Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » PC Gaming
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

PC Gaming Discuss all PC games, past and present. Talk about your favorite games, share tips and strategies, and anything else relating to computer games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 16, 2003, 04:42 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
GoldenNugget
Ummm... Nugget?
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States MA, USA
Posts: 3,828
GoldenNugget is still being judged by the masses


Default Battlefield Lag

I've just started playing battlefield 1942 and its great. The only problem with the game is when I play multiplayer, the game feels laggy and I have cable. I do not run any file-sharing programs or download anything while I play online. Are there any tips to make the game feel less laggy?
GoldenNugget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2003, 06:22 PM   #2
shockwave
canucklehead
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada SK
Posts: 15,038
shockwave can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyshockwave can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

you'll have to post your system specs bud

also--lag depends a lot on the server in which you are playing on. some servers allow more people to play than they should, and it gets choppyl.

post specs though. BF is a resource hog, it takes up LOTS of ram, so if you don't have at LEAST 512MB then you are going to see skipping in the gameplay. I didn't get rid of my skipping until I upgraded to a gig.
shockwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2003, 06:35 PM   #3
GoldenNugget
Ummm... Nugget?
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States MA, USA
Posts: 3,828
GoldenNugget is still being judged by the masses


Default

whoops forgot to tell my specs. I have a 2.8Ghz P4 with HT, 1gb ram, 9800 pro 128mb, + all the other typical stuff.
GoldenNugget is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 16, 2003, 06:46 PM   #4
Star_Hunter
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 186
Star_Hunter is still being judged by the masses


Default

I wonder if they even use SSE or SSE2 its that bad (pretty sure they due but can anyone confrim?) Its kinda sad when you can get better fps in hl2(or so it seems) then in bf1942
__________________
System specs:
Athlon Xp 1800+ @ 1.84Ghz (11x167)
ASUS A7v333
Windows XP Pro SP2
Mushkin Pc2100 1GB @ 2.5-3-3-6
Audigy 2 ZS
Sapphire Radeon X800 Pro @ 531/560
Star_Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2003, 07:39 PM   #5
realODDSMAN
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,623
realODDSMAN is still being judged by the masses


Cool

What could be more fun than playing on a 64 people server at a maximum of 5 frames per second

Now try that same server with the Desert Combat mod. Dont expect anything higher than 3 frames/sec


Cant wait for BF: Vietnam 64 person servers
realODDSMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2003, 07:56 PM   #6
t0adp1p3
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United States Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Posts: 7,816
t0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Default

I play with 1024x768 4xaa and 16xaf. I don't have any problems. We have a 32 man server. I ping in the 40's to it, some of our guys ping like 11. nobody in our clan has fps problems except one guy with the minimum specs and then some of us do sometimes when we run bfsecure (an anticheat program), but only when it takes random screenshots.
t0adp1p3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2003, 08:30 PM   #7
GoldenNugget
Ummm... Nugget?
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States MA, USA
Posts: 3,828
GoldenNugget is still being judged by the masses


Default

hmmm... my ping is around 40-80 ms. Maybe its because I'm new to the game and not used to the time it takes for a bullet to hit something.
GoldenNugget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2003, 12:36 AM   #8
t0adp1p3
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United States Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Posts: 7,816
t0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresht0adp1p3 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Default

Golden Nugget lead your target. That is the way the game is, not lag, not bad netcode. The bullets and projectiles are virtual objects with virtual velocity, arc, etc.. so lead your target. If your in AA lead alot, if your in a tank lead all moving vehicular targets. Your cross hair should light up, when you hit the sweet spot. You also have a blooming reticule so moving whiel firing will make you miss, unless you practice.
t0adp1p3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2003, 11:25 AM   #9
Doozer
lollollollol
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England SE London, UK
Posts: 19,033
Doozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird singsDoozer knows why the caged bird sings


Default

disable any anti virus software, esp Nortons, that causes lag !
__________________
Mobo : Asus P8777-V LX2 Processor : Intel Core i5 3570K 3.40GHz @ 4.40GHz Memory : 8Gb RAM
Graphics Card : GeForce GTX 690 Sound : Asus Xonar DGX 5.1 O/S : Win7, Monitor : 3 x Samsung 23"

Nikon D7100,
Nikkor 16-35mf f4
Sigma 120-400mm
Nikon 18-55mm kit lens,
Sigma 70-300 APO Macro,
Nikkor 50mm f1.8,
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro HSM,
Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 EX DG,
Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.5 HSM,
Sigma x2 TC
Remote shutter release ,
Raynox D250 closeup/macro attachment,
Kenko extension tubes,
reverse lens adaptor,
Nikon SB800 flash,
Vivitar 285HV Flash unit,
Tripod (x2),
Monopod



Rage3d flickr Group
Doozer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2003, 11:33 AM   #10
shockwave
canucklehead
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada SK
Posts: 15,038
shockwave can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyshockwave can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Doozer
disable any anti virus software, esp Nortons, that causes lag !
indeed! I forgot to mention that. any type of virus scanning program will make your game crawl to a hault.

Golden nugget, do you experience lag on 64 player servers, or all servers? If you're on a 64 one, some lag is normal, it can't be helped really. To see if everything is running good on your system, you should run 3dmark03 and post your score, just to see.
shockwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2003, 01:23 PM   #11
GoldenNugget
Ummm... Nugget?
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States MA, USA
Posts: 3,828
GoldenNugget is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks for the tips. I think I'm going to play on smaller servers and practice with the guns.
GoldenNugget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2003, 05:04 PM   #12
X_FX
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In my HEAD !!!!
Posts: 375
X_FX is still being judged by the masses


Default

Excellent


__________________
Athlon XP 2200
Asus A7V8X Deluxe
Sapphire 9800 XT
2 x 512 Corsair RAM PC 3200
Maxtor 60 Gigs and 120 Gigs
400 watt Zeus power supply
X_FX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2003, 05:05 PM   #13
X_FX
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In my HEAD !!!!
Posts: 375
X_FX is still being judged by the masses


Default

I to get lag if there are 64 players or more !!!


Try going to a smaller server !!!


__________________
Athlon XP 2200
Asus A7V8X Deluxe
Sapphire 9800 XT
2 x 512 Corsair RAM PC 3200
Maxtor 60 Gigs and 120 Gigs
400 watt Zeus power supply
X_FX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battlefield 3 JesterOnYer6 PC Gaming 2 Mar 29, 2011 01:07 AM
Battlefield Pirates 2 - Battlefield 2 mod Pirate Neilsouth PC Gaming 10 Sep 22, 2007 09:03 AM
Planet Battlefield - Battlefield 2 Preview (Excellent) Chubz PC Gaming 17 May 14, 2005 12:51 AM
::: Battlefield 2 ::: RevolutioniZed PC Gaming 11 Feb 24, 2005 07:54 PM
Which Battlefield mod... 311Sam PC Gaming 18 Mar 7, 2004 02:48 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink