Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Software
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Software Anything software that is not operating system related goes here. Talk about the latest applications or discuss betas of upcoming products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 9, 2018, 04:04 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Kain
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 4,257
Kain once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Kain once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Kain once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Kain once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Kain once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Kain once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default Is this a DNS issue or something else?

I use my ISP's DNS because my Internet is the fastest with it. However, I've noticed some websites don't load correctly in Chrome with this DNS. With my ISP's DNS and Edge, the websites load correctly. Is this a Chrome issue or a DNS issue? If I change my DNS to Google's Public DNS, Chrome starts loading everything correctly but my Internet is a bit slower.

Here is an example of how GameSpot loads with Chrome when on my ISP's DNS:

__________________
Intel Core i7-3930K | Corsair Hydro Series H100i PRO | GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3 | 16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133 MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING | Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD | Crucial m4 256 GB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB | Pioneer BDR-206DBK | Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850 | Corsair Obsidian Series 650D | ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q | 2 x JBL LSR305 + 1 x JBL LSR310S | Microsoft SideWinder X4 | Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum | SteelSeries QcK mini | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2018, 05:07 PM   #2
DigitalDemon
Flaccid Flexor
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Niger Please
Posts: 5,746
DigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwards


Default

DNS for sure. The main gamespot website is hosted in Florida, but it's css file is hosted on static.gamespot.com which in the Netherlands via Akamai. Your ISP's DNS either can't resolve or has marked this ip as spam or something.

IMO I would switch to cloudflare DNS of 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1 anyway, as it's the future of DNS.
DigitalDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2018, 03:12 AM   #3
0091/2
We Do It!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: China Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 7,355
0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDemon View Post
DNS for sure. The main gamespot website is hosted in Florida, but it's css file is hosted on static.gamespot.com which in the Netherlands via Akamai. Your ISP's DNS either can't resolve or has marked this ip as spam or something.

IMO I would switch to cloudflare DNS of 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1 anyway, as it's the future of DNS.
Would you recommend it over OpenDNS? What Pros does cloudflare have verse OpenDNS?
__________________
Lenovo x61t - Display : 12.1 (Multi-Touch) - CPU : Intel Lv7700 @1.8ghz - Graphics : Intel GMA X3100 graphics - Chipset : Intel 965 Express - Communication : Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
10/100/1000 Ethernet - RAM : G.skill ddr2 800 4gb - Storage : G.Skill 64 SSD(SLC) - Battery : 8cell


Current Desktop [2016]
Monitor: NEC EA244wmi | CPU: Intel 3570k @4.2ghz | Heatsink: NH-D14 | GPU: Intel HD4000 | Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-v pro | WiFi: Asus PCEAC68 | SSD: Samsung 860Pro 512GB/ 830pro 128GB | HDD: WD Black 8========D~13TB | PSU: Seasonic Plat. 660w
0091/2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 10, 2018, 06:00 AM   #4
DigitalDemon
Flaccid Flexor
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Niger Please
Posts: 5,746
DigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwards


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0091/2 View Post
Would you recommend it over OpenDNS? What Pros does cloudflare have verse OpenDNS?
At the moment, I would recommend Cloudflare DNS over every other DNS provider available.

1. Speed - Cloudflare has a vastly superior distributed recursive server network. On average, it is the fastest resolver in 75% of the world.
2. Security/Privacy - Cloudflare supports DNS over TLS and HTTPS, making your entire connection encrypted, not just the query text. Cloudflare also holds a special agreement with browsers like Firefox, which require Cloudflare to collect the bare minimum of data. Cloudflare also only keeps logs for 24hrs in memory, nothing to disk, and is audited by a 3rd party. OpenDNS is owned by Cisco, and keeps all data. With the amount of behind-the-scenes data scraper and aggregator companies, it's no longer wise to think that meaningless data is meaningless.
3. Ease of use - While Google DNS is quite easy to remember, there is nothing easier than 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1. I have no idea what opendns' addresses are.

Now opendns is not bad, the customizable filters are nice. Though injecting your own ads on unresolvables feels too middle man to me. Plus, simple tools like adblock origin can block at the browser level, or you can build your own piehole for local caching as well as whole network block listing, if not already supported by your router.
DigitalDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2018, 10:44 AM   #5
NWR_Midnight
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: United States Under the Sun
Posts: 3,649
NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

I have no knowledge of how DNS works other than it translates the web site’s name into an actual numeric Internet address, but I don't understand how it can be a DNS issue if it works fine with Edge, but not Chrome. If it was a DNS issue, wouldn't it effect BOTH browsers and not just Chrome, since it would be sending the exact same web address translation to both browsers?
__________________
I speak my mind! if you can't handle that, you might want to leave, because **** is going to get real!!

~I had the right to remain silent, I just didn't have the ability. ~ Ron White
~You can't fix Stupid! ~ Ron White
~There's not a pill you can take; there's not a class you can go to. - ~Stupid is forever. ~ Ron White
~Life is a hard teacher, it gives you the test before it teaches you the lesson.
~It's never to late to have a good childhood! The older you are, the better the toys! ~ My Dad
~Live everyday as though it is your last, it can all end at any moment!
NWR_Midnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2018, 11:49 AM   #6
0091/2
We Do It!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: China Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 7,355
0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDemon View Post
At the moment, I would recommend Cloudflare DNS over every other DNS provider available.

1. Speed - Cloudflare has a vastly superior distributed recursive server network. On average, it is the fastest resolver in 75% of the world.
2. Security/Privacy - Cloudflare supports DNS over TLS and HTTPS, making your entire connection encrypted, not just the query text. Cloudflare also holds a special agreement with browsers like Firefox, which require Cloudflare to collect the bare minimum of data. Cloudflare also only keeps logs for 24hrs in memory, nothing to disk, and is audited by a 3rd party. OpenDNS is owned by Cisco, and keeps all data. With the amount of behind-the-scenes data scraper and aggregator companies, it's no longer wise to think that meaningless data is meaningless.
3. Ease of use - While Google DNS is quite easy to remember, there is nothing easier than 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1. I have no idea what opendns' addresses are.

Now opendns is not bad, the customizable filters are nice. Though injecting your own ads on unresolvables feels too middle man to me. Plus, simple tools like adblock origin can block at the browser level, or you can build your own piehole for local caching as well as whole network block listing, if not already supported by your router.
I'm currently using it with DNScrypt on my router. Is this the best way to use it on a router? I'm guessing if setup in WAN or LAN DNS the lookup will be unencrypted. Would it be redundant to setup to use over TLS or Https?
How do you set it up to use DNS over TLS and HTTPS? Is this something I need to set up for every client?
__________________
Lenovo x61t - Display : 12.1 (Multi-Touch) - CPU : Intel Lv7700 @1.8ghz - Graphics : Intel GMA X3100 graphics - Chipset : Intel 965 Express - Communication : Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
10/100/1000 Ethernet - RAM : G.skill ddr2 800 4gb - Storage : G.Skill 64 SSD(SLC) - Battery : 8cell


Current Desktop [2016]
Monitor: NEC EA244wmi | CPU: Intel 3570k @4.2ghz | Heatsink: NH-D14 | GPU: Intel HD4000 | Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-v pro | WiFi: Asus PCEAC68 | SSD: Samsung 860Pro 512GB/ 830pro 128GB | HDD: WD Black 8========D~13TB | PSU: Seasonic Plat. 660w
0091/2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2018, 06:49 PM   #7
DigitalDemon
Flaccid Flexor
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Niger Please
Posts: 5,746
DigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwardsDigitalDemon can recite pi backwards


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NWR_Midnight View Post
I have no knowledge of how DNS works other than it translates the web site’s name into an actual numeric Internet address, but I don't understand how it can be a DNS issue if it works fine with Edge, but not Chrome. If it was a DNS issue, wouldn't it effect BOTH browsers and not just Chrome, since it would be sending the exact same web address translation to both browsers?
Whoops, didn't notice he used his ISP dns on chrome, just edge. In this case, there is most likely a problem with his dns cache in chrome.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0091/2 View Post
I'm currently using it with DNScrypt on my router. Is this the best way to use it on a router? I'm guessing if setup in WAN or LAN DNS the lookup will be unencrypted. Would it be redundant to setup to use over TLS or Https?
How do you set it up to use DNS over TLS and HTTPS? Is this something I need to set up for every client?
DNS encryption via the router will be the best way to go as requests from all devices on the network that use the router for DNS will be protected. I say will be, since DNS over TLS or HTTPS isn't currently supported in just about any router. DNScrypt and DNSSEC are quite capable, but TLS and HTTPS is the endgame, as it will hide that you are even making a DNS query.

Setting up DNS over TLS or HTTPS through the browser is a relatively new thing, but I think Firefox 62 now supports it via manual configuration. This will also not be redundant, as this will bypass your router being the DNS, but for the time being until your router supports it, this will have to be configured on every capable client.
DigitalDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAP4 issue and The Witcher 2 (not light source issue) VAMET AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 37 Jun 11, 2011 09:43 PM
Please read this long issue story for a internet connection issue.... tgg [GenHardware] Networking [Archived] 17 Aug 9, 2009 12:48 AM
OS issue/software issue/crappy issue Uber_Tiny Operating Systems 5 Feb 10, 2008 10:44 PM
Kinda suprised to not see this issue talked about here...VISTA ISSUE Uber_Tiny Operating Systems 4 Jan 29, 2007 02:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink