Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 26, 2002, 12:37 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Slowik(PL)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Slowik(PL) is still being judged by the masses


Default What belive Powerstrip,MadOnion or SisSoft Sandra AGP 8X or AGP 2X ?

My system is ABIT AT-7MAX2 and i a Club3D Radeon 9700Pro.

And what belive now :

Powerstrip (newest vers.) says that i`m runing in AGP 8X
SisSoft Sandra Proff (newest vers.) says 8X,4X avalible current transfer 2X
MadOnion 2001SE (newest vers) says Avalible 8X,4X curent 2X

I make this test on the same time in Windows XP
So i thing that all you schuld run not only the Powerstrip ,also Sissoft Sandra and MadOnion and many more to confirm that your VGA is running at AGP 8X

http://www.theforumisdown.com/uploa.../0802/AGP2x.JPG
http://www.theforumisdown.com/uploa...P2XnotAGP8X.JPG
http://www.theforumisdown.com/uploa...2XnotAGP8X..JPG

Last edited by Slowik(PL) : Sep 26, 2002 at 03:13 PM.
Slowik(PL) is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 12:41 PM   #2
blix
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Texas
Posts: 836
blix is still being judged by the masses


Default

Do you have 8x AGP selected in your BIOS or are you running in auto mode? If you have it in auto mode, you might want to try anf force the card to run in 8X mode.
blix is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 12:44 PM   #3
Slowik(PL)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Slowik(PL) is still being judged by the masses


Default

The only way on my motherbord when the VGA is a AGP 3.0 standard is AUTO and no options to set the AGP transfer to manual ,so i can`t force it
Slowik(PL) is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 26, 2002, 12:46 PM   #4
Slowik(PL)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Slowik(PL) is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Slowik(PL)
The only way on my motherbord when the VGA is a AGP 3.0 standard is AUTO and no options to set the AGP transfer to manual ,so i can`t force it
Slowik(PL) is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 12:50 PM   #5
blix
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Texas
Posts: 836
blix is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'm not sure what to tell you then? You might want to try running wcpuid, it's another program that will identify all your CPU and AGP settings.

http://www.h-oda.com
blix is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 12:54 PM   #6
Slowik(PL)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Slowik(PL) is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by blix
I'm not sure what to tell you then? You might want to try running wcpuid, it's another program that will identify all your CPU and AGP settings.

http://www.h-oda.com
I have already returned my VGA and now wait foor the Gigabyte MayaII 9700Pro maybe i get lucky with this :?
Slowik(PL) is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 01:00 PM   #7
kyleb
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,167
kyleb is still being judged by the masses


Default

that would make sence if they wernt the same damn thing when it comes down to it. id imagine you were just fine before.
kyleb is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 01:08 PM   #8
ADS
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 341
ADS is still being judged by the masses


Default

If it says 8x is supported, then your configuration conforms to AGP 3.0. There is no such thing as 1x or 2x under AGP 3.0. The only options for transfer rate are 4x and 8x.
ADS is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 01:17 PM   #9
Slowik(PL)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Slowik(PL) is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ADS
If it says 8x is supported, then your configuration conforms to AGP 3.0. There is no such thing as 1x or 2x under AGP 3.0. The only options for transfer rate are 4x and 8x.

I know that if the AGP 3.0 VGA is detected than the onley way is AGP 8X but look this picture maked of my sys at MadOnion 2001SE , Sisoft Sandra with my Club3D 9700Pro :
http://www.theforumisdown.com/upload...0802/AGP2x.JPG
http://www.theforumisdown.com/upload...2XnotAGP8X.JPG
http://www.theforumisdown.com/upload...XnotAGP8X..JPG






Sorry i don`t have a Powerstrip picture but belive me that was said that i`m running now in AGP 8X !!!

Last edited by Slowik(PL) : Sep 26, 2002 at 01:43 PM.
Slowik(PL) is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 01:41 PM   #10
Furious
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: United States is everything...
Posts: 1,833
Furious is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'd take all MadOnion stuff with a grain of salt. My 3dmark2k1 results don't even show the correct fsb speed, etc.
__________________
Is taking an arrow in the knee covered by Obamacare?
Furious is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 01:48 PM   #11
ADS
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 341
ADS is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: What belive Powerstrip,MadOnion or SisSoft Sandra AGP 8X or AGP 2X ?

You asked:

Quote:

And what belive now :

Powerstrip (newest vers.) says that i`m runing in AGP 8X
SisSoft Sandra Proff (newest vers.) says 8X,4X avalible current transfer 2X
MadOnion 2001SE (newest vers) says Avalible 8X,4X curent 2X
I was simply pointing out that any program which tells you that both 8x and 2x are available or supported is in error.

If the system conforms to AGP 3.0, only 8x and 4x are possible.

If the system does *not* conform to AGP 3.0, then 8x is impossible.

8x and 2x at the same time is impossible.

So PowerStrip is correct, and the other two are wrong.
ADS is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 01:52 PM   #12
Slowik(PL)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Slowik(PL) is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: Re: What belive Powerstrip,MadOnion or SisSoft Sandra AGP 8X or AGP 2X ?

Quote:
Originally posted by ADS
You asked:



I was simply pointing out that any program which tells you that both 8x and 2x are available or supported is in error.

If the system conforms to AGP 3.0, only 8x and 4x are possible.

If the system does *not* conform to AGP 3.0, then 8x is impossible.

8x and 2x at the same time is impossible.

So PowerStrip is correct, and the other two are wrong.
I`m not so sure.Bud if so than i`m very happy man.
Slowik(PL) is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 02:33 PM   #13
ADS
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 341
ADS is still being judged by the masses


Default

1st page AGP 3.0 Interface Specifications:

AGP 1.0 : 1x and 2x only
AGP 2.0 : 1x, 2x and 4x only
AGP 3.0 : 4x and 8x only
ADS is offline  
Old Sep 26, 2002, 03:17 PM   #14
Starla
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,213
Starla is still being judged by the masses


Default

doesn't really make a diff.. the speed increase is simply not going to be there. Just would like to know the card works the way it should I guess.(128megs of ram is plenty)
Starla is offline  
Old Sep 27, 2002, 02:59 PM   #15
Slowik(PL)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Slowik(PL) is still being judged by the masses


Default

FastWrites are ON in the Bios :?



Diagnostic report - generated on 27-9-2002
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PowerStrip build - 335
Windows build - v.5.1.2600.2.Service Pack 1
DirectX build - v.5.1.2600.1106 (xpsp1.020828-1920)
OpenGL renderer - (n/a)

System board
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU speed - 1626 MHz
Type - VIA KT400-8235-6A6LYA19C-AD
BIOS - Phoenix-Award Bios, 08/12/2002
AGP aperture - 256 MB
AGP transfer mechanism - DMA
AGP non-local memory - 122,8 MB
AGP revision - 3.05
AGP transfer rates supported - 4x, 8x
Current AGP transfer rate - 8x
Sideband addressing - Enabled
Fast write protocol - hardware support, but currently disabled
AGP texturing - Enabled

Graphics card #1
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Identity - RADEON 9700 Series
Memory clock - 310,50 MHz
Engine clock - 324,00 MHz
IRQ - (n/a)
AGP revision - (n/a)
AGP transfer rates supported - (n/a)
Current AGP transfer rate - (n/a)
Sideband addressing - (n/a)
Display driver - ati2dvag.dll, v.6.13.10.6178
DirectX driver - ati2dvag.dll, v.6.13.10.6178
Attached monitor - Iiyama HM903DT, VisionMaster Pro 454 (Iiyama)
Monitor caps (1) - 2048x1536, 130kHz, 200Hz

Device enumeration
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RADEON 9700 Series (4E441002h) - using IRQ16
RADEON 9700 Series (4E641002h)
Abit CPU-to-PCI/AGP bridge (31891106h)
VIA PCI-to-PCI/AGP bridge (B1681106h)
3Com Ethernet controller (900410B7h) - using IRQ17
Abit Universal serial bus (USB) (30381106h) - using IRQ19
Abit Universal serial bus (USB) (30381106h) - using IRQ17
Abit Universal serial bus (USB) (31041106h) - using IRQ18
Abit Universal serial bus (USB) (30381106h) - using IRQ21
Abit Universal serial bus (USB) (30381106h) - using IRQ21
Abit Universal serial bus (USB) (30381106h) - using IRQ21
Abit Universal serial bus (USB) (31041106h) - using IRQ21
VIA PCI-to-ISA bridge (31771106h)
VIA IDE controller (05711106h)
Abit Audio device (30591106h) - using IRQ22


WHAT BELIVE ????
Slowik(PL) is offline  
Old Sep 27, 2002, 04:31 PM   #16
m$-MaNiAC
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Netherlands @Home
Posts: 1,298
m$-MaNiAC is still being judged by the masses


Default

Whats this with AGP 3.05???

maybe thats the reason it does not work correctly...

AGP 8x complies to AGP 3.00 , so don't know what AGP 3.05 is... maybe its newer revision of AGP
m$-MaNiAC is offline  
Old Sep 27, 2002, 05:23 PM   #17
ADS
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 341
ADS is still being judged by the masses


Default

This has been already been answered. Programs that report AGP 1x and/or 2x at the same time as 8x are in error - period. The early draft AGP 8x specs allowed AGP 3.0 transfer rates to fallback to 1x and 2x, but this was dropped completely in the final spec.

The PowerStrip *screen* report is correct, but the formatted diagnostic report gives the state of the secondary device on the 9x00 (4E641002h), not the primary (4E441002h).

PowerStrip 3.29 corrects that, reporting the state of 4E441002h:
http://www.entechtaiwan.com/files/psbeta.exe
ADS is offline  
Old Sep 28, 2002, 04:40 AM   #18
m$-MaNiAC
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Netherlands @Home
Posts: 1,298
m$-MaNiAC is still being judged by the masses


Default

The question remains,

Whats AGP Revision 3.05?

While only AGP Revision 3.00 officially exists.
m$-MaNiAC is offline  
Old Sep 28, 2002, 07:20 AM   #19
ADS
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 341
ADS is still being judged by the masses


Default

If the revision is between 0 and 4, it indicates the level of AGP 3.0 *Core* Specification Register Support. This is at 0 right now.

If the revision is between 5 and 9, it indicates the level of AGP 3.0 *Appendix* Specification Register Support. This is at 5 right now.

Revision numbers between 10 and 15 are reserved for future use.
ADS is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I dont belive it... Remorse Radeon Technical Support 9 Oct 3, 2004 03:04 PM
bios show cpu Voltage 1.53 cpu Z shows cpu volteage 1.6 sissoft has 1.56 wc326 General Hardware 2 Jun 25, 2003 05:20 PM
I cant belive im upset over this Roundhouse Off Topic Lounge 31 May 25, 2003 03:19 AM
Do you belive in destiny? Lindset Off Topic Lounge 14 Sep 25, 2002 09:43 PM
You wont belive this. Cappy General Hardware 4 Nov 7, 2001 09:44 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink