Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Operating Systems
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Operating Systems Discussion topics on operating systems including all iterations of Windows, Linux, MacOS, BeOS, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 18, 2007, 12:06 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Soong
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,952
Soong is still being judged by the masses


Vista: Can not select multiple files using click+drag, ctrl+click, or shift+click, or

I have been running the 64 bit version of Vista Ultimate for about 3 days now. I don’t know if I’ve had this problem from the beginning and I just noticed it or if it just started yesterday. On the desktop I can click and drag to select multiple files. I cannot do so anywhere else. In file explorer I cannot select multiple files by clicking and dragging, using ctrl+click, shift+click, ctrl+a or even through Edit > Select All (It's grayed out on the menu). I simply cannot do it. All these shortcuts work for desktop icons but at no other point can I select multiple files.

I have tried different file listings (tiles, icons, thumbnails) as well as sorting them differently and with no success.

What did I do wrong here?
Soong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2007, 12:49 PM   #2
thedoug
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States at home
Posts: 1,671
thedoug is still being judged by the masses


Default

__________________

Code:
Intel i7 980X
6GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator GT 1600MHz 6-6-6-20
2x EVGA Geforce GTX 480
Asus Rampage III Extreme
4x WD Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB RAID5
Samsung SH-S223 DVD+RW
Onkyo Receiver
Klipsch 5.1 speakers
Antec 1200 watt PSU
Mitsubish WD-60638 60 inch TV
Logitech K800 wireless backlit keyboard
Logitech M570 wireless trackball mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate Edition 64-bit

Quote:
I hear it's amazing when the famous purple stuffed worm in flap-jaw space with the tuning fork does a raw blink on Hari Kiri Rock. I need scissors! 61!
thedoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2007, 04:17 PM   #3
Soong
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,952
Soong is still being judged by the masses


Default

Tried that, no luck

Something similar is posted: here.

I found a thread about this on a site called vista64.net (click)
I made a post but unfortunately the forum is moderated so my post hasn't shown up yet.
Soong is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 18, 2007, 04:33 PM   #4
MidnightWatcher
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 295
MidnightWatcher is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hmm not sure what the issue is. It works fine for me.
__________________
ATI 3850, Vista Home Premium x64, E6600, 4GB RAM = Bliss.
MidnightWatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2007, 03:54 AM   #5
Hyrax
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somalia NJ
Posts: 29,366
Hyrax can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHyrax can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHyrax can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soong View Post
I have been running the 64 bit version of Vista Ultimate for about 3 days now. I don’t know if I’ve had this problem from the beginning and I just noticed it or if it just started yesterday. On the desktop I can click and drag to select multiple files. I cannot do so anywhere else. In file explorer I cannot select multiple files by clicking and dragging, using ctrl+click, shift+click, ctrl+a or even through Edit > Select All (It's grayed out on the menu). I simply cannot do it. All these shortcuts work for desktop icons but at no other point can I select multiple files.

I have tried different file listings (tiles, icons, thumbnails) as well as sorting them differently and with no success.

What did I do wrong here?
reboot?
__________________
The Core Value: Non-Aggression :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperNovae View Post
Origin says if you are benchmarking or something to just call and they will help you out. God the horror, those poor souls. This is the type of orwellian nightmare Alex Jones told me about.
Hyrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2007, 07:24 PM   #6
Soong
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,952
Soong is still being judged by the masses


Default

I discovered this “thread” I was reading and posting in is actually a conversation on a newsgroup that was being mirrored to vista64.net. (microsoft.public.windows.vista.file_management (news://msnews.microsoft.com if you need a news server)). Anyway, the Microsoft guy posted an updated version of his script that corrected the problem for me. http://mysite.verizon.net/res18hr7/FixSingleSelect.zip

… you know, in case anybody else runs into the problem and looks here for help.
Soong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
right-click previewing of audio files in explorer. Mystik General Software 0 Jan 20, 2011 07:28 PM
Hundreds Click on 'Click Here to Get Infected' Ad Android1 Front Page News 0 May 18, 2007 12:57 PM
Cant click and drag? GRimm862 Operating Systems 0 Mar 22, 2007 03:48 PM
Click Click Boom switchAMG Off Topic Lounge 25 Feb 23, 2007 05:54 PM
Check out my first hardware review. Logitech diNovo media desktop! CLICK CLICK! Andrew LB General Hardware 9 Jan 23, 2004 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink