Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support » AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support Discussion and support forum for all of the All-In-Wonder Radeon cards, the TV-Wonder, Remote Wonder I and II, the new HDTV Wonder, and basically anything with VIVO support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 9, 2001, 05:36 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
kinney
old school ownage
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Chicago
Posts: 213
kinney is still being judged by the masses


Exclamation MMC7.5-Everything but transparency?

I am using a visiontek GTS with a tv wonder pci card. GTS drivers are 23.11, the tv wonder drivers are from the 7.1 program, I'm using MMC 7.5. Everything works great besides blended mode when I click on it nothing shows up and when I turn it back off it comes back like normal.

OK, now another guy told me to enable the TV Tuner fix in additional propertys in my nvidia drivers. But I don't have that option in my drivers, I believe i did at one time, in very old drivers but I haven't seen that for a long time.

I think for everyone having the problem with having to click on the desktop to get MMC to come up undistorted that is the problem fix. Its also why we don't get transparency either.
People say that the problem was fixed in nvidias new drivers and some report it working, but I have no such fix in mine!

Anyone?
kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2001, 07:40 PM   #2
jparrell
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 10
jparrell is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have the same problem with MMC 7.5 -- all works except the transparency. The symptoms sound the same, the slider is there etc. but no window. I have a GeForce2 MX running 23.11 on Windows ME. In another post someone reported the transparency feature working in Windows 98, so I know it is not only limited to 2000/XP.
I did try checking the box "fix TV tuner" in the display driver, but that did not change anything. So, it sounds like there may be something still not right with Nvidia drivers, or maybe ATI did it on purpose?
Does anyone have a TV Wonder working with transparency using a Nvidia graphics card?
jparrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2001, 07:58 PM   #3
:+:3DnVuS:+:
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CANADA
Posts: 33
:+:3DnVuS:+: is still being judged by the masses


Default

I had a similar problem and Someotherguy gave me this solution:

1. Uninstall MMC 7.1 completely
2. Modify the MMC 7.5 Install.ini with notepad by changing this line Wrom:

DetectHW =1
to
DetectHW =0

3. Install MMC 7.5 and enjoy it's full functionality!!!

Hope this works for you guys. Later!
__________________
:+:3DnVuS:+: ;-)

MSI K7T266 Pro2-RU | AXIA [email protected] | ARKUA HSF | 256MB Kingston DDR | Radeon 7500 | ATI TVWonder | SB Live! 5.1 | LiteOn 32x12x40 | LiteOn 16x DVD | 40GB Maxtor 7200rpm ATA133 | Enermax 350W PSU | 2K Pro.
:+:3DnVuS:+: is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 9, 2001, 09:28 PM   #4
kinney
old school ownage
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Chicago
Posts: 213
kinney is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thats a pretty generic reply! But we already had to do that just to get the TV option to come up in 7.5... we already know about the install.ini tweak.

My first quest is to figure out why I dont even have the 'fix tv tuner option' and then why i dont have tranparency.

Although I'm sure its because of odvious reasons.. ati doesnt want us using nvidia cards with their tv tuners.
I'm really disappointed to because I bought my tv wonder a complete virgin to the hate between them and now I have picked my side because of this.
I've never had a problem with nvidia drivers (i have a via chipset to kt266a a suposedly bad combo with the 23.11 drivers.. work fine for me!) and MMC 7.1 continually crashed for me...
kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2001, 10:54 PM   #5
fanbanlo
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,550
fanbanlo is still being judged by the masses


Default

I uninstalled both 7.1 and 7.5
installed 7.5
the screen looks fine now. Really... using nVidia 21.83
except transparency...

one Question, is Germstar included?
fanbanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2001, 09:46 AM   #6
:+:3DnVuS:+:
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CANADA
Posts: 33
:+:3DnVuS:+: is still being judged by the masses


Default

What OS' are you guys using? I think blended mode only works in 2K and XP so you may be out of luck if you are running 9x. I suggested the install.ini tweak because I was having a similar problem. If I installed 7.1, then 7.5 I had many of the new TV options EXCEPT blended mode. Once I uninstalled MMC 7.1, used the ini tweak and reinstalled ONLY 7.5, I got the full use of all 7.5 software. Sorry if it didn't work for you.

Fanbanlo, Gemstar isn't included with MMC 7.5. It's a separate download of about 12MB and is difficult to get a hold of. Keep trying, though.
__________________
:+:3DnVuS:+: ;-)

MSI K7T266 Pro2-RU | AXIA [email protected] | ARKUA HSF | 256MB Kingston DDR | Radeon 7500 | ATI TVWonder | SB Live! 5.1 | LiteOn 32x12x40 | LiteOn 16x DVD | 40GB Maxtor 7200rpm ATA133 | Enermax 350W PSU | 2K Pro.
:+:3DnVuS:+: is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2001, 06:11 PM   #7
jparrell
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 10
jparrell is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by :+:3DnVuS:+:
What OS' are you guys using? I think blended mode only works in 2K and XP so you may be out of luck if you are running 9x.
My system setup includes: Via KX-133 chipset, Athlon 750, Windows ME, GeForce2 MX video card (23.11 drivers), TV Wonder PCI. I read in another thread on these Rage3D forums that someone was running Windows 98 and had the transparency feature when using MMC 7.5. But, they had an ATI video card (maybe an AIW, I don't remember). So, that suggests to me it is not a Windows 9x issue, but maybe a Nvidia problem. Maybe this Rage3D forum is not the best place to get info from Nvidia graphic cards users, though...
jparrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2001, 11:09 PM   #8
otheipion
Shadow in the Sun
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Spectral Northern Forest
Posts: 1,432
otheipion is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by :+:3DnVuS:+:
What OS' are you guys using? I think blended mode only works in 2K and XP so you may be out of luck if you are running 9x. I suggested the install.ini tweak because I was having a similar problem. If I installed 7.1, then 7.5 I had many of the new TV options EXCEPT blended mode. Once I uninstalled MMC 7.1, used the ini tweak and reinstalled ONLY 7.5, I got the full use of all 7.5 software. Sorry if it didn't work for you.

Fanbanlo, Gemstar isn't included with MMC 7.5. It's a separate download of about 12MB and is difficult to get a hold of. Keep trying, though.
Blended mode works fine for me under Win98SE.
__________________
Asus P4P800E-D, P4 3.2 GHz NW, 1 GB Corsair CMX 3200C2, ATI Radeon X800 Pro (Cat 5.3), WinXP Pro (SP2)
otheipion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2001, 11:15 PM   #9
fanbanlo
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,550
fanbanlo is still being judged by the masses


Default

WinXP Home
doesn't work.

only work in XP/2k = NOT TRUE!
fanbanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2001, 12:18 AM   #10
otheipion
Shadow in the Sun
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Spectral Northern Forest
Posts: 1,432
otheipion is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fanbanlo
WinXP Home
doesn't work.
Works for me!
__________________
Asus P4P800E-D, P4 3.2 GHz NW, 1 GB Corsair CMX 3200C2, ATI Radeon X800 Pro (Cat 5.3), WinXP Pro (SP2)
otheipion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2001, 10:58 AM   #11
SirXcalibur
Admin in Shining Armour
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,167
SirXcalibur is still being judged by the masses


Default

Maybe the blended mode only works with ATi cards?

But clear me up on this. Everything is working fine for you nvidia guys except the transparency?
__________________
-----------------------------------
Asus A8N-E ; 1.5GB DDR RAM; Athlon 64x2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz; Audigy 2 OEM; Radeon x850; Segate 120GB 7200rpm x2 raid 0; WD 250GB 7200RPM; BenQ DVD-+RW; WinXP Pro
SirXcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2001, 04:58 PM   #12
Bobo
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 17
Bobo is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have the same problem...
Everything works excepts transparency, and I'm using nvidia's tnt2...

so does this make it a known issue of MMC7.5 on TV Wonder PCI with nvidia(or non-ATI) cards?
__________________
AMD TB 800MHz
ASUS A7V Ver 1007
Crucial 256MB CAS2
Diamond Viper V770
SB Live!
ATI TV Wonder
IBM 30, 40 GB
Pioneer 16X DVD
Creative 52X CD
Viewsonic GF775
Bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2001, 05:07 PM   #13
fanbanlo
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,550
fanbanlo is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have this problem...
when I used Scan Mode, all the channel has a yellowish color...
ATI said this is nVidia's problem...

Do you guys have the same problem?

--------------------
Althon 800TB
Asus A7V (KT133)
256MB RAM
WinXP Home
Asus 7100 (GeForce2MX)
fanbanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2001, 10:35 AM   #14
SirXcalibur
Admin in Shining Armour
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,167
SirXcalibur is still being judged by the masses


Default

you have to remember though that the tvwonder VE is really only offically supported under MMC 7.1. So that going to Ati with this problem on your Nvidia cards really won't help. Maybe thats why the transpaency is really only working with the ATI ones....
__________________
-----------------------------------
Asus A8N-E ; 1.5GB DDR RAM; Athlon 64x2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz; Audigy 2 OEM; Radeon x850; Segate 120GB 7200rpm x2 raid 0; WD 250GB 7200RPM; BenQ DVD-+RW; WinXP Pro
SirXcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2001, 02:53 PM   #15
fanbanlo
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,550
fanbanlo is still being judged by the masses


Cool

Which problem are you talking about?
You have to know that the problem of having yellowish color in scan mode also exists in MMC 7.1!
fanbanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2001, 01:09 AM   #16
kinney
old school ownage
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Chicago
Posts: 213
kinney is still being judged by the masses


Default anything new?

any new revelations on this subject?

yes all nvidia users are experiencing no transparency mode. i think this is the right place to be looking for help, i was hoping on joining to get the attention of ati or someone who had some power. i dont think it serves ati well to not have their tv tuner not working with some of the most popular video cards.

i used a mx when i bought a ati tv tuner and had horrible experience. crashing.. just a pain. mmc75 is much better for not crashing.

i would like to buy another ati like the 8500, its such a value. the time is coming soon for myself to buy a newer card, either ti200 or 8500 (i never was the type to go for something like the ti500, seems excessive) to replace my gts. i watch alot of dvds so the 8500 looks great i hope if i can find a way to get the tv tuner working completely (like it should) correctly then i will buy a 8500 or all in wonder. im not blind brand loyal but so many bad strikes and i am the type to never buy a certain brand again.
kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2002, 01:07 AM   #17
kinney
old school ownage
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Chicago
Posts: 213
kinney is still being judged by the masses


Default anything new?

probley nothing new. I've about given up on ATI drivers, its a shame to because I really want to buy their stuff.

I dont think many Nvidia owners are switching over because of their wonderful ati driver experiences, its probably going to force ati out of the competition eventually.
kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MMC7.7 no go, MMC7.6 works mugsy Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support 4 Sep 27, 2002 08:58 AM
mmc7.6 full screen transparency crashes? alcuin99 AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 0 May 17, 2002 11:57 AM
Transparency pochoboy AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 2 Feb 1, 2002 07:28 AM
aiw128 pro pci and mmc7.5 tv transparency? alcuin99 Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support 0 Jan 15, 2002 04:00 PM
Difference MMC7.0 vs MMC7.1 Routerguy99 AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 4 Apr 8, 2001 12:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink