Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 22, 2008, 08:49 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
kivan
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 29
kivan is still being judged by the masses


Default Switchable Graphics By ATI and LENOVO

Check this out!

http://lenovoblogs.com/insidethebox/?p=154


this is really reat news, after Ati push Puma with eXternal Graphics Platform.

This make a second Win for the mobile Red (and Green-AMD) Team.

Even without considering the Mobile chipset fiasco from NVIDIA


Great Work Guys!


The cherry on top o the cake should be the implementation of CUDA in HD3XXX and HD4XXX, ro say "the King is Dead Long live the new King"
kivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 10:47 AM   #2
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,533
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

CUDA is not coming to Radeons. But OpenCL is.

Quote:
Lenovo’s implementation is different. We worked with ATI and Intel to develop a system where the user could dynamically swap over from one graphics subsystem to another without having to reboot his/her system. By simply clicking our battery gauge on ThinkPad Power Manager, a user can switch from integrated to discrete modes with 2 – 4 seconds. Though there is a warning that some applications fuss when going from graphics mode to graphics mode, in practical use, most of them behave just fine.

This is one of the primary reasons we switched from nVIDIA graphics back to ATI graphics on our ThinkPad Montevina products. nVIDIA just didn’t have this technology available.
Sounds like the tech works with Intel and ATI. IE: Intel IGP with a Radeon discrete. Correction, Nvidia does have the technology, but again, they are a Proprietor locking the technology to their power hungry chipsets(and only works on AMD platforms anyway).
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 10:49 AM   #3
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kivan View Post
implementation of CUDA in HD3XXX and HD4XXX
Nothing in that blog suggests CUDA running on ATi, so why are you bringing it up?


Switchable graphics sounds good for Vista users. I'm sure nVidia will have an implementation of hybrid SLI soon for notebooks.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Aug 22, 2008, 08:20 PM   #4
kivan
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 29
kivan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Nothing in that blog suggests CUDA running on ATi, so why are you bringing it up?


Switchable graphics sounds good for Vista users. I'm sure nVidia will have an implementation of hybrid SLI soon for notebooks.
Yes you are right, it´s only an whish!

The the rumour implementation of "regeneration" guy, seems to be death...

What i has trying to say is: the only thing that still missing in ATI is the implementation of CUDA or other kind of physics. ( Ati is promissing that since Ati R500).
kivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2008, 10:27 PM   #5
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Intel bought and squashed Havok FX, which was going to be the GPU implementation of AMD ATi physics support AFAIK.

But this has nothing to do with Lenovo's switching to ATi mobile GPU's.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lenovo Sale 22%~25% off! till Oct 31st 0091/2 General Hardware 1 Oct 26, 2007 06:01 PM
Lenovo in Talks to Buy Packard Bell Android1 Front Page News 1 Aug 8, 2007 02:51 PM
Lenovo to Preload ThinkPads with Linux Android1 Front Page News 0 Aug 6, 2007 01:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink