Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 22, 2003, 05:45 AM   #61
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
GeCcO
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tromsř, Norway
Posts: 27
GeCcO is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GeCcO
I have a problem with the Dawn demo, its all black/dark

Does someone have any idea what causes the problem ?, and how to fix it ?
GeCcO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 05:46 AM   #62
Menel
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 272
Menel is still being judged by the masses


Default

no problems at all here, looks great....nice job on this patch
__________________
ABIT IT7 MAX2r2 - 2.4B GHz - 1024MB DDR - Enermax 431W
BBA Radeon 9700 PRO - Fortissimo III
Lite-On DVD 16x - PlexWriter 52x - TDK DVDwriter 4x
IDE: MAX80, WD60, WD60 - SATA: MAX160, MAX160
Menel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 05:59 AM   #63
sunnyd
Where's my Starcraft 3?
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Houston, Texas
Posts: 645
sunnyd is still being judged by the masses


Default

hmm..someone must know what I'm missing. I want my DAWN!
sunnyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 22, 2003, 06:04 AM   #64
dan2097
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 176
dan2097 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Has anyone tested and got this working on 98se?
dan2097 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 06:20 AM   #65
Y-STU-K
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom (Derbyshire)
Posts: 1,259
Y-STU-K is still being judged by the masses


Default

This rules its not as impressive as some of the screenshots nvidia were showing :S

Photoshop Postprocessing anyone?

And the nude patch owns
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Abit AT8 32X
2Gb GSkill PC3200
ATi Radeon X1900 XTX
2x 74Gb WD Raptors in Raid0 (Windows XP)
2x 80Gb Seagates in Raid1
Y-STU-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 06:24 AM   #66
chrismm28
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 150
chrismm28 is still being judged by the masses


Default

To be honest i thing the ATI demos look better, it isnt that great really.
chrismm28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 06:33 AM   #67
quattro
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 364
quattro is still being judged by the masses


Default

what patch? are you nuts? just rename fairy.exe to 3dmark03.exe, like MrB said (or quake3.exe, if you have wings fetish).
proof:
http://www2.arnes.si/~sudahrop/images/dawn.jpg
(yes, nude polygons are legal in my country for anyone to see.)

Last edited by quattro : May 22, 2003 at 06:37 AM.
quattro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 06:34 AM   #68
Vengeance
May 2, 1965 - April 21, 2008
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Undercity
Posts: 17,017
Vengeance is still being judged by the masses


Default

Heres my 9500 Pro's best maxed out details all qaulity settings.
Heh heh she's mad because she has nothing on

__________________
eVGA nForce 680i SLi
Intel Q6600 Quad Core Stock @ 2.4GHz
nVidia 8800GTX @ stock speeds
2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 @ 800mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA2
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW
COOLER MASTER Stacker Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower
Westinghouse 22in wide screen LCD @ 1680x1050

Report a bug with the NVIDIA graphics driver.
Vengeance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 06:35 AM   #69
GeCcO
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tromsř, Norway
Posts: 27
GeCcO is still being judged by the masses


Default

what the heck is wrong with my dawn, why is it so dark???
GeCcO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:00 AM   #70
Tork64
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States California
Posts: 9,320
Tork64 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by quattro
what patch? are you nuts? just rename fairy.exe to 3dmark03.exe, like MrB said (or quake3.exe, if you have wings fetish).
proof:
http://www2.arnes.si/~sudahrop/images/dawn.jpg
(yes, nude polygons are legal in my country for anyone to see.)
cool will do that thanks.
Tork64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:06 AM   #71
Clockwork
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Wisconsin
Posts: 14,474
Clockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird sings


Default

[quote]Originally posted by DooM_BHO
[b]Heres my 9500 Pro's best maxed out details all qaulity settings.
Heh heh she's mad because she has nothing on QUOTE]

That's not very good. Run Dawn Ultra, not just plain Dawn like you did. It looks better.


HEre's another shot I took (resized from 1280x1024)

Clockwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:06 AM   #72
Dimmuxx
Evil Henchman
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In the dark nordic forest
Posts: 326
Dimmuxx is still being judged by the masses


Default

Is it possible to run it in ultra-mode? When i change the ini-file to ultra = true the demo won't run..
__________________
PC, XBOX, PS2, GC, Wii, DS & DSL
Dimmuxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:09 AM   #73
hiTCH-HiKER
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 82
hiTCH-HiKER is still being judged by the masses


Default

How did you run the ultra version? I tried to rename the args-files, but then it crashes.
hiTCH-HiKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:11 AM   #74
Clockwork
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Wisconsin
Posts: 14,474
Clockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dimmuxx
Is it possible to run it in ultra-mode? When i change the ini-file to ultra = true the demo won't run..
Dude, run it from the shortcut made in your start menu...
Works for me. (thats what I took my screenies from)
Clockwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:11 AM   #75
nabush
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rennes, FRANCE
Posts: 7
nabush is still being judged by the masses


Default

Does anyone know where i could download Matrox reef demo ?
I can't find it on fileplanet and the file is not available on matrox website....
Is there a solution ??
nabush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:15 AM   #76
Dimmuxx
Evil Henchman
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In the dark nordic forest
Posts: 326
Dimmuxx is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Clockwork
Dude, run it from the shortcut made in your start menu...
Works for me. (thats what I took my screenies from)

Haha.. Stupid me... I didn't look there..
__________________
PC, XBOX, PS2, GC, Wii, DS & DSL
Dimmuxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:27 AM   #77
XSBagage
while the world crumbles
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Belgium EU
Posts: 10,896
XSBagage can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyXSBagage can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Clockwork
Dude, run it from the shortcut made in your start menu...
Works for me. (thats what I took my screenies from)
I think he is talking about ultra mode, there are 2 modes, the ultra will probably be better, also the fairy_ultra.nmb file in the models folder is 14Mb times bigger.
__________________
Mayonaise!
XSBagage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:35 AM   #78
hiTCH-HiKER
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 82
hiTCH-HiKER is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Clockwork
Dude, run it from the shortcut made in your start menu...
Works for me. (thats what I took my screenies from)
Crashes for me in ultra mode, no matter if using the shortcut or not... DAMN DAWN

And yes, the ATI demos are better because everything is in 3D... but Dawn is sweet
hiTCH-HiKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:37 AM   #79
slunge
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: london, uk
Posts: 222
slunge is still being judged by the masses


Default

haha, nice work on this

gonna give it a whirl on mine tonight when i get in \0/
__________________
|EVGA 680i Sli||Q6600||Zalman 9500|
|8800gt ||SB Audigy 2ZS|
|Lian-Li Pc6085||2x 1024 OCZ 8500 SLi|
|160&200GB WD JD|
|600W OCZ Gamestream PSU|
|WinXP SP2|
slunge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:37 AM   #80
convert
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 869
convert is still being judged by the masses


Default

Running sweet in Ultra Mode in 1600x1200x32BPP 2x AA 8x Q.AF.

They could have made it more realistic by making the "assets" jiggly.
__________________
.convert 'there are no absolutes & there are no definites'
.intel i7-2600k .leadtek gtx460 1gb .auzen x-plosion 7.1 .msi z68a-gd65 g3 .g.skill ddr3 16gb .ocz vertex3 120gb .seasonic 850w .lancool .windows 7 enterprise x64 sp1
convert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:39 AM   #81
Clockwork
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Wisconsin
Posts: 14,474
Clockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird singsClockwork knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by XSBagage
I think he is talking about ultra mode, there are 2 modes, the ultra will probably be better, also the fairy_ultra.nmb file in the models folder is 14Mb times bigger.
Isn't that what I was telling him to do!?!?!?!

Damn..learn to read.

The demo makes 2 shortcuts:

Dawn
Dawn Ultra




Must be dumb day......
Clockwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:42 AM   #82
Tork
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Olympus Mons
Posts: 9
Tork is still being judged by the masses


Default

I wonder why it took so long for this to be released.
Tork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 07:45 AM   #83
MrB
drunk manslut
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 3,209
MrB is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sunnyd
ok..when I run the demo I get blah blah blah..needs a geforcefx
unsupported feature:
arb multisample. Makes no sense..I followed the instuctions. Copied the open gl wrapper over to the bin file. What am I missing?

ninja edit: Btw I'm using 3.1 drivers cause 3.4 cats make my the performace on some of my games go to ****.
I believe you need 3.4 to expose the proper extensions.
MrB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 08:20 AM   #84
hiTCH-HiKER
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 82
hiTCH-HiKER is still being judged by the masses


Default

Got it working, I used too much FSAA before.
Here two screenshots @ 4xAA:



hiTCH-HiKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 08:23 AM   #85
Tork
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Olympus Mons
Posts: 9
Tork is still being judged by the masses


Default

I wonder what is going through Nvidias head right now since this is now out , The dawn demo was the heart of nvidia and now its playable on ati videocard , that should tick them off really good , iam just wondering if they can do anything.
Tork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 08:27 AM   #86
Bonzai
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 191
Bonzai is still being judged by the masses


Default

Doesn't run for me. Strange that. I tried everything that the instructions said to do and nothing. Someone mentioned to uninstall and reinstall the 3.4 drivers but I don't see why one should. Ah well. Least it does work when properly enabled.
Bonzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 08:29 AM   #87
hiTCH-HiKER
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 82
hiTCH-HiKER is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bonzai
Doesn't run for me. Strange that. I tried everything that the instructions said to do and nothing. Someone mentioned to uninstall and reinstall the 3.4 drivers but I don't see why one should. Ah well. Least it does work when properly enabled.
It doesn't work using 6xAA in higher resolutions and if you start the ultra version, 4xAA only works up to 1024x768, atleast if you have a 128MB Radeon. Maybe thats why it won't work for you?
I wonder what nVidia will do now... will they take down the demo or will they change it, so that it doesn't work anymore on ATI cards?
hiTCH-HiKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 08:30 AM   #88
splinter cell
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Macao Taiwan
Posts: 176
splinter cell is still being judged by the masses


Default

I am downloading you...pretty girl
splinter cell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 08:39 AM   #89
Jazper
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 111
Jazper is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tork
I wonder what is going through Nvidias head right now since this is now out , The dawn demo was the heart of nvidia and now its playable on ati videocard , that should tick them off really good , iam just wondering if they can do anything.
There isn't really much they can do, their code isn't being modified at all, all that is happening is that it is being interpreted by a wrapper. They will probably take down the demo eventually because now its more trouble than it's worth.
Jazper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2003, 08:40 AM   #90
m$-MaNiAC
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Netherlands @Home
Posts: 1,298
m$-MaNiAC is still being judged by the masses


Default

Is there a way to remove that nV thing at the lower right corner?

Maybe a ATI thing would be nice
__________________
ASUS P5ND2-SLI ═ Pentium D 830 3,0 GHz ═ 2 GB Kingston PC4200 ═ 512 MB HD3650 ═ 160 GB SATA II ═ 24Mbit ADSL ═ Windows Vista x64 (Build 6001)
m$-MaNiAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated Dawn OpenGL Wrapper Ratchet Front Page News 5 Feb 18, 2004 09:45 PM
dawn opengl wrapper broken? Menel AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 1 Oct 12, 2003 05:31 AM
Dawn OpenGL Wrapper, kind of. Benzi_Chan AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 1 Sep 22, 2003 04:20 PM
Updated Dawn OpenGL Wrapper Ratchet AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 57 Jul 5, 2003 08:32 PM
Dawn Sleeps With ATI - Radeon R3x0 Dawn OpenGL Wrapper MrB Front Page News 0 May 22, 2003 04:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink