Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Professional Graphics Discussion
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Professional Graphics Discussion Discussion and technical support forum for ATIs lineup of professional level graphics cards

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 18, 2005, 10:00 PM   #31
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Sparky1
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 266
Sparky1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenith251
Hrm, so has anyone made any progress in modding 5.x series Cats to run on FireGLs?

The modifications used for the <5.x series cats still load FireGL drivers (I guess, seems that way. Haven't tested it thoroughly) no matter what I do.

FireGL drivers are so passe. Quadro hardware with Quadro drivers still permit running games as you would on a GeForce, while FireGL drivers won't....

What gives ATI?
Yeah, I'm waiting for the FGL drivers to have CAT like options.
__________________
I'm not as think as you stoned I am
Sparky1 is offline  
Old Apr 19, 2005, 07:59 AM   #32
StooMonster
FireGL V7100
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: England
Posts: 20
StooMonster is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenith251
FireGL drivers are so passe. Quadro hardware with Quadro drivers still permit running games as you would on a GeForce, while FireGL drivers won't....
FireGL drivers run all my games, but don't have all the options of the Catalysts; and I'm unsure of the speed difference.

Would be good if they progressed this some, at least 64-bit versions are available.

StooMonster
StooMonster is offline  
Old Apr 26, 2005, 02:59 PM   #33
caicken
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
caicken is still being judged by the masses


Default Catalyst on v5100

Hi,

I was wondering if its possible to get the latest version of Catalyst 5.4 to be used as the driver for my v5100? How would this be done? If this is not possible what is the lastest version it would work with and how would this be done?

Sorry if this question seems simple but i have no idea if it would be compatible due to chipsets etc?
caicken is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 8, 2005, 06:44 PM   #34
Zenith251
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Zenith251 is still being judged by the masses


Default

http://www.guru3d.com/rivatuner/ !!! 15.5 says updated SoftR9x00 for 5.4.

Gonna download and give it a try, should have results back by Monday. Yay.
Zenith251 is offline  
Old May 11, 2005, 05:07 PM   #35
Zenith251
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Zenith251 is still being judged by the masses


Default

That's a negative. The newest SoftR9x00, for 5.3 and 5.4 cats, didn't work on 5.4 cats on my FireGL Z1.

I did all the proper modifications, it installed fine from the setup.exe (And later manually, just to check). But instead it loaded up FireGL drivers, just as it would have done had I not run the SoftR9x00 script at all. I reunpacked the drivers and tried again, still no luck.


StooMonster - That's funny. NONE of mine work. No Quake3 based games fail at console, HL2 won't load, KOTOR just does a nosedive into an error message.

Back to 4.9 for me,
Zenith251 is offline  
Old May 24, 2005, 03:34 PM   #36
StooMonster
FireGL V7100
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: England
Posts: 20
StooMonster is still being judged by the masses


Default

Saying that, have tried to get FarCry to work and it won't. But Half-Life 2, Doom 3, Rome Total War, Dungeon Siege, etc all work on FireGL 8.103 drivers.

Want to play FarCry so a bit bummed out.

StooMonster
StooMonster is offline  
Old May 25, 2005, 12:00 AM   #37
Zenith251
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Zenith251 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Interesting. I haven't been able to get ANY game to work under FireGL drivers. Everything else works fine though.
Zenith251 is offline  
Old May 25, 2005, 03:42 AM   #38
StooMonster
FireGL V7100
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: England
Posts: 20
StooMonster is still being judged by the masses


Default

Halo, UT2004 work too ... FireGL 8.103 driver on V7100 hardware. Only game that doesn't work is FarCry.

Interestingly I installed the Omega drivers for V7100 last night (R423GL), and they crash too. Then I tried the Omega X800 XT (R423) drivers and they crash FarCry too.

Hrm...
StooMonster is offline  
Old Jun 9, 2005, 11:25 PM   #39
Zenith251
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Zenith251 is still being judged by the masses


Default

...Has no one else tried the new cats with the new SoftRad?

Shloppy, surely you have!!
Zenith251 is offline  
Old Jun 10, 2005, 03:41 AM   #40
StooMonster
FireGL V7100
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: England
Posts: 20
StooMonster is still being judged by the masses


Default

What new SoftRad? Point it out and I'll give the new Cats a go.

StooMonster
StooMonster is offline  
Old Jun 11, 2005, 11:10 AM   #41
StooMonster
FireGL V7100
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: England
Posts: 20
StooMonster is still being judged by the masses


Default

Okay, so the solution ... was to edit the Catalyst installers, and add the FireGL cards (which is not much more than simply a copy and paste from FireGL installers) ... no SoftRad, no moding patches, no nothing, just a plain install that recognises my graphics card.

I now have Catalyst 5.6 plus CCC running on my FireGL V7100. Nice performance boost on some games, and now FarCry runs too.

Sweet.

StooMonster

PS: Omega drivers appear to use FireGL's OpenGL rather than the Catalyst version, plus have errors in the vendor references of cards too.

PPS: gonna test it all out on a friends set up too -- then may have to post to the net.
StooMonster is offline  
Old Jun 11, 2005, 07:34 PM   #42
a_c_30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
a_c_30 is still being judged by the masses


Default FireGL and Catalyst

Hi there,

I admire StooMonster's work but I know that people from other forums have been using Catalyst drivers on FireGL cards for months without any modification of any files. According to them (I have only saved their advice to a text file so I don't remember any links or nicks) you have to install Catalyst with a Radeon card in your computer. Then you turn your comp off, switch the cards, turn it back on, choose the Radeon model corresponding to your FireGL model (that would be X800 XT in StooMonster's case, if I'm not mistaken) and reboot.

If it's true, you could have been plying Far Cry for months now

Of couse, you would have to borrow a Radeon card from a friend or buy the cheapest one.

***I can't vouch for the info because I don't haven't tried it out so take it as is.***

If you want to read the original advice, do a search for "FireGL V7100 and Cinema HD 30". That's how I found it somewhere.

Any comments are welcome, my email is [email protected] in case you don't want to respond here.
a_c_30 is offline  
Old Jun 11, 2005, 08:26 PM   #43
StooMonster
FireGL V7100
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: England
Posts: 20
StooMonster is still being judged by the masses


Default

Except I would have to buy a PCIe Radeon card just to swap it out. Also, to get it working perfectly you would have to match the cores too e.g. R423 (Radeon X800XT) with R423GL (FireGL V7100). So to follow that plan, I would need to buy a X800XT PCIe just to install some drivers? Madness!

Because no-one had done it before (in this thread), and the instructions at the top of this thread are somewhat convaluted, and people are in awe of Omega and other modified drivers, I thought it was hard to do ... until I tried modifying the driver install scripts for myself, and found that it took only a few minutes to convert Catalysts to work on FireGL, and it worked perfectly on my first attempt.

Enhancing Catalyst installers is way quicker than swapping a card ... especially as mine is in Zalman TNN500AF case and not easily changeable ... and swapping cards again at update time?

It's my friend who wants to play FarCry on his V7100, I finished it yonks ago ; but it has been annoying me that it's the only game (that I own) that wouldn't work on FireGL drivers.

StooMonster
StooMonster is offline  
Old Jun 12, 2005, 06:17 AM   #44
Shloppy
ATI FanBoi
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom Scotland
Posts: 308
Shloppy is still being judged by the masses


Default

I agree that converting the Catalyst drivers to add FireGL support is not a hard thing to do. I wrote the guide however out of frustration at ATI's then lack of DirectX 9 support in their drivers. Also, as I only have access to a FireGL X1-128 card there isn't a lot I could add to help others in the steps needed to add support for the latest FireGL cards.

What the guide was, was a then unique, 100% error free installation for FireGL X1-128 owners. Up until writing the guide a step by step, correct install process did not exist. Also, at time of writing, none of the modified driversets offered FireGL support either.

Yet still ATI persist even today. It's ridiculous that in 2005 ATI still offer workstation users awful configuration options and poor gaming support in their premiere product line.
__________________
Wee, sleekit, cow’rin, tim’rous beastie, O, what a panic’s in thy breastie! -Robert Burns(1759–1796)
Shloppy is offline  
Old Jun 13, 2005, 02:18 AM   #45
a_c_30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
a_c_30 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Well, StooMonster's solution seems to be the best now, so let's hope it's gonna work on his friend's comp and that he'll post the necessary changes then.
a_c_30 is offline  
Old Jun 29, 2005, 08:18 PM   #46
a_c_30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
a_c_30 is still being judged by the masses


Default Catalyst 5.6

I have installed Catalyst 5.6 but although the drivers installed fine I can't run Doom3. I guess OpelGL doesn't work. I don't see the 3D tab in the control panel but I can change the resolution to 2560x1600 which wouldn't be possible without the drivers installed. What am I doing wrong?

What's funny is that I can play FarCry using the original FireGL drivers. Any comments?

a_c_30
a_c_30 is offline  
Old Jun 30, 2005, 03:27 AM   #47
StooMonster
FireGL V7100
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: England
Posts: 20
StooMonster is still being judged by the masses


Default

I wonder if FarCry wasn't working on the FireGL driver because I had it's resolution set to 2560x1600 -- because it doesn't work at that resolution on the Catalysts 5.6 either.

I have Doom3 and everything running sweetly on the Cat5.6 and even HL2 is about 10% faster; I guess there could be variation in the install scripts. You see what I do is force the R423GL chip to use R423 DLLs and ignor the FireGL specifics. Note: I run Doom3 at 1280x800.

I do have odd behaviour though, the Cat5.6 seem to have some sort of FireGL detection in them because in the CCC the 3d view doesn't render but I get an additional "workstation" mention (that has some controls as FireGL driver's menu).

Next week, when I'm less busy I'll post up my process and edits to the scripts; then we can compare.

StooMonster
StooMonster is offline  
Old Jun 30, 2005, 10:11 AM   #48
a_c_30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
a_c_30 is still being judged by the masses


Default Re:Far Cry

Hi, it must be some other problem because I can play Far Cry using the 2560x1600 and Medium settings without any issues. With higher settings than medium the water is corrupted.

I can install the Cat 5.6 even using the inf. file from Add Hardware in the Control Panel after installing WinXP but it's not working properly - I get lower 3DMark2005 results than with the FireGL drivers + no Doom3. CCC installs without problems once it sees I have the drivers installed.

Do you have the 3D tab in your control panel? With antialiasing settings etc, I mean the old Control Panel because CCC displays it but I don't think they have any effect (AI remains grayed).
a_c_30 is offline  
Old Jul 13, 2005, 10:49 AM   #49
Sparky1
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 266
Sparky1 is still being judged by the masses


Question Clarification

I've been reading through the thread and I just wanted to ask if the softmod guide that Shloppy has posted now works with the 5.6 cats. It seems that the latest version of rivatuner supports the 5.6s. Would someone confirm that the guide is applicable to the latest cats and the FGL X1 128? Are there still issues with the OpenGL drivers, or is it turn-key like it was for the 4.9s? That was the last time I successfully did the mod.

TIA
__________________
I'm not as think as you stoned I am
Sparky1 is offline  
Old Aug 21, 2005, 08:38 PM   #50
phoyoco
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 29
phoyoco is still being judged by the masses


Default

OK so I've got the Cat 5.8's with CCC working on my FireGL T2-128. Here's what I did...
  1. Downloaded Cat 5.8 with CCC from ATI
  2. Downloaded Mobility Modder 2.2 by Patje
  3. Modded the drivers to work with the Mobility FireGL T2 using Mobility Modder. This takes most of the manual work out of editing the files.
  4. Modified the driver install files to work with the FireGL T2 instead of the Mobility part by modifying the device ID in the XP inf file and then manually installing the driver followed by running the setup for CCC and rebooting.
So far everying appears to be working OK. I played Guild Wars for 3 hours straight.

Last edited by phoyoco : Aug 22, 2005 at 07:51 AM.
phoyoco is offline  
Old Aug 29, 2005, 05:37 AM   #51
darkkloud
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
darkkloud is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hello, long time lurker of this forum and love all the tips and guides people have posted. But I was curious if there was a way if anyone who successfully modded a FireGL x1-128 card for the 5.8's would be kind enough to post the way they did it ? I've tried manually modding it , I'm able to get it installed and run games in D3D , but none of my OpenGL games will work, I get the "This card is not supported" message on all my openGL games. Thank you in advance for whoever posts it.
darkkloud is offline  
Old Sep 13, 2005, 11:23 AM   #52
phoyoco
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 29
phoyoco is still being judged by the masses


Default

I ended up reverting back to the latest build of FireGL drivers. While I was using the modified 5.8's, City of Heroes wouldn't run, it would come up with all sorts of errors while loading related to the display driver. After I reinstalled the FireGL drivers, the game runs although I get an error telling me that my drivers are old and to contact ATI for newer drivers. I haven't noticed any graphics issues so I'm going to leave it alone.
phoyoco is offline  
Old Nov 6, 2005, 03:37 PM   #53
Zenith251
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Zenith251 is still being judged by the masses


Default

The question is, phoyoco, did you get a FireGL control panel, or Radeon?
Zenith251 is offline  
Old Nov 6, 2005, 06:15 PM   #54
Shloppy
ATI FanBoi
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom Scotland
Posts: 308
Shloppy is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'm pretty sure that with his modified 5.8's he'd still be getting the FireGL control panel (Never bothered checking out CCC though). I believe that the control panel itself contains ASIC checks to determine which version of the panel is to be displayed.

Not that that would really matter, the whole point in the exercise for modifying these Catalyst drivers (for me anyhow) was originally in 2003 to enable DirectX 9 support and thus gain the gaming performance fixes and sheer compatibility for the primary API used when gaming, and in the vast majority of cases, that would be Direct3D.

Theres already several examples on these forums to show how you can go about modifying Catalyst / FireGL drivers but still be able to utilise the OpenGL advantages that the FireGL drivers offer.




I would have altered the 5.10 64-bit Catalyst's but no longer have to fiddle with these drivers, as I've since popped in an X800XL.
__________________
Wee, sleekit, cow’rin, tim’rous beastie, O, what a panic’s in thy breastie! -Robert Burns(1759–1796)

Last edited by Shloppy : Nov 6, 2005 at 06:59 PM.
Shloppy is offline  
Old Dec 21, 2005, 12:35 PM   #55
phoyoco
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 29
phoyoco is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenith251
The question is, phoyoco, did you get a FireGL control panel, or Radeon?
I installed it with the catalyst control center but many of the options wouldn't function properly. I haven't tried again since. At ths point I think I'm going to look into an upgraded card, perhaps an x700?
phoyoco is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2006, 12:25 AM   #56
Lore
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3
Lore is still being judged by the masses


Default

I just got an ATI FireGL V7100 from a friend to play with.

I don't do any workstation work whatsoever, but I do play some games, so I was hoping that I could get the card to function properly with Catalyst 5.13 drivers and Doom 3. Well, I couldn't get the game to load properly with the Catalyst drivers, regardless of whether I forced the install scripts or not. The OpenGL stuff just wasn't working!

It took me probably an hour and a half to get it to work, but the end-result was I had to revert back to the latest Unified FireGL drivers from ATI's site (8.163.1). Only after that was I able to get Doom 3 to load.

If anyone has any suggestions or scripts or anything that they used to get a FireGL to work with the latest Catalyst drivers, I'm all eyes!
Lore is offline  
Old Jun 13, 2006, 01:39 PM   #57
Lancet
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Lancet is still being judged by the masses


Default FireGL v5200?

What about mobility FireGL V5200? it has the capabilities of X1600, can i force the Catalyst drivers to work on it? if so, where can i find the required DeviceID, Subsystem ID, etc.?
Lancet is offline  
Old Oct 23, 2006, 02:40 PM   #58
Guy Named Bob
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Guy Named Bob is still being judged by the masses


Videocard What about Mobility FireGL V5200?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancet View Post
What about mobility FireGL V5200? it has the capabilities of X1600, can i force the Catalyst drivers to work on it? if so, where can i find the required DeviceID, Subsystem ID, etc.?
I have the exact same question!

I'm looking into buying a IBM (Lenovo) Thinkpad Z61p with the 256MB ATI Mobility FireGL V5200. Would this make a decent gaming rig if I were to force the Catalyst drivers to run on it?

Mind you I don't need the latest cutting edge games to play on it...I'll use a desktop machine for that. I think that Far Cry or BFII would be about the most demanding games that I would play on it.
Guy Named Bob is offline  
Old Apr 19, 2007, 05:58 PM   #59
XiticiX
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
XiticiX is still being judged by the masses


Default

I also have a laptop with a FireGL 5200 card, and am wondering how I can use the Radeon drivers on it. I'm assuming I will gain better gaming performance by doing so?
Links? Articles? please. thanks
XiticiX is offline  
Old May 6, 2007, 12:26 PM   #60
Splaktar
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Splaktar is still being judged by the masses


Default

Same problem here. I've got a T60p with an ATI Mobility FireGL V5200, but it locks up when I try to play games like WoW.

I've tried modded drivers and omega drivers, in addition to the normal Lenovo drivers. They all result in lock ups at some point.

I tried the Catalyst 7.4 Raedon drivers and the 7.4 'Mobile' drivers. While they get me better scores in 3dMark06, they still lock up in WoW.

Should I be trying to use older Catalyst drivers with this card or something?
Splaktar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FireGL T2 using catalyst drivers? seiko Professional Graphics Discussion 3 Aug 28, 2004 05:42 PM
AA Does not Work On Any Catalyst in 16-bit, Can I Force 32 Bit? mcq3000 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 5 Jul 17, 2003 01:52 AM
New FireGL drivers out. Anyone able to make them work on an 8500? EdTheSped AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 151 Mar 12, 2003 09:08 PM
Using Catalyst Drivers with FireGL 8800? CaseMillennium AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 14 Sep 23, 2002 04:35 PM
ST: VOY Elite Force won't work with Catalyst thoennes AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 1 Jun 16, 2002 09:49 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink