Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Off Topic Lounge » Home Theaters and Photography
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Home Theaters and Photography Discussion forum for Home Theater enthusiasts and newbies. Also the place to discuss and post your photography ventures and queries.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2015, 01:43 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 18,852
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default Samsung Smart TV's listening and sending the info unencrypted



http://www.extremetech.com/computing...-its-smart-tvs

Quote:
When news broke that Samsung’s Smart TV’s listened to conversations and sent them to a third-party server company, the Korean manufacturer countered by claiming that all data transmissions to and from its televisions were encrypted. When testing demonstrated that the data in question wasn’t encrypted (despite being sent via Port 443, which is typically used for HTTPS traffic), Samsung modified its stance, claiming that new TVs were encrypted properly but older sets were not. This, too, has now been proven false.
This is getting really dumb. As if no one was going to test their claim... wth Samsung
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi Go! Pro(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2015, 01:47 PM   #2
Lazy8s
One day at a time
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States Over here now
Posts: 28,380
Lazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

I've been searching for a way to kill the wifi on my year old set, and shy of opening the TV and physically pulling the module, I'm strongly considering getting rid of it.

I hate this crap with a passion.
Lazy8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2015, 03:20 PM   #3
kboye
9700PRO RIP
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,574
kboye can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultykboye can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Projector. Possibly the dumbest "monitor" one can get these days.
__________________
-
I miss seing Dawn on my Eizo T965 21" CRT with ATi 9700 PRO. RIP.
kboye is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 27, 2015, 03:46 PM   #4
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,365
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default

Does this work?

Quote:
I was able to turn off my Samsung Smart TV's WiFi by using the TV's Wifi configuration. Depending on your model and menu functions look for network setup. Click on set up network or search for new network. After it searches for available wireless networks chose "ADD NETWORK" then enter a bogus name. A name that did not appear in the selection list. Then choose "OPEN" for security type. The TV will search for that network you named and wont be able to connect to it. It will however keep the settings. Once the configuration is finished it will display network address as 0.0.0.0 for all fields. Turn the TV off. The next time you turn the tv on it will briefly search for the network and when it doesn't find it the wifi shuts off by default.

Good Luck
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2013384

Can't verify. I have a dumb Vizio
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2015, 03:56 PM   #5
Lazy8s
One day at a time
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States Over here now
Posts: 28,380
Lazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupine View Post
Does this work?


http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2013384

Can't verify. I have a dumb Vizio
I tried that last night and it wouldn't work as the set kept defaulting back to my original SSID when it couldn't find what I entered. It wouldn't let me advance to the next step.

Tonight though...I'll change my router password, change the TV to match, then change the router back. That should do it.

Then this set goes in the basement, and I'll find a solid "dumb" flat screen. Getting really tired of all the snooping type garbage these days.
Lazy8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2015, 05:18 PM   #6
gamefoo21
Rage Furry X
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada Saskatchewan
Posts: 9,374
gamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

My Panny SmarTViera, the Wi-Fi module is removable from the out side of the TV.

God damn... Samsung you are just giving everyone a reason to buy an LG plasma or OLED...
__________________
"Curiosity is the very basis of education and if you tell me that curiosity killed the cat, I say only that the cat died nobly." - Arnold Edinborough

Heatware
gamefoo21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2015, 06:38 PM   #7
Lazy8s
One day at a time
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States Over here now
Posts: 28,380
Lazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamefoo21 View Post
My Panny SmarTViera, the Wi-Fi module is removable from the out side of the TV.

God damn... Samsung you are just giving everyone a reason to buy an LG plasma or OLED...
Showoff!

I don't see another Sammy getting into my house after this. What ticks me off is I'm almost 100% certain the setting to disable it was there when I initially set up the TV a year ago. Not any more, and that's what I get for letting myself be suckered into fancy features I don't need.
Lazy8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2015, 11:37 PM   #8
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 18,852
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default

Personally I already keep my remotes in a box to keep my remotes dust free. So the chances of this picking up much of anything up is unlikely. Still had I known... I very well might have chosen a different TV.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi Go! Pro(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satire: Samsung Pays Apple $1 Billion Sending 30 Trucks Full of 5 Cents Coins MUTHA-Theresa Off Topic Lounge 25 Aug 31, 2012 10:23 PM
Sony sends PS3 credit card info unencrypted Elysian Console Gaming 21 Feb 19, 2011 05:25 AM
TV Add: Buy select Samsung TV's, get Blu-Ray player free. MasterGoa Home Theaters and Photography 3 Jan 23, 2008 09:57 PM
Samsung 900DF and DCC info. Resurrector Radeon Technical Support 1 Jan 9, 2004 06:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink