Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 24, 2002, 10:13 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Voodooking
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 181
Voodooking is still being judged by the masses


Default No Win98 support...sob sob..

Dear Customer,

Thank you for contacting ATI Technical Support.



Radeon 9xxx Specifications

The Radeon 9000 series (Radeon 9000 Pro and Radeon 9700) will run on Win XP,
Win 2000 and Win Me.
It will not work in Windows 98/se/95/NT, therefore there will be no driver
support for these operating systems.

Please check the online technical specifications for more information about
these products:

Radeon 9000 Pro: http://www.ati.com/products/pc/radeon9000pro/specs.html

Radeon 9700: http://www.ati.com/products/pc/radeon9700/specs.html




If your question is not answered, or you have another technical issue,
please re-submit your query via our Online "Request for Assistance" form
available at the link below and choose Other in the subject field:
www.ati.com/online/euroform



The details requested in this form will assist us in providing you with the
most accurate information available for your situation.

Please also include your original email or a brief description of your
problem in the reply.


Thank you for contacting ATI.
Voodooking is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 10:19 AM   #2
SilentSnipeR
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia :)
Posts: 621
SilentSnipeR is still being judged by the masses


Default

wuite possible the WinME drivers will work in Win98SE since they both use WDM drivers. Though, the original Win98 will not work at all.
__________________
Main system: Asus A7N8X Deluxe (1002.001 beta bios)| AthlonXP [email protected] 10x186fsb | 512mb Corsair XMS3000 (2.5-2-2-6)| Vid: Radeon9700PRO (337/337) | GlobalWin TAK68 HSF :)
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5730202
SilentSnipeR is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 10:37 AM   #3
muzz
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Who cares.......
Posts: 1,141
muzz is still being judged by the masses


Default

To be perfectly honest with you I did NOT want to get another MS product after 98, I've even stated as much........ I did however finally make the plunge and get the XP Home upgrade. I formatted my C: drive, and installed the upgrade fresh ( and did the 98 cd swap when asked). After I set everything up I disabled all BS that XP runs by default, and set it to run only what was necessary. I must admit IMHO it is a much more stable OS than 98 ( AGAIN IMHO ), also loads faster, and I have no problems running the things that I use. It does s**k that my NAV has to be upgraded to 2002 ( which I think is bs - money grubbers ). Other than that I think XP runs mint, and a very worthy upgrade. I think it was worth $99, for me anyways.
__________________
I'd rather be golfin'
muzz is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 24, 2002, 10:43 AM   #4
Nazgul
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Minas Morgul
Posts: 1,946
Nazgul is still being judged by the masses


Default

Is there going to be a DX9 download for either version of Win98? If not, that could explain why there will be no Win98 support for the 9700, and why they'd go so far as to say "it won't work with 98, so we're not gonna bother writing drivers".
__________________
"The Black Rider flung back his hood, and behold! he had a kingly crown; and yet upon no head visible was it set. The red fires shone between it and the mantled shoulders vast and dark. From a mouth unseen there came a deadly laughter. 'Old fool!' he said. 'Old fool! This is my hour. Do you not know Death when you see it? Die now and curse in vain!' And with that he lifted high his sword and flames ran down the blade."
Nazgul is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 10:43 AM   #5
badland1
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Badlands,Alta.
Posts: 190
badland1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by muzz
To be perfectly honest with you I did NOT want to get another MS product after 98, I've even stated as much........ I did however finally make the plunge and get the XP Home upgrade. I formatted my C: drive, and installed the upgrade fresh ( and did the 98 cd swap when asked). After I set everything up I disabled all BS that XP runs by default, and set it to run only what was necessary. I must admit IMHO it is a much more stable OS than 98 ( AGAIN IMHO ), also loads faster, and I have no problems running the things that I use. It does s**k that my NAV has to be upgraded to 2002 ( which I think is bs - money grubbers ). Other than that I think XP runs mint, and a very worthy upgrade. I think it was worth $99, for me anyways.
By BS did you also disable services that are on by default?
badland1 is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 10:50 AM   #6
muzz
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Who cares.......
Posts: 1,141
muzz is still being judged by the masses


Default

?
__________________
I'd rather be golfin'
muzz is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 11:09 AM   #7
badland1
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Badlands,Alta.
Posts: 190
badland1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

If you go into the administrative tools then services you will see what is running by default remote services,alerter etc... By turning some of these services (that you most likely won't be using anyway) off it frees up resources and potential security risks. http://www.blackviper.com and if you search around other sites have more info!
badland1 is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 01:16 PM   #8
Jordo
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 285
Jordo is still being judged by the masses


Default

hheheh, I suppose , now that i've seen the email from ati, WHICh btw, better not be a sick joke I'll have to go and upgrade to xp.....

fortunately for me, i have winXp corporate editon which works like all other ms. os's worked, you can format/install anytime anything goes wrong,,, BUT Guess what home/pro edtion are LIMTITED to TEN , YES ten installs so if you get the klez virus ten times, then m.s. says ooopss better buy another license,,, yea there are hacks, but there should be no need for a hack,, selling a limited license like that is illegal, but m.s. got away with it so.....
Jordo is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 02:40 PM   #9
muzz
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Who cares.......
Posts: 1,141
muzz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by badland1
If you go into the administrative tools then services you will see what is running by default remote services,alerter etc... By turning some of these services (that you most likely won't be using anyway) off it frees up resources and potential security risks. http://www.blackviper.com and if you search around other sites have more info!
Yep Bads, thats what I did , wasn't sure what you were asking me. Gotta get rid of the resource hogging BS, and it runs mint.
__________________
I'd rather be golfin'
muzz is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 03:10 PM   #10
m$-MaNiAC
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Netherlands @Home
Posts: 1,298
m$-MaNiAC is still being judged by the masses


Red face

Windows 98????

what is that?

using only Windows NT based OS for 3 years now...

- Windows 2000
- Windows XP
- Windows .NET

;-)

Last edited by m$-MaNiAC : Jul 24, 2002 at 04:47 PM.
m$-MaNiAC is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 03:22 PM   #11
badland1
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Badlands,Alta.
Posts: 190
badland1 is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by muzz


Yep Bads, thats what I did , wasn't sure what you were asking me. Gotta get rid of the resource hogging BS, and it runs mint.
Good to hear! "What" Billys got something to tell all of us! http://www.theforumisdown.com/upload...0702/Billy.jpg
badland1 is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 03:33 PM   #12
muzz
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Who cares.......
Posts: 1,141
muzz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by badland1
Good to hear! "What" Billys got something to tell all of us! http://www.theforumisdown.com/upload...0702/Billy.jpg
http://www.theforumisdown.com/redx.gif

Down.
__________________
I'd rather be golfin'
muzz is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 04:36 PM   #13
rayzian
brokestatus
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,599
rayzian is still being judged by the masses


Default

what services did you guys disable?

honestly, i have no idea which ones to disable..
__________________
and we did nothing, absolutely nothing
rayzian is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 04:50 PM   #14
Comics
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 7
Comics is still being judged by the masses


Default

I wouldn't be surprised if there was no DirectX 9 for 98, as MS is trying to phase out 98 for the same reasons they don't support NT 4 anymore.
Comics is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 05:17 PM   #15
badland1
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Badlands,Alta.
Posts: 190
badland1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by razbir
what services did you guys disable?

honestly, i have no idea which ones to disable..
Here's a few guides with more insight! This really should be in the operating system forum though! http://www.deviantpc.com/forums/show...&threadid=1926 http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,3973,10918,00.asp http://www.3dspotlight.com/tweaks/wi...rvices-3.shtml
badland1 is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 05:36 PM   #16
badland1
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Badlands,Alta.
Posts: 190
badland1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Comics
I wouldn't be surprised if there was no DirectX 9 for 98, as MS is trying to phase out 98 for the same reasons they don't support NT 4 anymore.
I think they will be releasing dx9 final version with the final version of sp1 for xp.
badland1 is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 06:15 PM   #17
Nagorak
Incarnation of the Nether
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Amanackia
Posts: 12,191
Nagorak can recite pi backwardsNagorak can recite pi backwardsNagorak can recite pi backwardsNagorak can recite pi backwardsNagorak can recite pi backwardsNagorak can recite pi backwardsNagorak can recite pi backwards


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Comics
I wouldn't be surprised if there was no DirectX 9 for 98, as MS is trying to phase out 98 for the same reasons they don't support NT 4 anymore.
Because they realize it's a better OS than all of the invasive PoS they've released since?
Nagorak is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 06:44 PM   #18
kegking
LOL MOD ABUSE
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Howling carnivorous stump monster planet
Posts: 1,990
kegking is still being judged by the masses


Default

My .02

Every current OS I’ve wanted to upgrade to the next (3.11->95->98/SE->ME (50 bucks who could complain!!)->XP). But until some major (next best) thing comes up I’m going to stick with XP (PRO). Where w2k focused mostly on stability (at the coast of home usability) XP has that right balance or backdoors, exploits and backwards compatibility.
__________________
| Athlon 2400+ | 1GB XMS DDR |
|MSI K7N2 Delta | Radeon 9700 PRO |
| Nvidia Onboard sound | WD 120GB SE |
| Lite-on 24102B | Pioneer DVD-115 |
------------------------
7/7/04 NEVAR FORGET
kegking is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 07:06 PM   #19
Dyre Straits
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 4,107
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Question

What is it about Windows ME that makes it that much different from 98SE?
I've had a ME CD for a while, but, from all I've read about it - and from the experience of those I know who used it (notice past tense), I decided to stick with 98SE.

Once XP's SP1 is released, I may, at that time, or soon afterwards, give some serious consideration to getting it. However, I would be getting mine via the purchase of a newer computer. It's been over two years since my last major CPU/Motherboard upgrade, so it's way past my usual time span for doing so. This way I get a new system that comes with XP and don't have to lay out separate funds for it.

Dyre Straits
__________________
~Windows 10 x64 Professional~Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H~Intel I7-3770K~8x2 GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistic 1600 RAM (Dual Channel)~RealTek Onboard~XFX R9 390 8GB GDDR5~3 Acer 27 inch LCDs~SCEPTRE 505 4K UHD TVand one Sanyo 32 inch HDTV connected via Intel onboard GPU~SATA BluRay RW~1000 W PSU~And a Whole Lot More!~AND....1 TB XBOX ONE~1 PS4 with Uncharted Bundle~

Quote:
If you have an issue with what you said, please resolve it in private ;)
Dyre Straits is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 07:21 PM   #20
X-Modach
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 492
X-Modach is still being judged by the masses


Default

No support for 98SE?

Damn, gotta pirate another OS.
__________________
Got Radeon?
X-Modach is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 08:22 PM   #21
BillGtheIV
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 202
BillGtheIV is still being judged by the masses


Default It might be true

I can see that how it might NOT be officially supported. There's not a HUGE difference between 95 & 98 (granted the difference between 98 & ME is a lot less), but DirectX 8.1 DOES say that it does not support windows 95.

So there is a precedent.
__________________
"But what...is it good for?"
- Engineer at the Advanced Computing Systems Division of IBM, 1968, commenting on the microchip

AMD Athlon64 3000+
1GB RAM
ATI All-in-Wonder® X800 XT
Windows XP
BillGtheIV is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 08:35 PM   #22
Rancidm
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 274
Rancidm is still being judged by the masses


Default

Get a real OS
__________________
My System:
Intel Pentium IV 3.0c
Intel D875PBZ Motherboard
2x512MB Crucial Ballastix
All-in-Wonder X800XL AGP
M-audio Revolution 5.1
2x 36gig WD Raptor (Raid 0)
1x 200gig Seagate 7200.7
Windows XP Pro
Rancidm is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 09:50 PM   #23
SilentSnipeR
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia :)
Posts: 621
SilentSnipeR is still being judged by the masses


Default

you people are dumb. did you even see my post above? :/
Win98 and Win95 uses the VXD system to make drivers. From what it looks like, ATI are sick of using that system to support an aging os, so they've moved to the WDM system of making drivers. WinME drivers will work for Win98SE, becuase it uses the WDM system. The ifirst edition of Win98 unfortunetly dosen't.
SilentSnipeR is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 10:14 PM   #24
AKDUDE
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 137
AKDUDE is still being judged by the masses


Default

AKDUDE is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 10:25 PM   #25
BillGtheIV
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 202
BillGtheIV is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SilentSnipeR
you people are dumb. did you even see my post above? :/
Win98 and Win95 uses the VXD system to make drivers. From what it looks like, ATI are sick of using that system to support an aging os, so they've moved to the WDM system of making drivers. WinME drivers will work for Win98SE, becuase it uses the WDM system. The ifirst edition of Win98 unfortunetly dosen't.
If that is the only reason, why did they not support Win95 with DX8.1? Obviously, MS is trying to move away from the older OSs altogether. I'm just surprised they included WinME support for the card.
__________________
"But what...is it good for?"
- Engineer at the Advanced Computing Systems Division of IBM, 1968, commenting on the microchip

AMD Athlon64 3000+
1GB RAM
ATI All-in-Wonder® X800 XT
Windows XP
BillGtheIV is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 10:35 PM   #26
GarfBond
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 129
GarfBond is still being judged by the masses


Default

See this page: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/lifecycle.asp?gssnb=1

Microsoft is putting Windows 98 in "extended phase," which means they are ending free support for these products. You can still buy support from them though. By next year, Microsoft is going to throwing 98 in the "salvage" pile. So it is entirely possible that MS themselves will stop supporting 98 very soon, possibly encouraging ATI to stop supporting 98.
GarfBond is offline  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 10:54 PM   #27
BillGtheIV
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 202
BillGtheIV is still being judged by the masses


Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by SilentSnipeR
you people are dumb. did you even see my post above? :/
Win98 and Win95 uses the VXD system to make drivers. From what it looks like, ATI are sick of using that system to support an aging os, so they've moved to the WDM system of making drivers. WinME drivers will work for Win98SE, becuase it uses the WDM system. The ifirst edition of Win98 unfortunetly dosen't.
Since when? Why can you use Win 98 (first edition) drivers in Win ME systems and vice versa? (except of course for some things like USB) And CANNOT use Win2000 drivers in ME?

Because they both use the VxD format!

The only difference is that Win ME has more checks to see if the drivers are digitally signed or not. Otherwise, they are the same stuff.

Before you call people stupid, check your facts
__________________
"But what...is it good for?"
- Engineer at the Advanced Computing Systems Division of IBM, 1968, commenting on the microchip

AMD Athlon64 3000+
1GB RAM
ATI All-in-Wonder® X800 XT
Windows XP
BillGtheIV is offline  
Old Jul 25, 2002, 12:05 AM   #28
ss1
Java Beans
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In the deepest dark depths of space far away from civilisation. This place is only know as "Aberystwyth UK"......
Posts: 736
ss1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Win98 SE if I recall correclty only has WDM 1.0 which was MS's test bed for WDM. However ME, Win2K, and WinXP all feature WDM 2.0 (IIRC) and hence allowing a company to realse one driver file to support three OS's at once.


Proof:

http://www.turtlebeach.com/site/kb_ftp/585ftp.asp

Turtle Beach for their Santa Cruz sound card only use's one Driver file to support ME, Win2K and WinXP, whilst the Win98 SE WDM driver is kept seperate.

ss1.
__________________
[size=0.08]CPU: Athlon XP 1600+ w/ Zalaman CPNS6000-AlCU HSF
OS: Windows 2000 Pro SP4
Mobo: MSI K7T266 pro 2 RU
VideoCard: Gainward Geforce4 Ti4400 128mb DDR ViVO
Monitor: LG 915FT+ Flatron 19" 1600x1200 @ 85hz & LG Flatron LCD 563LE 1,024x768 @ 75hz
RAM: 512MB DDR
Storage: 2 x 40Gb Segate Barracuda IV's (7,200 rpm), 20Gb Segate U6 (5,200 rpm), Zip 250 IDE, Pioneer 16x DVD, Sony 32x10x40 CD-RW
SoundCard: Turtle Beach Santa Cruz (5.1 Digital) & SB Audigy Player (4.1 Analouge)
Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DTT3500 5.1 Digital + Sony MDR-V150 Headphones[/size]
ss1 is offline  
Old Jul 25, 2002, 12:08 AM   #29
BillGtheIV
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 202
BillGtheIV is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ss1
Win98 SE if I recall correclty only has WDM 1.0 which was MS's test bed for WDM. However ME, Win2K, and WinXP all feature WDM 2.0 (IIRC) and hence allowing a company to realse one driver file to support three OS's at once.


Proof:

http://www.turtlebeach.com/site/kb_ftp/585ftp.asp

Turtle Beach for their Santa Cruz sound card only use's one Driver file to support ME, Win2K and WinXP, whilst the Win98 SE WDM driver is kept seperate.

ss1.
win me, though, still uses the win9x Vxd as well.

Proof?

Same web site as you put in, I got this line

s481me9x.zip 20670457 03-27-01 WINDOWS 9x, ME | VxD drivers v.4081 |
__________________
"But what...is it good for?"
- Engineer at the Advanced Computing Systems Division of IBM, 1968, commenting on the microchip

AMD Athlon64 3000+
1GB RAM
ATI All-in-Wonder® X800 XT
Windows XP
BillGtheIV is offline  
Old Jul 25, 2002, 12:21 AM   #30
night
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: houston
Posts: 10,696
night can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultynight can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by X-Modach
No support for 98SE?

Damn, gotta pirate another OS.

and i gotta swap out my key
night is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win98 Phone & Update Support Ended Lupine Front Page News 15 Jul 20, 2006 05:39 PM
Win98 Support for x800? komtron AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 8 Jul 9, 2004 01:53 PM
No more WHQL support for Win98. . . Ostsol Radeon Technical Support 3 Jul 25, 2002 02:02 PM
looks like no Win98 support... amirk999 Radeon Technical Support 99 Jul 23, 2002 05:07 PM
Mr B. any news on 8500AIW no WIN98 support? aa004 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 27 Sep 5, 2001 12:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink