Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 19, 2003, 05:06 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Bonzai
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Bonzai is still being judged by the masses


Default Per-Pixel Alpha Blending shadows for WinXP/9800 Pro

Did anyone figure out how to enable this feature on WinXP? The latest 3.4 Cat's do not enable it still and I was just wondering if there has been any fixes since? I tried some Registry changes from someone who posted about this before and they did not work.

So anyone know? I'm using the xpbench that tests 2d performance as a reference.

Bonzai
Bonzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2003, 05:45 PM   #2
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,225
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

I run WindowFX 2.0 from Stardock. It says that they are not enabled by default and has a button for me to enable it. That's what I always do
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2003, 08:47 AM   #3
Myrmecophagavir
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 174
Myrmecophagavir is still being judged by the masses


Default

Why is this still not included in the drivers as standard?
Myrmecophagavir is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 20, 2003, 12:00 PM   #4
ATsirogiannis
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Vancouver
Posts: 980
ATsirogiannis is still being judged by the masses


Default

I am worried about this as I am about to buy my 9800pro.
ATsirogiannis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2003, 12:11 PM   #5
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,225
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ATsirogiannis
I am worried about this as I am about to buy my 9800pro.
It is included, it is just not enabled by default. Can you shorten btw your signature to 10 lines or less? Forum rules you see.. thx a lot
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2003, 12:26 PM   #6
ATsirogiannis
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Vancouver
Posts: 980
ATsirogiannis is still being judged by the masses


Default

Why wouldn't it be enabled by default? Without it enabled XP's drop shadows will render horribly slow.
ATsirogiannis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2003, 12:43 PM   #7
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,225
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

I have no idea really.. i just use WindowFX to enable it and all is well
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2003, 09:23 PM   #8
riverlethe
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13
riverlethe is still being judged by the masses


Default

I selected to enable alpha-blending in WindowsFX, but after rebooting, it still says that "per-pixel alpha blending" is disabled, and performance is terrible. (This is on a Visiontek Radeon 9800 Pro.)
riverlethe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2003, 10:04 PM   #9
ATsirogiannis
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Vancouver
Posts: 980
ATsirogiannis is still being judged by the masses


Default

Is alpha blending enabled on the Cat 3.2 or 3.1's?
ATsirogiannis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2003, 10:52 PM   #10
riverlethe
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13
riverlethe is still being judged by the masses


Default

It wasn't enabled in the 3.2's, and it's not enabled in the 3.4's that I'm using now.
riverlethe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2003, 10:57 PM   #11
riverlethe
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13
riverlethe is still being judged by the masses


Default

I should point out that alpha-blending is enabled, but *per-pixel alpha blending* is not. Default 2k/XP performance for fades, shadows, etc. appears okay, but animations in WindowsFX, for example, perform horribly.
riverlethe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 04:16 AM   #12
Bonzai
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Bonzai is still being judged by the masses


Default

I do not see how you can turn on per-pixel shadowing in WindowsFX so......any other ideas? I supose this is up to ATi gurus to enable it for the next driver release. I hope. It's not a huge big deal but I'd like to have em enabled if possible.
Bonzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 04:26 AM   #13
Sphinx
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 322
Sphinx is still being judged by the masses


Default

It is enabled here - RadeON 9700Pro - Catalyst 3.4 - Win2k+SP´s - DX9a

With CAT 3.2 it were disabled (or not supported) ~ with CAT 3.4 it works

http://www.stardock.com/products/xpb...ubmit1=Refresh

You see the two Submitions from me on with CAT 3.4 and one with Dell 3.3 Cats....
Sphinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 04:27 AM   #14
Bonzai
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Bonzai is still being judged by the masses


Default

That's for 2000. It's not the same for XP. All XP users seem to have it disabled.
Bonzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 07:40 AM   #15
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,225
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bonzai
That's for 2000. It's not the same for XP. All XP users seem to have it disabled.
How about this winXP user?



Bottom line: Just because you have a problem of some sorts doesn't mean everyone does
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 08:14 AM   #16
Steve81
 
Posts: n/a


Default

http://www.stardock.com/products/xpb...ubmit1=Refresh

It's enabled for me. 9700 pro cat3.4.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 09:00 AM   #17
riverlethe
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13
riverlethe is still being judged by the masses


Default

Why are you posting 9700 information? This thread is about the 9800.
riverlethe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 10:13 AM   #18
Liuokin
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 349
Liuokin is still being judged by the masses


Default

Doesn't Hydravision add support for Alpha blending shadows?
Liuokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 10:36 AM   #19
Myrmecophagavir
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 174
Myrmecophagavir is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Liuokin
Doesn't Hydravision add support for Alpha blending shadows?
No, that slider adds a shadow to each window on the desktop. Not the same as accelerating all alpha ops in XP.
Myrmecophagavir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 10:38 AM   #20
Myrmecophagavir
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 174
Myrmecophagavir is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kombatant
Bottom line: Just because you have a problem of some sorts doesn't mean everyone does
No, bottom line is you had to download a 3rd party app to enable something which should be in the drivers from the start
Myrmecophagavir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 08:35 PM   #21
Bonzai
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Bonzai is still being judged by the masses


Default

It is apparent that there is some issue then with the shadows being enabled. I don't see how to enable it in WindowsFX either. I wonder if there is a reason for it to not be enabled.
Bonzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 09:34 PM   #22
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,225
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Myrmecophagavir
No, bottom line is you had to download a 3rd party app to enable something which should be in the drivers from the start
It's in the drivers already, it's just not enabled

Btw you are right, i jumped the gun a bit, didn't notice the 9800 part Anyway, i sent a tip to ATi to check it out
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 09:35 PM   #23
ATsirogiannis
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Vancouver
Posts: 980
ATsirogiannis is still being judged by the masses


Default

Good idea, I wonder if they even know about it.
ATsirogiannis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2003, 01:45 PM   #24
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

Try adding this to your registry

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\ati2mtag\Device0]
"DisableDrvAlphaBlend"=dword:00000000
"DisableUSWC"=dword:00000000

it may help
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2003, 01:48 PM   #25
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,225
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ATsirogiannis
Good idea, I wonder if they even know about it.
They do
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2003, 02:01 PM   #26
ATsirogiannis
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Vancouver
Posts: 980
ATsirogiannis is still being judged by the masses


Default

Did they say anything about as to why its disabled and what they are doing about it?
ATsirogiannis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2003, 03:24 PM   #27
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,225
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ATsirogiannis
Did they say anything about as to why its disabled and what they are doing about it?
Yes they did but i am under NDA.. just know that they are aware of the issue
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2003, 03:28 PM   #28
ATsirogiannis
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Vancouver
Posts: 980
ATsirogiannis is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ok. I lets hope its enabled in the CAT 3.5's
ATsirogiannis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2003, 02:56 AM   #29
Bonzai
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Bonzai is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks for contacting them.

Bonzai
Bonzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2003, 02:58 PM   #30
CATALYST maker
dominATIon
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ATI Canada
Posts: 1,683
CATALYST maker is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hi this is a known bug and we have it on the list of planned fixes for the next CATALYST postings.
__________________
Follow me on Twitter for exclusive Catalyst updates
http://twitter.com/CatalystMaker
My side project reviewing music and movies
http://www.tmakworld.com
CATALYST maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3.5 drivers bring back per-pixel alpha blending... ATsirogiannis AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 9 Jun 24, 2003 01:36 AM
Per Pixel Alpha Blending disabled in Cat 2.5 mkraft AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 2 Dec 10, 2002 08:35 PM
Per Pixel Alpha Blending Shrink Radeon Technical Support 9 Dec 22, 2001 10:51 AM
If supported, how do I enable per-pixel alpha blending on my 8500? Christopher Blue Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 1 Dec 20, 2001 11:24 AM
Alpha Blending in XP ziggyd Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support 3 Dec 9, 2001 01:57 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink