Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 18, 2006, 12:07 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
nomore
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States USA
Posts: 14,197
nomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channel


Default Forget the X1950 pro, X1950 XT is here

X1950 XT is expected to be in stock before x1950 pro. and to be cheaper than x1950 pro

ok, ok I am just kidding.




Quote:
RADEON X1950 XT - 256MB Specifications


RADEON™ X1950 XT core (625MHz)256MB GDDR3 onboard memory (1800MHz)

http://www.sapphiretech.com/en/produ...s.php?gpid=169

I wonder whether Ratchet got a x1950xt already, and not telling us about it. He is probably reviewing it right now.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by John C Flett
I'd swear the PC is the Dracula of gaming. Old and powerful, somebody is always trying to kill it, but it always comes back from the dead, strong as ever.
Quote:
Originally Posted by H001iGAN View Post
no matter how you look at it, it's still better on PC
nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 12:30 AM   #2
cjl64
The Mod has you....
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States Potsdam Ny
Posts: 6,487
cjl64 is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

If they put a $250 price tag on this then it could very well be my next card.
Can only hope they make a 512mb version of this card. This should be almost as fast as a regular x1900 XTX if it falls into the pattern right. Kinda like a 7900GTO/7900GTX.. Will wait and see.
cjl64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 01:12 AM   #3
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,237
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

Aw hell man no fun...

No GDDR4, and same old cooler.

I'd do another tradearoo with the Egg if it had all the perks of the X1950XTX . Basically it's a memory oc'd X1900XT. Even got the same core speed.

That is some nice speed on the mem tho, I'd never be able to get my X1900 to 900mhz.
__________________
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde
Jokerzwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 18, 2006, 01:15 AM   #4
IbaneZ
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 259
IbaneZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokerzwild View Post
Basically it's a memory oc'd X1900XT. Even got the same core speed.
Quote:
36 pixel shader processors
http://www.sapphiretech.com/en/produ...s.php?gpid=169

I wonder if Sapphire messed up the printed specs.

Last edited by IbaneZ : Oct 18, 2006 at 01:17 AM.
IbaneZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 01:17 AM   #5
cvearl
God uses ATI.
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Canada
Posts: 6,026
cvearl is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

No thanks.

I got excited for nothin. But nice find!

I wanted the new style cooler or at least HIS's ICEQ3 X1950XT (if they have one) over that. Unless they did some voodoo and it's quiet all of a sudden.

That or the HIS ICEQ3 X1900XT256 I am waiting for or the X1950Pro. Whatever comes first.

The old coolers need to GO AWAY once and for all. Hahaha.

C.
__________________
Loving me some Flight Sim with FSX and the latest add ons.

Welcome to Flight sim 2012 - http://youtu.be/rmZNMjn30XQ

The add ons...

Planes - http://www.carenado.com/CarSite/Port...ccion=products
Scenery - http://fullterrain.com/
Enviroment - http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/
Hardware - http://www.saitek.com/

Last edited by cvearl : Oct 18, 2006 at 01:25 AM.
cvearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 01:20 AM   #6
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,237
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IbaneZ View Post
http://www.sapphiretech.com/en/produ...s.php?gpid=169

I wonder if Sapphire messed up the printed specs.
OUCH! I didn't even notice that! That's gotta be a misprint.
__________________
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde
Jokerzwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 01:25 AM   #7
IbaneZ
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 259
IbaneZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokerzwild View Post
That's gotta be a misprint.
Yeah, at least I hope so.

But who knows, maybe ATI is using the RV570 cores on these "XT's"? I guess we'll find out on Friday.
IbaneZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 01:30 AM   #8
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,237
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvearl View Post
No thanks.

I got excited for nothin. But nice find!

I wanted the new style cooler or at least HIS's ICEQ3 X1950XT (if they have one) over that. Unless they did some voodoo and it's quiet all of a sudden.

That or the HIS ICEQ3 X1900XT256 I am waiting for or the X1950Pro. Whatever comes first.

The old coolers need to GO AWAY once and for all. Hahaha.

C.
I should have sprang the few extra bucks for the HIS card, this stock cooler is a cantancarous brick.

I wish like hell they'd just release that ICEQ3 cooler as an aftermarket part. They'd make a damn killing on it.
__________________
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde
Jokerzwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 01:34 AM   #9
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,237
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IbaneZ View Post
Yeah, at least I hope so.

But who knows, maybe ATI is using the RV570 cores on these "XT's"? I guess we'll find out on Friday.
Yeah they could be thinkin' that the extra mem speed would just put it even with the X1900XT and save cash on using the cheaper cores. That sucks though in my humblest of opinions .

Like you said I guess we'll just wait and see.

Edit: Getting rid of the excess GT cores maybe?
__________________
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde

Last edited by Jokerzwild : Oct 18, 2006 at 01:37 AM.
Jokerzwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 07:46 AM   #10
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,533
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies

sorry nomore.

Same cooler, no gddr4. I'll take a x1950xtx over that or a x1950pro.
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 08:00 AM   #11
Dulak
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Dulak is still being judged by the masses


Default

ya if they used a different cooler maybe then ... might as well just get a 1900xt for cheeper and OC it.
__________________
Antec P150 case, Asus A8R-MVP, AMD 64 3200+, C3D x800 (unlocked 500-500~), SB audigy 2, 1gig of pc 3700, Dell 2405
Dulak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 09:00 AM   #12
Ratchet
The Tool
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canada The Rock
Posts: 7,623
Ratchet is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

that's a misprint, should be 48
they probably copy/pasted the X1950 Pro page

(and no, I don't have one)
__________________
7
Ratchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 09:31 AM   #13
jam2k
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,702
jam2k is still being judged by the masses


Default

OMG Sooo many cards ...
jam2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 10:51 AM   #14
DiaperJe|\|i3
Proud Papa
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,328
DiaperJe|\|i3 once held a door open for a complete strangerDiaperJe|\|i3 once held a door open for a complete strangerDiaperJe|\|i3 once held a door open for a complete strangerDiaperJe|\|i3 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

good time to be a consumer.
__________________
{currently watching : Planet Earth }
{currently reading : Spook Country }
{currently missing : Vengence : SH64 : ChrisRay : ragejg : Efin }
DiaperJe|\|i3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 12:39 PM   #15
Blacklash
Che cazzo stai dicendo?
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Old Vizima
Posts: 1,992
Blacklash is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yeah forget the old coolers and I like the new chips that run cooler and on less power. You probably need a dongle to Xfire the X1950 XTs and a more expensive master.

I am probably just going to Crossfire the two cheapest X1950 Pros I can find when the prices settle. They will do fine @ 1680x.

Last edited by Blacklash : Oct 18, 2006 at 12:43 PM.
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 12:53 PM   #16
DiaperJe|\|i3
Proud Papa
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,328
DiaperJe|\|i3 once held a door open for a complete strangerDiaperJe|\|i3 once held a door open for a complete strangerDiaperJe|\|i3 once held a door open for a complete strangerDiaperJe|\|i3 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklash View Post
Yeah forget the old coolers and I like the new chips that run cooler and on less power. You probably need a dongle to Xfire the X1950 XTs and a more expensive master.

I am probably just going to Crossfire the two cheapest X1950 Pros I can find when the prices settle. They will do fine @ 1680x.
Yeah, my gripe about crossfire till this point has been the price of the master cards. With SLI both cards are at least the same price!
__________________
{currently watching : Planet Earth }
{currently reading : Spook Country }
{currently missing : Vengence : SH64 : ChrisRay : ragejg : Efin }
DiaperJe|\|i3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 02:56 PM   #17
Ratchet
The Tool
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canada The Rock
Posts: 7,623
Ratchet is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

X1950 Pro Crossfire kicks a lot of ass.
__________________
7
Ratchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 03:59 PM   #18
cvearl
God uses ATI.
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Canada
Posts: 6,026
cvearl is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratchet View Post
X1950 Pro Crossfire kicks a lot of ass.
And it will be affordable for a change. Gotta love advances. Red or green ones.

Has ANY problem been found over and above normal CF setups? It is a new bridge tech right?

C.
__________________
Loving me some Flight Sim with FSX and the latest add ons.

Welcome to Flight sim 2012 - http://youtu.be/rmZNMjn30XQ

The add ons...

Planes - http://www.carenado.com/CarSite/Port...ccion=products
Scenery - http://fullterrain.com/
Enviroment - http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/
Hardware - http://www.saitek.com/
cvearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 04:28 PM   #19
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,533
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratchet View Post
X1950 Pro Crossfire kicks a lot of ass.

I'm waiting for your review.

my god, this sounds good.
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 06:44 PM   #20
Ratchet
The Tool
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canada The Rock
Posts: 7,623
Ratchet is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

looks like I'll have it ready tomorrow sometime
__________________
7
Ratchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 06:54 PM   #21
Dulak
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Dulak is still being judged by the masses


Default

Give us the Goods Ratchet
__________________
Antec P150 case, Asus A8R-MVP, AMD 64 3200+, C3D x800 (unlocked 500-500~), SB audigy 2, 1gig of pc 3700, Dell 2405
Dulak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 07:47 PM   #22
cvearl
God uses ATI.
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Canada
Posts: 6,026
cvearl is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

Yay something to read with morning coffee? I hope.

Or even lunch time reading is fine too.

C.
__________________
Loving me some Flight Sim with FSX and the latest add ons.

Welcome to Flight sim 2012 - http://youtu.be/rmZNMjn30XQ

The add ons...

Planes - http://www.carenado.com/CarSite/Port...ccion=products
Scenery - http://fullterrain.com/
Enviroment - http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/
Hardware - http://www.saitek.com/
cvearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 09:47 PM   #23
Ratchet
The Tool
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canada The Rock
Posts: 7,623
Ratchet is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

It's 90% done. I could finish it tonight if I pushed, but I'm kinda tired.
__________________
7
Ratchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 10:06 PM   #24
cvearl
God uses ATI.
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Canada
Posts: 6,026
cvearl is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratchet View Post
It's 90% done. I could finish it tonight if I pushed, but I'm kinda tired.

Ok lunch is fine.
__________________
Loving me some Flight Sim with FSX and the latest add ons.

Welcome to Flight sim 2012 - http://youtu.be/rmZNMjn30XQ

The add ons...

Planes - http://www.carenado.com/CarSite/Port...ccion=products
Scenery - http://fullterrain.com/
Enviroment - http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/
Hardware - http://www.saitek.com/
cvearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 10:31 PM   #25
Dulak
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Dulak is still being judged by the masses


Default

ya lunch is fine ... Ill be eating an avacado sandwich and reading about the 1950pro ... cant wait!
__________________
Antec P150 case, Asus A8R-MVP, AMD 64 3200+, C3D x800 (unlocked 500-500~), SB audigy 2, 1gig of pc 3700, Dell 2405
Dulak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2006, 07:09 AM   #26
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,533
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies

****. I was hoping for a Starbucks coffe + a shiply's donut this moring with a Good read.


Mcdonalds it is....


Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2006, 02:32 PM   #27
Ratchet
The Tool
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canada The Rock
Posts: 7,623
Ratchet is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

__________________
7
Ratchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2006, 03:07 PM   #28
SIrPauly
Did someone say, RGSSAA?
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: United States New England
Posts: 16,739
SIrPauly can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySIrPauly can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySIrPauly can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Cool! Will check it out!
SIrPauly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2006, 09:38 PM   #29
nomore
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States USA
Posts: 14,197
nomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channel


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokerzwild View Post
Aw hell man no fun...

No GDDR4, and same old cooler.

I'd do another tradearoo with the Egg if it had all the perks of the X1950XTX . Basically it's a memory oc'd X1900XT. Even got the same core speed.

That is some nice speed on the mem tho, I'd never be able to get my X1900 to 900mhz.
Are you gonna do trades with Newegg forever????

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvearl View Post
No thanks.

I got excited for nothin. But nice find!

I wanted the new style cooler or at least HIS's ICEQ3 X1950XT (if they have one) over that. Unless they did some voodoo and it's quiet all of a sudden.

That or the HIS ICEQ3 X1900XT256 I am waiting for or the X1950Pro. Whatever comes first.

The old coolers need to GO AWAY once and for all. Hahaha.

C.
we might even see a Sapphire TOXIC X1950XT edition. That might be even better than HIS ICEQ3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound_Card View Post
sorry nomore.

Same cooler, no gddr4. I'll take a x1950xtx over that or a x1950pro.
I pretty much think the same way.

but since x1950xt has the old cooler and it is 90nm, there is a possibility it might end up cheaper than x1950 pro.
plus x1950 pro is around $280 right now anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratchet View Post
X1950 Pro Crossfire kicks a lot of ass.
after all it is Crossfire done right.
Lately, Ati is doing a lot of things right.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by John C Flett
I'd swear the PC is the Dracula of gaming. Old and powerful, somebody is always trying to kill it, but it always comes back from the dead, strong as ever.
Quote:
Originally Posted by H001iGAN View Post
no matter how you look at it, it's still better on PC
nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2006, 10:34 PM   #30
Blacklash
Che cazzo stai dicendo?
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Old Vizima
Posts: 1,992
Blacklash is still being judged by the masses


Default

I hope HIS releases one of these with an Iceq cooler. So the X1950 XT uses GDDR 3 however it's clocked at 900 x2, aka 1800. That should be pretty fast if the timings aren't too relaxed.

BTW Nice review! First thing I noticed is the small difference between the X1900 GT and the X1950 Pro. I also noticed X1950 Pro Crossfire scales much better than X1900 GT Crossfire. I was paying most attention to 1600x with filtering active. For power, heat, noise, and Crossfire, the X1950 Pro looks better. Good job ATi and a nice refinement.

These remind me of the "X1700 XTs" I wanted made way back when.

Last edited by Blacklash : Oct 19, 2006 at 10:48 PM.
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon X1950 Pro AGP vs. X1950 XTX PCI ComradeKin AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 17 Mar 1, 2007 03:24 PM
X1950 XT vs X1950 pro Steph3dfx AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 4 Feb 25, 2007 05:53 PM
Sapphire X1950 Pro AGP & X1950 Pro Ultimate PCIe Reviewed! 1stFlight Front Page News 1 Jan 23, 2007 07:34 PM
Radeon x1950 Crossifre + x1950 XTX the_gas AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 1 Oct 18, 2006 11:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink