Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 26, 2001, 09:20 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
mek73
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 3
mek73 is still being judged by the masses


Unhappy DX 8.1 with Radeon DDR, 3d not supported

I just upgraded to DirectX 8.1 from 8.0a, hoping it would help some sound card issues I've been having. Unfortunately, this broke my D3D video using DX8 interfaces.

Running dxdiag's direct3d tests yields this:

DDraw Test Result: All tests were successful.
D3D7 Test Result: All tests were successful.
D3D8 Test Result: Failure at step 5 (GetDeviceCaps): HRESULT = 0x8876086a (3D not available)

Also trying to load Everquest with their pre-release DX8 engine fails (this is the only DX8 game I have at the moment).

I've tried the following drivers:
7189, ATI download (what I had installed when I upgraded)
7075, ATI download
7199, Rage3d unofficial download.

I've been running VIA 4in1 4.35v (the latest) but I tried upping the GART with the separate AGP 4.10 upgrade after my problems with ATI began.

I'm using a AMD Athlon T-bird 900 on a Epox KT-133 chipset motherboard with 256mb of SDRAM. I have a Turtle beach santa cruz soundcard.


Any ideas what might be causing the sudden failure? I've tried disabling AGP texture acceleration as well, this did not help.
mek73 is offline  
Old Nov 26, 2001, 09:48 PM   #2
Dyre Straits
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 4,107
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Post If you downloaded DX8.1 to a folder.....

Try reinstalling it from Safemode. Sounds like something was interfering with your installation. Also, if you didn't get it from MS's WEB site, do that, too.

Dyre Straits
Dyre Straits is offline  
Old Nov 26, 2001, 10:57 PM   #3
mek73
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 3
mek73 is still being judged by the masses


Default Safe mode DX8.1 install didn't help

I tried installing DX8.1 from safe mode and I still get the same failure in dxdiag.

And yes, I did download my DX8.1 installer from microsoft.com/direct. I also went and downloaded a second copy and checked to make sure the md5sums were the same to make sure my original copy was uncorrupted and it is fine.
mek73 is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 27, 2001, 01:42 AM   #4
Dyre Straits
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 4,107
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Arrow Found this in a newsgroup......

You might find this helpful:


> I recently upgraded from DirectX8.0a to 8.1, and all of a sudden none
> of my DirectX 8 apps/games would run. Running dxdiag.exe would
> complete the DirectX7 test fine, but would give the following error
> when trying to test DirectX8:
> Direct3D test results: Failure at step 5 (GetDeviceCaps): HRESULT =
> 0x8876086a (3D not available)
>
> Here's what I did to fix it on my PC.
>
> Run dxdiag.exe and go to the "Display" tab.
> Even though the line that reads "Direct3D Accelleration says:
> "Enabled", go ahead and click on the "Disable" button. When I did
> that, the message I got was that Direct3D would now be ENABLED.
>
> Toggle the D3D Enable/Disable button untill you actually see the text
> change from Disabled to Enabled.
>
> IMO it seems that a registry setting in the DirectX8.1 install is set
> to an incorrect value that the dxdiag tool displays D3D as being
> Enabled when in fact D3D is really disabled.
>
> FYI: The other buttons don't seem to share this problem
>
> I hope this works for you too!
>


Dyre Straits
Dyre Straits is offline  
Old Nov 27, 2001, 09:25 AM   #5
mek73
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 3
mek73 is still being judged by the masses


Cool Fixed! toggling enable 3d accel did it!

Thanks DS.. that tip worked. I went in to dxdiag, turned off Direct3d acceleration (which told me it turned it off) then turned it back on and it all worked.

strange problem...
mek73 is offline  
Old Nov 27, 2001, 11:02 AM   #6
Dyre Straits
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 4,107
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Smile You're Welcome!

And I'm quite happy for you, too.

Dyre Straits
Dyre Straits is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual monitors w/ supported and non-supported radeons + cat 6.6 Rail Grinder AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 10 Jun 28, 2006 08:03 PM
Radeon 9700 Pro AIW is not supported? V-man AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 8 Mar 30, 2006 12:58 PM
Is CRT VGA monitor supported on DVI out by Radeon 8500 LE piken Radeon Technical Support 3 Sep 29, 2002 04:21 PM
Radeon 8500 = OpenGL not supported BladeCS Radeon Technical Support 1 Feb 3, 2002 04:44 PM
AIW Radeon won't be supported in Windows XP? Coyote AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 7 Sep 3, 2001 07:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink