Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Operating Systems
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Operating Systems Discussion topics on operating systems including all iterations of Windows, Linux, MacOS, BeOS, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 25, 2004, 05:06 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
EArcher
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 134
EArcher is still being judged by the masses


Default question about registry

hey i have a HDD hooked up as slave to mine, it has windows on it and when i set it to masterit wont boot. I need to get some stuff off it so i was wondering is there any way to access the registry of that windows while its hooked up as a slave to my drive so i can get some stuff from its registry???
__________________
A7N8X-E Deluxe,Athlon XP 3000+ Barton,Thermalright SLK-900a, 1GB Cosair XMS,Radeon AIW 9600XT, TDK 32/10/40, TDK 440N DVD Burner,200GB Western Digital 8MB,80GB WD 7200rpm, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS,Win XP PRO SP1

Last edited by EArcher : Sep 3, 2004 at 07:55 AM.
EArcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2004, 02:32 AM   #2
MoRTiZ
Hibernating
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,224
MoRTiZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ouch... try breaking up your sentences next time.
Had a hard time reading and understanding it and I still don't fully understand your question.
__________________
AMD XP 2600+ | Powercolor 9800Pro 128mb (400/350)
Epox 8RDA3+ Nforce2 Ultra 400 | 1 Gig DDR 400 Ram [Dual Channel]
WinXP SP2 | Seagate Barracuda 160g + 80g Hdd
Liteon 16x Dvdrom/52x CDR | Pioneer 107D 8x DVDR
Logitech Z-640 5.1 Speakers | Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
Logitech MX500 Mouse | Logitech Keyboard Elite
MoRTiZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2004, 04:51 PM   #3
EArcher
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 134
EArcher is still being judged by the masses


Default

how can i access the registry (from a different version of windows)without using regedit and what file is the registry stored in ?
__________________
A7N8X-E Deluxe,Athlon XP 3000+ Barton,Thermalright SLK-900a, 1GB Cosair XMS,Radeon AIW 9600XT, TDK 32/10/40, TDK 440N DVD Burner,200GB Western Digital 8MB,80GB WD 7200rpm, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS,Win XP PRO SP1

Last edited by EArcher : Aug 29, 2004 at 10:51 PM.
EArcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Aug 27, 2004, 08:28 PM   #4
Mikael Willberg
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tampere / Finland
Posts: 42
Mikael Willberg is still being judged by the masses


Default

Remember to use regedt32 not regedit !


Use the following to load system data (%windir%\system32\config\*) :

Open:

- Select HKLM
- File -> Load Hive and load the hive
- Give name for the branch, I suggest using ZZHiveFilename

Save and close:

- Select HKLM
- File -> Unload Hive


The same procedure works for user's registry (%userprofile%\ntuser.dat) and substitute HKLM with HKU.

If your hive is huge and it could not be loaded, TEMPORARELY increase the maximum size of the registry:

System Properties -> Advanced -> Performance -> Virtual Memory -> Change -> Maximum Registry Size


Mig
Mikael Willberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2004, 10:43 PM   #5
EArcher
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 134
EArcher is still being judged by the masses


Default

doing that wont mess with my current registry at all right??
cant you only use regedit32 in windows XP??
__________________
A7N8X-E Deluxe,Athlon XP 3000+ Barton,Thermalright SLK-900a, 1GB Cosair XMS,Radeon AIW 9600XT, TDK 32/10/40, TDK 440N DVD Burner,200GB Western Digital 8MB,80GB WD 7200rpm, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS,Win XP PRO SP1

Last edited by EArcher : Aug 29, 2004 at 10:50 PM.
EArcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Registry Question, please help chev1 Radeon Technical Support 2 Mar 13, 2002 08:49 PM
registry edit question? paun Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 7 Mar 5, 2001 03:28 PM
another registry question :P Lindset Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 3 Feb 5, 2001 01:30 PM
registry question.. :) Lindset Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 2 Feb 5, 2001 12:58 AM
Registry Question? Tyr-Sog Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 9 Nov 19, 2000 01:09 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink