Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 17, 2003, 05:15 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
RadeonVE
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 85
RadeonVE is still being judged by the masses


Default R8500 flash to 9100???

I know that has a thread that is discussing about it , but with a wrong title, so , let´s see if we can do it. Post yours ideas and experiences about flash the 8500 to get the 9100.
__________________
Athlon XP1700, Radeon8500, Shuttle ak31a
256mb, hd 40gb d740dx ,Sb Live
RadeonVE is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2003, 05:48 PM   #2
bas695
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 24
bas695 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Is the BIOS even different between these two cards?
bas695 is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2003, 06:21 PM   #3
bleagh
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 865
bleagh is still being judged by the masses


Default

Either it is very different, or nobody has posted a reliable
9100 BIOS yet.
bleagh is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 17, 2003, 06:35 PM   #4
Bigsky
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 10
Bigsky is still being judged by the masses


Default

I had posted a link to the bios that I had saved from the 9100 but I had a made a error on that save and have since corrected the saved file and reposted it. The bios file size is 52kb as opposed to the 8500's 48kb. Here is the new file.

After a Hex comparison between the 8500 and 9100 bios's I can reassure you that they are almost completely different.
Bigsky is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2003, 07:27 PM   #5
bushwacker
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 135
bushwacker is still being judged by the masses


Default

what about the 9000pro vs the 9100? Is that feasable?
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2100+ @ 2.4GHz
Video: ATI Radeon 9k Pro @ 310/310
RAM: Kingston DDR400 CL2 512Mb
Mobo: Epox 8RDA+ (Rev. 1.1)
HDs: 1 40GB, 2MB cache Seagate, 1 120GB WD (ATA/100, 8MB cache)
Sound: SB Audigy2 Platinum w/ 4.1 surround sound
OSes: Win2k ProSP4 & Linux
Cooling: AquariusII Water Cooling
bushwacker is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2003, 08:12 PM   #6
FrancoisC
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Montréal
Posts: 255
FrancoisC is still being judged by the masses


Default

No, the 9000/9100 don't have the same core (rv250 vs r200)
FrancoisC is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2003, 09:28 PM   #7
FrancoisC
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Montréal
Posts: 255
FrancoisC is still being judged by the masses


Default

So, anybody with a backup PCI video card wanna try this?
FrancoisC is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2003, 11:50 PM   #8
mbeeston
Azure Tenebrae
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada port jeuno, asura
Posts: 14,229
mbeeston once held a door open for a complete strangermbeeston once held a door open for a complete strangermbeeston once held a door open for a complete strangermbeeston once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

i might if i had the file =/.. was the file for a 64mb or a 128mb?
__________________
"you know? there is no problem with my family that wouldn't be solved by my death." - Me
RIP Joe 'Vengeance' Rupe
"you can't end a good party without someone on the floor" - Yusuke Urameshi
"Intelligence has nothing to do with politics." - ambassador muwlari
" when somethings weird and it don't look good, who do you think it is? GHOST NAPPA"
mbeeston is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 12:09 AM   #9
FrancoisC
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Montréal
Posts: 255
FrancoisC is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hehe, ok the file is on this page (thanks to bigsky): http://www.freewebs.com/tmod/ati9100bios.htm and it is from a 64MB Radeon 9100

PS: Don't do it if you don't have a PCI backup card, because if it don't work, you'll have to reflash your card, and for some strange reason it can't be done "Blindly". I had a bad flash once, I knew exactly what to write, but it worked only with another card in the system.

Last edited by FrancoisC : Jan 18, 2003 at 12:11 AM.
FrancoisC is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 12:56 AM   #10
Shinji666
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 15
Shinji666 is still being judged by the masses


Default

anyone is willing to try it?
Shinji666 is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 02:23 AM   #11
Shinji666
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 15
Shinji666 is still being judged by the masses


Default

just flashed with the bios BigSky provided on this site. Working fine here, no prob on the next reboot. However, performance seems the same (game 4 3dmark2k1) but somehow i couldn't finish the default test

i used the 9100 drivers i got from sapphire site (other drivers gave me an error of couldn't find the video adapter)



How do i test if fullstream is working or not? i have realone.. but how do it enable it?
Shinji666 is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 03:06 AM   #12
Tyrant
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 75
Tyrant is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hey Shinji, did you o/c the "9100" back up to 8500 speeds?
Tyrant is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 09:36 AM   #13
Bigsky
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 10
Bigsky is still being judged by the masses


Default Shinji666

Well glad to see it at least worked for you. I am using the 3.0a Catalyst drivers with mine and it recognized it with no problems so you might want to try those. Good Luck
Bigsky is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 12:14 PM   #14
BNO
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Karlsruhe, BW, Germany
Posts: 41
BNO is still being judged by the masses


Default

It seems that flashing from 8500 to 9100 works! When you have a card based on the ATI reference Design.

kmf has posted a flash guide on the 3DCenter.de Forums, here is a short summery óf it in english:

you need 2 boot floppys with a basic dos (no drivers)

on one of these floppys you put atiflash and your original Radeon BIOS.

on this floppy you create a autoexec.but whitch should look like this:

@echo off
echo flashing using Orig_Bios
echo cancel using CTRL and DEL
rem pause > nul
atiflash -p 0 orgbios.bin r

you can replace oribbios.bin through the name of your original bios image.

the flash process is automatic

on the 2nd floppy you need atiflash2 and the modified R9100 BIOS. (modifie it using RadEdit 1.1d (not newer)) You have to adapt the bios so it fits to your Radeon 8500. Again you create a AUTOEXEC.BAT similiar to this:

@echo off
echo flashing using R9100_BIOS
echo cancel using CTRL and DEL
pause > nul
atiflash -p 0 9100mod.bin r

9100mod.bin can be changed to your modified R9100 BIOS.

Using this method you can flash your Radoen 8500 without having a Backup PCI-Card to reflash the Radeon.

END OF GUIDE

From my point of view you should borrow a PCI Card from somewhere, because there is still risk to have a faillure when flashing back.

Flashing on your own risk (you all know this)

Here is the Page of the 3DCenter.de Thread:
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...0&pagenumber=6

[EDIT]
They tried flashing on 64 MB Radeon 8500 Cards. It seems to work on Reference cards, but not on cards like the Hercules FDX8500LE.
__________________
BNO-Net: Hardware, Software, Games | All about PC and Mac since February'02 (German)
usersHELPme.de | Forums by BNO-Net (German)
System configuration | XP2200+ | MSI KT6 Delta | FIC A97
My Notebook | Acer TravelMate 803LCi

Last edited by BNO : Jan 18, 2003 at 12:16 PM.
BNO is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 12:35 PM   #15
FrancoisC
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Montréal
Posts: 255
FrancoisC is still being judged by the masses


Default

Confirmation #2 here, it work.

PS: I also ran 3d mark, no improvement (as expected), but it ran the whole test, no crash or anything

Last edited by FrancoisC : Jan 18, 2003 at 12:58 PM.
FrancoisC is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 01:07 PM   #16
superdigg
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 59
superdigg is still being judged by the masses


Default

Flashed as well. Got my highest 3dmark score ever actually: 10215.

Sadly I can't post a compare link because 3dmark doesn't recognize my "brand new 9100" so here are the details:

System Configuration
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP

DirectX Version 9.0

Mobo Manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Mobo Model P4B533-E
AGP Rates (Current/Available) 4x / 1x 2x 4x



CPU Intel Pentium 4 2520 MHz
FSB 140 MHz
Memory 512 MB

Graphics Chipset Generic VGA
Driver Name RADEON 9100 SERIES
Driver Version 6.14.01.6255
Video Memory 64 MB

Program Version 3DMark2001 SE
Resolution 1024x768 32bit
Texture Format Compressed
FSAA Disabled
Z-Buffer Depth 24bit
Frame Buffer Double
Rendering Pipeline D3D Pure Hardware T&L



Test Results
3DMark Score 10215 3D marks

Game 1 Car Chase - Low Detail 160.5 FPS
Game 1 Car Chase - High Detail 60.9 FPS

Game 2 Dragothic - Low Detail 157.5 FPS
Game 2 Dragothic - High Detail 87.4 FPS

Game 3 Lobby - Low Detail 153.7 FPS
Game 3 Lobby - High Detail 68.3 FPS

Game 4 Nature 58.3 FPS

Fill Rate (Single-Texturing) 1010.1 MTexels/s
Fill Rate (Multi-Texturing) 2234.7 MTexels/s

High Polygon Count (1 light) 43.9 MTriangels/s
High Polygon Count (8 lights) 10.5 MTriangels/s

Environment Bump Mapping 140.3 FPS

DOT3 Bump Mapping 123.8 FPS

Vertex Shader 106.1 FPS
Pixel Shader 123.4 FPS
Advanced Pixel Shader 101.3 FPS

Point Sprite 31.5 MSprites/s


I'll run some UT2003 benches as well and get back to you. Everything looks fine so far.
__________________
Asus P4B533-E/L/1394
P4 Nw [email protected] watercooled
512Mb TwinMOS CL2.5 PC3200 DDR
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro @ XT
superdigg is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 01:43 PM   #17
breez
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland Finland
Posts: 1,016
breez is still being judged by the masses


Default

Only Ati reference cards? Hmm, I have this Powermagic brand card. Will it work?
__________________
CPU: Tbred-b @ 1.9GHz
Motherboard: Abit NF7-S 2.0
Memory: 1024MB DDR400 7-3-3-2.5
Video card: Connect3D AIW Radeon 9800 SE @ Pro
Sound: EMU 0404
Operating system: XP SP2
breez is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 01:49 PM   #18
mbeeston
Azure Tenebrae
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada port jeuno, asura
Posts: 14,229
mbeeston once held a door open for a complete strangermbeeston once held a door open for a complete strangermbeeston once held a door open for a complete strangermbeeston once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

oh this is for 64mb cards? right.. i don't wanna kill it
__________________
"you know? there is no problem with my family that wouldn't be solved by my death." - Me
RIP Joe 'Vengeance' Rupe
"you can't end a good party without someone on the floor" - Yusuke Urameshi
"Intelligence has nothing to do with politics." - ambassador muwlari
" when somethings weird and it don't look good, who do you think it is? GHOST NAPPA"
mbeeston is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 02:00 PM   #19
BNO
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Karlsruhe, BW, Germany
Posts: 41
BNO is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by breez
Only Ati reference cards? Hmm, I have this Powermagic brand card. Will it work?
I have to crrect my self. Kmf has successfully flashed his 64MB Hercules Card. So I think you can try it.

In the 3DCenter Thread we all think that the possebility to flash is currently limited to 64 MB Radeon 8500 Cards, becaus the BIOS is only for the 64 MB Version.
__________________
BNO-Net: Hardware, Software, Games | All about PC and Mac since February'02 (German)
usersHELPme.de | Forums by BNO-Net (German)
System configuration | XP2200+ | MSI KT6 Delta | FIC A97
My Notebook | Acer TravelMate 803LCi
BNO is offline  
Old Jan 18, 2003, 02:23 PM   #20
BNO
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Karlsruhe, BW, Germany
Posts: 41
BNO is still being judged by the masses


Default

When you don't know where to get the tools needed to flash the 9100 BIOS, have a look at the Download section of my website here:
http://www.bno-net.de/forum/viewtopic.php?t=52

[EDIT]
A User in the 3DCenter Forum has confirmed that FULLSTREAM works after flashing his Radeon 8500 with the 9100 BIOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
BNO-Net: Hardware, Software, Games | All about PC and Mac since February'02 (German)
usersHELPme.de | Forums by BNO-Net (German)
System configuration | XP2200+ | MSI KT6 Delta | FIC A97
My Notebook | Acer TravelMate 803LCi

Last edited by BNO : Jan 18, 2003 at 02:53 PM.
BNO is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xpertvision(palitDaytona) r8500/9100 vmod tomkooo Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 Dec 29, 2003 05:18 AM
R8500 (w/ 9100 BIOS) & Cat 3.2 & Q3 problems / need help asap ChaoticBeauty AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 2 Mar 19, 2003 07:38 PM
R8500 (w/ 9100 BIOS) & Cat 3.2 & Q3 problems ChaoticBeauty Radeon Technical Support 0 Mar 18, 2003 05:48 PM
how do i flash to 9100? Vincemeat Radeon Technical Support 6 Jan 22, 2003 06:41 PM
R8500 OEM with 4 ns, should I flash? Walter:-) AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 13 Dec 19, 2001 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink