Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 11, 2002, 09:40 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
barman
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 168
barman is still being judged by the masses


Default Built or Powered? Retail or OEM? Powercolor, Sapphire, Hercules, or ATI?

There's a ton of "different" 9700 cards out right now and I 've been looking and reading all EVERYTHING about the card. I'm not worrited about any problems just wondering about which card to get and what makes one better than the other.

Is 'BUILT' by ATI better than 'POWERED' by ATI?

I know there was a difference in clock speed with the OEM and RETAIL versions of the 8500 boards. Is this the same with the 9700 ones? Is there a difference at all? Does one use better ram chips than the other?

Is there any REAL difference in all the cards? Or is it just a better looking fan on some?

Can anyone shed some light on all this for me?

Only difference I know is the pricing!

I'm looking to buy, but I don't know which I'd like just yet nor if I should just wait (which is very hard.....) for the AIW cards, cause my 8500DV is the shiznit!
barman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2002, 02:30 PM   #2
Lundis_Sweden
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 8
Lundis_Sweden is still being judged by the masses


Exclamation Depends on where you live.

If your in Europe best bet is Hercules.
Saphire have been discussed here to have totally worthless support and ATI dont offer anything in Europe.

Creative I dunno about but since thier support and drivers for the sound cards is crap I would take my bets on Hercules.
From what help Ive gotten without even getting a card is great.

Crucial I thought was the best bet but since I saw that they say the memory is clocked at 350mhz and then people checked and it only was the normal speed I wouldnt trust em.

My little input

Lundis
Lundis_Sweden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2002, 04:08 PM   #3
UTGeneral
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 363
UTGeneral is still being judged by the masses


Default

all 9700PRO have the same clocks, OEM, bulk or retail, any brand


built by means ATI makes the whole thing, powered by means the chip comes from ATI


Spaphire doesn't make their own cards yet, they are exactly the same like ATI cards


on mine there were 2 stickers from ATI, on the pcb and on the fan, not even a single Sapphire sticker and the IQ in windows is slightly better then my with my Gigabyte GF 2 MX400 + low digital vibrance, probably because of the quality components used by ATI (and I have a monitor that shows this differences without mercy)


Hercules has more heatsinks, but I don't know if that is an big advantage even with oveclocking, not sure if they are made by Hercules


and the 9700PRO AIW will have the same speed like the normal 9700PRO so it rocks when you need the special features

Last edited by UTGeneral : Oct 11, 2002 at 04:14 PM.
UTGeneral is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 11, 2002, 05:17 PM   #4
Frazas
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 402
Frazas is still being judged by the masses


Default

Dont forget Crucial. Their Radeon 9700 Pro comes with 2.8ns memory clocked at 350mhz!! And the price isn't that bad at all...
Frazas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2002, 07:28 PM   #5
Lundis_Sweden
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 8
Lundis_Sweden is still being judged by the masses


Default Search the forum Frazas.

The Crucial are not clocked at the 350Mhz that thier homepage say it is. People checked after they bought it and
found it to be false.

Lundis
Lundis_Sweden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2002, 05:24 PM   #6
BrainPiercing
Tseng Labs ET500
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,720
BrainPiercing is still being judged by the masses


Default

2.8ns memory should be normal on the 9700, and actually the crucial one doesn't even run at 350Mhz, you're better off with a BBA or Sapphire or any of the manufacturers that get the new ATI quality certification.
__________________
My OLD System, now Mediastation:
Asus A7N8X Deluxe with Barton 2.5 @ 200*11
2x512MB Corsair CL2 PC400
IBM Deskstar 307030 30GB HD, Ultra ATA 100, 7200 RPM + WD something
60GB HD, Ultra ATA100, 7200 RPM + WD Caviar 120GB SATA133 7200RPM + Samsung 200GB Sata150 7200
Powercolor Radeon 9800pro STILL running 4.3 cats, and Arctic Cooling VGA Silencer
Onboard network cards; !!!Win98SE!!! (yes 200GB HDD on Win98 works fine :))
NEW: HP nx9420, T2400, x1600 256M, 1440x900, 1GB, 100GB HDD, XPPro.
BrainPiercing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2002, 07:07 PM   #7
Evnas
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 516
Evnas is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ok, Crucial never said their card runs at 350MHz...they said their card has 350MHz ram...in other words, 2.8ns. And yes, their card CAN go to 350Mhz, a friend of mine has one running PAST that speed (lucky bastard, i wanna gank him for his card! ) I would actually prefer to buy the Crucial one with their great customer service, and lifetime warrenty. Fry it overclocking, send it back for a new one
__________________
2100+ TBredB at 2.4Ghz (14x170) at 32C load
SLK 800 with Vantec Tornado 80mm fan
Radeon 9500 Pro (330/315 on Catalyst 3.1) 13451 3D marks
EPoX 8RDA (non + version)
512mb PC2700 (will upgrade to 1GB of Corsair PC3200 when funds are available)
SB Live! 5.1 Platinum
Windows XP Pro with SP1 and DirectX 9

ATi and Intel fanboy! :)
Evnas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2002, 08:36 PM   #8
noko
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 8,691
noko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

I think you guys forgot about the FIC Radeon 9700 which you can pick up the retail version at NewEgg for $325 (with all cables and the DVI to VGA adapter) delivered to your door step is also included.

FIC Radeon 9700 BABY

Last edited by noko : Oct 12, 2002 at 08:39 PM.
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powercolor Retail or Sapphire bulk 9800pro? BrainPiercing AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 2 Feb 19, 2004 06:07 AM
Built by -vs- Powered by Ratha AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 4 May 21, 2003 10:36 AM
Is it OEM, ATI, Built by ATI or Powered by ATI? Phantom_309 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 3 May 28, 2002 12:20 PM
Built by ATI or powered by ATI? Tony420 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 7 Apr 14, 2002 04:44 PM
Can i use hercules drivers on --> my retail 8500 built by ati. trusnoop AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 4 Apr 9, 2002 07:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink