Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking Discuss Radeon tweaking, modding, and overclocking practices. Want to post your benchmarks scores? This is the place!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 23, 2002, 03:47 AM   #61
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
warp11
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: I'm a transient.
Posts: 187
warp11 is still being judged by the masses


Default

mucki,

Where are you from? It certainly does appear that the Sapphire 9700non-pro is factory unlocked!
__________________
MSI KT3 Ultra2R
AMD 1600+ @ 166 fsb x 10.5
512 MB CAS2 PC2700
Radeon 9700 non-pro
warp11 is offline  
Old Dec 23, 2002, 03:54 AM   #62
mucki
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 19
mucki is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by warp11
mucki,

Where are you from? It certainly does appear that the Sapphire 9700non-pro is factory unlocked!
Germany.

I'm really happy with my Sapphire.

Just searching a website with a pencilmod for vmem.


Mucki
mucki is offline  
Old Dec 23, 2002, 04:18 AM   #63
warp11
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: I'm a transient.
Posts: 187
warp11 is still being judged by the masses


Default

mucki,

It seems like the Sapphire 9700non-pro cards that are sold in Europe are all factory unlocked. Luckily, any Sapphire owner will be able to use that BIOS.

Thanks for the information.
__________________
MSI KT3 Ultra2R
AMD 1600+ @ 166 fsb x 10.5
512 MB CAS2 PC2700
Radeon 9700 non-pro
warp11 is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 23, 2002, 06:23 AM   #64
wa503
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 24
wa503 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Long Dinh,

uhhh, don't hit me so hard, please
wa503 is offline  
Old Dec 23, 2002, 06:56 AM   #65
radar1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10
radar1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

mucki !

What kind of machine are u using ?

Do you clock the Sapphire card without any modification,
e.g fan etc. ??

What temps are you having...the card must be pretty hot!

Cpu ?

My CPU is a XP1800 with 143FSB The Sapphire Card needs
much CPU power....mine is in the lower area I think

By the way, do you guys connect the fan power from the
Radeon card to the mainboard Fan1 or 2 and how do you read temps of the card......if it can ?? I did not find any programs
on the CD neither at their homepage.

Radar 1
radar1 is offline  
Old Dec 23, 2002, 08:01 AM   #66
mucki
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 19
mucki is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hi,
no extra cooling yet. Will order some heatsinks after Cristmas.

I've got a P4 2,[email protected],0 / Corsair XMS3200 CL2 / Seagate Raid0 etc.

17k would be possible but my Corsair RAM holds me back. I thought Corsair would easily do DDR417 - not my one.

Perhaps I should order the new Geil PC3700, so i could push it to DDR445......

Mucki
mucki is offline  
Old Dec 23, 2002, 10:17 AM   #67
Plogen
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Plogen is still being judged by the masses


Default

I also have the Sapphire 9700 "non-pro" but when I overclock it to max I Rage3D I only get 900P more in 3DMark2001se and it is overclocked to 277/[email protected]/324. Isn't that a little to low performance increase? I need a new memory because I have a PC2100 now, 12,5*158 and that isn't so good! And when I increases the FSB to 160 the computer boot al the way to windows but after the second test 3DMark2001se just disappear and I go right in to windows. Does any one know what the problem is? I think it’s the memory in some way that causes this, but I don’t know!

My English isn't so good! I'm from Sweden!
Plogen is offline  
Old Dec 23, 2002, 11:30 AM   #68
Plogen
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Plogen is still being judged by the masses


Default

It sass at my BOX that Redline Tweaking program should hang with the card but I can't find it, Where is it?
Plogen is offline  
Old Dec 23, 2002, 03:57 PM   #69
Macce
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 4
Macce is still being judged by the masses


Default

First of all sorry my lousy English

Very importat thing is that guys who owns NON Pro 9700 cards DON'T use modified Warp Hynix BIOS! I think that NON Pro BIOS is way too 'tight' in memory timigs so it's limit overclockable MUCH.

My card is Connect3D Radeon 9700 with Hynix BIOS and it's locked (whatta suprise) but overclockable when using PowerStrip 3.0. Stable clock speeds: VPU 385MHz and MEM 305MHz only. When I'm searchin this board I found original 9700 Pro BIOS and flashing it dierctly to my card.
Fun stuff: VPU run still 385MHz but MEM now 542MHz. I've made last night VPU MOD and here is result: VPU 440MHz and MEM 364MHz (728MHz DDR).

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5411118

Nice
Macce is offline  
Old Dec 23, 2002, 04:55 PM   #70
warp11
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: I'm a transient.
Posts: 187
warp11 is still being judged by the masses


Default POLL.

Which BIOS does everyone here prefer to run on their 9700non-pro? Please list the brand of your card and the BIOS that you run.

People who own the 9700non-pro have at least 3 BIOS's to try. I have tried them all on my PowerColor 9700non-pro and they all work fine.

97NPWARP.BIN -- ATi based BIOS from a 9700non-pro.

SAPP97NP.BIN -- Sapphire BIOS that was factory "unlocked".

978004N.BIN -- Newest ATi 9700PRO BIOS.


I can overclock the same with all of these BIOS's...Core 370 / Memory 326. I use the 97NPWARP.BIN.

What are your results?
__________________
MSI KT3 Ultra2R
AMD 1600+ @ 166 fsb x 10.5
512 MB CAS2 PC2700
Radeon 9700 non-pro
warp11 is offline  
Old Dec 23, 2002, 05:50 PM   #71
gragland
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 110
gragland is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: POLL.

Quote:
Originally posted by warp11
Which BIOS does everyone here prefer to run on their 9700non-pro? Please list the brand of your card and the BIOS that you run.

People who own the 9700non-pro have at least 3 BIOS's to try. I have tried them all on my PowerColor 9700non-pro and they all work fine.

97NPWARP.BIN -- ATi based BIOS from a 9700non-pro.

SAPP97NP.BIN -- Sapphire BIOS that was factory "unlocked".

978004N.BIN -- Newest ATi 9700PRO BIOS.


I can overclock the same with all of these BIOS's...Core 370 / Memory 326. I use the 97NPWARP.BIN.

What are your results?

Did all the bioses give you the same 3dmark score? Or was one better then the others?
gragland is offline  
Old Dec 23, 2002, 05:50 PM   #72
Long Dinh
Y helo thar buttsekz?
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 2,654
Long Dinh is still being judged by the masses


Default

Plogen, 900P in 3dMARK is pretty good but that in no way reflects gameplay. You are getting more than what others are getting. And plus, your CPU is too limited to see a good performance.
__________________
P4 2.4b @ 533FSB | GigaByte 8SG667 (SiS648 chipset)
1024MB DDR333
80 GB Western Digital HD
Radeon 9700 (297/263) | 19" Futura CRT monitor
SBLive! 5.1 | Logitech Z-560
Long Dinh is offline  
Old Dec 23, 2002, 10:30 PM   #73
warp11
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: I'm a transient.
Posts: 187
warp11 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Did all the bioses give you the same 3dmark score? Or was one better then the others?

The 97NPWARP.BIN BIOS gave me about a 1% higher score (insignificant). The main point is that all three BIOS's worked fine on my card.

Everyone should find the one that gives them the best STABILITY and performance!


If you own a PowerColor 9700non-pro, I would try 97NPWARP.BIN first.

If you own a Sapphire 9700non-pro, I would try SAPP97NP.BIN first.

If you don't like either of these, you can try 978004N.BIN.
__________________
MSI KT3 Ultra2R
AMD 1600+ @ 166 fsb x 10.5
512 MB CAS2 PC2700
Radeon 9700 non-pro

Last edited by warp11 : Dec 23, 2002 at 10:35 PM.
warp11 is offline  
Old Dec 24, 2002, 05:56 PM   #74
Plogen
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Plogen is still being judged by the masses


Default

warp11 what du you get in 3DMark2001se330?
Plogen is offline  
Old Dec 24, 2002, 09:09 PM   #75
warp11
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: I'm a transient.
Posts: 187
warp11 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I received this e-mail from a gentleman in Germany (I believe):

Quote:
I buyed a HIS/ENMIC Radeon9700nonPro which is locked. It's a german company, so I dl the Sapphire and Powercolor Bios files to try whatever works best. I flashed the Powercolor one with NTSC changed to PAL.

Everything worked great.. I have no garbage when starting up the windows desktop as some reported, and currently I have clocked my r300 to 330/310MHZ.
Plogen,

My 3DMark2001SE b.330 scores: Default: 13,270
w/ 6xAA: 9,211

These scores are with my Core 337 / Memory 317. My card is stable up to 370/326, but I have no need to run it at that speed.

I prefer to run 3DMark2001 with 6xAA because I think it is a better representation of how I play my games.
__________________
MSI KT3 Ultra2R
AMD 1600+ @ 166 fsb x 10.5
512 MB CAS2 PC2700
Radeon 9700 non-pro
warp11 is offline  
Old Dec 25, 2002, 07:03 AM   #76
micky17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 9
micky17 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Dear warp11,

i have 9700TX from Dell Germany. default is 263/263
i tried to OC it, but i will got blue screen after 5 mins.(so i think is non-OC'ble bios.)
i flashed 9700 pro before, and clock it @ 330/300, but i got lower points in 3Dmraks 2001.( 13750---> 12950)
i would like 2 try u bios..
is ur bios also fit to my card?
or should i send u my Orig. 9700tx bios?

thx in advance
micky17 is offline  
Old Dec 26, 2002, 03:06 AM   #77
warp11
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: I'm a transient.
Posts: 187
warp11 is still being judged by the masses


Default

micky17,

If you send me your 9700TX BIOS, I would be more than happy to take a look at it for you.

[email protected]
__________________
MSI KT3 Ultra2R
AMD 1600+ @ 166 fsb x 10.5
512 MB CAS2 PC2700
Radeon 9700 non-pro
warp11 is offline  
Old Dec 26, 2002, 06:39 AM   #78
micky17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 9
micky17 is still being judged by the masses


Default

warp11,
thank you,
i am now with my Cello in Vienna have a 1 week Concert trip.
i'll send u 9700TX Bios when i back to Germany

thx again.
micky17 is offline  
Old Dec 26, 2002, 01:21 PM   #79
bipolar
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 431
bipolar is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smythe
The jumbled screen happens everytime I boot and looks like rainbow and black stripes. It's right after the WindowsXP load screen (the one with the progress bar) and right before the blue "loading settings screen".
I had the same problem after flashing my 9500 pro bios. Disable Write Combining.
bipolar is offline  
Old Dec 26, 2002, 03:16 PM   #80
Camel
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 26
Camel is still being judged by the masses


Default re: Poll

Nother happy dude here!

Thanks Warp11!!

Just flashed my (USA) Sapp nonpro 9700 with SAPP97NP.BIN
Picked up 100pts 3dMark right off the bat 13767>13892. Then benched @ 337.5/310.5 getting 15044!
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5443310

I'm sure to monkey with it more, looking to break 17000

Thanks Bro!!!

ps RadClocker Rules!
Camel is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a Powercolor radeon 9700Non Pro Infinion Bios. Cali3350 Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 5 Jul 28, 2003 12:21 AM
original powercolor 9700non-pro PAL BIOS needed pro_bono Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 7 May 10, 2003 08:41 PM
bios 8004 to 3d club 9700non pro???!!! vlada_o Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 Mar 3, 2003 10:05 AM
Sapphire Radeon 9700non-pro Bios ? x0ph3r Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 Jan 19, 2003 07:50 AM
9700non-pro BIOS update troubles Smythe Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 6 Dec 20, 2002 12:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink