Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking Discuss Radeon tweaking, modding, and overclocking practices. Want to post your benchmarks scores? This is the place!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 24, 2003, 10:07 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Fiver
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
Fiver is still being judged by the masses


Default Low 3d mark score

I have a very low 3dmark score for my system (i think it is anyhow)
It is 3dmark 2001 and i only get 7810 points.

My system specs are

Althon XP 2400+ (Overclocked to 2600+)
Radeon 9700 Pro (at stock speeds)
512mb of ram (at 201 fsb)
Epox 8RDA+
Can anyone help me fix this, as i would prefer to get everything i can out of my system.
Fiver is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2003, 01:03 PM   #2
Donovanj
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
Donovanj is still being judged by the masses


Default

First thing is don't worry about some dumb 3dmark score!!!! Way too many folks are hung up on 3dmark and not the actual performance while in a REAL game.

Taking a guess I would say that you probably have AA and AF enabled in display properties on your video card. This is causing 3dmark to use these settings on top of its own. Most people looking for the best 3dmark score are turning all the "eye candy" options off.

The other thing it could be is the options you are using in 3dmark. Reset everything back to default settings.

Just concentrate on the actual performance in the games you play. Most games have some way to display framerate. Use these tools and your own eyes to find the best combination of good visuals and good performance. I have seen many people's pc's that score well on benchmarks but look and/or perform poorly in an actual game.

Last edited by Donovanj : Jul 27, 2003 at 09:05 AM.
Donovanj is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2003, 04:56 PM   #3
Sivadselim
livE|Evil
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Sivadselim is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Donovanj
First thing is don't worry about some dumb 3dmark score!!!!
why? that one is VERY "dumb". definitely dumb enough to b!tch about. way too low.
__________________
Athlon XP-M 2600+ @ 215.5x11.5=2478MHz * Abit NF7s rev2.0 * 1gb Corsair TwinX pc3200 @ 431MHz/11:3:3:2
BBATi Radeon X800XL AGP @ 436MHz core/540MHz memory
3DMark2K1=20499 * 3DMark2K3=10411 * 3DMark2K5=5286
all benchmarks were run at the default video driver settings with no artifacts
"The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom."
Sivadselim is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 27, 2003, 09:04 AM   #4
Donovanj
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
Donovanj is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sivadselim
why? that one is VERY "dumb". definitely dumb enough to b!tch about. way too low.
Because if, for example, he has 4xAA and 8xAF forced in his Windows display properties then his 3dmark score would be "articficially" low. Or maybe he is running the 3dmark with a higher than default resolution? Both of these scenarios would make his 3dmark "score" much lower than someone who's settings are rigged for the highest score and not for the settings they would play a game. In either case there would be nothing "wrong" with his system.

Now I'm not saying that couldn't be anything wrong. But to only judge a system by 3dmark and not anything else is just dumb.
Donovanj is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2003, 10:38 AM   #5
[email protected]
host crashed ...
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: @home
Posts: 851
d@rker is still being judged by the masses


Default

3dmark is an usefull tool to compare systems ,and it should be used in conjunction with other software to confirm results .

Fiver ,check if you have AA enabled and run @1024x768x32 .you could uninstall drivers ,use Driver Cleaner and re-install latest drivers if you haven't done so .

also , check this thread ,it has 3dmark2k1 scores under different settings of AntiAliasing and Anisotropic Filtering .
__________________
Amd 2500Mhz | Abit An7 | 1Gig OcZ | Sapphire 9700 | ViewSonic VX912 | Audigy 2
d@rker is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2003, 10:51 AM   #6
Vegie
we all like to be on top.
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 696
Vegie is still being judged by the masses


Default

check your settings.
__________________
¤ INTEL 3930K ¤ ASUS RAMPAGE IV ¤ G.SKILL RIPJAW 32GB 2133 CL9 ¤ GIGABYTE 590 ¤ INTEL 520 SSD RAID 0 ¤ CORSAIR HX1000 ¤ LIAN LI PC-X2000 ¤
Vegie is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2003, 12:34 PM   #7
hamiltonm
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 154
hamiltonm is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sivadselim
why? that one is VERY "dumb". definitely dumb enough to b!tch about. way too low.
I don't think the guy has a problem and I agree with the statement that it's dumb to worry about a benchmark as opposed to how the system actually runs.

When I first got my 9700 I refused to reinstall Windows, as suggested by everyone. I have about 99gigs of installed programs, so reinstalling it all, plus tweaks, updates, etc. sucks for me.

I was getting 7000 in 3dmark2001se and thought I had a problem, but all my games played great. I never even had ANY of the problems everyone here complains about (rolling lines, artifacts, etc.). When I overclocked everything to the max I got 9500 at best.

Edit: I only hit 9500 once, most of the time it was around 8583.

I recently changed the motherboard and CPU and bit the bullet deiciding to reinstall finally as opposed to a repair install. Wouldn't you know it, I got 15569 right off the bat. Now I'm in the process of taking it easy on the overclock and inching everything up little by little, rather than just cranking it all up right off the bat. Seems to be working this way too. My 9700 is currently at 355/335, which I was never able to hit before, but then it could be the new mobo too?

Back to the point, I agree with the donovanj, if your games run well, who cares about 3dmark?

My advice to fiver, if you want the high scores, reinstall everything from scratch (which I think is dumb for just a benchmark). Otherwise, don't worry about it.
__________________
P4-3.4E @ 4.20 and counting
Abit IC7-G Mobo
2 X 1Gb Mushkin XP4000 Redlines
Sapphire X1950 Pro 512 Meg @ 645/730
LG CDRW/DVD
2 - 160Gb WD SATA HD, 7200 RPM
Soundblaster Live
XP Pro SP2/ Vista RC2

Last edited by hamiltonm : Jul 27, 2003 at 12:45 PM.
hamiltonm is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my low 3d mark score.... jimlad General Software 2 Nov 29, 2002 01:41 PM
3d Mark score, is this bad? KoBeS General Hardware 6 Oct 15, 2002 08:48 PM
3d Mark Score PRUC Radeon Technical Support 10 Jul 29, 2002 09:41 PM
3d Mark Score Kamiclone Off Topic Lounge 6 Jul 14, 2002 05:30 PM
Radeon 64 DDR - Low 3D Mark 2001 score compared to 3D Mark 2000 Paul_Smith AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 2 Jun 11, 2001 09:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink