Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 10, 2005, 08:24 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
{DRB}DannyBoy
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 17
{DRB}DannyBoy is still being judged by the masses


Default CATALYST Control Center Vs Control Panels?

what is the deff. between CATALYST Control Center and Control Panels?
which one do i need?
i have 9800 np
{DRB}DannyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2005, 09:31 PM   #2
terror_adagio
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 257
terror_adagio is still being judged by the masses


Default

The original is better. That is all.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 240x11 2640GHz
Thermalright XP-90C & Panaflo 92mm Ultra
DFI LANPARTY UT NF3 ULTRA-D 711 BIOS
OCZ ModStream EZMod 520W
2GB (2x1024) Corsair TWINX XMS PC3200 2.5-3-2-6-1T
ATI Radeon X800 XT Platinum Edition 256MB
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
2x Western Digital 160GB SE RAID-0
Windows XP Professional SP2
terror_adagio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 06:45 AM   #3
DivotMaker
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,070
DivotMaker is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terror_adagio
The original is better. That is all.
That is a matter of opinion, isn't it?

I disagree with yours. I like the CCC and refuse to go backwards...
DivotMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 11, 2005, 07:08 AM   #4
daPhoenix
Snow White Nurse
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Finland European Union
Posts: 13,048
daPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivotMaker
That is a matter of opinion, isn't it?

I disagree with yours. I like the CCC and refuse to go backwards...
I like my panel to open in 1 second rather then wait a minute
__________________
:: We are all the sum of our tears.
:: Too little and the ground is not fertile and nothing can grow there.
:: Too much and best of us is washed away.
daPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 09:09 AM   #5
crunchysuperman
Idiot
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States Giant Bucket
Posts: 1,293
crunchysuperman is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by {DRB}DannyBoy
what is the deff. between CATALYST Control Center and Control Panels?
which one do i need?
i have 9800 np

I wouldn't know. For me, one works and the other never has.
crunchysuperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 09:56 AM   #6
SmuvMoney
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 627
SmuvMoney is still being judged by the masses


Default

I use the CCC. It is slower than the CP to be honest. The only problem I have had with it so far is the following: I have to apply my profiles twice for them to take. I can duplicate it somewhat consistently. When this happens, I usually have to restart the runtime. I'll have to report it to ATi again as it continues to happen in the 5.3 CCC set. YMMV (your mileage may vary).
__________________
Peace & God Bless,

$muvMoney
John 14:27 & Numbers 6:24

Athlon 64 3500+ 939 | Epox 9NDA3+ | 1 GB Corsair XMS RAM | Gigabyte X800 XT PE | Audigy 2 ZS | Samsung SATA 120 GB HD
3com Etherlink 3C905C-TX | USR 56K PCI Modem | Thermaltake Tsumani Case | Thermaltake Silent Purepower 410W PSU
SmuvMoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 10:13 AM   #7
N-Rage
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 452
N-Rage is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by {DRB}DannyBoy
what is the deff. between CATALYST Control Center and Control Panels?
which one do i need?
i have 9800 np
One is responsive, fast and has all necessary functionality (if you miss profiles get Radlinker), the other bulky, ugly, buggy and takes away ATIs time to work on their drivers - there more bugfixes for CCC in the Release notes than anything else
__________________
The less you know about computers the more you want Microsoft! - 1996 Microsoft ad campaign
N-Rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 10:15 AM   #8
[email protected]
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Mississauga,Ontario
Posts: 227
Makaveli@BETA is still being judged by the masses


Default

CCC is total bloatware, and uses up way to much memory. Use the control panel, if u want all the features CCC has just installed ATI tray tools done DEAL!
NEXT!
Makaveli@BETA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 10:16 AM   #9
False Christian
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 1,225
False Christian is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

I never load the CCC and will always stick with the good ol' CP as it does what I need it to do and works fast and flawlessly, know what I'm sayin'?
False Christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 11:03 AM   #10
jsimmons
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 274
jsimmons is still being judged by the masses


Default

So what do you get in CCC that you don't get in CP. Limit your answers to things that affect the performance of the card, or the functioanlity of the drivers. I'm not interested in "skins" or other non-applicable itms. Unless it actually comes with either the CP or CCC, do not include it in your list.

I absolutely despise .NET, and I don't think too highly of apps that use it either. I would need a VERY compelling reason to move to CCC.
__________________
EPoX P9NA3 Ultra (BIOS 11/2005) AMD64 X2 4200 Patriot PDC1G3200+XBLK at 2-2-2-5-1T (2gb) eVGA 8800GTX (driver v97.02) 200gb IDE, 80gb IDE 2x 160gb SATA Enermax 485w Thermaltake 485w MountainMods UFO2 Case
jsimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 01:18 PM   #11
acroig
Troll SMod
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 57,800
acroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

Or one could just use this tool and nothing else!

http://www.radeon2.ru/atitray/
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 02:29 PM   #12
DivotMaker
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,070
DivotMaker is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daPhoenix
I like my panel to open in 1 second rather then wait a minute
Wonder why mine opens in just a couple of seconds longer than yours...?
DivotMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 02:35 PM   #13
Jaillum Malord
Simplify Mufugha
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom Somewhere Else
Posts: 1,649
Jaillum Malord can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyJaillum Malord can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I've used bother and each has their disadvantages. CP is cluttered, while CCC is unessesarily big, takes ages to load and has all these useless eye-candy [i disable them anyway]. I've got CP installed at the moment after some time with CCC but i don't use CP or CCC to tweak my gfx settings. I use radlinker and i'll be damned if i'm ever going back
__________________
"One moment please"

Jaillum Malord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 08:34 PM   #14
Blacklash
Che cazzo stai dicendo?
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Old Vizima
Posts: 1,992
Blacklash is still being judged by the masses


Default

I vote old CP plus ATi Tray Tools for teh win!
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2005, 04:20 AM   #15
UDHA
Clbuttic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 11,943
UDHA is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaillum Malord
I've used bother and each has their disadvantages. CP is cluttered, while CCC is unessesarily big, takes ages to load and has all these useless eye-candy [i disable them anyway]. I've got CP installed at the moment after some time with CCC but i don't use CP or CCC to tweak my gfx settings. I use radlinker and i'll be damned if i'm ever going back
RadLinker =
__________________
The strong man is the one who is able to intercept at will the communication between the senses and the mind.
~ Napoleon Bonaparte (1769 - 1821)

First they came for the communists, and I did not speak out—because I was not a communist;
Then they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—because I was not a socialist;
Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out—because I was not a trade unionist;
Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—because I was not a Jew;
Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak out for me.
By the late 1980s, Stallman had refined it to a more simple mnemonic:
"Don't think free as in free beer; think free as in [freedom]."
UDHA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2005, 04:29 AM   #16
daPhoenix
Snow White Nurse
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Finland European Union
Posts: 13,048
daPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivotMaker
Wonder why mine opens in just a couple of seconds longer than yours...?
Well, maybe a little shorter than a minute, but in truth CCC is horribly bloated, the UI is grotesque and slow and it requires .NET which I have no use for.

And it offers nothing new so..
__________________
:: We are all the sum of our tears.
:: Too little and the ground is not fertile and nothing can grow there.
:: Too much and best of us is washed away.
daPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2005, 03:26 PM   #17
BadKarma!
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Derbyshire, England.
Posts: 6
BadKarma! is still being judged by the masses


Default

I use the CP, basically because I can't be arsed with more windows updates than necessary. The CCC looks sweet though.
BadKarma! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2005, 03:59 PM   #18
DivotMaker
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,070
DivotMaker is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daPhoenix
Well, maybe a little shorter than a minute, but in truth CCC is horribly bloated, the UI is grotesque and slow and it requires .NET which I have no use for.

And it offers nothing new so..
56 seconds slower than a minute on average...

Bloated? Not going to argue.

UI grotesque? Subjective opinion. You are entitled to it, but not everyone agrees with you.

I do have a use for .NET.

I feel it is an advancement over the old CP and seeing as how it is in it's infancy, I think it is a nice feature. At least you still have the option of which CP to use....

Oh well, you know what they say about opinions........
DivotMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2005, 04:29 PM   #19
jsimmons
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 274
jsimmons is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivotMaker
I do have a use for .NET.
For what? As the filesystem's version of a boat anchor?
__________________
EPoX P9NA3 Ultra (BIOS 11/2005) AMD64 X2 4200 Patriot PDC1G3200+XBLK at 2-2-2-5-1T (2gb) eVGA 8800GTX (driver v97.02) 200gb IDE, 80gb IDE 2x 160gb SATA Enermax 485w Thermaltake 485w MountainMods UFO2 Case
jsimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2005, 05:02 PM   #20
DivotMaker
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,070
DivotMaker is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsimmons
For what? As the filesystem's version of a boat anchor?
While it is really none of your business as to why, there are some XBox forums that I do enjoy from time to time and they do require a .NET account to access them. While it is not the best reason in the world to have it installed, MS is moving in that direction and I don't have time to sit around and ***** about it. Fair enough?
DivotMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2005, 07:14 PM   #21
Sonic4
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 124
Sonic4 is still being judged by the masses


Talking

I haven't had a problem with the CCC since Cat 5.2 drivers. I am presently running on windows XP Pro and the CCC opens quick enough for me. But then, obviously, I am using an Althon 64 3500+ with 1GB PC3200 Ram and a 7200 RPM WD HD.

Sonic4
IT Consultant
Sonic4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2005, 11:26 PM   #22
MikeEx
ಠ_ಠ
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United States Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 1,686
MikeEx is still being judged by the masses


Default

right clicking on the ati tray icon to change 3d settings, < 1 second
__________________
.
MikeEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2005, 12:23 AM   #23
byron_hinson
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 84
byron_hinson is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivotMaker
While it is really none of your business as to why, there are some XBox forums that I do enjoy from time to time and they do require a .NET account to access them. While it is not the best reason in the world to have it installed, MS is moving in that direction and I don't have time to sit around and ***** about it. Fair enough?
Not being an arse but .NET accounts and the Microsoft .NET Framework are two different things all together.
__________________
Byron Hinson
Microsoft MVP
http://www.activewin.com
byron_hinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2005, 02:34 PM   #24
Dragunov
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 311
Dragunov is still being judged by the masses


Default

It is good they did start at CCC, cause once Longhorn is released, it is all .net, so they need to be prepared

Now it is time to do it, that is why they have CP and CCC, CCC is more an experiment, I guess, to see what people think about it

If they start with CCC once Longhorn is arrived, it is too late

Greetz

Dragunov
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2005, 05:30 PM   #25
Da`Nacho
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 387
Da`Nacho is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivotMaker
While it is really none of your business as to why, there are some XBox forums that I do enjoy from time to time and they do require a .NET account to access them. While it is not the best reason in the world to have it installed, MS is moving in that direction and I don't have time to sit around and ***** about it. Fair enough?
Hahahahahahah <GASP!> Bwaahahahahah....

Oh my goodness that was funny.... you just tossed every ounce of credibility you could have had with the readers of this thread. Rarely does one get a chance to see something like that happen in a single blow. I salute you, sir.
__________________
Athlon 64 3000+
DFI LanParty UT NF3250GB
2x512MB Kingston Hyper-X PC4000
BBA Radeon X800 Pro -> XT PE 256MB
blah blah blah...
Da`Nacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2005, 09:02 PM   #26
tahrikmili
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 662
tahrikmili is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daPhoenix
Well, maybe a little shorter than a minute, but in truth CCC is horribly bloated, the UI is grotesque and slow and it requires .NET which I have no use for.

And it offers nothing new so..
*whine whine whine*

Get used to life with .NET. It's a good thing (TM) and it will be there with you for the rest of your life with Windows.
__________________
AOpen H600B12 | High Power 430W | Biostar TA780G-M2+ | AMD Phenom X3 8750 | A-Data 2x 2GB PC6400 | Gecube Radeon 4850 | 2x Samsung HD300LJ SATA (RAID0) | LG GH22 | Samsung SyncMaster 932NW | Windows 7 x64
tahrikmili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2005, 11:29 PM   #27
amstehsuck
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 65
amstehsuck is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivotMaker
While it is really none of your business as to why, there are some XBox forums that I do enjoy from time to time and they do require a .NET account to access them. While it is not the best reason in the world to have it installed, MS is moving in that direction and I don't have time to sit around and ***** about it. Fair enough?
amstehsuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2005, 11:33 PM   #28
tahrikmili
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 662
tahrikmili is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have a feeling that half the people making fun of the poor guy don't have a goddamn clue about what .NET Framework does anyway. If they did, they wouldn't complain this much. Give the man a break, ffs..
__________________
AOpen H600B12 | High Power 430W | Biostar TA780G-M2+ | AMD Phenom X3 8750 | A-Data 2x 2GB PC6400 | Gecube Radeon 4850 | 2x Samsung HD300LJ SATA (RAID0) | LG GH22 | Samsung SyncMaster 932NW | Windows 7 x64
tahrikmili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 01:47 AM   #29
daPhoenix
Snow White Nurse
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Finland European Union
Posts: 13,048
daPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tahrikmili
I have a feeling that half the people making fun of the poor guy don't have a goddamn clue about what .NET Framework does anyway.
I am quite aware what you can and what you cannot do with the framework, yet I still have no use for it and I find it massively inferior to Java in the first place - whenever I have to pick between the two..

Well, let's just say a single platform independent (And no, I don't consider Mono anything other than a curious hack at best) language is a bad idea in the modern world.
__________________
:: We are all the sum of our tears.
:: Too little and the ground is not fertile and nothing can grow there.
:: Too much and best of us is washed away.
daPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 09:21 AM   #30
DivotMaker
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,070
DivotMaker is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tahrikmili
I have a feeling that half the people making fun of the poor guy don't have a goddamn clue about what .NET Framework does anyway. If they did, they wouldn't complain this much. Give the man a break, ffs..
Thanks for the kind words. While I am no programmer and certainly admit that I do not know the ins and outs of what .NET does, the intent of my posts have been very simple and clear:

ATI has chosen .NET for the backbone of CCC for the future. You can sit around, complain and criticize all you want, but that is not going to change things. At some point you likely won't have a choice, so you might as well get comfortable with .NET....or find a card that does not use .NET. Very simple.
DivotMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Catalyst Control Center AndyR AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 3 Oct 9, 2007 05:38 AM
Cat 5.6 w/ Control Panel vs. 5.6 w/ CATALYST Control Center CaliforniaRaisin AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 6 Jul 12, 2005 04:59 PM
Catalyst Control Center is bye bye ??? azzu AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 15 Nov 14, 2004 07:04 AM
Catalyst Control Center Bug bhanja_Trinanjan AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 4 Oct 22, 2004 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink