Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 17, 2020, 09:21 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Thr0tt
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom UK
Posts: 4,852
Thr0tt can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyThr0tt can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default R390 Upgrade ?

Is it worth upgrading to RX590 over my existing card R390 or should I be setting my sights higher ?
__________________
Specs: Asus Z170-A Mobo | Intel i7-6700k 4GHz | Sapphire RX5600XT Pulse 6G | 16GB DDR4 3000MHz PC4-22400 | Hanns-G HH281 28" LCD | Thrustmaster Hotas X Joystick | Win10 Pro
Thr0tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2020, 10:04 AM   #2
Seyiji
Team 🌙 Moon
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manches Manchesville
Posts: 13,859
Seyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thr0tt View Post
Is it worth upgrading to RX590 over my existing card R390 or should I be setting my sights higher ?
Higher. Wait until RDNA2 and see what comes of it and if its too much you should at least be able to pick up a 5700 XT on the cheap.
__________________
,____,
[^_^]
/)___)

-"---"-
Rage3D PC Gaming Hit-List
Official PC Gaming Deals Thread
Has the above thread been misplaced/renamed/merged/stickied/locked? Well then there's a doins transpirin! Find the tome and bring forth the sacrifice to restore peace and order.
"VIAGRA FALLS, slowly I turned, and step by step, inch by inch, I walked up to him, I smashed him, I hit him, I bonked him, I bopped him, I socked him and I mashed his face and I knocked him down."
Seyiji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2020, 12:31 PM   #3
Thr0tt
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom UK
Posts: 4,852
Thr0tt can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyThr0tt can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Ok cheers. Will wait.
__________________
Specs: Asus Z170-A Mobo | Intel i7-6700k 4GHz | Sapphire RX5600XT Pulse 6G | 16GB DDR4 3000MHz PC4-22400 | Hanns-G HH281 28" LCD | Thrustmaster Hotas X Joystick | Win10 Pro
Thr0tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 18, 2020, 08:21 AM   #4
MasterGoa
Life is not a task.
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Dave .
Posts: 31,159
MasterGoa once jumped the English ChannelMasterGoa once jumped the English ChannelMasterGoa once jumped the English ChannelMasterGoa once jumped the English ChannelMasterGoa once jumped the English ChannelMasterGoa once jumped the English ChannelMasterGoa once jumped the English ChannelMasterGoa once jumped the English ChannelMasterGoa once jumped the English ChannelMasterGoa once jumped the English ChannelMasterGoa once jumped the English Channel


Default

This helps a lot

https://www.3dmark.com/newsearch

Put in your cpu and then check out different GPUs...
MasterGoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2020, 12:34 PM   #5
Thr0tt
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom UK
Posts: 4,852
Thr0tt can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyThr0tt can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Nice one thanks
__________________
Specs: Asus Z170-A Mobo | Intel i7-6700k 4GHz | Sapphire RX5600XT Pulse 6G | 16GB DDR4 3000MHz PC4-22400 | Hanns-G HH281 28" LCD | Thrustmaster Hotas X Joystick | Win10 Pro
Thr0tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2020, 12:21 AM   #6
Sasquach
2/10 will not bang
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Canada Cowtown
Posts: 25,945
Sasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

i like using this for a comparison tool:
https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...rchy,4388.html

Basically just lists GPU's and there relative performance from best to worst.

The older chart is near the bottom and it listed damn near every GPU in existence and where it sat on the hierarchy. I just find mine, and make sure any new GPU i plan to get is listed higher than it, maybe 2 tiers above to make it a worthwhile upgrade
__________________
------Squachbox 2.0------
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 full size aluminum chassis
PC Power & Cooling Silencer Quad Blue 750watt PSU
AMD Ryzen 5 2600X @ 3.6ghz
Asus Prime B450M A/CSM
2 x 8GB G-Skill DDR4 2666
Dell E2210 (22" widescreen) monitor + AMD Radeon R9 290
Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200.12 SATA
Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA
Sennheiser PC350 Xense edition headset
Sasquach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could R290 be flashed to R390/x jesdals AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 5 Jun 24, 2015 03:06 PM
If I buy an OEM copy of WinXP now, and use the upgrade coupon to upgrade to Vista... genci88 Operating Systems 1 Jan 11, 2007 12:08 AM
Best CPU upgrade possible?(or How to Convince Limiting Stepdads To Upgrade) NamelessPlayer General Hardware 1 Oct 14, 2004 04:06 PM
Need R390, Not The Sad 9800-Pro/256mb Labrador AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 11 May 13, 2003 07:44 PM
Would you upgrade or keep the 8500 with newest drivers, or upgrade regardless? friskyolive AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 6 Dec 9, 2001 09:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink