Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Front Page News
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Front Page News News and Rage3D articles as it appears on the frontpage.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 1, 2010, 03:17 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,918
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


AMD AMD Catalyst 10.10D Hotfix for MLAA Coming 11/1/10

AMD will release a new hotfix driver later today that resolves issues where their new (to Radeon) Anti-Aliasing mode, Morphological Anti-Aliasing (MLAA) doesn't apply correctly:

Quote:
An updated Morphological AA driver which will be posted to the web publically later today. This updated driver will addresses the issue where in some cases MLAA was not being correctly applied to games (very intermittently).
EDIT - Click the image below to download!

Source - Email from AMD.

You can read more about Morphological Anti-Aliasing here. Support is expected for HD 6800 series cards only, but you can try RadeonPro to enable it on HD 5000 series cards. No word yet for Windows XP, or Radeon HD 4000 users; likely older cards will take longer for the algorithm to be ported to, efficiently. EDIT - there will be no HD 4000 series support, it is not on the roadmap.

Last edited by caveman-jim : Nov 1, 2010 at 05:57 PM. Reason: updated - no HD 4000 series support
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 03:38 PM   #2
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 39,727
acroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Good news, thanks! Here's hoping that these will install in Vista as well.
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz

Last edited by acroig : Nov 1, 2010 at 03:43 PM.
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 04:44 PM   #3
vertex_shader
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 863
vertex_shader is still being judged by the masses


Default

10.10Y will be kickass

So AMD finally started relesing beta drivers more often.
__________________
LC
vertex_shader is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 1, 2010, 05:58 PM   #4
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,918
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Download link to drivers added to OP!
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 06:32 PM   #5
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vertex_shader View Post
10.10Y will be kickass

So AMD finally started relesing beta drivers more often.
10.10z is better.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 09:32 PM   #6
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

No 5000 series support? I am a staunch supporter of ATI/AMD but 1 year and my card is already losing support for features. c'mon this is rediculous. Are 5000 series users going to be left behind now and just expected to upgrade because.

This is planned obsolecence to the extreme measure.
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 10:56 PM   #7
red_star
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,247
red_star is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabran View Post
No 5000 series support? I am a staunch supporter of ATI/AMD but 1 year and my card is already losing support for features. c'mon this is rediculous. Are 5000 series users going to be left behind now and just expected to upgrade because.

This is planned obsolecence to the extreme measure.
Because they suck, only one set of drivers was alright and that 10.4a, for everything else sucks my ass
red_star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 11:41 PM   #8
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,918
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

knock off the trolling, red_star
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 08:49 AM   #9
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 39,727
acroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabran View Post
No 5000 series support? I am a staunch supporter of ATI/AMD but 1 year and my card is already losing support for features. c'mon this is rediculous. Are 5000 series users going to be left behind now and just expected to upgrade because.

This is planned obsolecence to the extreme measure.
Dude, relax, I have a 5870 and I'm using these drivers just fine.

Install the drivers;
Install RadeonPro;
Reboot;
RP will ask you if you want to activate MLAA, say yes.
Viola!
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 08:51 AM   #10
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,918
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabran View Post
No 5000 series support? I am a staunch supporter of ATI/AMD but 1 year and my card is already losing support for features. c'mon this is rediculous. Are 5000 series users going to be left behind now and just expected to upgrade because.

This is planned obsolecence to the extreme measure.
On the contrary, AMD plan to support MLAA on all 5000 series. This is the first beta set to come out with the feature. A little more patience, dude!
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 09:00 AM   #11
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 39,727
acroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
A little more patience, dude!
No need to wait as others with 5000 series cards are running this driver just fine (except for Vista users).
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 12:37 PM   #12
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
On the contrary, AMD plan to support MLAA on all 5000 series. This is the first beta set to come out with the feature. A little more patience, dude!
From the front page article it says support is expected for 6800 series only and if the functionality has to be hacked in with a 3rd party app that tells me AMD is not supporting it even though the hardware is capable.

Maybe they should clarify support is only for 6800 series at this time but 5000 series will follow later, but as it reads, means only 6800 series will see this support and those of us with 1 year old cards are screwed.

I'm not expecting support for outdated hardware here. 5870 cards still command top dollar but they are already starting to throw it to the wayside. Am I over reacting? maybe All I am asking is they support barely over year old hardware and isn't like the 5870 is not capable of this feature.

I will be watching this closely as I have been getting disgusted with the hardware manufacturers for a couple of years now. Graphics tech is not like the old days when a new card upped the ante dramatically every generation. GPU's have been more stepping releases with a new number and marginal performance to justify the cost for a high end card just to be abandoned literally months later.

This article caught me during a bad week so I will see how it pans out before I make my judgement. Sorry for the mini rant.
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:20 PM   #13
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 39,727
acroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabran View Post
This article caught me during a bad week so I will see how it pans out before I make my judgement. Sorry for the mini rant.
Did you even read what I posted?
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:31 PM   #14
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,918
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabran View Post
From the front page article it says support is expected for 6800 series only and if the functionality has to be hacked in with a 3rd party app that tells me AMD is not supporting it even though the hardware is capable.

Maybe they should clarify support is only for 6800 series at this time but 5000 series will follow later, but as it reads, means only 6800 series will see this support and those of us with 1 year old cards are screwed.

I'm not expecting support for outdated hardware here. 5870 cards still command top dollar but they are already starting to throw it to the wayside. Am I over reacting? maybe All I am asking is they support barely over year old hardware and isn't like the 5870 is not capable of this feature.

I will be watching this closely as I have been getting disgusted with the hardware manufacturers for a couple of years now. Graphics tech is not like the old days when a new card upped the ante dramatically every generation. GPU's have been more stepping releases with a new number and marginal performance to justify the cost for a high end card just to be abandoned literally months later.

This article caught me during a bad week so I will see how it pans out before I make my judgement. Sorry for the mini rant.
OK dude, take a breath - There Will Be Support For MLAA on HD 5000 Series.

Currently, there is a beta hotfix driver, non-official, unsupported, for the HD 6800 series. Once the kinks have been worked out we can expect to see it in WHQL packages with broader device support. You can even enable it now with 3rd party tools like RadeonPro and ATiTrayTools.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:50 PM   #15
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acroig View Post
Did you even read what I posted?


I did read your post but having to use a 3rd party tool is not official support.
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:51 PM   #16
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
OK dude, take a breath - There Will Be Support For MLAA on HD 5000 Series.

Currently, there is a beta hotfix driver, non-official, unsupported, for the HD 6800 series. Once the kinks have been worked out we can expect to see it in WHQL packages with broader device support. You can even enable it now with 3rd party tools like RadeonPro and ATiTrayTools.
Like I said it has been a bad week and I may be over reacting a little my apologies.
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 06:51 PM   #17
noko
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 8,688
noko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

I am very much looking forward to MLAA on 5xxx but also on Vista . Two machines at that.
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 07:23 PM   #18
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,918
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabran View Post
Like I said it has been a bad week and I may be over reacting a little my apologies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabran View Post
I did read your post but having to use a 3rd party tool is not official support.
There's no official support for any cards right now, even the HD 6000 are using an unsupported hotfix driver.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2010, 07:07 AM   #19
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 39,727
acroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabran View Post
Like I said it has been a bad week and I may be over reacting a little my apologies.
No big deal, we've all been there.
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catalyst 11.2 Now Available - MLAA, Tessellation Control, AF Fixes & More caveman-jim Front Page News 5 Feb 16, 2011 08:59 PM
AMD Catalyst 11.2 To Add Official Support for MLAA on HD 5800 & 5900 Series caveman-jim Front Page News 12 Jan 30, 2011 08:59 PM
New Catalyst Hotfix Coming Soon (Updated MLAA) caveman-jim AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 129 Nov 20, 2010 04:18 PM
AMD Hotfix Catalyst 10.10e With MLAA For Radeon HD 5000 Series Now Available caveman-jim Front Page News 15 Nov 13, 2010 06:50 PM
AMD Releases Catalyst 10.10, APP Edition and MLAA Hotfix Drivers caveman-jim Front Page News 0 Oct 22, 2010 02:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink