Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking Discuss Radeon tweaking, modding, and overclocking practices. Want to post your benchmarks scores? This is the place!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 15, 2005, 06:47 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
DLolos
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 180
DLolos is still being judged by the masses


Default How do I mod 9500 to 9700?

A friend of mine is about to sell his PC and he has a Radeon 9500 that I know works fine soft modded. I asked if we could trade cards and he said yes.

I know there's the hardware mod and soft mod. Is there a way to just flash the bios on the card to unlock the other 4 pipes?
DLolos is offline  
Old Jun 15, 2005, 07:26 AM   #2
1m4gn3
[ ATi ]
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 567
1m4gn3 is still being judged by the masses


Default

__________________
Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 3200+ | TT Silentboost | ASUS A7N8X-E Dlx. Uberbios Rev. 1013 | 2x512 MB OCZ PC-3200 DDR RAM
ATi Radeon 9600P 128MB @ 500/345 | 160GB Samsung 7200 RPM SATA | LG 4120B D.L. DVDRW | 21" Dell P1110 Trinitron

[w w w . o p e r a . c o m] - Speed, Security, Simplicity.
1m4gn3 is offline  
Old Jun 15, 2005, 11:53 AM   #3
DLolos
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 180
DLolos is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks for the link 1m4gn3 but it doesn't help.

I need to know if I can flash the bios on the 9500 into a 9700 so that I don't need to install the softmod drivers. Flashing it without needing a modded bios.

If I can't then I'll do the hardware mod. Got any good articles on doing the hardware mod?
DLolos is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 17, 2005, 05:05 PM   #4
PreservedSwine
When's dinner?
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ft. Myers, Fl.
Posts: 10,045
PreservedSwine is still being judged by the masses


Default

Flashing the BIOS won't do the trick, you'll either need a driver hack or hardeware mod.

You can flash the BIOS to that of an R9700 (or even some R9800's), but that will not enable the extra pipes.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DLolos
Thanks for the link 1m4gn3 but it doesn't help.

I need to know if I can flash the bios on the 9500 into a 9700 so that I don't need to install the softmod drivers. Flashing it without needing a modded bios.

If I can't then I'll do the hardware mod. Got any good articles on doing the hardware mod?
__________________
"The Constitution is not an instrument for the government to restrain the people, it is an instrument for the people to restrain the government—lest it come to dominate our lives and interests." --Patrick Henry
PreservedSwine is offline  
Old Jun 18, 2005, 04:53 PM   #5
PreservedSwine
When's dinner?
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ft. Myers, Fl.
Posts: 10,045
PreservedSwine is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1m4gn3
Wow, great site, I had no idea these guys were so quick to put out softmodeded CATALYST drivers. I had always been waiting on Omega's.
This place just made my favorites list
__________________
"The Constitution is not an instrument for the government to restrain the people, it is an instrument for the people to restrain the government—lest it come to dominate our lives and interests." --Patrick Henry
PreservedSwine is offline  
Old Jun 20, 2005, 08:52 AM   #6
Breadclaptrap
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St.Catharines Ontario Canada
Posts: 108
Breadclaptrap is still being judged by the masses


Default

Unlock all pipelines

Get the latest catalyst drivers

Mod it with VGA silencer

Overclock it as much as you can
Breadclaptrap is offline  
Old Jun 24, 2005, 05:12 PM   #7
Lunar Wolf
arr ye scurvy noobs!!1
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5,146
Lunar Wolf is still being judged by the masses


Default

The 'Search' function, great for finding friends of days gone bye.

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33725804
Lunar Wolf is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me turn my 9500 into a 9700 (ATI OEM RADEON 9500 128MB DDR Black BULK) o(o") Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 Apr 13, 2003 11:15 PM
ATI Radeon 9500, 9500 Pro, 9700 and 9700 Pro compared MrB Front Page News 0 Mar 2, 2003 08:27 PM
!!!New info 9500 - hsr is disabled, possible cause of corruption after [email protected] mod Soulcatcher AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 32 Jan 26, 2003 06:59 AM
9500/9500 Pro/9700 Sightings? Please post 'em here! otheipion AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 101 Jan 25, 2003 06:11 AM
ATI Radeon 9500, 9500 Pro, and 9700 vs. NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti4200 and Ti4600 roki Front Page News 0 Dec 26, 2002 07:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink