Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 4, 2007, 08:19 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
mizzer
Believing is Seeing
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,994
mizzer is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default Will the newer AGP ATI card work with this mobo?

The MSI KT3 Ultra2

http://www.msicomputer.com/product/d...del=KT3_Ultra2

Quote:
CPU
- Supports Socket A (Socket 462) for AMD® Athlon™ XP/
Athlon™/Duron™ processor
- Supports 800MHz up to 1.8GHz (Athlon™ XP 2200+)
processor
Chipset
VIA® KT333 Chipset
- FSB @200/266 MHz
- AGP 4X and PCI Advanced high performance memory
controller

VIA® VT8235 Chipset
- Integrated Direct Sound AC'97 audio
- Dual channel Ultra DMA 33/66/100/133 master mode EIDE
controller
- ACPI
- Integrated USB 2.0 controller
FSB
100/133 MHz clocks are supported.
Main Memory
- Supports six memory banks using three 184-pin DDR DIMMs
- Supports a maximum memory size up to 3GB
- Supports 2.5V DDR200/266/333 DDR SDRAM DIMM
Slots
- One AGP slot
- AGP (Accelerated Graphics Port) specification compliant
- Supports AGP 2.0 1x/2x/4x
- Five 32-bit PCI bus slots (support 3.3v/5v PCI bus interface)
- One CNR (Communication Network Riser) slot
mizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2007, 08:53 AM   #2
mizzer
Believing is Seeing
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,994
mizzer is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Sheesh. 51 views and not one comment.
mizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2007, 10:27 AM   #3
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,944
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Yes.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 5, 2007, 11:30 AM   #4
kirschen
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arlington, Virginia
Posts: 137
kirschen is still being judged by the masses


Default

Mizzer,

I believe that any AGP card will work with that system. The system supports AGP 1x-4X, and even the newest AGP cards are sold as 4x-8X compliant. So, I see no problem with using a newer AGP card with that system. Heck, I once ran an AGP 4X/8X card at AGP 2X, and it worked properly. Don't ask me why. I know a lot of things, but I don't understand most of them.

Cheers,
__________________
Freddy
kirschen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2007, 05:46 PM   #5
mizzer
Believing is Seeing
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,994
mizzer is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Thanks guys. That was my conclusion after some research but I needed further reassurance.
mizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2007, 09:59 PM   #6
clerick
tfw
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada Québec
Posts: 12,781
clerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwards


Default

Supposedly the new R600 based cards will use a pcie-agp bridge that requires AGP 8. I have a kv8pro with a venice 3200+ chip at 2.7 ghz (the chip was 55 bucks, the mobo is like a 100). If I was you and were looking for a cheap amd board I'd still go with a S954 system.
__________________
Quote:
"In the year 2004, ATi fans marveled in their own magnificence as ATi gave birth to catalyst A.I . We don't know who struck first, nVidia or us, but it is us who scorched the IQ forever"
R.I.P Vasi, 2002-2011
clerick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2007, 12:04 PM   #7
Jas420221
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6,221
Jas420221 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yes it will work. Though if you get an X1950pro or X1950xt agp you may have some bandwidth issues b/c of the 4x....

Quote:
Originally Posted by clerick View Post
Supposedly the new R600 based cards will use a pcie-agp bridge that requires AGP 8. I have a kv8pro with a venice 3200+ chip at 2.7 ghz (the chip was 55 bucks, the mobo is like a 100). If I was you and were looking for a cheap amd board I'd still go with a S954 system.
S754???
Jas420221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2007, 01:03 PM   #8
[email protected]
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 696
AMD_G@y is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jas420221 View Post
Yes it will work. Though if you get an X1950pro or X1950xt agp you may have some bandwidth issues b/c of the 4x....

S754???
there may be a bandwidth issue however I wouldn't see it being a "real" issue since even AGP 8x's potential was never close to being reached, typically the drop to AGP4X transfered into approx 15-20% difference at max. The situation is very similiar to the difference between PCIe 4x and PCIe 16x, a definite difference in performance however not one that makes 4x (either APG or PCIe) unplayable.
AMD_G@y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2007, 01:06 PM   #9
clerick
tfw
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canada Québec
Posts: 12,781
clerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwardsclerick can recite pi backwards


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jas420221 View Post
Yes it will work. Though if you get an X1950pro or X1950xt agp you may have some bandwidth issues b/c of the 4x....

S754???
Ya its S754.
__________________
Quote:
"In the year 2004, ATi fans marveled in their own magnificence as ATi gave birth to catalyst A.I . We don't know who struck first, nVidia or us, but it is us who scorched the IQ forever"
R.I.P Vasi, 2002-2011
clerick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2007, 04:49 PM   #10
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,944
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jas420221 View Post
Yes it will work. Though if you get an X1950pro or X1950xt agp you may have some bandwidth issues b/c of the 4x....
I don't recall seeing any testing that showed AGP 4x was conclusively slower than 8x, when I was interested in such things - the 9800pro/x800 era. Maybe with the X1950 series that would be true; IDK.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2007, 08:05 PM   #11
mizzer
Believing is Seeing
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,994
mizzer is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

The KT3 is in my older system. I'd like to upgrade it on a budget. Hence the question. Thanks guys.
mizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2007, 05:35 AM   #12
Jas420221
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6,221
Jas420221 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
I don't recall seeing any testing that showed AGP 4x was conclusively slower than 8x, when I was interested in such things - the 9800pro/x800 era. Maybe with the X1950 series that would be true; IDK.
It is...well at least on my system it made a difference. I scored almost 10k in 3dmk05 on 8x. I backed it down to 4x and lost nearly 2k points. So its conclusive for ME I suppose. X800/9800 only needed the 4x bandwidth, that era is 3+ years ago.
Jas420221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2007, 11:51 AM   #13
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,944
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Good to know; thanks.

Oh, and my personal 9800/X800 era ended a couple of months ago :embarrased:
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2007, 12:12 PM   #14
Jas420221
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6,221
Jas420221 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Good to know; thanks.

Oh, and my personal 9800/X800 era ended a couple of months ago :embarrased:
Same here...
Jas420221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCI-E v2.0 x16 card work in PCI-E x16 mobo? rick63366 General Hardware 2 Sep 27, 2009 09:21 PM
Can't get my AIW 9700 card to work with my satellite dish - do I need a newer AIW? mylusi AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 25 Apr 4, 2005 05:32 PM
Cant get newer drivers to work with my 8500le. Lance1 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 0 Feb 19, 2003 08:03 PM
Will an agp8x card work with an agp4x mobo? CompuGeek Radeon Technical Support 1 Jul 18, 2002 09:43 AM
Newer driver doesn't work on my computer :-( MyVote Radeon Technical Support 5 May 30, 2001 02:16 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink