Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Front Page News
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Front Page News News and Rage3D articles as it appears on the frontpage.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 6, 2006, 07:39 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
1stFlight
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States DC Baby!
Posts: 8,332
1stFlight is still being judged by the masses


Default Intel to Ditch HyperThreading

First Intel ditches the long pipelines and now HyperThreading? What will be left of their much vaunted P4 architecture?
HT HYPERTHREADING is on its last legs as multicores come in said Justin Rattner, Intel’s chief technology officer today.

The answer is multicores, said Rattner, describing Intel’s new marchitechture push as "tera scaling".


Source: The Inquirer
__________________
"Explaining the unknown by means of the unobservable is always a perilous business"
---------------------------------------------
AMD64 X2 4200, Sapphire ATI X1950XT, 2GB Geil 3200 DDR Ram, 250GB Western Digital HD, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers, and a case only a mother could love.. :p AMD AthlonXP 2500, GeForce 4 4200, 1GB Corsair DDR, 80GB Western Digital HD Dell 8600 Laptop pushing an ATI Mobility 9600 Turbo , 1GB SODIMM's and 40GB drive AMD Duron 1.3Ghz (seriously), 1.5GB SDRAM, a Radeon 64 VIVO, an ungodly amount of HD space and of course, Linux :)
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2006, 07:53 PM   #2
jimmt
Trumpification
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Mississippi
Posts: 17,606
jimmt knows why the caged bird singsjimmt knows why the caged bird singsjimmt knows why the caged bird singsjimmt knows why the caged bird singsjimmt knows why the caged bird sings


Default

I personally like Hyperthreading on multimedia workstations. However, it kills you on databases causing alot of I/O and CPU locks.

Jim
__________________
Plex / Steam Machine / Hyper-V
MSI Gaming B350 Tomahawk |Ryzen R5 2600 |32GB DDR4 DRAM 2400|Asus RTX2060 6GB |10TB NVMe/SDD/HDD |Windows 10 Pro
Family Desktop
Asus TUF B450M-Plus Gaming |Ryzen R7 2700X |16GB DDRR DRAM 3000 |MSI Radeon RX 580 8GB | 6TB NVMe/HDD |Windows 10 Pro
Laptop
Dell Inspiron 7577 | Intel i7-7700HQ |16GB DDR 4 DRAM 2400 |Nvidia 1060 6GB |3TB NVMe/SDD |Windows 10 Pro / OpenSuse
VR
HPWMR / PSVR
Consoles
Switch|WiiU|Wii|Gamecube|New 3DS XL|DS|GBA|N64|SNES|NES|XBOX|XBOX360|XBONEX|PS1|PS2|PS3|PS4|Vita|PSP|DreamCast|Genesis
Classical Liberalism: A political ideology and a branch of liberalism which advocates civil liberties, private property, and political freedom with representative democracy under the rule of law. Strong emphasizes economic freedom and the individual over the collective.
jimmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2006, 08:53 PM   #3
ShaidarHaran
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 24,941
ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

HT only really provides a significant benefit in workload scenarios wherein the MPU is constantly waiting on data from system memory due to cache misses/branch mispredicts. IOW: highly-speculative workloads with inherent parallelism (at both the instruction and thread levels) and "branchy" code.
That being said system responsiveness is noticably better on a system with HT enabled (given proper system architecture & configuration) than a comparable system without HT.
ShaidarHaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 7, 2006, 01:54 AM   #4
Payne3d
[Fancy a Butcher's?]
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States 192.168.0.1
Posts: 12,977
Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Payne3d once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Why don't they just leave it in there and give an option for the user?
__________________
"World's First Analyst and Therapist: the Analrapist"
"Part time Cork Soaker"
Payne3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2006, 05:06 AM   #5
movieman
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada Canada (was UK)
Posts: 2,135
movieman is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hyperthreading is somewhat pointless when you have multiple real cores: I'm sure that the transistors that make hyperthreading work can more beneficially be used elsewhere. It was a decent idea for its time, but its time was three years ago .
movieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2006, 11:33 PM   #6
Dred
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,464
Dred is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have Hyperthreading and have very few lock ups with any apps. Which databases are you referring to?

I think once you hit 2 cores hyperthreading is hitting the point of diminishing returns. It does help vs dual core and no HT. I think they could ditch HT and save on some trasistors while not really loosing much in terms of speed potential.

single cpu<<<HT single cpu <<<<<<<<< dual or dual core < Dual core with HT

The more <'s means a greater difference in computing power

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmt
I personally like Hyperthreading on multimedia workstations. However, it kills you on databases causing alot of I/O and CPU locks.

Jim
__________________
  • Abit ic7 MAX3 mb + XP Pro
  • 1.5gig [2x256 Corsair XMS PC4000 + 2x512 Geil PLat PC4000]
  • P4 2.6c @ 3ghz (930mhz FSB)
  • X800XT PE CAT 5.8 old cp
  • Plextor SATA 16x DL DVD burner
  • Raptor 36 + Maxtor 120 SATAs
  • ALtec Lansing MX5021 Spkrs
  • ATI TV Wonder VE (Using Showshifter)
  • Next system X2!

Last edited by Dred : Mar 7, 2006 at 11:38 PM.
Dred is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple to ditch Intel for ARM in MacBooks erek Front Page News 13 May 8, 2011 06:40 PM
Is HyperThreading a reason to buy Intel over Athlon 64? Lotto General Hardware 37 May 2, 2004 09:38 PM
Intel 64bit and hyperthreading question dsherman General Hardware 0 Mar 15, 2004 01:22 PM
Recently bought a new rig-Intel w/ hyperthreading...need a little folding advice PreservedSwine Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 4 Dec 4, 2003 06:04 AM
Hyperthreading make much of a difference on Intel plaforms? PreservedSwine Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 1 Nov 26, 2003 05:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink