Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 26, 2006, 08:43 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Metaluna
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 441
Metaluna is still being judged by the masses


Default Regular PCIe card in PCIe graphics slot

If I have an SLI/Crossfire-supporting motherboard with the secondary graphics slot unused, is it generally possible to plug a regular PCIe x1 peripheral card (say an eSATA or 1394 controller, for example) into the slot? Or is there something special about them that makes them only usable for video cards? Is there any general rule of thumb about this or does it vary from one mobo model to another?
Metaluna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2006, 08:46 AM   #2
00ber_m00
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 555
00ber_m00 is still being judged by the masses


Default

A PCIe card will physically fit (and work correctly) in any slot that is at least as large as it is (e.g. an x1 card will work in a x4 or x16 slot)


~Wikipedia
__________________
Asus P5b w/ Conroe e6600
Antec P180 + Scythe Ninja Plus
2gig Corsair PC6400
Sapphire RadeonX1900XT
Audigy2 Plat
Raptor 74gb ADFD
Seagate 320gb 7200.10
00ber_m00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2006, 09:57 AM   #3
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,939
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

And if you have a 4x or 16x card in a PCI-e 1x Open Ended slot, that will work also (albeit at the 1x data transfer rate).
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 26, 2006, 10:41 AM   #4
Metaluna
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 441
Metaluna is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks for the feedback. I was pretty sure that the PCIe spec allowed such things, I just wasn't sure if these graphics slots were generic PCIe or if, with the PC industry being what it is, they had been altered in some proprietary way to support Crossfire. Not that I have any non-graphics PCIe cards at the moment.
Metaluna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from PCIe x16 card to PCIe 2.0 card question Wesly Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 9 Aug 16, 2009 06:32 PM
How do I find out what PCIe slot I have? {0}Salamander{0} General Hardware 3 Oct 28, 2008 08:29 AM
Will Overvolting PCIe Slot...? Bires Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 2 Dec 9, 2006 04:20 AM
BFG GeForce 7800GTX 256MB GDDR3 PCIe Graphics Card $463 Craftwise Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 6 Jul 13, 2005 02:02 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink