Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing From Android, Symbian to Apple devices, this is the place for discussion and debate, whether it's smartphones, tablets or even gaming handhelds.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 24, 2007, 11:20 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Chuki
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States Peanutville
Posts: 1,887
Chuki is still being judged by the masses


Default Which slot 1 solution?

There is M3 DS Simply, and R4 DS.

Which one would be the better choice? Or is there other slot 1 options out? I want to be able to expand on the memory and I prefer SD since my phone and camera, and wii use it
Chuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2007, 01:23 AM   #2
logical
What is my purpose?
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Manches *
Posts: 21,155
logical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pm


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuki View Post
There is M3 DS Simply, and R4 DS.

Which one would be the better choice? Or is there other slot 1 options out? I want to be able to expand on the memory and I prefer SD since my phone and camera, and wii use it
They have basically the same compatibility in terms of games, single cart download play and homebrew support. So its basically down to which GUI you like the best. Personally I like the way the M3 Simply looks. But there are some nice skins out there for the R4 DS. I would point you in the direction of th DS-X( Have a look at my thread here) the other slot one solution with the best compatibility of them all but it does not have expandable memory so thats out of the picture.

Physically they are almost the same the r4 has a spring loaded sdcard slot so the card doesnt fall out. The M# has 2 clasps that hold the card in place.


Here are some pics of the M3 simply menu::






Heres what the R4 looks like"




Here is an example skin for the R4 and m3 (this works on both of them):



But remember whichever one you pick up, make sure you get a quality MiniSD card. The game compatibility of these cards go down with cheap SD cards.
__________________


Last edited by logical : Feb 25, 2007 at 01:29 AM.
logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2007, 03:19 AM   #3
Alpha
..
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,927
Alpha is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have an R4 DS

no probs yet.
__________________
i7 9700k/Geforce 2080TI - Fragsmith on PSN/XBOX/STEAM
Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 25, 2007, 05:42 AM   #4
spindoctor
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: India India
Posts: 16,389
spindoctor is still being judged by the masses


Default

when i was checking up on these products a couple of months back, i remember seeing that the r4 had some compatibility issues, not really with games, but with other homebrew. hence i ordered an m3 simply.

whenever you decide to get one, please make sure you check compatibility properly by looking at an updated compatibility list. even firmware revisions are known to make/break compatibility.

edit : this post has the word 'compatibility' too many times
spindoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2007, 12:44 AM   #5
Seyiji
Team 🌙 Moon
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manches Manchesville
Posts: 13,544
Seyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayX View Post
The M# has 2 clasps that hold the card in place.
The M3 Simply also has a spring loaded card slot

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayX View Post
But remember whichever one you pick up, make sure you get a quality MiniSD card. The game compatibility of these cards go down with cheap SD cards.
The R4 and M3 Simply use microSD cards not miniSD

Also chalk up another vote for the M3 DS Simply I just got mine a few days ago and I'm in
__________________
,____,
[^_^]
/)___)

-"---"-
Rage3D PC Gaming Hit-List
Official PC Gaming Deals Thread
Has the above thread been misplaced/renamed/merged/stickied/locked? Well then there's a doins transpirin! Find the tome and bring forth the sacrifice to restore peace and order.
"VIAGRA FALLS, slowly I turned, and step by step, inch by inch, I walked up to him, I smashed him, I hit him, I bonked him, I bopped him, I socked him and I mashed his face and I knocked him down."

Last edited by Seyiji : Feb 26, 2007 at 12:45 AM. Reason: Lawlz @ grammatical errors or something!
Seyiji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2007, 12:52 AM   #6
Chuki
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States Peanutville
Posts: 1,887
Chuki is still being judged by the masses


Default

So either one I get should be just fine.

Spring loaded cart slot makes pulling the microSD out easier without removing the cartridge right?
Chuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2007, 01:01 AM   #7
Seyiji
Team 🌙 Moon
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manches Manchesville
Posts: 13,544
Seyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuki View Post
So either one I get should be just fine.
If your talking about the R4 vs the Simply then it really doesn't matter as the Simply is a clone of the R4. Also the R4 gets the firmware updates first and the M3 Mirrors those updates.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuki View Post
Spring loaded cart slot makes pulling the microSD out easier without removing the cartridge right?
Yep just push down and it pops up just be gentle
__________________
,____,
[^_^]
/)___)

-"---"-
Rage3D PC Gaming Hit-List
Official PC Gaming Deals Thread
Has the above thread been misplaced/renamed/merged/stickied/locked? Well then there's a doins transpirin! Find the tome and bring forth the sacrifice to restore peace and order.
"VIAGRA FALLS, slowly I turned, and step by step, inch by inch, I walked up to him, I smashed him, I hit him, I bonked him, I bopped him, I socked him and I mashed his face and I knocked him down."
Seyiji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2007, 05:37 AM   #8
systems
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,401
systems is still being judged by the masses


Default

^Seyiji is right. The M3 Simply and R4 are effectively exactly the same hardware.

There is a bit of compatibility trouble with these cards as they don't use SLOT-2 for the flash storage by default (you can still use SLOT-2 though, of course). All you have to do is patch your applications with the R4 NLDI module and all is well:
http://www.dev-scene.com/NDS/Libfat_DLDI

Both the R4 and M3 Simply use the NLDI module for the R4:
http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI...oads/r4tf.dldi

It's also worth keeping your eyes on the M3 Simply forum.
systems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2007, 06:56 AM   #9
logical
What is my purpose?
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Manches *
Posts: 21,155
logical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pm


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seyiji View Post
The M3 Simply also has a spring loaded card slot

The R4 and M3 Simply use microSD cards not miniSD

Also chalk up another vote for the M3 DS Simply I just got mine a few days ago and I'm in
yea i was in a rush typing, gf was behind me waiting to do something.
__________________

logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2007, 03:00 PM   #10
Melhisedek
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Serbia Sweden
Posts: 2,059
Melhisedek is still being judged by the masses


Default

Would that skin work on "normal" m3? If yes please linky, or linky to some other nice M3 skins
__________________
Love can die, but power is forever!
Melhisedek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2007, 06:40 PM   #11
wangFu
take him away!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mexico Tijuana
Posts: 7,742
wangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melhisedek View Post
Would that skin work on "normal" m3? If yes please linky, or linky to some other nice M3 skins
i heard you can turn an m3 into an r4 and vice versa, dono if it works with newer versions


i ordered an r4ds btw, getting it by tomorrow i hope
__________________
Add me on steam
PSN: robv99
wangFu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2007, 07:26 PM   #12
Daemos
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 835
Daemos is still being judged by the masses


Default

M3DS simply is made by the R4DS team, the M3 team just buys it from them.

Firmware, hardware, and any type of compatibility is IDENTICAL on both cards.
Daemos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2007, 01:17 PM   #13
Melhisedek
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Serbia Sweden
Posts: 2,059
Melhisedek is still being judged by the masses


Default

Any link for old M3 unit skins?
Old like in the one before mini M3
__________________
Love can die, but power is forever!
Melhisedek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 12:11 PM   #14
Deaderinred
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,052
Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

do these slot 1 solutions play gba games? tis the only reason ied get one if it did, i have a supercard ds, older version for the ds phat and im planning on buying the newer lite version with mircoSD, but if do these slot 1 versions run gba games properly? ive noticed with the likes of ffV and ffVI sound gets out of sync and theres more slowdown then normal on my normal sd card supercard ds cart, im hoping the lite version wtih mircoSD improves performance.
Deaderinred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 02:03 PM   #15
wangFu
take him away!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mexico Tijuana
Posts: 7,742
wangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badgeswangFu doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deaderinred View Post
do these slot 1 solutions play gba games? tis the only reason ied get one if it did, i have a supercard ds, older version for the ds phat and im planning on buying the newer lite version with mircoSD, but if do these slot 1 versions run gba games properly? ive noticed with the likes of ffV and ffVI sound gets out of sync and theres more slowdown then normal on my normal sd card supercard ds cart, im hoping the lite version wtih mircoSD improves performance.
you still need a slot 2 for gba games
__________________
Add me on steam
PSN: robv99
wangFu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 04:07 PM   #16
Deaderinred
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,052
Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Deaderinred once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wangFu View Post
you still need a slot 2 for gba games
supercard ds lite + mirco sd it is then, now i just gotta wait for my new debit card to get here
Deaderinred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2007, 11:37 PM   #17
Bires
50 lb lap dog ;)
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Mohave Wasteland
Posts: 5,882
Bires once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Bires once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Bires once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Bires once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Bires once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Bires once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

I still use a CF Supercard with a pile of 1GB CF cards. It's bullky, but I can carry 40+ games with me on trips.
Bires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2007, 08:08 AM   #18
spindoctor
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: India India
Posts: 16,389
spindoctor is still being judged by the masses


Default

damn i had asked someone to get me an m3 but the whole deal fell through.

planning to order it online now. which site(s) would you guys recommend i should buy it from? the site should accept an international credit card from india and ship it to a friend of mine in california and of course, it should be reliable.

any suggestions would be most welcome.
spindoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2007, 08:29 AM   #19
cmar
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia The Great South East
Posts: 3,038
cmar is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have one of each, (bought M3 simply - promptly nicked by son - then bought R4 DS)
There is no difference between them except that the I prefer the look of the R4 default interface. Both run most home brew fine once it's patched. Both play MP3's and movies from moonshell. The M3 comes with a spare shell (white in case you want to match your white DS, the R$ doesn't come with a spare shell but does come with a nice soft silicone snap case.
__________________
Once I used to have a life - then I bought a PC
cmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single slot cooling solution for HD3870? SnakeEyes Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 1 Sep 18, 2009 08:54 PM
ATi HD3870, single slot cooling solution? Heeman AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 3 Nov 13, 2007 04:03 AM
DS-X Slot 1 Rom Solution logical Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing 52 Apr 27, 2007 01:34 AM
Help choosing 1 slot solution DirtySyko Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing 5 Mar 17, 2007 07:34 PM
R9800Pro Single Slot Cooling Solution for XTmod -Rogue5- Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 3 Sep 3, 2004 04:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink