Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2012, 04:43 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default Upgrade from 6970

I've been tossing the idea around about going with another 6970 in CF, or selling my current 6970 and getting a 7970 OC'd Edition. I hear the 6900 series in CF scales very well, but I also hear about microstuttering. Thoughts anyone?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 05:53 PM   #2
spike700
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,358
spike700 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I went 6970 CF instead of getting a 7970. 6970 Crossfire does scale really well but the microstutter can be a pain at times, although it's not as bad as other people have let on. The biggest issue with microstutter that I have had is in older games that don't really need CF to begin with.
For the few other games that have stuttering problems, radeonpro works well enough.

Edit: This is also my first CF system, to be completely honest I don't think I would bother going with crossfire again.
__________________
------------------------------------------------------
Aoccdrnig to rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a total mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.
****nig amzanig huh?
------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by spike700 : Dec 24, 2012 at 06:02 PM.
spike700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:07 PM   #3
atomBomb
Diamond Stealth 2mb VRAM
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Finland Under sun.
Posts: 483
atomBomb is still being judged by the masses


Default

Bite it for another 6months and go for 8970 or whatever it will be..
atomBomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:49 PM   #4
Greasy
Raiding Curio's Stable
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States NC
Posts: 13,937
Greasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

I would go 7970 over 6970 Crossfire. The noise and heat savings alone is worth it.
Greasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:57 PM   #5
Ulysses 31
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,120
Ulysses 31 is still being judged by the masses


Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaptkarl40 View Post
I've been tossing the idea around about going with another 6970 in CF, or selling my current 6970 and getting a 7970 OC'd Edition. I hear the 6900 series in CF scales very well, but I also hear about microstuttering. Thoughts anyone?
A 7970 performs nearly as good as 6970s in CF in some games. Most of the time it's a little less than 2 6970s.

Get a 7990 or 2 7970s or wait for 8800/8900 series if you really wanna see noticable improvement.

And yeah there's a lot of microsturrering when playing v-sync capped with CF. Use MSI Afterburner fps limiter to get rid of it.
__________________
Intel Core i7 6950X @ 4.3Ghz \ 2x GTX 1080 8GB SLI \ 128 GB G.Skill Trident Z 3333 Mhz DDR4 \ Asus Rampage V Edition 10 \ ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q \ Asus Claymore \ SupremeFx \ Logitech Z-5500 5.1 \ 2x Samsung 1TB 2x Samsung 2TB \ In Win D-Frame 2 \ Corsair AX1200 Watt \ Windows 10 Pro x64
Ulysses 31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 02:44 AM   #6
KAC
That postcount though...
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 57,748
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

I went 7970 over 6970 CFX and I don't regret it one bit.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:03 PM   #7
oracleskateboar
i love 40 yr old moms
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 169
oracleskateboar is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just get a 6990 Radeon or 5970 Radeon, they are going for super cheap these days
__________________
Core "i9" engineering sample
oracleskateboar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 11:39 AM   #8
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

My advice is to go with a single 7970 GHz Edition or wait for an 8000 series release.
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 10:13 AM   #9
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I just pulled the trigger and bought a Gigabyte 7970 GHz edition from Newegg. I was going to buy the 1100MHz card, but it was another $50 bucks. With excellent OC'ing potential, I went with the 1000MHz card. I sold my 6970 within 4 hrs of listing it on ebay, plus did some side computer work for the neighbor, so no cash out of pocket for my upgrade! I'm pumped!

I sould have it in my hands by Weds and will post back once I benchmark it.

Yes!

Kapt
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 10:53 AM   #10
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Getting ready for Crysis 3. Looks like a great game and my new 7970 should run it fluidly.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 12:00 PM   #11
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,940
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

nice, free upgrade FTW!
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 01:17 PM   #12
ViN86
Drinking your milkshake
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States Boston
Posts: 3,186
ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ViN86 once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaptkarl40 View Post
I just pulled the trigger and bought a Gigabyte 7970 GHz edition from Newegg. I was going to buy the 1100MHz card, but it was another $50 bucks. With excellent OC'ing potential, I went with the 1000MHz card. I sold my 6970 within 4 hrs of listing it on ebay, plus did some side computer work for the neighbor, so no cash out of pocket for my upgrade! I'm pumped!

I sould have it in my hands by Weds and will post back once I benchmark it.

Yes!

Kapt
May I ask how much you sold it for? I'm considering selling one of mine.
__________________
Intel i7-5820K ∙ Asus X99-A ∙ Crucial 4x4GB DDR4-2400 ∙ EVGA GTX1080 ∙ Samsung 840 EVO 250GB ∙ ASUS PG279Q + Dell U2713HM ∙ Corsair HX850 ∙ Win10/Ubuntu16 | Xbox One
Lenovo T470p ∙ Intel i7-7700HQ ∙ Nvidia 940MX ∙ 2x8GB DDR4-2400 ∙ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB/ZTC M.2 2242 256GB ∙ 1440p IPS ∙ Win10/Ubuntu16
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 05:50 PM   #13
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
May I ask how much you sold it for? I'm considering selling one of mine.
I don't mind at all. I sold it for $212. I checked beforehand to see what they were going for, and I found anywhere from $175 to $240 depending on brand and condition. So I priced it to sell, and it sold in less than four hours after I posted it. I could have probably gotten a little more, but I'm ok with the price.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:03 AM   #14
catso
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 188
catso is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaptkarl40 View Post
I just pulled the trigger and bought a Gigabyte 7970 GHz edition from Newegg. I was going to buy the 1100MHz card, but it was another $50 bucks. With excellent OC'ing potential, I went with the 1000MHz card. I sold my 6970 within 4 hrs of listing it on ebay, plus did some side computer work for the neighbor, so no cash out of pocket for my upgrade! I'm pumped!

I sould have it in my hands by Weds and will post back once I benchmark it.

Yes!

Kapt
Oh dear

The Gigabyte 7970 GE edition is THE worst one you could possibly get. I bought one and found out the following.
  • Voltage locked at 1.256 and it is NOT software/BIOS mod-able as it simply lacks the voltage control HW.
  • Fan speed at idle is stuck at 50% and no BIOS fix from Gigabyte

I sent mine back for a refund after successfully arguing that 50% fan speed at idle was indeed broken. I got a XFX X-Edition non GE 7970 instead and it is a far superior card as it is voltage unlocked. It runs 1200 at 1.175 volts and as a consequence run much cooler and quieter than the Gigabyte GE 7970.

Locked at 1.256 = bad IMHO
catso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 09:36 AM   #15
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catso View Post
Oh dear

The Gigabyte 7970 GE edition is THE worst one you could possibly get. I bought one and found out the following.
  • Voltage locked at 1.256 and it is NOT software/BIOS mod-able as it simply lacks the voltage control HW.
  • Fan speed at idle is stuck at 50% and no BIOS fix from Gigabyte

I sent mine back for a refund after successfully arguing that 50% fan speed at idle was indeed broken. I got a XFX X-Edition non GE 7970 instead and it is a far superior card as it is voltage unlocked. It runs 1200 at 1.175 volts and as a consequence run much cooler and quieter than the Gigabyte GE 7970.

Locked at 1.256 = bad IMHO
Wow. So sorry you had problems with yours. Everything I've read says the opposite. I guess I'll just have to wait and see. I'm not a huge OC'er, but like to play around every once in awhile.

Reviews for all the 7970's are all over the place, with most reviewers slamming them for lack of OC'ing. That is, they complain because they can't get another 10-15%. I say so what. The cards are the fastest single GPU at stock with the new drivers. That being said the vast majority are all good......so we'll see.

Kapt
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:25 PM   #16
catso
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 188
catso is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaptkarl40 View Post
Wow. So sorry you had problems with yours. Everything I've read says the opposite. I guess I'll just have to wait and see. I'm not a huge OC'er, but like to play around every once in awhile.
It's not just a problem with mine though, ALL current Gigabyte Windforce 7970 GHz editions have a voltage lock. This voltage lock means hotter running and louder for the same clock speeds as a standard 1.175v card. They also run 50% fan speed at idle clocks, this leads to a constant loud and annoying fan noise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaptkarl40 View Post
Reviews for all the 7970's are all over the place, with most reviewers slamming them for lack of OC'ing. That is, they complain because they can't get another 10-15%. I say so what. The cards are the fastest single GPU at stock with the new drivers. That being said the vast majority are all good......so we'll see.

Kapt
Where did I complain about overclocking ability? I am referring to a high voltage locked card that has a 50% idle fan speed. I showed that I had a standard edition 7970 that uses less volts with higher core clock to make the point that the excessive and locked voltage on the Gigabyte 7970 GE card is a serious flaw. 1.256 voltage is overkill if you don't plan to overclock. That extra unnecessary voltage leads to more heat that needs dissipated, thus your fans have to work harder to keep the card cool.

Just imparting some of my experience with this particular card to a fellow forum member.

Last edited by catso : Jan 27, 2013 at 03:27 PM.
catso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:48 PM   #17
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,940
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

1.256 is the boost clock voltage as defined by AMD, so you're really not making a lot of sense comparing the 7970 to the 7970 GE, because they don't run the same clocks...
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 05:03 PM   #18
catso
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 188
catso is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
1.256 is the boost clock voltage as defined by AMD, so you're really not making a lot of sense comparing the 7970 to the 7970 GE, because they don't run the same clocks...
They can run at the same clocks but the added advantage is that the voltage unlocked cards have the luxury or running at lower voltage. 1.256 volts is overkill for a card running 1100MHz IMHO.

I have owned or tested 6 different 7970s at one time or another and have never needed more than 1.175 volts to get 1100Mhz stable.
catso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 05:07 PM   #19
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I thought in order for the 7970's to be Oc'd out of the box, that the manufacturer would have to increase the voltage from the "stock" 7970's. Makes perfect sense to me. Now the fans running at 50% idle doesn't sound right to me. Again that is why I thought the manufacturers use thier own custom cooling solutions....to account for the additional heat caused by the voltage and core clock increases.

At least that is what I've been reading from some reviewers.

Anyway.....can't wait to get this baby and take for a test run.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:35 AM   #20
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default

catso......

Just for the record, I do really appreciate your feedback. That is why I visit this forum is to get constructive feedback on computer components and such.

There is a wealth of knowledge here.

This will be my first Gigabyte card. And hopefully, I won't regret my purchase.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:34 AM   #21
catso
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 188
catso is still being judged by the masses


Default

No problems, I hope I don't come accross as aggressive or condescending. I noticed you went for the 1000 MHz version, if so then you are getting a non GE eidtion. There is a BIOS update available for this version that fixes the 50% idel fan speed. If it doesn't have it pre-installed make sure to get it. 50% is quite loud unless you are gaming.

Check Gigabyte's web site for BIOS updated if you do indeed have the 1000 MHz non GE version. I have also searched Gigabyte's site and they have released an updated BIOS for the 1100MHz GE version of this card that fixes the 50% fan speed.

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...4290&dl=1#bios please read the model number before using any BIOS updates.

So good news either way, the locked voltage cannot be fixed but at least you can have silent fans at idle.
catso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:51 AM   #22
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catso View Post
No problems, I hope I don't come accross as aggressive or condescending. I noticed you went for the 1000 MHz version, if so then you are getting a non GE eidtion. There is a BIOS update available for this version that fixes the 50% idel fan speed. If it doesn't have it pre-installed make sure to get it. 50% is quite loud unless you are gaming.

Check Gigabyte's web site for BIOS updated if you do indeed have the 1000 MHz non GE version. I have also searched Gigabyte's site and they have released an updated BIOS for the 1100MHz GE version of this card that fixes the 50% fan speed.

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...4290&dl=1#bios please read the model number before using any BIOS updates.

So good news either way, the locked voltage cannot be fixed but at least you can have silent fans at idle.
No prob. I did not want to pay another $50 to get the 1100MHz card. I'm hoping I can OC the 1000MHz to get there, or more. We'll see. Either way, I'll be pleased 'cause I figure any OC you can get is an added bonus that you did not pay for.

I'll post pics, benches later this week once I get it installed.

Thanks.

Kapt
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:37 PM   #23
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default Blown away!

Ok guys. Just installed my new card, installed the cats 13.1's, and ran the crysis 2 benchmark. All I can say is .......WOW!.

1900x1200, 4AA, Ultra, Hi rez textures, edge detect, D11

6970 OC'd with afterburner - Avg fps 30.4
7970 OC'd out of the box - Avg fps 55.4

The benchmark ran sooo much smoother.....I'm simply amazed. And I haven't even tried to OC it yet. No issues with fan speeds, as mentioned by catso. It's quiet as hell. The only time I hear it is when it ramps up half way through the benchmark. Alot quietier than my old 6970.

Temps - 40 degrees idle, 70 degrees full load (used afterburner)

First impressions......call me impressed. Great job Gigabyte.

Kapt
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 07:10 PM   #24
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,940
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:26 AM   #25
catso
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 188
catso is still being judged by the masses


Default

Gigabyte have fixed the fan speed pfroblem out of the box for the 1000MHz versions. Delighted it is going well for you, that is a very nice upgrade.

Enjoy
catso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:54 AM   #26
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Well did a mild OC last night........1050/1400 no problem. Ran Crysis 2 benchmark again and only had a 1fps increase. I'll do some more testing today when I get home. The card seems to OC very easily with very managable temps.

Kapt
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 04:30 PM   #27
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Update guys.

Well got it to OC to 1100/1400. Ran Crysis 2 benchmark 2x without a hitch. However I only gained 2fps over 1000/1375 "stock". I'm a litte disappointed with that though.

Ran 3Dmark2011 and it crashed. Not sure what that tells me.

Ran MSI Kombuster furry test for 5-6min w/o a hitch and temps never got above 73 degrees.

To summarize, the OC runs my games just fine w/ very little difference in fps, so why bother right?

Kapt
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:28 PM   #28
Dave
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dave Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 21,454
Dave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Subscriber
Default

Overclocking the graphics card has never really shown substantial gains to make it worthwhile for me.the additional noise isn't worth it imo
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:44 PM   #29
kaptkarl40
Carolina Panthers
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 371
kaptkarl40 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Overclocking the graphics card has never really shown substantial gains to make it worthwhile for me.the additional noise isn't worth it imo
I would have to agree with you. However I did get some add'l performance when I OC'd my 6970, but not extreme.

Keeping my 7970 at out of the box OC'd speeds. It runs everything EXTREMELY well anyway, incl Crysis 3 beta.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-990Xa-UD3 mobo
AMD FX-8350 OC'd to 4.4GHz
16G G.skill Ripsaw DDR3 1600
OCZ Vertex3 SSD 120GB
Seagate 1TB HD SATA 7200RPM
Gigabyte 7970 1100/1400
13.4 Cat drivers
LG Blu-ray burner
CoolMax 650W power supply
24" HP W2408h Monitor 1920x1200
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
kaptkarl40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 02:24 PM   #30
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,046
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Intersting rig you have kaptkarl40 ...
I was a fan of AMD completly from top to bottom but ocing my 940BE heated up the things way too much and it wasn't nice..I sold it and got a i5 750 with my modded 6950 and the cpu is around 3.8 ghz and cool enough to not bother..
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3570k with a 6970? eNforcer General Hardware 42 Sep 6, 2012 05:38 PM
Best client for 6970? Maliki2 Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 5 Jan 24, 2011 03:35 PM
6970 Hot Hot Hot! Gerard AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 45 Jan 16, 2011 03:11 PM
AMD aiming at GTX 570 with HD 6970! Maverickman AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 27 Dec 15, 2010 06:40 PM
How Much for 6970? Rombat AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 46 Nov 24, 2010 01:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink