Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 3, 2003, 09:38 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
yrophet
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 32
yrophet is still being judged by the masses


Angry strange, slow, painful death of 9500Pro - help

When someone switched off the power to the room, my computer went off. When my computer came on, my poor 9500Pro wasn't working. After mourning for a bit and trying somethings I resorted to putting my backup TNT2 (it worked). Then I though, might as well try the radeon again. I did, and it worked. It was running smoothly for a while then, when I was using the computer, I decided it was a bit warm so I turned on the desk fan (which was attached to the same power point). Sound of hard drives spinning up and computer froze. Turned off computer. Turned on computer. Same problem as before! The vid card wasn't working again. Tried switching around the power connector for a bit, not working. Pulled out radeon and put it back in again. It worked! Hoorah, then it worked for a day or two through a few turnings of the computer off and on. But this morning, I try to turn my computer on. Guess what. Same symptoms again. Vid card not working. And this time pulling it out and putting it back in again didn't work. I couldn't be more sure than it was seated correctly. I tried many different combinations of the internal power connector including unplugging my hard drives. And I havn't been able to get it working again. So now i'm on my TNT2 again. WTF could have happened? If it died when the power went off, it wouldn't have worked after pulling it out and putting it in!? If it didn't die after the power went off, why did it randomly die after I shut down my computer normally? If there is a chance its still alive, I don't want to go through sending it back and having them test it etc. Anyone know what the problem could be?
Thanks.

My system is
Athlon 1.33 ...not overclocked
Gigabyte KT400 Mobo
2 WD HDDs
1 LG burner
"Super" Radeon 9500 Pro
SB Live!
Realtek NIC
Pixelview TV Tuner card
Floppy
yrophet is offline  
Old May 4, 2003, 12:19 AM   #2
RadeonBBQ
touchdown.
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United States PA
Posts: 383
RadeonBBQ is still being judged by the masses


Default

i would say ur house wiring is bad lol... i would use a single outlet for the box itself, and hook the moitor speakers and the desk fan up to another outlet located on a different breaker
__________________
MSI X58 Eclipse
Core i7 920 @ 3.6 GHZ
6 GB OCZ TRI CHANNEL DDR3-1600
HP W2207
1TB+500GB Seagate Barracuda
Corsair HX1000W
Visiontek HD4870X2


http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/588819.png
RadeonBBQ is offline  
Old May 4, 2003, 02:00 AM   #3
Jackl
Always watching.
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States Location, Location
Posts: 3,247
Jackl is still being judged by the masses


Default

Do you have a surge protecter? Itd suck if your hardware got zapped.
Jackl is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 4, 2003, 06:42 AM   #4
Huntley
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 39
Huntley is still being judged by the masses


Default

Another possibility is that your power supply is guilty, not the card. Anyway you could test the card in another PC (someone else's PC)?

H
Huntley is offline  
Old May 4, 2003, 08:34 AM   #5
yrophet
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 32
yrophet is still being judged by the masses


Default psu

yeah i've tested it in another computer, no go.
i have had a lot of psu trouble in the past, but i have a quality one atm (sparkle) and i doubt thats the problem. I'll connect the computer to its own power point though.
yrophet is offline  
Old May 5, 2003, 07:25 PM   #6
yrophet
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 32
yrophet is still being judged by the masses


Default err

now its started working again! arr whats going on !
yrophet is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rage3d dying a slow death? Bob Bobbles Off Topic Lounge 182 Aug 22, 2008 05:50 PM
WHY is Rage3D dying a slow death? Sharkfood Off Topic Lounge 45 Aug 20, 2008 04:43 PM
a slow death for me Zero Off Topic Lounge 34 May 5, 2005 11:02 PM
Strange problem with 9500pro Lurifax Radeon Technical Support 14 Jul 8, 2003 08:54 PM
Creative will die a slow and horrible death... dustinyo General Hardware 13 Apr 20, 2001 04:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink