Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 11, 2003, 02:17 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Hannibal
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Canada Can't remember.
Posts: 1,006
Hannibal is still being judged by the masses


Default Stupid Question

Just bought a new MSI KT6 Delta MB and went to install into my case ( a three year old gateway 2000 original) ATX form factor. Never had a problem with it before but obviously technology has caught up with it as the IO connectors on the boarddont match the holes on the case i.e. Serial ports, Parallel ports etc. Now an IO template has been included in the box that obviously will fit it but on a quick inspection it does not appear that I can remove the old one from the case, how can I tell?.
If I buy a new case, say Chieftec, can I then replace the IO template on that with the one I have or will there be any need to, is this a new ATX layout? that is now standard.

Thanks for ur help.
Hannibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2003, 02:25 PM   #2
Darklord215
Radeon X1900 XT.....NOT!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada Vancouver, BC
Posts: 270
Darklord215 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I had the same problem with my old case, I had to ended up cut out the original template to fit the new one in. For some "original" template you can just snap it off and snap on the new one.
__________________
XP1800"JIUHB"@200x11 (1.53Ghz stock)
ABIT NF7 V2.0 \ [email protected]
Corsair Winbond 2x512mb @2-2-2-11
Thermalright SI-97A HSF
ATI Radeon 9800pro(R350) 128mb @ 412/347
Cooled by Zalman ZM80A-HP Heatpipe Cooler
and CoolerMaster Copper Ramsinks
Enermax EG365P-VE(FM) 350W PSU
Seagate Baracuda 120GB ATA Harddrive
BenQ FP222W LCD Monitor
Force feedback Joystick, gamepad & Momo wheel
Darklord215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2003, 02:52 PM   #3
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,413
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default Re: Stupid Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Hannibal
Just bought a new MSI KT6 Delta MB and went to install into my case ( a three year old gateway 2000 original) ATX form factor. Never had a problem with it before but obviously technology has caught up with it as the IO connectors on the boarddont match the holes on the case i.e. Serial ports, Parallel ports etc. Now an IO template has been included in the box that obviously will fit it but on a quick inspection it does not appear that I can remove the old one from the case, how can I tell?.
If I buy a new case, say Chieftec, can I then replace the IO template on that with the one I have or will there be any need to, is this a new ATX layout? that is now standard.

Thanks for ur help.
It isn't so much that it is a new standard (although layouts have changed), but that Gateway uses proprietary components. I'd recommend getting a new chassis. If you do choose to mod the existing case to function with the new MB, make sure you verify that the existing PSU isn't Gateway proprietary. Simply looking at the plugs isn't enough. For example, Dell uses proprietary MB/PSU units in some systems that perhaps have a wire or two switched. This ensures that most users will upgrade through Dell, and also can ensure a quick and violent end to an upgrade to a non-proprietary part. Be forewarned!
__________________
The only thing as dangerous as taking hydroxychloroquine is listening to someone who is taking hydroxychloroquine. Therein lies the road to madness.
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 11, 2003, 06:34 PM   #4
Hannibal
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Canada Can't remember.
Posts: 1,006
Hannibal is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: Re: Stupid Question

Quote:
Originally posted by 7up1n3
It isn't so much that it is a new standard (although layouts have changed), but that Gateway uses proprietary components. I'd recommend getting a new chassis. If you do choose to mod the existing case to function with the new MB, make sure you verify that the existing PSU isn't Gateway proprietary. Simply looking at the plugs isn't enough. For example, Dell uses proprietary MB/PSU units in some systems that perhaps have a wire or two switched. This ensures that most users will upgrade through Dell, and also can ensure a quick and violent end to an upgrade to a non-proprietary part. Be forewarned!
Thanks for the info but the case itself has always been fairly upgrade friendly, fully compatible with last three MB's I bought, I did have to change some proprietary plugs for HDD LED, Power LED etc that came with the gateway chassis but that wasnt too much trouble.
I suppose its just a push to phase out older serial connectors in favour of USB 2.0 etc, nothing wrong with that.

Thanks.
Hannibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stupid fedex, stupid frys, stupid holiday traffic Mmm_Beefy Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 11 Dec 19, 2007 01:15 AM
Help with stupid question.... PhilT Off Topic Lounge 3 Jan 19, 2006 03:25 PM
Stupid question probably... Cyko AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 7 Jun 7, 2005 01:09 PM
stupid question... Muffzilla AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 5 Apr 9, 2003 01:25 AM
stupid question... bsmack Radeon Technical Support 4 Sep 5, 2002 07:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink