Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 26, 2006, 01:41 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Canadian_2K
How's it going, eh?
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 903
Canadian_2K is still being judged by the masses


Talking I know, I hate these kind of threads too...

... but I just placed an order for a Radeon X1900XT (only $389.00 CDN!!!), and a socket 754 mobo with PCI-E so I can use it. The board is a Gigabyte GA-K8NE, which is basic, but all I really need. Thing is, last time I bought a high-end card like this was my 9800PRO, since I got my X800XL way after the X1800XT's came out. So I'm kind of wondering, what kind of increase am I looking at here? My X800XL just wasn't cutting it anymore at 1680x1050 in most newer games (the resolution my LCD forces me to use), so I really wanted to upgrade again.

Any experiences from those who have done the same upgrade? Comments, tips?

Wooo, excitement!!!
__________________
"[... my computer locks up after the blue screen while reformatting...]" - me

"Theres your problem right there dude. You need to reinstall windows." - phial
Canadian_2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2006, 03:54 PM   #2
Exceededgoku
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United Kingdom Stamford, UK
Posts: 146
Exceededgoku is still being judged by the masses


Default

ye at that resolution you can run everything pretty smoothly, ull probably find that harddrive lag is more noticeable than graphics card lag
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
2GB GSkill DDR2 HZ PC6400
Sapphire X1900XT-X [email protected] 689/798
Gigabyte DQ6
Enermax 620W Liberty series
Exceededgoku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2006, 04:37 PM   #3
DEADANDWELL
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 156
DEADANDWELL is still being judged by the masses


Default

YES... i used to have a x800xl, and i upgraded to a x800xt which really had no noticable difference. A few weeks ago i got a x1900xtx and i gained like anywhere from 100% to 200% performance in all my current games, FEAR, QUAKE4, CALL OF DUTY 2, R6 LOCKDOWN... a very smart buy, your going to love it!!
DEADANDWELL is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 26, 2006, 07:23 PM   #4
soylent
Hufu
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sweden Stockholm
Posts: 4,385
soylent is still being judged by the masses


Default

...The cheapest x1900xt I can find over here is about 600 USD.
__________________
From MSDS on sodium chloride(table salt):

Precautions:
Keep locked up. Do not ingest. Do not breathe dust. Avoid contact with eyes. Wear suitable protective clothing. If ingested,
seek medical advice immediately and show the container or the label. Keep away from incompatibles such as oxidizing
agents, acids.
soylent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2006, 07:33 PM   #5
scott123
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 419
scott123 is still being judged by the masses


Default http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814131006

Quote:
Originally Posted by soylent
...The cheapest x1900xt I can find over here is about 600 USD.
here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814131006
__________________
ASUS P5B Deluxe
Intel Core Duo 6600
Creative X-Fi
eVGA 8800GTX
scott123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2006, 07:45 PM   #6
ArchAngelCD
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United States PA, USA
Posts: 707
ArchAngelCD is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soylent
...The cheapest x1900xt I can find over here is about 600 USD.
Found one for $470 http://store.ebizpc.com/saatirax1xt5.html
__________________
A bad day of fishing is still better than a good day at work.
ArchAngelCD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2006, 09:03 PM   #7
Canadian_2K
How's it going, eh?
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 903
Canadian_2K is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soylent
...The cheapest x1900xt I can find over here is about 600 USD.
Yeh, $390 CDN is like $310 USD, but I get discounts on this type of stuff... so yah. Shame though, since it still seemed too much. Paying for college has made everything seem so much more costly... ugh. Still, I'm stoked for even having the ability to grab something like this while having such large financial commitments already. Gotta treat myself sometimes, eh?
__________________
"[... my computer locks up after the blue screen while reformatting...]" - me

"Theres your problem right there dude. You need to reinstall windows." - phial
Canadian_2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2006, 09:31 PM   #8
moondogg
oh my
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 1,605
moondogg is still being judged by the masses


Default

wtf get me 1
__________________
(RADIO): I'm in position.
Nobody cares about your post count. Nobody cares about your system specs. Nobody cares about your 3dmark score.
moondogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2006, 10:31 PM   #9
snookums
Nothing is true.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Canada The 'Sauga, Ontario
Posts: 4,291
snookums is still being judged by the masses


Default

where did you get one for $389CDN????? best price i can find is like $499 for an XL
__________________
I don't always lie, but when I do, I always tell the truth.
Shivtr | Free Guild Hosting
snookums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2006, 11:06 PM   #10
Takezo
Tech Ninja
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,087
Takezo is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadian_2K
... but I just placed an order for a Radeon X1900XT (only $389.00 CDN!!!), and a socket 754 mobo with PCI-E so I can use it. The board is a Gigabyte GA-K8NE, which is basic, but all I really need. Thing is, last time I bought a high-end card like this was my 9800PRO, since I got my X800XL way after the X1800XT's came out. So I'm kind of wondering, what kind of increase am I looking at here? My X800XL just wasn't cutting it anymore at 1680x1050 in most newer games (the resolution my LCD forces me to use), so I really wanted to upgrade again.

Any experiences from those who have done the same upgrade? Comments, tips?

Wooo, excitement!!!
You need to run all your games at 1600 x 1050? You need help.

In my mind, playing the same game at 800x600, then at 1600x1200 will not make the game play any diffrent. It's just that running a game at low res saves me money and I can still play games that morons here shell out thousands of dollars to play it "Maxed Out".
Takezo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2006, 11:32 PM   #11
Canadian_2K
How's it going, eh?
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 903
Canadian_2K is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takezo
You need to run all your games at 1600 x 1050? You need help.

In my mind, playing the same game at 800x600, then at 1600x1200 will not make the game play any diffrent. It's just that running a game at low res saves me money and I can still play games that morons here shell out thousands of dollars to play it "Maxed Out".
Although you can't deny that sharper, better graphics can make a game much more immersive... Like in Oblivion, for instance. Either way though, I don't see the logic in your arguement. Sure, maybe you can play with settings turned down, but some people just don't want to. For example, why would anyone buy a sports car when an economy car suits transportation needs just dandy?

Either way, I just want to run the games at the native rez of my monitor, since, well, I didn't buy it to run at 800x600.
__________________
"[... my computer locks up after the blue screen while reformatting...]" - me

"Theres your problem right there dude. You need to reinstall windows." - phial
Canadian_2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 12:11 AM   #12
Ghost_™
Exit 2006, Novi Sad
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Serbia Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,564
Ghost_™ is still being judged by the masses


Default

So like why did you pair x1900xt with a 754 socket mobo/pc ? :crazy:
Ghost_™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 12:32 AM   #13
Canadian_2K
How's it going, eh?
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 903
Canadian_2K is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghost_™
So like why did you pair x1900xt with a 754 socket mobo/pc ? :crazy:
Well, a) because I am not shooting money out my bumhole and b) because, though the 3400+ with the 1MB cache is not a high end CPU nowadays by any means, an upgrade of the graphics card and mobo will offer much more performance/$ than an entire CPU, RAM, graphics card (since I'd have to get a temporary PCI-E card to hold me over) and mobo upgrade... Plus, having a PCI-E card now means that, if I were to upgrade later, the graphics card would not be an issue.

I dunno, I wanted an X1900XT, and I feel my 3400+ is fine... why the lack of love?
__________________
"[... my computer locks up after the blue screen while reformatting...]" - me

"Theres your problem right there dude. You need to reinstall windows." - phial
Canadian_2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 12:47 AM   #14
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,225
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takezo
You need to run all your games at 1600 x 1050? You need help.

In my mind, playing the same game at 800x600, then at 1600x1200 will not make the game play any diffrent. It's just that running a game at low res saves me money and I can still play games that morons here shell out thousands of dollars to play it "Maxed Out".
Hey, it's your opinion, and we respect it. But just in case you haven't noticed, you're in a graphics card forum, hence I'd bet 99% of all people don't share your views.

And watch your language next time please.
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 02:51 AM   #15
-n7-
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 5,192
-n7- is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yay for employee purchase programs!

The XTX i ordered for $420 CND is still outta stock

How 'bout your XT?
__________________

n7


n7
-n7- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 04:46 AM   #16
soylent
Hufu
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sweden Stockholm
Posts: 4,385
soylent is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott123
here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814131006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchAngelCD
Great... but they most likely don't ship to sweden, and it would be a pain to do it even if they would.
__________________
From MSDS on sodium chloride(table salt):

Precautions:
Keep locked up. Do not ingest. Do not breathe dust. Avoid contact with eyes. Wear suitable protective clothing. If ingested,
seek medical advice immediately and show the container or the label. Keep away from incompatibles such as oxidizing
agents, acids.
soylent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 11:40 AM   #17
Canadian_2K
How's it going, eh?
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 903
Canadian_2K is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -n7-
Yay for employee purchase programs!

The XTX i ordered for $420 CND is still outta stock

How 'bout your XT?
Yah, haha... it's still out of stock too. I thought about getting the XTX, but I figured I needed to save as much as possible wherever I could, since I still had to get the mobo too. I tried emailing them though, to get an idea of when they'd be getting them back in stock, but so far no reply.

They only began offering the X1900's recently though, so I bet there's a lot of people trying to nab them up... especially at $390 and $420 CDN.
__________________
"[... my computer locks up after the blue screen while reformatting...]" - me

"Theres your problem right there dude. You need to reinstall windows." - phial
Canadian_2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 12:27 PM   #18
bjohannes
Radeon X1900XT
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 68
bjohannes is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadian_2K
Yah, haha... it's still out of stock too. I thought about getting the XTX, but I figured I needed to save as much as possible wherever I could, since I still had to get the mobo too. I tried emailing them though, to get an idea of when they'd be getting them back in stock, but so far no reply.

They only began offering the X1900's recently though, so I bet there's a lot of people trying to nab them up... especially at $390 and $420 CDN.
So is it Futureshop/Best Buy that you guys work at in order to get these discounts or what?
__________________
i5-4690K | Asus Z97-A | R9 290X CF | Win 10 Pro 64-bit
bjohannes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 12:32 PM   #19
cvearl
God uses ATI.
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Canada
Posts: 6,026
cvearl is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takezo
You need to run all your games at 1600 x 1050? You need help.

In my mind, playing the same game at 800x600, then at 1600x1200 will not make the game play any diffrent. It's just that running a game at low res saves me money and I can still play games that morons here shell out thousands of dollars to play it "Maxed Out".
This is the most retarded comment I have ever heard.

His resolution is the NATIVE resolution of his LCD. Ahhh forget it. It would take too long to explain to you.

Oh and you need a math lesson. a card for under $400 CDN is far from "thousands".

Enjoy your 800x600 gaming.

C.
__________________
Loving me some Flight Sim with FSX and the latest add ons.

Welcome to Flight sim 2012 - http://youtu.be/rmZNMjn30XQ

The add ons...

Planes - http://www.carenado.com/CarSite/Port...ccion=products
Scenery - http://fullterrain.com/
Enviroment - http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/
Hardware - http://www.saitek.com/
cvearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 06:41 PM   #20
ShaidarHaran
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 24,941
ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

The sad thing is, Takezo claims to be a PC tech yet he demonstrates a sheer lack of PC knowledge in *every* post I've ever seen him make. Good thing I don't read them anymore
ShaidarHaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 07:16 PM   #21
JonP01
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 108
JonP01 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takezo
You need to run all your games at 1600 x 1050? You need help.

In my mind, playing the same game at 800x600, then at 1600x1200 will not make the game play any diffrent. It's just that running a game at low res saves me money and I can still play games that morons here shell out thousands of dollars to play it "Maxed Out".
You really should not be offering advise on this forum unless you actually have some basic technical understanding of the original issue. Apart from that, the only moron I have come across on these forums is you yourself.
JonP01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 10:03 PM   #22
-n7-
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 5,192
-n7- is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjohannes
So is it Futureshop/Best Buy that you guys work at in order to get these discounts or what?
I'd tell you, but i'd have to kill you
__________________

n7


n7
-n7- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 04:28 PM   #23
Canadian_2K
How's it going, eh?
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 903
Canadian_2K is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -n7-
I'd tell you, but i'd have to kill you
Let's lynch him!!!

EDIT: Oh, and -n7-, the XT is now in stock again, so if you really want the card, you could just cancel the XTX order and grab the XT while they still have it. A little performance sacrificed, but hey, less wait time... just thought I'd let you know.
__________________
"[... my computer locks up after the blue screen while reformatting...]" - me

"Theres your problem right there dude. You need to reinstall windows." - phial

Last edited by Canadian_2K : Mar 28, 2006 at 04:32 PM.
Canadian_2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2006, 11:10 PM   #24
-n7-
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 5,192
-n7- is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadian_2K
Let's lynch him!!!

EDIT: Oh, and -n7-, the XT is now in stock again, so if you really want the card, you could just cancel the XTX order and grab the XT while they still have it. A little performance sacrificed, but hey, less wait time... just thought I'd let you know.
I see that.

The retarded thing is that the XTX showed as in stock for a few hours this morning, but then it showed as out of stock.

I phoned up ATi, & they said there was some kind of "hold" on my order, which the agent said they released

I think it's great they didn't bother emailing me to let me know that.
Rather, it appears they were content to leave my order in permanent limbo
__________________

n7


n7
-n7- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2006, 12:02 PM   #25
Canadian_2K
How's it going, eh?
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 903
Canadian_2K is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -n7-
I see that.

The retarded thing is that the XTX showed as in stock for a few hours this morning, but then it showed as out of stock.

I phoned up ATi, & they said there was some kind of "hold" on my order, which the agent said they released

I think it's great they didn't bother emailing me to let me know that.
Rather, it appears they were content to leave my order in permanent limbo
Well, it appears my order has now entered limbo as well... No email comfirming the shipment, or anything else for that matter since it started showing "In Stock". On hold though? Think it's for employment verification? I'm calling them as I type...

EDIT: Update, it appears that the order is on hold due to some Canadian regulation requiring verbal confirmation of orders over a specified dollar amount, to prevent fraud... Or, at least, that's the statement I got... Never heard that one before.
__________________
"[... my computer locks up after the blue screen while reformatting...]" - me

"Theres your problem right there dude. You need to reinstall windows." - phial

Last edited by Canadian_2K : Mar 29, 2006 at 12:06 PM.
Canadian_2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2006, 12:40 PM   #26
seeker010
chaotic evil
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 7,734
seeker010 is still being judged by the masses


Default

quick, everyone steal his so he can buy some more that we can steal
__________________
Abort, Retry, Fail?
seeker010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2006, 01:36 PM   #27
-n7-
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 5,192
-n7- is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadian_2K
Well, it appears my order has now entered limbo as well... No email comfirming the shipment, or anything else for that matter since it started showing "In Stock". On hold though? Think it's for employment verification? I'm calling them as I type...

EDIT: Update, it appears that the order is on hold due to some Canadian regulation requiring verbal confirmation of orders over a specified dollar amount, to prevent fraud... Or, at least, that's the statement I got... Never heard that one before.

Yeah, i just cancelled my XTX order & ordered teh XT, since i don't feel like waiting forever.

But now i have to phone them tomorrow or sometime later today to confirm it, since they claim my cancellation & new order "are still in processing, so call back later".

Funny, first time i got told call back in half an hour, & second time i got told call back maybe around 2 hours later, or maybe the next day

Frankly, ATi's customer service is a pretty bad joke, & it's starting to really annoy me...
__________________

n7


n7
-n7- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2006, 01:59 PM   #28
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaidarHaran
The sad thing is, Takezo claims to be a PC tech yet he demonstrates a sheer lack of PC knowledge in *every* post I've ever seen him make. Good thing I don't read them anymore
Yeah, no crap. Running a LCD at anything other than it's native resolution can severly degrade image quality. Anyone suggesting that one should do that needs to get their head screwed on straight.
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2006, 12:36 PM   #29
-n7-
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 5,192
-n7- is still being judged by the masses


Default

Canadian_2K, got yours shipped yet?

Now that i cancelled my XTX order, & got the XT order confirmed, i checked this morning to see if my XT was shipped.

Nope. Instead, the XT now shows outta stock
The irony of this is not fun...
Edit: wtf, i just checked again & now it's showing in stock.
__________________

n7


n7
-n7- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2006, 01:05 AM   #30
Canadian_2K
How's it going, eh?
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 903
Canadian_2K is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -n7-
Canadian_2K, got yours shipped yet?

Now that i cancelled my XTX order, & got the XT order confirmed, i checked this morning to see if my XT was shipped.

Nope. Instead, the XT now shows outta stock
The irony of this is not fun...
Edit: wtf, i just checked again & now it's showing in stock.
Yah, actually. Mine shipped yesterday shortly after I called. Says it departed from FedEx Missasaugua, Ontario early this morning.

Should be getting it sometime next week I figure... To tell you the truth, it's the motherboard that I'm begining to worry about... I ordered monday, and I got a shipping confirmation, but no tracking number , so I don't know what kind of progress it's made. (ordered from tigerdirect.ca, btw)
__________________
"[... my computer locks up after the blue screen while reformatting...]" - me

"Theres your problem right there dude. You need to reinstall windows." - phial
Canadian_2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hate tax season, hate ex's Shadowless Off Topic Lounge 35 Apr 16, 2011 03:29 PM
One thing i hate about Football (The tackle kind) Deftones Off Topic Lounge 10 Jan 8, 2008 07:13 AM
Car threads! Car threads! Post yours! Jeff Lange Off Topic Lounge 99 Jan 8, 2006 11:00 AM
Threads: 100,066, Posts: 900,935 Grads Rage you did past 100,000 threads Rob McClelland Off Topic Lounge 4 Jan 1, 2003 06:47 PM
Counting to (100,000) posted threads :)99,913 threads New Recond On New Year Day! Rob McClelland Off Topic Lounge 2 Jan 1, 2003 01:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink