Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking Discuss Radeon tweaking, modding, and overclocking practices. Want to post your benchmarks scores? This is the place!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 23, 2007, 06:03 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Seth0811
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Seth0811 is still being judged by the masses


Default Bad BIOS flash x800gt, any advice appreciated

I just registered with the forums here moments ago, hoping some of you might have good advice on the topic. I have a Powercolor x800gt pci-express 256mb card, r480 core (on chip). Previously showed as r423 in ATI Tools. I flashed a few days ago in an attempt to unlock more pipelines if possible. Long story short, floppy drive literally broke during flash, resulting in a bad flash. When I try blindflashing or flashing while using a pci card, I get an error code "Adapter not found". Anyone know any quick fixes for this? Original bios destroyed in drive (lost my temper), found a replacement that should work. I've tried numerous versions of atiflash and one version of flashrom. ATIwinflash freezes my computer. Thanks in advance for any advice.
Seth0811 is offline  
Old Sep 12, 2014, 06:39 AM   #2
dav7co
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
dav7co is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have the same Powercolor x800gt PCI-e 256mb R480 seen as R423. I flashed the card with ati winflash, not from dos, with a bios version modded to see it as a GTO card. For the first time when I logged in windows after the flash the GPU-Z saw the card with 12 pipelines but after I installed the driver for the gto card the gpu-z could see only 8 pipes. So my card can unlock at least 4 more pipes. I tried the 2nd time to do a dos flash since the winflash did not allow me to flash the card using a bios where it was P/N mismatch error. I used a bootable froppy disk created in xp and put the atiflash files and the bios files on the disk before performing the flash operation I typed the command atiflash -ai to see the card info and in dos it was still recognized as a x800gt but in windows was x800gto. I think this is the reason why I was not able to unlock properly the 4 pipes that I saw at the first login using GPU-Z. So my flash was going ok with no errors : the command I used was atiflash -p -f 0 biosname.bin. All went ok so I had to reboot the system . Here is the tricky part, I did not see on any techpowerup posted anything about this. I couldn't reboot the system using the floppy files because I did not know the right command for it so I just pressed the Ctrl+Alt+Del keys. I really think that the right command for a good flash should have been " atiflash -p -f 0 biosname.bin -reboot " or I am wrong and the bios really was not compatible with my card. The guys from techpowerup recommended that bios for my card and I really think it is good if u do the flash right. Now my system starts and I have black screen, I also tried the part with a second card on a pci slot but I get the message "adapter not detected" . Is my card really dead for good?
dav7co is offline  
Old Sep 18, 2014, 01:17 PM   #3
fO Che -USA-
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States Omaha, NE, USA
Posts: 2,100
fO Che -USA- is still being judged by the masses


Default

There are so many variants it would be best to know the die's R designation. If its an R430 based die and you flashed an R480 its probably going to be a goner because those are two different chips on two different processes.

I'm sorry I tried looking the models up but it can be time consuming.

But i believe I had a card that yours was based on. The x800xl and it was the 110 Nanometer PCI-E version of the R420

Here has been my experience with bios flashing.

Never use a floppy they die all the time. Setup a pen drive for floppy duties.

Never use winflash to many issues.

You shouldn't have needed the reboot command.
__________________
I love you Joanna Jędrzejczyk!
fO Che -USA- is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad BIOS flash x800gt, any advice appreciated Seth0811 Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 May 23, 2007 06:11 AM
PCI-E X800 Pro Vivo -> XT flash ... Seen as x800GT ... help! Superguy Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 4 Sep 15, 2005 01:38 AM
r350 core bios flash advice plz AMDisgood4me Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 16 Sep 28, 2004 11:09 PM
Advice help appreciated EliteHawk4787 Radeon Technical Support 0 Jul 28, 2004 03:53 PM
Need quick advice on BIOS flash Allnatural General Hardware 2 Sep 6, 2001 04:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink