Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Other Discussions » PC Gaming Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

PC Gaming Support The Rage3D community looks forward to helping you find a solution to the problems you're having with PC games, old and new.

Old Jul 6, 2010, 01:02 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
VW_Factor
ÜBERVERBOTEN!

VW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwards

Default Borderlands oddness... >.>

Ok, so after fighting with a piece of hardware, and finding out my PSU plugs are just worn out a bit and not making good contact in the the video card receptacles.. I started playing some Borderlands after the Steam sale.

Everything runs great.

However, it seems to randomly occur. The video will freeze. Sound continues. The machine is still responsive. So I went to bring up the Task Manager to kill the game, and restart it. In the 2 seconds to get out to TM and such. The game snatched back focus, and continued to run like nothing had happened.

It seems random, but it will only begin happening after 20 to 30 mins of gameplay or so.

Some googling brings up other people (I assume kids) who describe similar problems, however the n00bs seem to solve it by hitting the reset button on the machine mistaking the issue for a hardlocked PC. Usually blaming video drivers or something. Which is of no help to me.

Anyone else experience this and how did you solve it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smith
"Fail" = verb "Failure" = noun
Old Jul 6, 2010, 05:14 PM   #2
night
Radeon Arctic Islands

night can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultynight can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty

just had to steal my thread title didn't you
Old Jul 6, 2010, 05:47 PM   #3
spajdr
Bankrupt