Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 26, 2010, 03:57 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
GotNoRice
2x 4870x2 Quad CF
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States Northern California
Posts: 136
GotNoRice is still being judged by the masses


Default Catalyst 10.3b Preview Driver released

http://sites.amd.com/us/underground/...3-preview.aspx

Quote:
Fix for Severe flickering / flashing in Battlefield bad Company 2
The download on the page is broken at the moment but supposedly they are uploading the correct file right now.
__________________
Main Rig: i5-2500K @ 5Ghz - ASUS P8Z68-V - 2x 4870x2 Quad CrossfireX - 8GB DDR3 1333 - X-Fi Titanium PCI-E - Intel X25-M G2 - Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w
LAN Rig: Q9650 E0 @ 4.4Ghz (Tuniq Tower 120) - Gigabyte EP45-UD3P - 2x 4850 Crossfire - 6GB PC8500 - Audigy2 ZS - Antec Earthwatts EA650
Server/Low Power Rig: Core i5 650 @ 3.85Ghz - Asus P7H55-M PRO - 9800GT 1GB - 12GB DDR3 - FSP 550w PSU
GotNoRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 04:05 PM   #2
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,940
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2010, 04:25 PM   #3
Y_T
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 25
Y_T is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Working properly now.
Y_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 27, 2010, 12:05 AM   #4
Crippler
Sapphire Radeon HD5850
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 45
Crippler is still being judged by the masses


Default

Im still getting glitching with battlefield bad company 2.

White/Grey boxes flashing on the screen. Lowered the Anistropic Filtering to x2 and anti alising to 1 seems to remedy the issue.

Driver or game related?
Crippler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 12:37 AM   #5
dnottis
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,328
dnottis is still being judged by the masses


Default

Son of a.... installed 10.3b, playing some BF BC2... gray screen crash....

C'mon already with this garbage...this is killing me.

Hrmm forgot to disable the audio device.... I still that has something to do with it.

Last edited by dnottis : Mar 27, 2010 at 12:53 PM.
dnottis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 02:25 AM   #6
EfrainMan
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 511
EfrainMan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Outta curiosity, did anyone install any of the crossfire profiles with the 10.3b's?
EfrainMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 03:24 AM   #7
f!ver
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: United States Las Vegas
Posts: 335
f!ver is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crippler View Post
Im still getting glitching with battlefield bad company 2.

White/Grey boxes flashing on the screen. Lowered the Anistropic Filtering to x2 and anti alising to 1 seems to remedy the issue.

Driver or game related?
Lower the overclock on your graphics card
__________________
Intel Core i5 2550k @ 4.3GHZ
ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3
8GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1866MHZ
120GB Corsair Force GT SSD
500GB Seagate Barracuda
ATI HD5850 1Gb GDDR5
Antec P-180 Case w/ Antec 900w "High Current" PSU
*running Windows 7 Enterprise x64
f!ver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 03:35 AM   #8
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

It has nothing to do with overclocking.

@ EfrainMan

You should always have the latest file installed.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 05:13 AM   #9
Arghuin
Nexus 6
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Greece Athens, Hellas
Posts: 1,720
Arghuin is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre View Post
@ EfrainMan

You should always have the latest file installed.
Speaking of profiles, any chance of a SC2 one coming out in the near future so that we can force AA?
Arghuin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 05:40 AM   #10
Broken Hope
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 215
Broken Hope is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arghuin View Post
Speaking of profiles, any chance of a SC2 one coming out in the near future so that we can force AA?
If it's anything like WoW then Blizzard are probably using code that would prevent forcing AA anyway so a profile wouldn't do much. You'd just have to hope they add an in game AA option at some point.
__________________
Intel Core i5 [email protected]|8GB DDR3|MSI Z68A GD65(G3)
ATI Radeon HD 5870 1GB|Asus Xonar D2X|Crucial 128GB M4
Intel X-25M 80GB|Corsair AX750|Corsair 650D
Broken Hope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 06:56 AM   #11
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 4,041
Danny Nissan can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyDanny Nissan can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre View Post
It has nothing to do with overclocking.

@ EfrainMan

You should always have the latest file installed.
Thank you spyre, i was about to ask the same thing.
__________________
ASUS PG279Q | ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC 2025MHz/12.2GHz | Intel i7 3770K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | Fractal Design R4 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | SteelSeries Rival 310 | Qpad MK-50 | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | Samsung 850 Evo 250GB + 840 Evo 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 10 Professional

iPhone 8 Plus
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 07:34 AM   #12
narciso
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,123
narciso is still being judged by the masses


Default

Horizontal flickering lines in BFBC2 still there.
Metro 2033 now have a profile, which increased performance a little bit.
Red Faction Guerrill still broken.
Performance scaling in Just Cause 2 not as good as it should be. Renaming the exe gives me the same performance, which shows that the profile is not increasing any speed. Guru3d.com tested this game in 480GTX and show that performance scaling in 5970 is bad.
narciso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 08:54 AM   #13
RobertZ
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United States Gastonia NC
Posts: 663
RobertZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by narciso View Post
Horizontal flickering lines in BFBC2 still there.
What? I never got any of that even on older drivers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by narciso View Post
Red Faction Guerrill still broken.

You know, I never had that flickering issue with RFG until I patched the game. Im gonna try to reinstall it and run it without the patch.
RobertZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 08:58 AM   #14
narciso
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,123
narciso is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertZ View Post
What? I never got any of that even on older drivers.




You know, I never had that flickering issue with RFG until I patched the game. Im gonna try to reinstall it and run it without the patch.
I think the lines only appear on multigpu.
narciso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 09:02 AM   #15
RobertZ
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United States Gastonia NC
Posts: 663
RobertZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by narciso View Post
I think the lines only appear on multigpu.
Thats what I have, 2 HD 5870's.
RobertZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 09:13 AM   #16
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

Its only for Hemlock and 4870X2 cards, regular Crossfire is fine.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 09:16 AM   #17
RobertZ
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United States Gastonia NC
Posts: 663
RobertZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre View Post
Its only for Hemlock and 4870X2 cards, regular Crossfire is fine.

Oh okay. Man I would hate that too if I owned a HD 5970.
RobertZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 09:24 AM   #18
dnottis
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,328
dnottis is still being judged by the masses


Default

Seems the BF BC2 flickering comes back with the profiles installed. Just using 10.3b it doesn't happen.
dnottis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 09:38 AM   #19
Mangler
PC
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,960
Mangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnottis View Post
Seems the BF BC2 flickering comes back with the profiles installed. Just using 10.3b it doesn't happen.
Same thing happened to me, so I guess I should just forget about use the cat 10.3 application profile.

Nevermind, I even get them without the application profile with the 10.3b driver, so I'm going to keep using the 10.3a driver without the application profile.

Last edited by Mangler : Mar 27, 2010 at 10:38 AM.
Mangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 10:19 AM   #20
Dwarden
Bohemia Interactive
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Czech Republic Brno, Czech Republic
Posts: 3,481
Dwarden can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyDwarden can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

out of curiosity will and when the APP profiles get online updater ?

i mean something like clicking shortcut, waiting 10s and receiving 'Your approfiles were updated and are up2date now, have nice gaming day'

or is that too much to await in 21st century ?
__________________
Ideas are like ocean without borders ! [O] https://twitter.com/FoltynD
I support Open Game Protocol
RX 585 1.5GHz /8GHz 8GB vstackedGGDR5, 6xDisplayPort 1.4 (HDMI 2.1 & DVI-D dongles included) with SILENT cooling! cmon baby
needed CCC features == online up2date Game profiles or ALL features of ATT / RadeonPro (if you fail deliver don't even try say You got technical advantage)
Dwarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 10:25 AM   #21
narciso
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,123
narciso is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre View Post
Its only for Hemlock and 4870X2 cards, regular Crossfire is fine.
Very strange. Guess the behavior of two cards in crossfire vs 2 gpu in one card is a little different.
narciso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 10:46 AM   #22
Hadberz
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 85
Hadberz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Any chance we can get this driver for mobility users? When I download the mobility driver off that page its the same as 10.3. I don't see any mobility support in the 10.3b in the desktop driver.

10.3
DriverVer=03/02/2010, 8.712.0.0000

10.3b
DriverVer=03/24/2010, 8.712.3.0000
Hadberz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 11:20 AM   #23
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,940
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwarden View Post
out of curiosity will and when the APP profiles get online updater ?

i mean something like clicking shortcut, waiting 10s and receiving 'Your approfiles were updated and are up2date now, have nice gaming day'

or is that too much to await in 21st century ?
They won't, either follow Terry on twitter or check back here at Rage3D regularly (as you've seen we get exclusive hosting for this, before they are posted pubically anywhere else).
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 12:35 PM   #24
@md_Guy
<strike>out</strike>
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 4,765
@md_Guy knows why the caged bird sings@md_Guy knows why the caged bird sings@md_Guy knows why the caged bird sings@md_Guy knows why the caged bird sings@md_Guy knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by narciso View Post
Horizontal flickering lines in BFBC2 still there.
Metro 2033 now have a profile, which increased performance a little bit.
Red Faction Guerrill still broken.
Performance scaling in Just Cause 2 not as good as it should be. Renaming the exe gives me the same performance, which shows that the profile is not increasing any speed. Guru3d.com tested this game in 480GTX and show that performance scaling in 5970 is bad.
IIRC the horizontal lines are due to FOV.. add or minus 5 to your FOV.
__________________
Fermi Paradox*: "The apparent size and age of Fermi die suggests that many technologically advanced GPUs ought to exist.
However, this hypothesis seems inconsistent with the lack of observational evidence to support it."
@md_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 12:46 PM   #25
RanCorX2
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: A Chest of EviL
Posts: 635
RanCorX2 is still being judged by the masses


Default

how do you ask questions on twitter? I removed the profiles and still get the annoying flickering, was the fix only for crossfire? was it only for 5XXX cards?

I'm single card user. 4870 pcie.
RanCorX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 01:13 PM   #26
EfrainMan
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 511
EfrainMan is still being judged by the masses


Default

And don't forget native vsync is still broken in BC2. I still have to use ati tray tools to force it on (I know there are other workarounds, but still).
EfrainMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 01:46 PM   #27
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 4,041
Danny Nissan can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyDanny Nissan can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Metro 2033 performance seems to have increased by alot. I can now play the game in DX10 "Very high" mode wich earlier was compleatly unplayable..
__________________
ASUS PG279Q | ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC 2025MHz/12.2GHz | Intel i7 3770K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | Fractal Design R4 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | SteelSeries Rival 310 | Qpad MK-50 | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | Samsung 850 Evo 250GB + 840 Evo 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 10 Professional

iPhone 8 Plus
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 02:45 PM   #28
Ourasi
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 98
Ourasi is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre View Post
Its only for Hemlock and 4870X2 cards, regular Crossfire is fine.
Sorry, regular CF is not fine, 2xHD5850 still have the Lines/waves... Removing the latest Approfile helps a bit, Lines/waves creep up right after spawning, luckily they go away after a few seconds. This I suppose mean that this driver has a profile for BC2, and it's functioning better then the approfile, and that the approfile gets priority when installed.

Still work to be done even on regular Crossfire with HD5850 on BC2, still, progress I suppose....
__________________
| Ci7 2600k 4.6ghz HT:On, Cooling: XSPC Rasa Silver CPU Block, Swiftech MCP655, Mist Extreme 360 Radiator, 1/2 ID | Sapphire HD7970 "Black Edition" | Asus Sabertooth P67 | Asus Xonar Essence STX | Corsair Dominator 16GB [email protected] 8-8-8-24 | 2xIntel SSD 520 Raid0 (OS) + 2xCricial C300 64gb Raid0 (Games/Apps) + 1TB WD-GP (Storage) | PSU: Mist 1000W | CoolerMaster Cosmos S | Samsung 26" T260 |3DMark Vantage GPU score 40250 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |
Ourasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 02:57 PM   #29
Arghuin
Nexus 6
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Greece Athens, Hellas
Posts: 1,720
Arghuin is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broken Hope View Post
If it's anything like WoW then Blizzard are probably using code that would prevent forcing AA anyway so a profile wouldn't do much. You'd just have to hope they add an in game AA option at some point.
Not really; can force whatever AA mode i want on my gtx260 with pretty much any driver past the 191.xx series (with the exception of the previous beta ones that were problematic for the game anyway )
Arghuin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2010, 02:57 PM   #30
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,940
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RanCorX2 View Post
how do you ask questions on twitter? I removed the profiles and still get the annoying flickering, was the fix only for crossfire? was it only for 5XXX cards?

I'm single card user. 4870 pcie.
Twitter is not for tech support. File a bug report with AMD on their feedback page.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EfrainMan View Post
And don't forget native vsync is still broken in BC2. I still have to use ati tray tools to force it on (I know there are other workarounds, but still).
That's because BC2 doesn't have working vsync.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ourasi View Post
Sorry, regular CF is not fine, 2xHD5850 still have the Lines/waves... Removing the latest Approfile helps a bit, Lines/waves creep up right after spawning, luckily they go away after a few seconds. This I suppose mean that this driver has a profile for BC2, and it's functioning better then the approfile, and that the approfile gets priority when installed.

Still work to be done even on regular Crossfire with HD5850 on BC2, still, progress I suppose....
Uninstall the profile update, and the driver, reboot into safe mode and run driversweeper for ATI, run CCleaner for registry and reboot back to normal desktop, install 10.3b and retest.

If your system is overclocked try reverting to stock to be sure it's not an obscure memory latency or speed issue.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Catalyst 10.4 Preview Update Released for HD 2000–4000 Series Video Cards caveman-jim Front Page News 0 Apr 21, 2010 01:54 PM
Catalyst OpenGL 4.0 preview driver fellix_bg AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 23 Apr 13, 2010 06:54 PM
Catalyst Preview 10.3b Released caveman-jim Front Page News 6 Mar 28, 2010 11:54 AM
AMD Releases Catalyst OpenGL 4.0 Preview Driver Android1 Front Page News 0 Mar 25, 2010 04:14 PM
AMD to Release Catalyst 10.3a Preview Driver on 3/17 caveman-jim Front Page News 1 Mar 16, 2010 02:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink