Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » PC Gaming
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

PC Gaming Discuss all PC games, past and present. Talk about your favorite games, share tips and strategies, and anything else relating to computer games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2003, 05:02 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Hellbinder
Nothing but the Truth
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada Coeur d Alene, Idaho
Posts: 5,124
Hellbinder is still being judged by the masses


Default New UT2K3 patch increases perf on Radeon 9700pro

I just updated to the new UT patch today (and bonus pack). Performance accross the board is up for the 9700pro in D3D. It was good before but it is fantastically smooth and stable now, even at 6x FSAA+ 16X Perf Aniso. I just played for about 3 hours. I did not see the frame counter drop below 45 even one time. It was often hanging at about 65-70ish, with most combat situations around mid 50's. I had all the settngs maxed, with detail textures on at 1024x768 with 6x FSAA+16X Perf AF. I played all the new maps also. The performance was just really sweet, not super huge, but liquidy smooth and very consistant.
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500 @ 3.6ghz
His Radeon 6870 @ 945/1140
4GB Ram
Hellbinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2003, 05:23 AM   #2
MERLINSDEN
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Midlands UK
Posts: 70
MERLINSDEN is still being judged by the masses


Default

Excellent, DL'ing now.

Cat3.0's lost me 3-4fps, wouldn't mind having those frames back.
__________________
P4 2.53 @ 2.8 IT7Max2v2 9700Pro
MERLINSDEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2003, 05:54 AM   #3
nsgua
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 330
nsgua is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: New UT2K3 patch increases perf on Radeon 9700pro

Quote:
Originally posted by Hellbinder
I just updated to the new UT patch today (and bonus pack). Performance accross the board is up for the 9700pro in D3D. It was good before but it is fantastically smooth and stable now, even at 6x FSAA+ 16X Perf Aniso. I just played for about 3 hours. I did not see the frame counter drop below 45 even one time. It was often hanging at about 65-70ish, with most combat situations around mid 50's. I had all the settngs maxed, with detail textures on at 1024x768 with 6x FSAA+16X Perf AF. I played all the new maps also. The performance was just really sweet, not super huge, but liquidy smooth and very consistant.

very nice. which patch exactly? 2166?
__________________
Phenom II X4 965 BE
ATI Radeon 5870 1GB
4GB Ram, X-fi, windows 7 x64
nsgua is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 1, 2003, 05:56 AM   #4
nsgua
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 330
nsgua is still being judged by the masses


Red face

oh, i found it... 2186.

thx
__________________
Phenom II X4 965 BE
ATI Radeon 5870 1GB
4GB Ram, X-fi, windows 7 x64
nsgua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2003, 07:26 AM   #5
HyperZ77
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Central America
Posts: 137
HyperZ77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

ill test that patch and see if it helps the 8500/9100 in d3d
__________________
AMD [email protected] 2100 Mhz
384 MB RAM PC2100 CAS2 Ultra
ATI [email protected] 64 MB (283/283)
CATALYST 3.0a + R3DTweak 3.7a
MSI KT3 Ultra-2 (KT333) BIOS 5.6
Realtek 10/100 NIC
Full Tower Case 400watts Generic
VIA AGP Vxd v4.43
Windows XP Pro SP1 DX9.0
HyperZ77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2003, 07:49 AM   #6
klutzon
Found his way home
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kenya Rage3D: The Home of Manches™
Posts: 12,864
klutzon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yay! Finally some optimization for the 9700!
__________________
It's SEGA time!

Klutz is enjoying his "Forever" membership at Galbadia Hotel... THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR CLICKS GUYS!!! :)
Galbadia Hotel: a place for game soundtrack lovers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Swordmaster View Post
This is true. 'sides, Klutzon could quintuple post something and I'd still prefer his.
Quote:
Originally Posted by UDHA
Yes, I'm a stubborn moron at times, but it keeps me occupied ;)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honsy
Just tell her to open her mouth and close her eyes ... then throw her down and stick it in her pooper ;)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultimacy
Welcome to the world of current events. Feel free to grab a brochure and get back to us when you've caught up with the latest news.
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzzieBloke
It's okay Vazel. We all know about your "punctuation" issues and how much you like ";" as opposed to ":"
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayzian View Post
Ugh, I hate that.. I honestly get so paranoid it's not even funny. One time, I ran out of eyedrops (dear god) and forgot. I went to the nearest shoppers, red-eyed as hell, holding only a box of clear-eyes in a huge line up, never.. ever.. again...
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiaperJe|\|i3 View Post
Yeah, it seems like any game that doesn't measure up to some arbitrary standard or feeling we expect to have gets labeled consolized! What?!? Blurry textures! Consolitus! You can't save every 4 seconds? Consolitus! It doesn't have 12 million buttons that are bindable to controls! Consolitus! I can't use 16XAA with 166XAF consolitus! I got laid last nite because I wasn't playing PC games. Consolitus! No wait....
| My Games Collection (last updated Oct 07)
klutzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2003, 08:17 AM   #7
breez
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland Finland
Posts: 1,016
breez is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up Great

I haven't done much testing, but it really gave me a big boost in fps and smoothness.
__________________
CPU: Tbred-b @ 1.9GHz
Motherboard: Abit NF7-S 2.0
Memory: 1024MB DDR400 7-3-3-2.5
Video card: Connect3D AIW Radeon 9800 SE @ Pro
Sound: EMU 0404
Operating system: XP SP2
breez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2003, 08:55 AM   #8
JK1
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 122
JK1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Is it me or did they tart up the planet in Phobos map? With the rings and asteriods.
__________________
Rig: Athlon XP2200, Vantec Aeroflow. Gigabyte GA-7VAXP. Connect3D 9700 Pro. 2 Westerd Digital Caviar 80GB hard disks in RAID 0. SB Audigy. Plextor 16/10/40 CDRW 13950 3D Marks
JK1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2003, 09:01 AM   #9
breez
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland Finland
Posts: 1,016
breez is still being judged by the masses


Default

I asked my clanmates about this patch. It increased perfomance also on their GF4Ti cards. Very good patch I think.
__________________
CPU: Tbred-b @ 1.9GHz
Motherboard: Abit NF7-S 2.0
Memory: 1024MB DDR400 7-3-3-2.5
Video card: Connect3D AIW Radeon 9800 SE @ Pro
Sound: EMU 0404
Operating system: XP SP2
breez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2003, 10:30 AM   #10
The_KELRaTH
42
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom Outside looking in
Posts: 2,913
The_KELRaTH is still being judged by the masses


Default

You get the feeling that Epic guys have played with GFFX and said.. ok.. where's that 9700Pro, need to start optimizing for the best!! Almost a shame that this patch wasn't out before all the GFFX v 9700Pro reviews!!!
The_KELRaTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2003, 10:34 AM   #11
sunnyd
Where's my Starcraft 3?
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Houston, Texas
Posts: 645
sunnyd is still being judged by the masses


Default

I thought it was just me...I had noticed an improvement across the board on my 9700p as well. HOORAY! Now, if they fix that FARKING low min framerate dealy, I will be a happy man...for a while.
sunnyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2003, 01:39 PM   #12
Drunken Janitor
Blistering Barnacles!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada Winnipeg
Posts: 6,280
Drunken Janitor can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyDrunken Janitor can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

no improvements for me. i even reinstalled 2k3 and i had to go back to opengl to be able to play smoothly with 4x AA, 8x AF @ 1024*768*32. all settings are on max except geometry which is at i think high settings...

by smoothly, i mean it doesn't fall below 30 fps. with D3D it was going to the low 20s. very noticable chop.
though i could test it some more, i have mid-terms thins week. i'll wait for a study break. must go now.
__________________
i5 4670 Haswell <> Gigabyte radeon 280x <> 8 gigs of some ram that happened to be on sale that week <> Asus Z87-K <> Some DVD burner that has been used for 3-4 computers - might be a pioneer <> Winblows 10 Now!
Drunken Janitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2003, 08:10 PM   #13
gravioli
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Cosmopolis, WA
Posts: 703
gravioli is still being judged by the masses


Default

I got a slight change in performance moving from the 2166 patch to the 2186 patch. The biggest change I noticed was in minimum frames per second which were increased by ~20%.

Here are my new Antalus Flyby scores at 1024x768x32:

No AA, No Aniso
dm-antalus
39.090702 / 116.052834 / 350.782501 fps
Score = 116.089767

2xAA, Performance 16xAniso (this is what I use when I play most of the time)

dm-antalus
48.743233 / 115.444206 / 426.338837 fps
Score = 115.484787

6xAA, Quality 16xAniso

dm-antalus
44.684978 / 115.412971 / 399.982147 fps
Score = 115.449905

It appears that at 1024x768x32 AA and Aniso are free. On visual inspection there is indeed a difference in IQ as I increase the quality settings. Must be the CPU bottleneck I guess.

Last edited by gravioli : Feb 2, 2003 at 11:13 AM.
gravioli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just reinstalled UT2K3 Need the ATI patch. Vengeance PC Gaming 7 Dec 14, 2003 01:22 AM
Is there anymore headroom for driver performance(FPS) increases for my 9700pro? Qb2k5 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 11 Sep 17, 2003 09:31 PM
Does the new UT2K3 patch require the first patch? FPSPCGamer PC Gaming 1 Dec 20, 2002 01:21 AM
Radeon 9700Pro and UT2k3 problems elpipetuanis Radeon Technical Support 5 Dec 9, 2002 01:38 PM
UT2K3 patch released david Radeon Technical Support 1 Sep 17, 2002 02:49 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink