Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2001, 05:19 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
captain3d
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 10
captain3d is still being judged by the masses


Default Flight Simulator + 8500 + XP

Hi All

FS 2002 and the ATI 8500 dont seem to get on. Textures out of the cockpit view disapear leaving sky blue patches flashing on and off - yuk

Views from out side the cockpit seem ok.

Any one else?

Cheers...phil 3D
captain3d is offline  
Old Dec 31, 2001, 05:24 PM   #2
captain3d
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 10
captain3d is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just saw this so looks like it will be fixed :-)

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...eadid=33596687
captain3d is offline  
Old Dec 31, 2001, 06:52 PM   #3
BigEZ
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 12
BigEZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by captain3d
Just saw this so looks like it will be fixed :-)

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...eadid=33596687
Download Powerstrip and disable Hierarchical Z Optimization from the Direct 3D section. Solves all the texture problems in FS2K2.

Dennis
BigEZ is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 31, 2001, 07:23 PM   #4
ShaneV
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 12
ShaneV is still being judged by the masses


Default

Im sure this is a stupid question. But how do I find the directx portion of POwerstrip?
ShaneV is offline  
Old Jan 1, 2002, 03:58 AM   #5
captain3d
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 10
captain3d is still being judged by the masses


Default

Oh I am stupid aswell. I looked everywhere in Powerstrip.

Happy new year...phil 3D
captain3d is offline  
Old Jan 1, 2002, 02:20 PM   #6
BigEZ
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 12
BigEZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by captain3d
Oh I am stupid aswell. I looked everywhere in Powerstrip.

Happy new year...phil 3D
If you are using Powerstrip 3.X - right-click on the icon in the taskbar choose Performance Profiles/Configure. Look on the right side of the pop-up screen and you will see a scroll box called driver options. OpenGL options are listed first. Scroll down and you will see Direct 3D options. Check the 'Disable Hierarchical Z Optimization (Direct3D)' box.

FS2k2 will now run without the texture problems.

Dennis
BigEZ is offline  
Old Jan 1, 2002, 03:21 PM   #7
captain3d
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 10
captain3d is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks BigEZ
I am so happy after flying in this flashing world for a month. I had seen that scrol sectionb in Power strip but it would not scroll and there is a message underneath about it not working with certain drivers so I thought it was disabled.

After your message I poked a bit more and found that if I uncheck "disable support for driver options" I can now access the scroll list.

Is this unchecking likely to cause any other problems?

Thanks again...Phil 3D
captain3d is offline  
Old Jan 1, 2002, 03:31 PM   #8
piper
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 263
piper is still being judged by the masses


Default

Checking those mentioned will work, and shouldn't cause any problems elsewhere.

I've read that the 6006 drivers floating around here fix the problem as well without having to use powerstrip.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-X REV 2.xx AMD XP 2100+ @ 2700+
1 GB Crucial 2100 DDR
NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT
TV Wonder VE
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Sound
Logitech X-530 5.1Speakers
WD 100 and 20GB HD;Liteon DVDRW;Toshiba DVD;
Samusung SyncMaster 955DF Monitor
piper is offline  
Old Jan 1, 2002, 03:41 PM   #9
captain3d
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 10
captain3d is still being judged by the masses


Default

Great Thanks...Phil
captain3d is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flight Simulator x PhilT PC Gaming 76 Sep 11, 2012 09:55 AM
Flight Simulator Mod DaveNC Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 2 Mar 18, 2004 01:09 PM
8500 and Flight Simulator. New drivers Agrajag Radeon Technical Support 5 Mar 24, 2003 03:50 PM
flight simulator paris AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 2 Jan 10, 2002 11:09 AM
Radeon 8500 + Flight Simulator 2002 Virtual Cockpit View = NO GROUND!!!! paul ckd Radeon Technical Support 1 Dec 8, 2001 05:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink