Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 15, 2003, 07:30 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
nanyangview
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canada, Ontario
Posts: 723
nanyangview is still being judged by the masses


Lightbulb Is the AMD Opteron 1.4 Ghz Worth it or rather get the 3Ghz P4?

Is it worth it? I saw one on sale at a local computer store, the 240 (1.4Ghz) Opteron for CDN$450 ish. The P4 3.0 Ghz 800FSB is like for $650 ish. Should i bother with the opteron for my new computer. How is the performance of the opteron?
nanyangview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 08:03 PM   #2
MediocreTangeri
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: portland, oregon
Posts: 43
MediocreTangeri is still being judged by the masses


Default

why not just get an athlon xp 3000+? runs as fast as, if not faster than, a pentium4 3.0hghz. costs less, too. just make sure you get a good heatsink.
MediocreTangeri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 08:06 PM   #3
MS-DOS_5.0
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 784
MS-DOS_5.0 is still being judged by the masses


Default

The few Opterons on sale today are meant as server systems and are not competitive on a price/performance level unless maybe if you need that 64bit capacity. No regular user does. Wait six months if you can, to when the consumer range Athlon64 systems will be out in numbers. If you can't wait then get either a less expensive AthlonXP system or a more costly Intel P4 system. Perhaps the latest P4-2.4GHz with 200MHz FSB, since they have that thingy called hyperthreading and higher memory bandwidth. Anything more pricey isn't worth the cost though. A 3.0GHz P4 costs more than twice as much for, at the very most, 25% more performance...
__________________
RadLinker, never forget.
MS-DOS_5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 15, 2003, 08:25 PM   #4
Bomb&Run
King Tut
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tomato, Ontario
Posts: 6,116
Bomb&Run is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yeah all the opterons are for server. I would suggest 2.8Ghz(800Mhz) or a 3000+ barton.
__________________
read sig
Bomb&Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 09:27 PM   #5
lil bastard
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greece Boca Raton FL
Posts: 556
lil bastard is still being judged by the masses


Default

For the opteron, you will have to wait for the NF3 chipset to come out because those will be using the opteron with a AGP slot.

Heres a review. But remember they were using a PCI GF4MX with low res and no details, because they couldnt use an AGP card yet.

http://www.anandtech.com/cpu/showdoc.html?i=1818&p=1
__________________
Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z | i5-2500k | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 256GB Samsung 830 SSD| Samsung F3 1TB | Antec Truepower 650w | Dell 2405FPW PVA | Dell 2007FP IPS | MSI N460GTX Hawk

Gigabyte GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 | i5-2400 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 60GB OCZ Vertex Plus SSD - SRT | WD Black 1TB | Antec Earthwatts 500w | Vizio 42" 1080P | Sapphire HD7850 OC | ATI Theater 650 Pro

Intel DH67BL | i3-2100 | 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600 | 1x2TB WD EARS | 4x2TB Samsung F4EG | Antec Earthwatts 380w | Headless

Lenovo x230t Tablet PC | i5-3320M | 8GB DDR3-1600 | Samsung 256GB 830SSD |

lil bastard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 09:31 PM   #6
T07N
Long-time Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: America
Posts: 5,070
T07N is still being judged by the masses


Default

How come benchmarks shows that the Pentium 4 line of processors beat Amd's Athlon Xp?

http://www6.tomshardware.com/cpu/200...lon_xp-12.html

As you go down the benchmark list the P4's continuely beat AMD. =(
__________________
XP-M 2400+ @ 2.2Ghz | Epox 8RDA3+ | 9800 Pro | 1.5GB DDR400
T07N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 09:37 PM   #7
Stingray
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 17,966
Stingray is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MediocreTangeri
why not just get an athlon xp 3000+? runs as fast as, if not faster than, a pentium4 3.0hghz. costs less, too.

Because he´ll probably want to keep his current motherboard.
Stingray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 09:55 PM   #8
Azariel
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 211
Azariel is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Because he´ll probably want to keep his current motherboard.


My I ask how you come to that conclusion ? If he is looking to get a Opteron he wont be able to keep his current mobo anyway.
__________________
Base Specs: XP2500+ @11.5x183, EPOX 8rda+, 512mb Kingston PC3200 @CAS2, Sapphire Radeon 9700, WD 80GB JB HDD.
Azariel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 10:02 PM   #9
zacharyaus
arm the homeless
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,381
zacharyaus is still being judged by the masses


Default

don't think there are any motherboards right now that have AGP and use Socket 940

if money we're not a concern i would get a 2100+ for about $85 and a Vapochill (about $450-US ). you will be able to take your 2100+ to about 2700mhz (if not higher) with it which is much faster than most overclocked P4's or barton 3000+
__________________
[1700+ @ 3500+]
[Epox 8RDA+]
[512mb Kingston HyperX PC3500]
[Radeon 9800pro]
[Catalyst 3.6 and DirectX 9a]
[Enermax 431w]
zacharyaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 10:26 PM   #10
T07N
Long-time Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: America
Posts: 5,070
T07N is still being judged by the masses


Default

Omg, you turned your 1700+ into a 3400+?!?!? What are you using as cooler?
__________________
XP-M 2400+ @ 2.2Ghz | Epox 8RDA3+ | 9800 Pro | 1.5GB DDR400
T07N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 10:28 PM   #11
Bomb&Run
King Tut
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tomato, Ontario
Posts: 6,116
Bomb&Run is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bluestar88
Omg, you turned your 1700+ into a 3400+?!?!? What are you using as cooler?
He posted abt using Vapochill above..
__________________
read sig
Bomb&Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 10:34 PM   #12
T07N
Long-time Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: America
Posts: 5,070
T07N is still being judged by the masses


Default

WTF! That cooler is expensive!
__________________
XP-M 2400+ @ 2.2Ghz | Epox 8RDA3+ | 9800 Pro | 1.5GB DDR400
T07N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 10:39 PM   #13
Bomb&Run
King Tut
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tomato, Ontario
Posts: 6,116
Bomb&Run is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bluestar88
WTF! That cooler is expensive!
Well thats y he suggested a cheap processor..a athlon 2100+.

Cheap CPU+Costly cooling may be equal to Costly CPU+ Cheap cooling.
__________________
read sig
Bomb&Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2003, 11:34 PM   #14
T07N
Long-time Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: America
Posts: 5,070
T07N is still being judged by the masses


Default

Good thing is you can use this for future upgrades and overclock like crazy.
__________________
XP-M 2400+ @ 2.2Ghz | Epox 8RDA3+ | 9800 Pro | 1.5GB DDR400
T07N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2003, 12:48 AM   #15
jonmcc33
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,298
jonmcc33 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Considering there isn't even a motherboard out for one yet that'd be sort of stupid.

Also the Opteron is meant for servers only and require ECC RAM from what I recall. If you want a desktop processor wait for the Athlon 64 which uses the same x86-64 technology.
jonmcc33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2003, 01:05 AM   #16
komal
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 609
komal is still being judged by the masses


Default

P4s do beat AMDs, but not by a lot. 2800+ is pretty much a 2.8 P4. And it costs much less. Opterons are shitty for workstations, they're pretty slow if you're not running transaction software on them.
komal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2003, 01:13 AM   #17
Bitey
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Australia In a Daze
Posts: 2,091
Bitey is still being judged by the masses


Default

If your not sure why you would want an opteron don't buy one, if you do know why then its a bargain...64bits 8G memory space per cpu, quad channel ddr on dual opteron boards....
Bitey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2003, 01:31 AM   #18
zacharyaus
arm the homeless
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,381
zacharyaus is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bluestar88
Omg, you turned your 1700+ into a 3400+?!?!? What are you using as cooler?
watercooling
__________________
[1700+ @ 3500+]
[Epox 8RDA+]
[512mb Kingston HyperX PC3500]
[Radeon 9800pro]
[Catalyst 3.6 and DirectX 9a]
[Enermax 431w]
zacharyaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2003, 02:43 AM   #19
MS-DOS_5.0
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 784
MS-DOS_5.0 is still being judged by the masses


Default

With a chip from the right series it would only take a really good air cooler and a good overclocking motherboard to do it as well. Might get noisier than watercooling though.
__________________
RadLinker, never forget.
MS-DOS_5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2003, 04:22 AM   #20
anthony256
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 102
anthony256 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zacharyaus
watercooling
It's easy to get that high..
I have a 2400+ (yes, it's already faster than the 1700+), but I can get 2500mhz out of it, which is FAR FASTER than a 3000+ which is only 2.13ghz.

So, @ 2500, it's kind of equal to say a ~3600+ or so.

Being that there's roughly 66mhz between CPU's, it's a hell of alot of difference between a 2400/3600+. And it saves you buying a 3000/3200+ while they are expensive.

Plus, if you put a good video card together with it, you don't need to buy the highest end CPU.

I have the 2400+ @ stock speeds, and I run everything @ 1600x1200 with 16x af and 2 x aa on my Radeon 9700 Pro. Once the next-gen games come out (Doom3, HL2, Far-Cry, etc, etc) I'll clock my CPU up to 2500 and buy some better ram
anthony256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2003, 04:37 AM   #21
Stingray
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 17,966
Stingray is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Azariel


My I ask how you come to that conclusion ? If he is looking to get a Opteron he wont be able to keep his current mobo anyway.

Oooops, sorry, I guess I was too sleepy last night
Stingray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD's Bulldozer Opteron Sighted? 16 cores, 28MB L3, 3GHz? caveman-jim Front Page News 0 Jan 24, 2011 01:50 PM
AMD ships 3Ghz Opteron; 3.2 on the way caveman-jim Front Page News 3 Apr 6, 2007 08:35 AM
Opteron 165 to FX-60 worth it ? MangaSpawn64 General Hardware 6 Jan 19, 2007 12:12 PM
Conroe E6600 @ 3GHZ Opteron 165 @ 3GHZ, Who Will Win!? Dave General Hardware 68 Jul 12, 2006 01:32 PM
P4 2.4C am i the only one who can't hit 3GHZ? FacelessButcher General Hardware 16 Jun 23, 2003 02:33 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink