Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 17, 2007, 12:26 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
ThE - DuTcHiE
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
ThE - DuTcHiE is still being judged by the masses


Motherboard ATi graphics card on Nvidia chipset?

Hi,

I'm gonna get a new mainboard for my pc with socket AM2.
I have a Sapphire Radeon HD 2900 XT 512mb and because the amount of am2 mainboards with AMD/Ati chipsets is rather small my question is:
Will my 2900 will work fine if I'll go for a mainboard with a nvidia chipset?

I've had a nvidia card and a ati chipset in the past and that was a creepy combination (bad performance, system failures).
But will it work fine the other way, because I've heard that nvidia makes great chipsets.

Thanks,

Dutchie.

Last edited by ThE - DuTcHiE : Sep 17, 2007 at 12:29 PM.
ThE - DuTcHiE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 12:36 PM   #2
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,533
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

yes.
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 02:06 PM   #3
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,661
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Yup, it'll work fine. In fact, alot of OEM's do that exact combo quite successfully.
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 17, 2007, 02:53 PM   #4
ukHazard
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United States Boston, MA
Posts: 2,186
ukHazard is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yep, I have only had good experiences with ATi on an NForce 3 chipset.
__________________
CS-Nation
ukHazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2007, 03:39 PM   #5
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,237
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThE - DuTcHiE View Post
Hi,

I'm gonna get a new mainboard for my pc with socket AM2.
I have a Sapphire Radeon HD 2900 XT 512mb and because the amount of am2 mainboards with AMD/Ati chipsets is rather small my question is:
Will my 2900 will work fine if I'll go for a mainboard with a nvidia chipset?

I've had a nvidia card and a ati chipset in the past and that was a creepy combination (bad performance, system failures).
But will it work fine the other way, because I've heard that nvidia makes great chipsets.

Thanks,

Dutchie.
Man that's strange that you had issues with an ATi chipset and nVidia card. I ran that combo for a while and it was nothing but smooth. Had my 8800gts on an Abit AT8 Crossfire board and it was great. Never heard of any problems with doing this other than it felt kinda weird .

And yeah like everyone else says it'll work just fine.
Jokerzwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 09:53 AM   #6
ThE - DuTcHiE
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
ThE - DuTcHiE is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks for the replys guys!

I'm thinking of getting this mainboard: GigaByte M56S-S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokerzwild View Post
Man that's strange that you had issues with an ATi chipset and nVidia card. I ran that combo for a while and it was nothing but smooth. Had my 8800gts on an Abit AT8 Crossfire board and it was great. Never heard of any problems with doing this other than it felt kinda weird .
The problems I had was with a Sparkle 8800gts 320 mb and a Asus A8R-MVP mainboard with a "ATi RD480 CrossFire-northbridge" and a "ULi M1573-southbridge". It was really a crap combination, hehe.
ThE - DuTcHiE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 02:25 PM   #7
ThE - DuTcHiE
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
ThE - DuTcHiE is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have another question: I'm seeing all the Tech Specs on the different chipsets (680, 590, 570 etc) and the "PCI Express Lanes" are a bit low on the 560 compared to the 590.
The 590 chipset has 48 lanes and the 560 "only" 20.
Does this matter in performance?


Thanks,

Dutchie
ThE - DuTcHiE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 02:34 PM   #8
Sound_Card
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States Constantinople
Posts: 14,533
Sound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySound_Card can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThE - DuTcHiE View Post
I have another question: I'm seeing all the Tech Specs on the different chipsets (680, 590, 570 etc) and the "PCI Express Lanes" are a bit low on the 560 compared to the 590.
The 590 chipset has 48 lanes and the 560 "only" 20.
Does this matter in performance?


Thanks,

Dutchie
Only if your running in SLi. For single card, it does not make a one bit difference.
Sound_Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2007, 03:07 PM   #9
ThE - DuTcHiE
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
ThE - DuTcHiE is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks man.

Last edited by ThE - DuTcHiE : Sep 18, 2007 at 03:09 PM.
ThE - DuTcHiE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia graphics card on AMD platform Someone Else Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 11 Dec 24, 2010 06:30 AM
Nvidia GTX 580 Graphics Card Reviews Lupine Front Page News 7 Nov 10, 2010 04:03 AM
ati card on a nvidia chipset? pc_lover AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 20 Apr 23, 2007 01:38 AM
X800GTO problem. Can ATI graphic card used in nVidia chipset motherboard? xeme Radeon Technical Support 4 Sep 14, 2006 07:42 AM
xpress 200 chipset+nvidia card=horror combo riju General Hardware 9 Jan 5, 2006 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink