Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 30, 2003, 05:31 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
VW_Factor
ÜBERVERBOTEN!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany Leesburg, GA
Posts: 21,743
VW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwards


Post Power supplies..

I know that plenty of people are aware that having a high watt rating on your power supply is a good thing.. Although.. Running a big power supply is not always going to guarantee that it will supply enough power.. Amperes rating is an important thing to look at also.. Now, most of the time, you buy a 500w or some such power supply, and because its 500w, its produced by a reputable company, and normally will output a good amount of amps.
I look at my 300w PSU.. On the 12v circuit, it supplies 18 amps. On par with the amps rating of many 400w PSU's. The Radeon does require power.. The draw of power, is rated in amps.. For example.. Check out a car stereo amplifier.. It says it outputs 1000 watts!!.. Well.. How many amps does in require for a fuse.. 20 amps?? There is no way that 1000w is going to be generated with an input of 20 amps. Be careful when buying your "big" power supply.. Look at the amps ratings, they ARE important.. Im not sure that many people realize this or not.. But ask, before you shell out cash for that high watt power supply..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Granted, this is coming from the fella' who's had over 1,000lbs of bucking muscle under neath him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smith
"Fail" = verb "Failure" = noun
VW_Factor is offline  
Old Jan 30, 2003, 06:28 PM   #2
Bladedog
Listen to the Blade
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom UK
Posts: 826
Bladedog is still being judged by the masses


Default

Totally agree. My inexpensive 400W PSU rates 17W on the 12V rail, not too bad.

I saw a 550W PSU a couple of weekends ago on sale at a computer fair (25% of people were selling the same model) and I practically had to beg to get someone to open a box and let me see the rating label. Turned out it only had 13A, pretty poor for such a powerful PSU.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by phial View Post
pfft ive had ego clashes with admins before. at times, its better to accept a ban than to take it up the ass.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sMashPiranha View Post
Oooo, where can I find servers with this feature :drool:
Bladedog is offline  
Old Jan 31, 2003, 10:51 AM   #3
Fleabus
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 197
Fleabus is still being judged by the masses


Default

Enermax EG651P-VE FMA 550W
+12V rail 36A
__________________
ATI X1800XT|2xSamsung SyncMaster 213T 21.3” TFTs|Athlon64 X2 4800+/Zalman CNPS9500| Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe| 2GB Corsair XMS-3500LL PRO| 2x500GB Seagate 7200.9 SATA2.5| Plextor PX-716AL Double/Dual| FDD| TB Montego DDL 7.1 sound card to Denon AVR-3802 7x110W based HT System| Enermax Liberty modular 620W| Antec P180 case| Thermaltake Hardcano13 fan controller| Logitech Cordless Desktop MX 3100| WinXP Pro SP2| etc.
Fleabus is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 31, 2003, 01:09 PM   #4
cableguy
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
cableguy is still being judged by the masses


Default

this stereo 1000w....and 20amps example is stupid because a 20a amplifier takes that current from the mains, at 110v or 240v..which results to 20 X 240v = 4800W. so it can give 4v at 1000amps....i mean this is not all true in real life but maths works this way.

so this could be misleading cos 1000w at the output, at 100% efficiency can be true.

so 12v line at 18 amps = 218W
and 5v line at 30 amps = 150W

and if we sum this we get 368W

at 240v we draw only 1.53amps from mains.

so image if it draws 20amps at 240v how much we get at the output at 100% efficiency.

thanks for reading
cableguy
cableguy is offline  
Old Jan 31, 2003, 01:30 PM   #5
sebvanaaken
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 68
sebvanaaken is still being judged by the masses


Default

does anybody know if the radeon draws most of its power from the 12v or 5v line???
__________________
AMD athlon [email protected] 1750
gigabyte ga7dxr
2x 256mb crucial pc2100
saphire radeon 9700pro
2x IBM 60gxp 40gb raid 0
IBM 80gb 120gxp
lian li pc0700
sb audigy ex
ctx pr960f monitor
this sig was automatically shortened to meet the 10-lines max rule
sebvanaaken is offline  
Old Jan 31, 2003, 03:43 PM   #6
Pepsin
bananed
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sweden Sweden, Europe
Posts: 2,357
Pepsin is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sebvanaaken
does anybody know if the radeon draws most of its power from the 12v or 5v line???
I would guess the 12V rail since it connects to a 12V connector.

I haven't had any PSU related problems with my system. Used to have an Enermax 350W, now I'm running an Antec TruePower 430W. With the Enermax, the 5V rail would drop to ~4.80V when the computer was working hard. With the TP430W it's at a stable 5.00V no matter what.
__________________
"Son, no one gives a **** about all the things your cell phone does. You didn't invent it, you just bought it. Anybody can do that."
Pepsin is offline  
Old Jan 31, 2003, 04:23 PM   #7
sebvanaaken
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 68
sebvanaaken is still being judged by the masses


Default

hmm- but there is a 5v connector in the plug aswell... My enermax did suffer when i put the 9700pro in but enermaxes are meant to be weak on the 5v line and strong on the 12v whereas antecs are meant to be the other way around...
__________________
AMD athlon [email protected] 1750
gigabyte ga7dxr
2x 256mb crucial pc2100
saphire radeon 9700pro
2x IBM 60gxp 40gb raid 0
IBM 80gb 120gxp
lian li pc0700
sb audigy ex
ctx pr960f monitor
this sig was automatically shortened to meet the 10-lines max rule
sebvanaaken is offline  
Old Jan 31, 2003, 04:35 PM   #8
Roop
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 44
Roop is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fleabus
Enermax EG651P-VE FMA 550W
+12V rail 36A
i hear dat! mine arrived this morning. nice paint job, adjustable fan and tons of power!
Roop is offline  
Old Jan 31, 2003, 04:38 PM   #9
matty baby
Vapor matt
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: England
Posts: 108
matty baby is still being judged by the masses


Default

hi, well heres a psu situation 431w enermax

1) air cooled 178fsb stable and happy with what i thought was plenty of power from my 431w enermax

2) vapochill -30c on cpu same settings as air cooled as i just wanted to monitor how this new vapochill worked, mmmm no boot at 178fsb, i tried everything i could think of but it would only boot at 173fsb and then not totaly stable so had to settle for 171fsb

now what changed? nothing apart from vapochill, na cant be my enermax has plenty of power and the vapo dosnt draw alot mmmm 3 days later ok iam gona do what i said i didnt need to and upgrade my psu to the 550w blue diamond enermax psu

1) air cooled 184fsb stable mmmm OMG can this be true was my 431w holding me back even when i wasnt running vapo, well yea it was, i bought my 431w to run athlon 1G CPUs and it took them to the limit, but now big fans, radeon 9700pro and 2 H/Ds and many more add ons after my initial purchase. my trusty 431w that when i bought it i considerd upgrade proof and never question power again proof just wasnt upto my pc demands, yea it was at stock speeds and it did allow clocking with sucess air cooled but it did run out of steam when it counted, so in the end even a good psu can run short of power when demand runs high

2) 184fsb and stable with a higher multipler! ive had 2.45G out of my XP2400 and yea its stable! so for the moment iam meeting my power requirements but in the future and that day will come i wont be so bold as to disregard my psu! when stabilty becomes an issue!


550W enermax, great PSU!

matt
__________________
Asus P5WD2-P
288 FSB P4 940 presler 4615mhz
PolaFlow TT CPU water block
2 Gig 8000UL DDR2 4.3.3.4
P & PC cooling 510 Sli
X1900 XTX DD X18 GPU block modded
W/d raptors Raid O Seagate 250g slavedrive, 16X sony DVD CDR, 16X NEC dual DVDR. windows Xp sp2 slipstreamed....
matty baby is offline  
Old Jan 31, 2003, 05:31 PM   #10
VW_Factor
ÜBERVERBOTEN!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany Leesburg, GA
Posts: 21,743
VW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwards


Default

Im sorry.. Perhaps I wasnt clear.. I was speaking of a car stereo amplifier.. 12v input.. Type thing.. Not a home, or professional amplifier..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Granted, this is coming from the fella' who's had over 1,000lbs of bucking muscle under neath him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smith
"Fail" = verb "Failure" = noun
VW_Factor is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two power supplies Q biscuitownz General Hardware 8 May 26, 2009 12:22 AM
PC Power and Cooling are good power supplies? No. They're not. Bires General Hardware 40 Dec 26, 2008 10:43 AM
How the heck do multi-rail power supplies distribute the power? Pr3tty F1y General Hardware 7 Oct 9, 2007 03:54 PM
PC Power & Cooling Steps Up Warranty Program on All Power Supplies caveman-jim Front Page News 3 Sep 22, 2007 09:41 PM
power supplies Yoey General Hardware 9 Mar 17, 2004 06:35 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink