Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 22, 2017, 03:49 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Sparks, NV
Posts: 1,983
Riptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRiptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default gpu stuck in pci-e slot

Gents my aorus won't come out. The locking latch on the slot refuses to actuate down by pushing on it. I've tried gently rocking and pulling up/pushing down while trying to get it to budge. Not helping. The aorus is a huge card I can only access one side of the latch.

I've read about using a pencil and pushing hard down on the latch with the eraser end. Might help avoid damage if it slips. Beyond that any other tips?

I'm kinda wanting to grab a hammer and smash this motherboard right now. lol yes I know that won't help. I'm willing to destroy the latch permanently but I'd prefer not to render the board or GPU useless.

Photos of the board, can see the slots and latches:
https://www.gamersnexus.net/news-pc/...-b350-tomahawk
__________________
AMD R7 3800X
ASUS TUF X570
32GB G.SKILL 3600 CL16
EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
Addlink S70 2TB
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2017, 04:20 PM   #2
Hapatingjaky
Maximum Disappointment
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada New Ukraine
Posts: 9,581
Hapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Default

Asus has a similar locking latch on theirs, all I do is push it with something and it opens. Never had to press very hard though.
__________________
Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5.2GHz, Asus Maximus X Apex, GSkill Trident-Z Royal DDR4 3200MHz 32GB CAS14, EVGA FTW3 2080Ti Sixtuple SLI, Creative Labs Soundblaster E3, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB, Corsair AXI 1500i PSU, ThermalTake View 71, Corsair K95 Platinum RGB, Corsair Dark Core RGB SE, Acer Predator X34, Windows 10 Professional X64
Hapatingjaky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2017, 04:38 PM   #3
deadite_9
random and/or senseless
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: United States south of everywhere else
Posts: 526
deadite_9 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultydeadite_9 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I use a long, narrow flat blade screwdriver (around 9") with one of those little red screw thread protectors-- the ones made to fit a #8 screw-- pushed over the end to keep from damaging anything on the card or board. Gives you a handle to grip and works like a charm to disengage the latch when you can't easily fit your fingers in between the card and a huge heatsink, or whatever else is next to it. Just push down on the bit that you can see with the screwdriver and you should be golden.

Never had a latch refuse to pop loose before, though.
__________________
there's them that laughs and knows better.



:: HDTV
Samsung Q8FN (4K QLED, 65") :: A/V Onkyo TX-RZ830 ::
:: UHD
Sony UBP-X700 :: BD Oppo BDP-83 :: CD Onkyo DX-C390 ::
:: PHONO
Technics SL-1200MK2 :: GAME Xbox One X + PS4 Pro ::
:: FRONT
JBL SCS300SAT + FS1000 :: SW HSU Research STF-2 ::
:: CENTER
JBL EC35 (Black Ash) :: LFE HSU Research VTF-2 MK5 ::
:: SURROUND L/R
JBL SCS300SAT :: SW HSU Research STF-2 ::
:: SURR BACK L/R
JBL SCS300SAT :: SW HSU Research STF-1 ::




:: CPU
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X :: MB ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi) ::
:: AIO
Corsair H150i PRO + (6x) Noctua NF-F12 chromax (side intake) ::
:: DDR4
32GB G.SKILL TridentZ @3600MHz (14-14-14-36/1T, silver/black) ::
:: GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA + Mnpctech support bracket (black) ::
:: HDTV
Samsung Q8FN (4K QLED, 65") :: AUDIO HDMI out (HT, 7.1) ::
:: OS
Windows 10 Pro x64 (2004) :: NVME Samsung 970 EVO Plus (1TB) ::
:: SSD
(1x) Samsung 860 EVO (1TB) + (3x) 850 EVO (1TB/1TB/1TB) ::
:: HDD
(2x) WD Black (3TB/4TB) :: CASE Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL (black) ::
:: FANS
(7x) Noctua NF-S12A chromax (top/bottom/rear) + (3x) NA-FC1 ::
:: PSU
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 + CableMod PRO series (black/white) ::
:: INPUT
Logitech G613 + G305 + Xbox One S controller (wireless) ::




:: CPU
Core i7 7820X (4.5GHz) :: MB ASUS ROG Strix X299-E Gaming ::
:: AIO
Corsair H115i + (2x) Noctua NF-A14 chromax + NA-FC1 ::
:: DDR4
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 3000MHz (15-17-17-35) ::
:: GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 + hybrid kit + (1x) Noctua NF-F12 chromax ::
:: AUDIO
ROG SupremeFX (S1220A) :: OS Windows 10 Pro x64 (2004) ::
:: SSD
(1x) Samsung 850 PRO (512GB) + (1x) 860 EVO (500GB) ::
:: PSU
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2 + CableMod Pro series (black/white) ::
:: CASE
Corsair Carbide Air 540 (silver, DEMCiflex intake filters) ::
:: FANS
(2x) Noctua NF-A14 chromax ::
deadite_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 22, 2017, 05:09 PM   #4
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Sparks, NV
Posts: 1,983
Riptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRiptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

It's plastic junk so I tend to want to place blame on the motherboard latch mechanism being at fault here. Stupid pos is becoming a huge pita.

No matter how hard I push with my finger on the one wing of the latch I can access it will not push all the way over and pop the card up and out. So I am going to have to resort to force and if it breaks the latch oh well.

I'll see if I can find anything to fit over the screwdriver and will try that as a last resort. If I can get it with the pencil tip that would be better.

If I grab onto the wing with pliers and rip it apart I'm concerned it will jam with the card stuck and might just make matters worse.
__________________
AMD R7 3800X
ASUS TUF X570
32GB G.SKILL 3600 CL16
EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
Addlink S70 2TB
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2017, 05:22 PM   #5
Flyordie
Lets roll...
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,615
Flyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFlyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Press the card down into the slot, press the wing you can reach and then lift?

I've never had that issue but when I did, that solved it.
__________________
Be a pirate.
Flyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2017, 05:31 PM   #6
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Sparks, NV
Posts: 1,983
Riptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRiptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Yah I've tried pushing it firmly down into the slot and then attempting to actuate the latch. Won't push over far enough for the card to pop up and out. Just barely moves - it's stuck. Rocking it back/forth a bit doesn't help either.

I've given up for now but I need access to the fan header under that card. I'll take another shot at it tomorrow.

If it is jammed beyond any hope I'll have to get another motherboard here before I get the pliers out and start destroying things.
__________________
AMD R7 3800X
ASUS TUF X570
32GB G.SKILL 3600 CL16
EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
Addlink S70 2TB
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2017, 09:07 PM   #7
deadite_9
random and/or senseless
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: United States south of everywhere else
Posts: 526
deadite_9 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultydeadite_9 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide View Post
I'll see if I can find anything to fit over the screwdriver and will try that as a last resort. If I can get it with the pencil tip that would be better.
I know you can find the thread caps in a drawer in the hardware aisle at Lowe's, because that's where I bought mine. If you have an extra screwdriver, it makes for a handy little tool to keep around for dealing with that latch.

But in the meantime, just wrap the tip of the screwdriver in electrical tape. If you're feeling particularly froggy (and you can spare enough tape) then just wrap the whole blade. Even scotch tape would work in a pinch.
__________________
there's them that laughs and knows better.



:: HDTV
Samsung Q8FN (4K QLED, 65") :: A/V Onkyo TX-RZ830 ::
:: UHD
Sony UBP-X700 :: BD Oppo BDP-83 :: CD Onkyo DX-C390 ::
:: PHONO
Technics SL-1200MK2 :: GAME Xbox One X + PS4 Pro ::
:: FRONT
JBL SCS300SAT + FS1000 :: SW HSU Research STF-2 ::
:: CENTER
JBL EC35 (Black Ash) :: LFE HSU Research VTF-2 MK5 ::
:: SURROUND L/R
JBL SCS300SAT :: SW HSU Research STF-2 ::
:: SURR BACK L/R
JBL SCS300SAT :: SW HSU Research STF-1 ::




:: CPU
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X :: MB ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi) ::
:: AIO
Corsair H150i PRO + (6x) Noctua NF-F12 chromax (side intake) ::
:: DDR4
32GB G.SKILL TridentZ @3600MHz (14-14-14-36/1T, silver/black) ::
:: GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA + Mnpctech support bracket (black) ::
:: HDTV
Samsung Q8FN (4K QLED, 65") :: AUDIO HDMI out (HT, 7.1) ::
:: OS
Windows 10 Pro x64 (2004) :: NVME Samsung 970 EVO Plus (1TB) ::
:: SSD
(1x) Samsung 860 EVO (1TB) + (3x) 850 EVO (1TB/1TB/1TB) ::
:: HDD
(2x) WD Black (3TB/4TB) :: CASE Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL (black) ::
:: FANS
(7x) Noctua NF-S12A chromax (top/bottom/rear) + (3x) NA-FC1 ::
:: PSU
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 + CableMod PRO series (black/white) ::
:: INPUT
Logitech G613 + G305 + Xbox One S controller (wireless) ::




:: CPU
Core i7 7820X (4.5GHz) :: MB ASUS ROG Strix X299-E Gaming ::
:: AIO
Corsair H115i + (2x) Noctua NF-A14 chromax + NA-FC1 ::
:: DDR4
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 3000MHz (15-17-17-35) ::
:: GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 + hybrid kit + (1x) Noctua NF-F12 chromax ::
:: AUDIO
ROG SupremeFX (S1220A) :: OS Windows 10 Pro x64 (2004) ::
:: SSD
(1x) Samsung 850 PRO (512GB) + (1x) 860 EVO (500GB) ::
:: PSU
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2 + CableMod Pro series (black/white) ::
:: CASE
Corsair Carbide Air 540 (silver, DEMCiflex intake filters) ::
:: FANS
(2x) Noctua NF-A14 chromax ::
deadite_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2017, 09:22 PM   #8
KAC
That postcount though...
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 57,411
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Use the pencil. It works. Push down on the latch from the top (back plate of the GPU) while pulling the card out. Opposite directions pencil moves towards the board as if it is pushing latch to the board and card pulls out of the board.

Breaking the plastic doesn’t do anything except you will always need to use both screws to keep the card in place.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2017, 09:41 PM   #9
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Sparks, NV
Posts: 1,983
Riptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRiptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Thanks I'll give it another try tomorrow.

I'd rather need to use both screws to keep the card in place than have to deal with the latch hanging up on me again. Every time you have to put that much pressure on it and generally mess with it like this there is risk of damage.

No issue with disabling that latch permanently after this.
__________________
AMD R7 3800X
ASUS TUF X570
32GB G.SKILL 3600 CL16
EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
Addlink S70 2TB
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2017, 10:56 AM   #10
nycdarkness
ಠ_ಠ
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: China NYC
Posts: 8,337
nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Had this happen many times. Insert the card fully into the slot with the card inserted use a chopstick or pencil and push on the tab as you insert it, this will disengage the clip. For me the clip latches on when I pull the card out in these scenarios.
__________________
Under construction


nycdarkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2017, 09:43 PM   #11
Nagorak
Incarnation of the Nether
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Amanackia
Posts: 11,277
Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

When I've had this happen before, I just ripped the card out. The stupid plastic locking piece just pops out, and you can put it back in afterwards. If it breaks, no big loss in my opinion. The locking mechanism is poorly designed for long/fat cards that don't provide much access to the actual switch.
Nagorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2017, 10:38 PM   #12
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Sparks, NV
Posts: 1,983
Riptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRiptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

It came out. I had my wife rock the card and pull up while I pushed hard on the latch with the eraser end of a pencil. The latch looks fine so not sure what exactly was going on with it.

Anyhow alls well that ends well I suppose. Shouldn't need to remove the card for a while hopefully next time it comes out it won't require so much force.
__________________
AMD R7 3800X
ASUS TUF X570
32GB G.SKILL 3600 CL16
EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
Addlink S70 2TB
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2017, 01:53 AM   #13
bill dennison
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States phoenix
Posts: 21,320
bill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppersbill dennison has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

sounds kinky
bill dennison is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2017, 02:03 AM   #14
KAC
That postcount though...
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 57,411
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide View Post
It came out. I had my wife rock the cock and pull up while I pushed hard on the latch...

Anyhow alls well that ends well I suppose. Shouldn't need to remove the cock for a while hopefully next time it comes out it won't require so much force.
.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2017, 05:19 AM   #15
Flyordie
Lets roll...
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,615
Flyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFlyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

^^^^^
__________________
Be a pirate.
Flyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2017, 07:55 PM   #16
JZL
Starship Trooper
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States The Vantasner Danger Meridian
Posts: 5,290
JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'JZL once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyordie View Post

I've never had that issue but when I did, that solved it.
Non sequitur, non sequitur!



Was it like, in another dimension?
__________________
When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro.
JZL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2017, 03:52 AM   #17
Flyordie
Lets roll...
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,615
Flyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFlyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JZL View Post
Non sequitur, non sequitur!



Was it like, in another dimension?

Yes it was. lol.

Expanding on that-

I've never had the issue of that on my AM3+ board. My DFI 790GX-M2RS board had the issue. Sorry. Was pre-occupied and didn't complete my thought there. lol.
__________________
Be a pirate.
Flyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2017, 08:10 PM   #18
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Sparks, NV
Posts: 1,983
Riptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRiptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default ryzen 1700 high temps

lol you guys
__________________
AMD R7 3800X
ASUS TUF X570
32GB G.SKILL 3600 CL16
EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
Addlink S70 2TB
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which pci-e slot to use ? chiLLZ General Hardware 6 Oct 27, 2007 08:43 PM
agp slot?? theace23 Radeon Technical Support 1 Mar 5, 2002 04:06 PM
Can someone please tell me if I have an AGP slot? oozle General Hardware 24 Nov 22, 2001 10:06 PM
using the 1st PCI slot Gator Radeon Technical Support 9 Apr 29, 2001 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink