Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2002, 01:18 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Krenshin
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 10
Krenshin is still being judged by the masses


Default Registry: How do you change "r200" to "Radeon 8500" in the device manager?

Just as the thread subject states, what key(s) in the registry do I need to edit to have my 8500 be displayed as "Radeon 8500" in the device manager?

I'd like to know because I prefer the "Radeon 8500" label over the "R200" one.

I don't believe it makes any difference (Between any of the windows OS's), but I am using win2k if that needs to be known.

Any insight or help would be greatly appreciated.
Krenshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 01:26 PM   #2
david_eales
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 1,108
david_eales is still being judged by the masses


Default

probably a lot more trouble then its worth but if u really want to try it go into regedit.exe and search for the word r200 have no idea if it will work though.
__________________
My operat~1 system unders~1 long filena~1 , does yours?
Join Team Rage3d [email protected] NOW!
david_eales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 01:28 PM   #3
Red Dragon Tong
Pii = 2
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canada iwoa, canada
Posts: 6,419
Red Dragon Tong is still being judged by the masses


Default

i prefer r200 over radeon 8500
Red Dragon Tong is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 9, 2002, 01:31 PM   #4
david_eales
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 1,108
david_eales is still being judged by the masses


Default

cant say it would ever bother me
__________________
My operat~1 system unders~1 long filena~1 , does yours?
Join Team Rage3d [email protected] NOW!
david_eales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 01:39 PM   #5
TheBeagle
AIW Radeon II MAXX
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Greenacres, FL
Posts: 1,629
TheBeagle is still being judged by the masses


Default

I changed it in the .inf before installing the drivers. made it a lot easier.
__________________
athlonXP 2100+ @166*13 (2700+)
asus a7n8x 2.0 deluxe
nforce sound
512mb pc2700 ddr
Radeon 9700pro
46gig ata100 maxtor
16X pioneer dvd (udma66)
24x10x40 Lite-on cd-rw
3 boot win2k pro/win98 se/winXP sp1
directX 9.0
TheBeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 01:49 PM   #6
Krenshin
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 10
Krenshin is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yeah I know it is a bit anal retentive, but I'm just sitting here with little to do ATM and figured I would give it a try.

david_eales,

I did do the search (and edit) of "r200" before I posted here with no results. Rebooted etc, with no luck on changing it... The card still functions properly though.

Anyways, I do remember seeing someone here that edited (whatever you edit) his device manager to display his card as being an R300. And I do remember him stating that it was "a simple registry edit".

Does anyone know how?¿?¿?¿
Krenshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 01:54 PM   #7
Genius
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 3,232
Genius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Krenshin
Does anyone know how?¿?¿?¿
I do
Genius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 02:02 PM   #8
Krenshin
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 10
Krenshin is still being judged by the masses


Default

TheBeagle,

Was it atii2kag.inf?

I saw refrence to "r200" in it (see below). I guess I'll edit it, uninstall and reinstall my drivers, and pray that that is the inf that I need to edit. :P


______________________________________________

"R200" = ati2mtag_R200,PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_514C
"R200 " = ati2mtag_R200,PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_514E
"R200 " = ati2mtag_R200,PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_514F
"R200 " = ati2mtag_R200,PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_516C
"All-in-Wonder R200" = ati2mtag_R200AIW,PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4242&SUBSYS_02AA1002
;;;GENDRV_MFG END LINES BETWEEN COMMENTS WILL BE GENERATED DURING PACKAGING
__________________________________________________

I guess I just edit the "R200" part into "Radeon 8500"... I'm off to give it a try.
Krenshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 02:06 PM   #9
Genius
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 3,232
Genius is still being judged by the masses


Default

I simply edited this key...

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_5144&SUBSYS_001A1002&REV_01\000800]

"DeviceDesc"="Radeon 8 128MB AIW ViVo"

Yours will likely vary somewhat though.
It also depends on what OS you're using.
Dammit I'm not very observant.
Still should be just as easy.
I haved edited the .inf files before to get rid of the Omega version extension. Just use the replace all feature in wordpad to replace all instances of R200 with Radeon 8500.

Last edited by Genius : Jan 9, 2002 at 02:10 PM.
Genius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 02:25 PM   #10
Krenshin
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 10
Krenshin is still being judged by the masses


Default

Well editing that inf file worked. Thanks for pointing my nose in the right direction TheBeagle.

Genius,
Oddly enough, when I did the "R200" reg search, it didn't find that string... dunno why. Had the search found that string though, your way would have been the faster and more efficient way of doing it. :P

Last edited by Krenshin : Jan 9, 2002 at 02:27 PM.
Krenshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 03:13 PM   #11
TheBeagle
AIW Radeon II MAXX
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Greenacres, FL
Posts: 1,629
TheBeagle is still being judged by the masses


Default

no problem, I got tired of doing regedits with every new driver to re-enable 1280x960 mode. while there I figured I would correct this minor thing as well.

just search your registry before reinstalling drivers and find which one of these is your card (hardware id #) and then edit it.

"R200" = ati2mtag_R200,PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_514C
"R200 " = ati2mtag_R200,PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_514E
"R200 " = ati2mtag_R200,PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_514F
"R200 " = ati2mtag_R200,PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_516C

for example mine is dev_514c so all I have to do is rename that one and leave the others alone. now that I know this I can change any driver to whatever I like as a name for the card.
__________________
athlonXP 2100+ @166*13 (2700+)
asus a7n8x 2.0 deluxe
nforce sound
512mb pc2700 ddr
Radeon 9700pro
46gig ata100 maxtor
16X pioneer dvd (udma66)
24x10x40 Lite-on cd-rw
3 boot win2k pro/win98 se/winXP sp1
directX 9.0
TheBeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 03:37 PM   #12
EnDlEsS
No one lives forever.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,793
EnDlEsS is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just edit the inf in the driver, then reinstall the driver again...

Is easier then change in registry~~!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryars
Life goes on so why not follow it?
EnDlEsS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 03:39 PM   #13
@md_Guy
<strike>out</strike>
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 4,765
@md_Guy knows why the caged bird sings@md_Guy knows why the caged bird sings@md_Guy knows why the caged bird sings@md_Guy knows why the caged bird sings@md_Guy knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Now if you really want to screw with someone, (particualrly MadOnion) change all occuranes of R200 in the Inf file to 7500 or better yet Radeon ViVo

Bet they've never seen a 8000+ Radeon ViVo !
__________________
Fermi Paradox*: "The apparent size and age of Fermi die suggests that many technologically advanced GPUs ought to exist.
However, this hypothesis seems inconsistent with the lack of observational evidence to support it."
@md_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2002, 04:42 PM   #14
Krenshin
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 10
Krenshin is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hehe, That would be pretty funny.
Krenshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Coprocessor" in device manager -=Antimatter=- General Hardware 4 Jul 5, 2006 08:57 PM
Mods: change sticky on "revolution controler" to read "Wii controller" Oui Console Gaming 4 Apr 29, 2006 05:31 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink