Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » PC Gaming
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

PC Gaming Discuss all PC games, past and present. Talk about your favorite games, share tips and strategies, and anything else relating to computer games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 12, 2005, 08:37 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Chubz
Doomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States Virginia, USA
Posts: 12,020
Chubz knows why the caged bird singsChubz knows why the caged bird singsChubz knows why the caged bird singsChubz knows why the caged bird singsChubz knows why the caged bird sings


Default Planet Battlefield - Battlefield 2 Preview (Excellent)

Yes, they've now posted their own preview of the game and it has lots of info and likes/dislikes despite the fact that there are numerous grammar errors.

Still, if you're anticipating this game as much as me, it's definetely worth a look.

http://www.planetbattlefield.com/bf2...ew/index.shtml
__________________
YouTube Channel
Chubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2005, 09:35 PM   #2
TRD Supra
Olivia`WiLdE!
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden From Tucson, AZ. Live in Palos Heights, IL.
Posts: 3,612
TRD Supra is still being judged by the masses


Default

The machines that we played on were provided by NVIDIA. The specifications of these machines were:

AMD 3200XP+
1 Gigabyte of RAM
Geforce 6800 GT
Windows XP
1024x768 and the detail setting was on the highest.



cool got everything but the video card, but ill never get nvidia
__________________
CPU-Z Validated system specs
Sh4dowGr1p on BF3
Samsung 43" 3D PLASMA PN43D490 l XBOX 360 20GB - PS3 40GB -
Saitek Eclipse | My Games | Panasonic 37" TC-37LZ800


Gigabyte mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo
EVGA 7800GT
GSkill 4GB 2x2
DELL 19" LCD
Seagate 120GB
Pioneer DVD Burner
Logitech Elite
Windows 7 Pro

TRD Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2005, 10:02 PM   #3
Auric
Bananad
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,470
Auric is still being judged by the masses


Default

Software audio? Why low-res? Why no AA? It confirms the lemur leaping 2m in the air plus dolphin diving. Sad.
Auric is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 13, 2005, 12:25 AM   #4
Fuku2
Metal Guitarist
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada Brentwood Bay, B.C.
Posts: 12,197
Fuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRD Supra
The machines that we played on were provided by NVIDIA. The specifications of these machines were:

AMD 3200XP+
1 Gigabyte of RAM
Geforce 6800 GT
Windows XP
1024x768 and the detail setting was on the highest.



cool got everything but the video card, but ill never get nvidia
__________________
Who's the bumblefuk in the mirror?

https://www.facebook.com/Krytyn/app_178091127385
Fuku2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 01:00 AM   #5
Spynole
Ultra Combo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United States Florida
Posts: 738
Spynole is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
The recommended requirements for Battlefield 2 were:

2.5 GHz CPU
1 Gigabyte of RAM
Radeon X800 or higher
Geforce 6800 or higher.
__________________
-BF2: [Rage3D]Spynole
-BF2142: Spynole
-BF3: Spynole
Spynole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 03:14 AM   #6
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,234
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

Sooo...

With a 6800GT you get 1024/768 max details no AA or AF (looks like).

Hmmm... I just don't see enough detail to justify those low settings on a 6800GT. The processor is on the slow side but with a better one I doubt it'll get you any AA, maybe just let you up the res a notch.

Oh well if it's fun I guess it doesn't matter.
Jokerzwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 10:33 AM   #7
dawdler
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,574
dawdler is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokerzwild
Hmmm... I just don't see enough detail to justify those low settings on a 6800GT.
But that is probably assuming you want it *perfectly* smooth (60+ fps)... The average gamer will probably settle for a little less (and many have to).
dawdler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 12:00 PM   #8
Maze
Bazinga!
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Netherlands Holland
Posts: 7,494
Maze is still being judged by the masses


Default

As long it runs smooth at 1280x960 4x fsaa 8x aniso with all the settings on highest i'm happy
__________________
Camera: Canon EOS 50D + Tokina 12-24 F4, Tamron 17-50 F2.8, Canon EF 50 F1.8, Canon EF-S 55-250 F4-5.6 IS
Maze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 02:35 PM   #9
c0mmand0b0y
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Winchester
Posts: 768
c0mmand0b0y is still being judged by the masses


Default

damnnnn! GF4s wont' work??!?!?!
__________________
Barton 2500+ @ 2.3 Ghz
Asus A7N8X Deluxe 2.0
BFG 6800 OC 16x6
1 GB Corsair DDR 400
200 GB HDD
Volcano 11 Xaser Edition
c0mmand0b0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 04:02 PM   #10
Sephirothx
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: No clue, im rather lost....
Posts: 312
Sephirothx is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRD Supra
The machines that we played on were provided by NVIDIA. The specifications of these machines were:

AMD 3200XP+
1 Gigabyte of RAM
Geforce 6800 GT
Windows XP
1024x768 and the detail setting was on the highest.



cool got everything but the video card, but ill never get nvidia
Im in the same boat, upgrading to X800XL some time soon
__________________
Amd 64bit 3200+ @ 2250 (10 x 225)
Corsair XMS Pro 2x512 @ 3-3-3-8
Ati X850XT @ 600/600
Sephirothx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 06:18 PM   #11
mavman
True North
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,227
mavman is still being judged by the masses


Default

hahaha.

80% of PC gamers has 9800pro or 6600GT video card or below. I don't think BF2 will launch with OMG x800/6800 only.
mavman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 06:26 PM   #12
Chubz
Doomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States Virginia, USA
Posts: 12,020
Chubz knows why the caged bird singsChubz knows why the caged bird singsChubz knows why the caged bird singsChubz knows why the caged bird singsChubz knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nole1524
Yeah, those recommended specs are a bit frightening.
__________________
YouTube Channel
Chubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 07:27 PM   #13
Emilee
Next to her
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,930
Emilee can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyEmilee can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyEmilee can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Wow, they really need to turn on AA for such a craptastic res.
__________________
I am not a woman.
Emilee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 07:28 PM   #14
Emilee
Next to her
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,930
Emilee can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyEmilee can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyEmilee can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mavman
hahaha.

80% of PC gamers has 9800pro or 6600GT video card or below. I don't think BF2 will launch with OMG x800/6800 only.
Thats recommended, not what you need to make it work.

And no GF4's wont work, so they say. Because it doesnt have PS 1.4, just 1.1.
__________________
I am not a woman.
Emilee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 07:51 PM   #15
dreamwalker
valar morghulis
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14,468
dreamwalker once held a door open for a complete strangerdreamwalker once held a door open for a complete strangerdreamwalker once held a door open for a complete strangerdreamwalker once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

lol, my lowly Radeon 9000 pro will run BF2, great. going to be funny looking at the fps, tho.
dreamwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 09:29 PM   #16
Fuku2
Metal Guitarist
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada Brentwood Bay, B.C.
Posts: 12,197
Fuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesFuku2 doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dawdler
But that is probably assuming you want it *perfectly* smooth (60+ fps)... The average gamer will probably settle for a little less (and many have to).

Just as long as the mouse control is not screwy at lower fps like BF 1942 and BF Vietnam. I'm sure they changed it to work better. I think you can use AA and AF at full detail on high end cards but they wanted to make sure the fps were at a higher level for the videos. I would be happy with 2x AA and 8x AF on my system. That's pretty much what I use anyway. I don't notice too many jaggies in faster gameplay type games such as these anyway at that setting.
__________________
Who's the bumblefuk in the mirror?

https://www.facebook.com/Krytyn/app_178091127385
Fuku2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2005, 12:05 AM   #17
Trip
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 441
Trip is still being judged by the masses


Default

bah, my 9700pro will run it just fine like it does everything else. I'm not gonna knee-jerk and go out and get a x800superultramegapro.
__________________
wat
Trip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2005, 01:51 AM   #18
Osirus
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada st catharines
Posts: 7,411
Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Osirus once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Its looking good
I went to EB games and pre ordered and payed for my copy today

They said that the pre ordered version was the one that comes with headphones , so some of you may want to know that as im not sure if all the games will include it, or just the pre orders
Osirus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unreal Battlefield: Enemy Territory Quake Wars Performance Preview Android1 Front Page News 0 Sep 24, 2007 12:58 PM
Gamespot Battlefield 2 preview Itchiee PC Gaming 22 Mar 26, 2005 08:35 PM
New Battlefield 2 Preview and Videos Eagle-Vision PC Gaming 39 Nov 29, 2004 01:15 AM
Battlefield 2 Preview with 2 new screens TheWart PC Gaming 26 Jun 20, 2004 10:41 PM
Battlefield Vietnam preview/interview X*Devourer*X PC Gaming 14 Mar 9, 2004 01:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink