Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support » AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support Discussion and support forum for all of the All-In-Wonder Radeon cards, the TV-Wonder, Remote Wonder I and II, the new HDTV Wonder, and basically anything with VIVO support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2009, 10:41 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
cromwell
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 164
cromwell is still being judged by the masses


Default State of the State of Software for ATI Theater Cards

I would like to start a string about what software people are using with their assorted ATI TV Tuner/AIW cards, that make them work best. That includes hardware, OS’s, drivers, CMC editions, or other tuner software, both retail and free. For instance:

I have a Visiontek HD650 with the black remote, installed on Vista 32 Business. I’m using a clean install of a full version of CMC 1.0.4210 that I downloaded from Diamond MM. (Unfortunately, they no longer seem to have it posted.) My biggest problem is with the Theater Driver. I’m still using the Cat 8-5. The latest drivers i.e. Cat 8-12, 9-1, and 9-2 give a better picture, but garble the sound every time I change channels. The sound card is an onboard Realtek AC97. (Suggestions would be appreciated)

With CMC 4210 and Cat 8-5, I get good to very good reception through an analog cable connection, and the remote works perfectly.

BTW: If you’ve installed the Microsoft .NET 3.5 SP1 update (KB951847) that was recently released, you might have a problem in Vista. It blocked CMC from running at Startup on my machine. There’s a workaround, but I just reformatted and didn’t install the .NET thingy. It’s not really a security patch, more like a service pack anyway.

Edit: Forgot to mention my Video Card is a 3850 AGP. Yeah, don't laugh AGP. Some of us are locked in the 90's.

What’s working for you?

Last edited by cromwell : Feb 27, 2009 at 11:14 PM.
cromwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2009, 07:31 AM   #2
DA1745
The Big Cheese
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States Wisconsin
Posts: 135
DA1745 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cromwell View Post
ATI TV Tuner/AIW cards: what makes them work best. That includes hardware, OS’s, drivers, CMC editions, or other tuner software, both retail and free. For Instance:

BTW: If you’ve installed the Microsoft .NET 3.5 SP1 update (KB951847) that was recently released, you might have a problem in Vista. It blocked CMC from running at Startup on my machine. There’s a workaround, but I just reformatted and didn’t install the .NET thingy. It’s not really a security patch, more like a service pack anyway.
Hi Cromwell:
You read my mind for this thread. I've been posting around various OLD threads on this site but this looks a more promising way.

From bottom to top... YOU'VE got to be kidding me. I can't catch a break. I spent a good bit of time about a week ago updating/un-installing/re-installing patches etc for my Vista Ultimate set up with VisionTek HD TV Wonder 650 Combo's. I prefer VMC on that system much more than CMC both from a functionality point of view; it gets far more QAM channels w/ TV Media Pack 2008 installed that CMC doesn't, and CMC (for me) never gets the same number of channels. Plus it seems to crash or hang far too often, and just isn't nearly as polished or capable as the VMC now is.

I got a little over zealous with Driver Cleaner pro and un-installed it, so after reinstalling 1.0.3202 I then added the PATCH from ATI's site to bring it up to 1.0.4210. after Catalyst 9.2 ET. AL. Drivers.
I re-set up and checked / verified that both were working & went back to using VMC. [I liked CMC as a fall back in case I needed it]. Then my cable company decided to redo it's QAM lineup AND it took me a while to figure out it wasn't anything I'd done via the drivers/re-installing (Co-incidence but come on). AND NOW the dang Net 3.5 update that I waited a while before updating, makes the CMC part of all that work yet again wasted. (I have luck & it's all bad).
Thank you though for pointing that out. If time had gone on a few more days I might not have been able to connect the dots back to that.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So on that home built Vista Ultimate SP1 system, TV Wonder 650 Combos, I use VMC w/ the TV Media Pack 2008 to get QAM & analog. (((I would like to get into the VMC tuner/display settings to adjust some things like contrast, sharpness))) if I can. I like the display of QAM HD. It is EXCELLENT; the colors/blacks every thing seems like glass - it's set up exactly the way I would if I knew how to get into those options. But when I compare the blk Levels and what I may be mistakenly calling Contrast / sharpness, to say my AIW analog tuner cards, the TV wonder's analog display via VMC seems very dull washed out (I believe it's also that way in CMC can't start to verify but i'd have switched to it I think if it was better). I know the 650 pro & 550 chips should be displaying a better picture than the Theatre 200's or the Philips analog tuners, but until I can get into the options I'm a little disappointed.
(I'm used to and really do like how easy it is to adjust settings like that in ATI's old MMC - some shows are too dark boom 10 seconds its adjusted or turned back) -- these issues are independent from the monitors adjustments.
I have this system dual booted with XP Pro SP2, in XP I am only using CMC at this point. It took me along time to read the fine print of Beyond TV and SageTV to find whether it would support QAM in XP - I might consider shelling out some more money for one of them to get the TV Wonder 650's QAM working but I'm not happy about it. (Wish i'd bought AVerMedia or HDHomerun but spilt milk).

Which brings me to the rest of my PC's:
=I'm running a XP Pro SP2 on another home built hybrid C2Duo and APG system running an ATI x800XT All-In-Wonder. (Sometimes I use a TV Wonder Pro or an HDTV Wonder in it). Currently I have them pulled out of the system. I am HAPPILY running that system with Catalyst 5.13, & MMC 9.08.
****I am unable to get HDTV wonder to work w/ or as Multiview with my All-In-Wonders. (((I've read else where that its possible with "newer drivers" but I've never found out which ones exactly are needed (Catalyst & MMC If it means T200 Drivers and MMC 9.13+ forget it)))???

=I built a third C2D MCE2005 sp3 w/ ATI x800 XL All-In-Wonder using Catalyst 9.1 and MMC 9.16 software installed just to get the drivers for MCE2005. Despite shutting down the services manually or in Task Mngr, I can never get both setups to be supported on the same system. If I start MMC 9.16 (and it works) then shut down and / or restart then MCE 2005 doesn't start. [[[This is my newest configuration so i don't' exactly know why its doing that]]]. I mean starting one shouldn't permanently cause the other to not work... (((YES, I'm killing the MCE processes before trying to start MMC))).
But when I just use MCE 2005 SP3 it seems to work OK.
But the card acts "strangely" in the setup process compared to all the other ATI All-In-Wonders & standard XP that I've installed before. It's as if the TUNERS aren't detected at all. Not in Device Manager, no pop up, but things seem to work once all the drivers get installed it's just "strange" to me. IDK if it's the ATI x800XL or MCE2005 SP3 ??? that is acting strangely. Hopefully I'll throw on a dual boot of XP Pro and see if bx repeats there.

I did try out several Catalyst & MMC combinations such as Catalyst 6 like 6.3, 6.2, 6.1, and then finally Catalyst 5.7 and MMC 9.09 (from disc) and then MMC 9.08, MMC 9.06.1. Each time Catalyst WDM installed the T200 Unified drivers (even in Catalyst 5.7. (I found the other drivers in the setup folder but there wasn't an installer to just install the analog WDM drivers. I've never had to manually install it so maybe It doesnt' have an installer and I just needed to use the Device manager & point to it; but if that's the case, without the tuner card detection there is no ? of unknown devices to point to the files??? very strange). ((IDK if the T200 drivers are necessary for MCE2005 to work, but I was hoping to avoid it as I wanted to use the analog drivers so I could still use MMC 9.09 or below and still use MCE2005)). IF THAT'S POSSIBLE PLEASE HELP!! MCE2005 & MMC 9.09 and below & what all needs to be installed (specifically what Catalyst version & do I need to specifically explore to certain files to install & if so how exactly)? or just use the self installer.

I've noW gotten confused on what did & didnt' work but I had to use the tool I found for MCE2005 to restore it to a clean state many times. In one case I got a set up that worked for MMC but about 5 analog channels came in B&W and full of static. So I ultimately had to settle on MCE2005 only with Catalyst 9.1 and MMC 9.16 drivers.
---------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have two other systems with tuner cards right now.
=An IBM box with ATI 9800 Pro All-In-Wonder and currently an HDTV Wonder (when not in the other system) running happily Catalyst 6.2 (Analog drivers) and MMC 9.08.

=The last one is an older Dell using an ATI 9600XT All-In-Wonder which i'm going to have to pull out & maybe do a clean install. I'm not sure if the TV tuner portion of the card is still functioning or not.
__________________
Global Dimming (of the Sun - Google PBS Dimming Sun) ~ Why global temperatures aren't rising as fast as would be expected with increased carbon output...

Last edited by DA1745 : Mar 5, 2009 at 03:55 AM.
DA1745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2009, 03:33 AM   #3
cromwell
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 164
cromwell is still being judged by the masses


Default

Great systems you've got. I'd love to have the QAM options you have, but by choice live in the sub-hinterlands and only have analog cable(or 2 stations via antennae). A few HD stations are offered by the cable co. but cost vs. value is not there yet.

I do have a couple of questions though. Are you using the Cat 9-2 Theater driver with your Vista HD 650 setup? If so, what sound card do you have? It garbles the sound in my setup.

As far as your XP setup goes, do you have dotnet 1.1 installed. I have a Sapphire HD 650 on an XP Pro box that would not work until I installed dotnet 1.1. Also, I've got a 9800 AIW on XP home and the installation cd installs dotnet 1.1 along with Cat 6-12 and MMC 9.061. They are both working.

I think I'm beginning to not like dotnet. Too much hassle, too many versions.
cromwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 5, 2009, 04:32 AM   #4
DA1745
The Big Cheese
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States Wisconsin
Posts: 135
DA1745 is still being judged by the masses


Default

[quote=cromwell;1335813553]Great systems you've got. I'd love to have the QAM options you have, but by choice live in the sub-hinterlands and only have analog cable(or 2 stations via antennae). A few HD stations are offered by the cable co. but cost vs. value is not there yet.
Well i live in the country, at the very outer edge of where cable goes to in my area. If you saw it you'd never believe they wired us for cable but we live near a State Hwy that they have fiber optics heading to the next town...?? not sure about that actually. Otherwise we never would have been able to get it. You might try going to HDHomerun's site and using this application:
http://www.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/channels_us
to scan for what should be available for QAM stations in from your city ~ town ~ area. It might surprise you and since you already have a 650 you are capable of tuning it in. If HD Homerun's tool says you should be getting some you might you might try installing Beyond TV's trial and scanning for QAM channels. We don't have that many QAM compared to others especially in big markets, but considering that we'd get them whether we paid for a STB or not it's pretty cool.
I do have a couple of questions though. Are you using the Cat 9-2 Theater driver with your Vista HD 650 setup? If so, what sound card do you have? It garbles the sound in my setup. Yes, I'm running Catalyst 9.2 Display, WDM, and CCC along with the TV Wonder 650's Theater Driver. Currently I'm using the built in Realtek onboard sound (it's a decent setup with optical, 5.1 for sure). I don't have there software installed on the Vista installation, I just realized, like I do on the XP system (guess i never got around to looking for it) - I'm not sure if the Mobo driver cd had Vista drivers (and I never checked the gigabyte site for Realtek Drivers) but I don't have any problems with it all being controlled via Vista).

As far as your XP setup goes, do you have dotnet 1.1 installed. I have a Sapphire HD 650 on an XP Pro box that would not work until I installed dotnet 1.1. Also, I've got a 9800 AIW on XP home and the installation cd installs dotnet 1.1 along with Cat 6-12 and MMC 9.061. They are both working.

I think I'm beginning to not like dotnet. Too much hassle, too many versions. I'm having a brain malfunction and cant' remember, if that's the one that ATI puts on there install CD's normally (the one that's required if you want to install their Catalyst Control Center) if it is, then I do have it installed b/c I do have CCC installed.
I don't really use CCC usually I choose to use ATI Tool & ATI Tray Tools on older systems rather then CCC. But they have stopped updating them so I'm now using Riva Tuner & CCC on my fastest system as it's kept current and supports my latest graphics card. ((I'm on the Vista part right now. I'll try to remember to check for dot net 1.1...next time i log in. [.quote]
__________________
Global Dimming (of the Sun - Google PBS Dimming Sun) ~ Why global temperatures aren't rising as fast as would be expected with increased carbon output...
DA1745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 01:10 AM   #5
cromwell
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 164
cromwell is still being judged by the masses


Default

Passing strange that all the Theater Driver Updates since Cat 8-5 garble my sound. If not garbled, it's out of sync. Tried Cat 9-2 drivers today with the same result. Picture is better, but sound = crap. Back to the 8-5's and everythings OK. Intel 2.8 Dual Core, 2 GB Ram, Vista Business, Realtek 5.1 AC97 onboard sound, all with latest patches and drivers. Gollymolly! What's up doc?
cromwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2009, 09:23 AM   #6
VladTheImpaler
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 21
VladTheImpaler is still being judged by the masses


Default

Asus P4B
P4 1.8 processor
1.5 GB PC133
Soundblaster Live! 5.1
9800 Pro AIW
XP Home SP3
CCC 8.9
ATI MMC 9.16

I had problems with the onboard AC97 sound and TV. It runs great with the old soundblaster.
VladTheImpaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Cards and the state of PC gaming alitayyab Rage3D Member Review Zone 4 Oct 9, 2009 01:00 PM
State to state moves, any paperwork or just pick up and go? MasterGoa Off Topic Lounge 13 Dec 22, 2005 12:39 AM
Since gonegold is virtually down what are other sites that state gold state as stated tempnexus PC Gaming 11 Sep 16, 2003 10:14 PM
NC State vs. Ohio State Game EMunEeE Off Topic Lounge 16 Sep 14, 2003 12:57 AM
Excellent Review of state of the art Video cards PreservedSwine AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 1 Nov 2, 2002 01:02 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink