Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support Discussion and technical support forum for legacy ATI technology such as Rage, Rage Fury and Rage MAXX.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 28, 2005, 07:24 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Mastiff
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 57
Mastiff is still being judged by the masses


Default 1440x900 impossible with AIW Pro PCI?

I use this old card as a TV in the exercise room (nice to watch the news while sweating...) and I just got an old 24" Sun widescreen monitor. The best resolution for that thing is 1440x900, but I'm totally unable to get that out of it. Even with PowerStrip I only see a few standard resolutions, and the custom resolutions part of PS isn't working. Can anybody help me out here?
__________________
Tor - managing director of the Cinema Inferno home theater
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2005, 02:35 PM   #2
Big Z
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Trinidad and Tobago Princes Town
Posts: 1,159
Big Z is still being judged by the masses


Default

Go to my site and look over the inf section.
__________________
They shut down Geocities, so my website went bye bye...
Big Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2005, 04:15 PM   #3
Mastiff
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 57
Mastiff is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks! I tried to add this to the INF in the right place, here shown with the line above and below (and no, there were no line feeds in it, each entry was one long line):

HKR,, DDLRProRegOptionPLLProblemNBlankDelay, %REG_DWORD%, 1
HKR,, DALRestrictedModesBCD,%REG_BINARY%, 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
HKR,, DALNonStandardModesBCD,%REG_BINARY%, 14,40,09,00,00,00,00,00, 12,80,06,00,00,00,00,00, 10,24,05,12,00,00,00,00, 08,00,05,12,00,00,00,00, 10,24,06,00,00,00,00,00, 12,80,07,68,00,00,00,00, 07,68,05,76,00,00,00,00HKLM,"SOFTWARE\ATI Technologies\Driver\OpenGL\Private",disableBM,%REG_DWORD%,1
HKR,,drv,,"Ati2drad.dll"


Then I installed the driver, but nothing happened. Still the same boring resolutions. Then I tried to uninstall them to to a new install (I tried an upgrade without uninstalling the original drivers), but that didn't help either. Do you have any idea what I'm doing wrong? This is with a driver version that creates a directory called wxp-j5-30-1-b02, if that helps.

I do have an image from before I messed with the driver (I'm a compulsary backuper), should I go back to that and try again, this time uninstalling the original driver completely?
__________________
Tor - managing director of the Cinema Inferno home theater

Last edited by Mastiff : Apr 29, 2005 at 04:36 AM.
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 29, 2005, 10:13 AM   #4
Big Z
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Trinidad and Tobago Princes Town
Posts: 1,159
Big Z is still being judged by the masses


Default

Try my drivers too....
__________________
They shut down Geocities, so my website went bye bye...
Big Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2005, 10:49 AM   #5
Mastiff
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 57
Mastiff is still being judged by the masses


Default

Which one of them? And will the TV tuner work with them?
__________________
Tor - managing director of the Cinema Inferno home theater
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2005, 08:15 AM   #6
Big Z
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Trinidad and Tobago Princes Town
Posts: 1,159
Big Z is still being judged by the masses


Default

Umm... any complete driver relevant to your system. Try all if you like.
__________________
They shut down Geocities, so my website went bye bye...
Big Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2005, 04:28 PM   #7
Mastiff
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 57
Mastiff is still being judged by the masses


Default

Giving new life to an old thread: I finally gave up and put the AIW Pro PCI in another computer. Now I'm trying the same thing with an AIW 128 AGP, but getting just about nowhere. I am changing something. I tried to remove all the custom resolutions from the inf file, only leaving 1440x900, but that didn't add my resolution, it justremoved the rest. Does that mean that the card is unable to show this resolution?
__________________
Tor - managing director of the Cinema Inferno home theater
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2005, 05:12 PM   #8
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Have you tried Powerstrip or Rage128 Tweaker yet? Might help.

Powerstrip

Rage128 Tweaker
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2005, 06:04 PM   #9
Mastiff
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 57
Mastiff is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have tried with PS all along, yes. I didn't know about the tweaker, but unfortunately it doesn't add any custom resolutions. I have changed my goal to 1600x900 for a true 16x9 resolution, but it doesn't really seem to help.
__________________
Tor - managing director of the Cinema Inferno home theater
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2005, 07:21 PM   #10
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiff
I have tried with PS all along, yes. I didn't know about the tweaker, but unfortunately it doesn't add any custom resolutions. I have changed my goal to 1600x900 for a true 16x9 resolution, but it doesn't really seem to help.
Not sure what else could help you, maybe there is a way to write a custom resolution into the registry itself?

Other than that, it may simply be time for a new AIW video card. The ATI AIW Radeon9600 starts around $140 after shipping
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102345
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2005, 03:04 AM   #11
Mastiff
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 57
Mastiff is still being judged by the masses


Default

In the US, yes... You don't want to know what that costs in Norway, believe me. And anyway, this is an older AGP standard, if I'm not mistaken. So I would have to get a new motherboard as well.
__________________
Tor - managing director of the Cinema Inferno home theater
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2005, 09:56 AM   #12
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
ATI Technologies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiff
In the US, yes... You don't want to know what that costs in Norway, believe me. And anyway, this is an older AGP standard, if I'm not mistaken. So I would have to get a new motherboard as well.
Well... if you get an older Radeon AIW off of ebay based on the R7000 or R7200... those cards are designed for AGP2x/4x so they should work fine for you. If you have AGP1x then I'm not sure.

I used to have a Radeon 64 DDR Vivo (7200) running in a 440BX motherboard (APG2x) and it worked fine.
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1440x900 missing.. GravY AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 20 Jan 18, 2008 01:10 AM
1440x900, Xpress1200, FreeBSD schurke AMD Fusion, Integrated and Mobility Support 0 Sep 1, 2007 07:30 PM
Widescreen 1440x900 with 9700 Pro? fighterpilot AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 4 Nov 3, 2006 03:29 PM
cannot get 1440x900 resolution in vista beff Operating Systems 0 Sep 19, 2006 06:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink