Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Operating Systems
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Operating Systems Discussion topics on operating systems including all iterations of Windows, Linux, MacOS, BeOS, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 27, 2004, 10:06 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
DarkPretender
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,518
DarkPretender is still being judged by the masses


Default notepad missing and bridged dll?

First off, notepad is missing. Where do I get it and why is it gone?

Secondly, I get this stupid message when I start up saying bridged32.dll or somthign to that affect, is missing.

I have no spyware (scanned twice) and no viruses (two seperate boot-time scans). No clue what the problem is.
DarkPretender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2004, 10:18 AM   #2
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

both files should be located on your XP cd either as stand-alone compressed files, or more likely inside one of the CAB files. Just double-click each CAB file on the CD to find what you are looking for, and replace the missing files yourself.

I'm not sure why they disappeared on you though
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2004, 10:32 AM   #3
DarkPretender
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,518
DarkPretender is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator
both files should be located on your XP cd either as stand-alone compressed files, or more likely inside one of the CAB files. Just double-click each CAB file on the CD to find what you are looking for, and replace the missing files yourself.

I'm not sure why they disappeared on you though

I have 3 computers in my house (including a windows 2k mechine) they all get the same bridged.dll message. And when I was working at a friends neighboors house, I got the same thing. Maybe SP2 will fix it...
DarkPretender is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Aug 27, 2004, 06:31 PM   #4
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Well I've looked on my own PC and done a websearch, but I am unable to figure out what the hell bridge32.dll or bridged32.dll is. My advice is to download and run Startup Control Panel and disable any unneeded or unknown programs from windows bootup. Hopefully that'll resolve the problem, maybe some program you don't even need is trying to launch it at boot.

If you have trouble finding NOTEPAD.EXE on your XP cd, lemmy know and I'll just email it to you.
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2004, 10:35 AM   #5
DarkPretender
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,518
DarkPretender is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator
Well I've looked on my own PC and done a websearch, but I am unable to figure out what the hell bridge32.dll or bridged32.dll is. My advice is to download and run Startup Control Panel and disable any unneeded or unknown programs from windows bootup. Hopefully that'll resolve the problem, maybe some program you don't even need is trying to launch it at boot.

If you have trouble finding NOTEPAD.EXE on your XP cd, lemmy know and I'll just email it to you.
ok the problem is no longer that notepad.exe isn't on my computer, but when using text documents it wont allow me to use notepad...if that makes sense..

Its like a registry entry is missing and when clicking .txt files it will ask me what program it should use and notepad isn't on the list and cannot be added. Isn't it registry that will tell what program to use when opening a certain file?
DarkPretender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2004, 11:43 AM   #6
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkPretender
ok the problem is no longer that notepad.exe isn't on my computer, but when using text documents it wont allow me to use notepad...if that makes sense..

Its like a registry entry is missing and when clicking .txt files it will ask me what program it should use and notepad isn't on the list and cannot be added. Isn't it registry that will tell what program to use when opening a certain file?
right click a TXT file
click OPEN WITH
click CHOOSE PROGRAM
select location C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serious glitch with notepad red_star Off Topic Lounge 42 Dec 4, 2006 06:16 PM
Open Notepad... kepler Off Topic Lounge 20 Nov 17, 2006 11:15 PM
How to break Notepad Dacs Off Topic Lounge 10 Jun 15, 2006 10:45 PM
Chances of the R520 being bridged? PeaceKeeper AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 6 Dec 9, 2004 06:14 PM
NVIDIA's bridged PCI-Express card ??? gate1975mlm Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 3 Apr 6, 2004 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink