enjoy my life" - Doozer

Luke: "God will make sure that evil gets punished"
Jason: "Oh yeah, then explain Europe to me?"
- True Blood
badboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:17 AM   #14
xCLAVEx
Not gone
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 23,080
xCLAVEx can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyxCLAVEx can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyxCLAVEx can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sobek View Post
I'd have to agree... I'm personally running a Q6600 (3.42ghz overclock) with two 6870's in crossfire and 4gb of ddr-something-o-rather. So far, there's really not being much I can't play maxed out on this system. Occasionally framerates aren't as high as I would like, but everything stays playable and pretty.

I was real close to just buying a whole new PC last month but after stopping and thinking about it, I realised there was just no need. The most I would do is replace my 6870's with a 7970 or something, and that's only because I would want a bit more VRAM.

Stick with what you've got, and chuck in a new videocard.

Try Guild Wars 2. I have a very similar setup to yours, and GW2 brings my system to it's knees, especially in large towns and PVP. In many cases, the game runs like absolute ****.

I'm going to upgrade to an i5 soon I hope.
__________________
"When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others. It is the same when you are Stupid. "

"Be careful what you say, not everybody is open minded"

"If Fascism Ever Comes to America, It Will Come in the Name of Liberalism -Ronald Reagan"
xCLAVEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 04:19 AM   #15
abdecken5
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,026
abdecken5 is still being judged by the masses


Default

get a new GPU with 2 gigs or more of RAM and you will be running everything at max.
abdecken5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good time to buy new cards? Apocalypsee Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 26 Jun 21, 2010 10:05 AM
Good time for WOW? Oui PC Gaming 26 Jun 15, 2005 11:03 AM
is now a good time to get a 9600pro? Phiberoptix AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 14 Mar 16, 2004 11:29 PM
good job for this time ati mellodos AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 8 Jul 6, 2003 09:09 PM
Was having a good time, Spencer Off Topic Lounge 1 Apr 26, 2003 11:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink