Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 17, 2002, 03:48 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Doomtrooper
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 5,331
Doomtrooper is still being judged by the masses


Default The AMD XP 0.13 Thoroughbred Is Here

From this picture from Cebit you can see the die shrink, releasing at Intels devauled 2.2 Ghz rating and AMD's naming system of 2800 this baby should seriously SMOKE .
Couple that with a new DDR 333 with Hypertransport and a R300, the ultimate gaming rig
Notice also the Level 1 bridges appear NOT to be laser cut
__________________
"It's time to kick A$$ and chew bubble gum....and I'm all out of gum."
Duke Nukem
November 1996
Doomtrooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2002, 04:33 PM   #2
Bigus Dickus
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: You know, I've seen some damn long descriptions of where people live, and I was just wondering how freakin' long of a location they actually allow you to write in here. Looks like it's quite a bit. Oh well, if the space is here I'll use it!!! :)
Posts: 1,701
Bigus Dickus is still being judged by the masses


Default

They ran a demo behind closed doors of a Tbred running at 2200Mhz, model 2800, but they will not be releasing it at that speed upon launch.

Expect a model 2200+, maybe 2400+ at launch.
__________________
Those who fear the facts shall forever try to discredit the fact finders - Daniel C. Dennett

IMO, Mr. Derek Smart is a hypocrite: Only someone who is either (a) lying (b) ashamed of their products (c) just plain ashamed, would hestitate to give out some simple and straight forward information. - Derek Smart, Ph.D.
Bigus Dickus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2002, 04:34 PM   #3
Pojo
Masturbator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,770
Pojo is still being judged by the masses


Default

You cant tell anything by looking at that pic. The real question is did they revise the core at all. If its just a die shrink then all you going to get is higher mhz. Which is good of course but be nice if would update the core again too
Pojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 17, 2002, 04:37 PM   #4
EnDlEsS
No one lives forever.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,793
EnDlEsS is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just to clear things up~~

The one @ the left is the Thoroughbred, while the one @ the right is the old Pally~~
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryars
Life goes on so why not follow it?
EnDlEsS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2002, 06:24 PM   #5
DVS Darkside
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 555
DVS Darkside is still being judged by the masses


Default

will you need new mobo to use Thoroughbred or current socket A will fit ?
__________________
.:. Antec P180 .:. i7 2600k .:. eVga GTX 480 .:. Patriot DDR3 4GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Intel G2 SSD 80GB .:.
DVS Darkside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2002, 06:32 PM   #6
Pojo
Masturbator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,770
Pojo is still being judged by the masses


Default

its same pinout as before... u can just pop one of these in and it be all good... worst case you may need to get an updated bios for your motherboard...
Pojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2002, 08:02 PM   #7
Nazgul
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Minas Morgul
Posts: 1,946
Nazgul is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pojo
You cant tell anything by looking at that pic. The real question is did they revise the core at all. If its just a die shrink then all you going to get is higher mhz. Which is good of course but be nice if would update the core again too
The T-bred core is simply a die-shrink, no changes were made to it. The Palomino core that drives the Athlon XP has pretty much reached it's limit with the 2100+, so they need the die shrink to keep the clock speed increasing. I'll admit, it would have been nice to see them use the extra space afforded by the die-shrink for something like a larger L2 cache(up to 384k or even 512k like the new P4's), but to be honest AMD doesn't really need to add any features to the Athlon right now. It competes very well against the P4, and they've been steadily gaining market share.

As for motherboard support, pretty much any board that can handle an Athlon XP should be able to handle the T-bred core as well, since the functions of the chip are unchanged. The main thing is support for the 1.5v setting. Even those of us with AMD-760 boards should be able to handle it, woohoo!



Nazgul
__________________
"The Black Rider flung back his hood, and behold! he had a kingly crown; and yet upon no head visible was it set. The red fires shone between it and the mantled shoulders vast and dark. From a mouth unseen there came a deadly laughter. 'Old fool!' he said. 'Old fool! This is my hour. Do you not know Death when you see it? Die now and curse in vain!' And with that he lifted high his sword and flames ran down the blade."
Nazgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2002, 09:11 PM   #8
Pojo
Masturbator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,770
Pojo is still being judged by the masses


Default

i was hoping they would update that 64bit path to improve the athlons memory bandwith... its freaking killing it....
Pojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2002, 10:52 PM   #9
Ratchet
The Tool
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canada The Rock
Posts: 7,623
Ratchet is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

What market name are they going to give these? Are they sticking to the XP and MP names, or doing something new? I personally think they should stick to XP/MP since it's really just a speed increase and no new features... nVidia suddenly pops in mind...
__________________
7
Ratchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2002, 12:02 AM   #10
Starla
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,213
Starla is still being judged by the masses


Default

It has plenty of bandwidth! effectivly a P4 only has about 500 more mb's despite having a full 1gb/s more... and I still don't see the p4 takeing a big lead in Quake3
Starla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2002, 01:20 AM   #11
Nazgul
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Minas Morgul
Posts: 1,946
Nazgul is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pojo
i was hoping they would update that 64bit path to improve the athlons memory bandwith... its freaking killing it....
The DDR memory bandwidth is not as much of a limitation as you might think. You need to keep in mind that the Pentium 4 was designed very differently than the Athlon core. The P4 needs a very high bus speed and a lot of memory bandwidth in order to keep its long pipelines filled. That's why the P4's performance is crippled when it's using PC133 memory. PC2100 DDR memory definitely helps, but the dual-channel Rambus boards are the best for the P4, especially now that the price difference between DDR and RDRAM is much smaller than it used to be. The Athlon core, on the other hand, doesn't need as much memory bandwidth to work at its best. Do you remember when DDR was first supported on Athlon boards? The T-bird core only got a small boost from the jump, and Via's KT133A chipset showed that it got as much if not more of a boost from the jump in busspeed(100 to 133) as it did from the move to DDR. The Palomino core in the 1Gig+ Durons and the AthlonXP needs more memory bandwidth to help feed the hardware prefetch, so they get more of a boost from DDR.



Nazgul
__________________
"The Black Rider flung back his hood, and behold! he had a kingly crown; and yet upon no head visible was it set. The red fires shone between it and the mantled shoulders vast and dark. From a mouth unseen there came a deadly laughter. 'Old fool!' he said. 'Old fool! This is my hour. Do you not know Death when you see it? Die now and curse in vain!' And with that he lifted high his sword and flames ran down the blade."
Nazgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2002, 01:31 AM   #12
Pojo
Masturbator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,770
Pojo is still being judged by the masses


Default

I am talking about the 2.1GB/s limit the athlon has due to its 64bit memory bus. With new DDR400 memory almost out its going to go mostly unused and the current generation of athlons will show very little improvment with it. They really need to bust that memory bus open a lot more. I understand these are just theoretical numbers but its still relevant to real world numbers.
Pojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2002, 06:16 AM   #13
xenomorph
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: LV-426
Posts: 760
xenomorph is still being judged by the masses


Default

what about the XP's 133Mhz front side system bus?
thats only good for 2.1GB/s aswell. They should raise the FSB aswell as the memory bus
__________________
Gigabyte P35C DS3R, E6750, Leadtek Winfast PX8800 GTS 512MB, 3GB Kingston DDR2 800, Seagate 250GB ST3250820AS, Samsung 160GB SV160N, Terratec DMX 6fire 24/96, Silverstone ST60F 600W
xenomorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2002, 10:43 AM   #14
9-Bar
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: North West of UK,
Posts: 214
9-Bar is still being judged by the masses


Default

will the P4 work better when ddr400 memory comes available and boards support, so it gets the same 400mhz as RDRAM does??
__________________
ASUS A7N Deluxe Nforce2
AMD XP 2700+
512mb Corsair TwinX Dual DDR 333
Radeon 8500 / Hansol 920D 19"
SB Audigy Player / WinXP Home ED.
2 x 123GB IBM ATA100 HD's
Pioneer DVR105 + DVD106S
9-Bar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which AMD is better? A Thoroughbred or MP? Pha king A General Hardware 6 Mar 6, 2003 01:13 PM
Thoroughbred A B?? How do you tell???? Big Ted General Hardware 6 Mar 5, 2003 09:14 PM
AMD Thoroughbred and PC-333 iCON General Hardware 6 Feb 14, 2002 09:25 AM
Will you buy a AMD Thoroughbred? NEVERLIFT AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 65 Jan 24, 2002 05:12 PM
AMD Thoroughbred/Barton Uriel General Hardware 13 Aug 30, 2001 05:53 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink