Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support Discussion and technical support forum for legacy ATI technology such as Rage, Rage Fury and Rage MAXX.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 3, 2000, 01:15 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
mbrtis
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 6
mbrtis is still being judged by the masses


Post

Hi all,

I currently own an Inspiron 7000/366 with an 8MB Rage Pro board in it. I have an opportunity to purchase an 8MB Rage Mobility card that I'm pretty sure I can drop into my machine (please correct me if I'm wrong!). Will I see a performance increase? From documentation I read quite a while ago there is supposedly a 10% performance boost between the two cards, is that true? Are there any other benefits?

Thanks for your feedback in advance...
mbrtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2000, 04:46 AM   #2
me
 
Posts: n/a


Question

A Rage Mobility board? I thought the Mobility was just a Rage Pro made for laptops.

If the memory is the same and the drivers are the same I can't see that there would be any noticable difference.
  Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2000, 05:13 AM   #3
ManaKnight
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Laconia, NH
Posts: 104
ManaKnight is still being judged by the masses


Post

I believe "ME" is correct. Also a 10% boost is nothing. A good set of drivers, *cough *cough GD8 *cough *cough, will give you that! you can now send me the money you were gonna spend on that
ManaKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Aug 3, 2000, 09:55 AM   #4
GDI
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 8
GDI is still being judged by the masses


Post

Is it possible to upgrade video boards on a laptop? If so, I'll put a 128 in and get rid of the Mobility P. Maybe that will solve some problems with games.
If you can upgrade, how is it down?
GDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2000, 11:30 AM   #5
RAGE LT MAN
The guy sent to get ya...
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 3,410
RAGE LT MAN is still being judged by the masses


Post

You cant do that for video subsys reasons. You'd need a BIOS configured for the card. Desktop vid chips have a video BIOS right on the board, laptops have to have it imbedded in the system BIOS. That's the same prob that comes up when thinking of an m128 upgrade. Sorry, however, drivers do help (10%??? that's it??? i get more, i guess i need to make something better).
RAGE LT MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why is this not working (MW2 rage edition on rage mobility chip) rexluporum Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support 1 Dec 31, 2006 10:49 AM
Rage Mobility M1 help jammer2020 Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support 0 Feb 28, 2003 12:41 PM
is every laptop's mobility-m1 can upgrade to mobility-m3 or gf2go? i love bella Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support 3 Sep 2, 2001 12:55 AM
ATI Rage LT Pro/Rage Pro/Mobility Windows 2000/Whistler/XP Beta 1 Gaming Driver MrB Front Page News 0 Mar 28, 2001 01:55 AM
ATI Rage LT Pro/Rage Pro/Mobility Windows 2000/Whistler/XP Beta 1 Gaming Driver MrB Front Page News 0 Mar 28, 2001 01:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink